DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed 07/11/2024 is acknowledged by the Examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-13, and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lefebvre (US 20220127974) in view of Gibson et al. (US 11713840).
Lefebvre discloses:
1. An assembly (22) for a turbine engine (10), comprising: an engine structure (12, 22, 15, 50) including a receptacle (“ends 26a and 28a of the first and second tubes 26, 28 are securely connected to their respective points of connection/attachment on the exhaust 15 and the compressor 12,” [0024], which such connection would require a receptacle in order to accept the cylindrical male portion of 28a) and a boss (52, fig. 5), the receptacle including an aperture (in order to accept the cylindrical male portion of 28a); a fluid conduit (28, 26) extending longitudinally along a centerline (17, fig. 1 or centerline through the pipe and its connections) from a conduit first end (28a) to a conduit second end (32); a first fitting (male fitting seen on 28a in fig. 2, 5) connected to the fluid conduit at the conduit first end and mated with the receptacle (in 12), the first fitting fluidly coupling the fluid conduit to the engine structure (to compressor case 12), the first fitting including a coupler (cylindrical male end and bolt flange seen on 28a), the coupler projecting axially into the aperture (in order to surround the cylindrical end of 28a); and a second fitting (32a) connected to the fluid conduit at the conduit second end and fastened to the boss by one or more fasteners (fasteners 46 would extend through flange 42; “Holes (not shown) are defined in the mounting surface 52 for alignment with the bolt holes in the adjustable flange 42 of the service tube 28,” [0026]), the second fitting fluidly coupling the fluid conduit to the engine structure (50).
3. The assembly of claim 2, wherein a rotational position of the first fitting about the axis is fixed when the second fitting is fastened to the boss by the one or more fasteners (if the end 32a is inserted into 52, and 28 is inserted into its respective receptacle and bolted with 46, then 28a would no longer be able to rotate even if the bolts in the flange of 28a are not fastened).
7. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the first fitting is permanently connected to the fluid conduit at the conduit first end (no additional removable fastening means are shown to connect 28a to the pipe 28, and 28a is a standard fitting which is integral with the pipe).
8. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the second fitting (32a) is permanently connected to the fluid conduit at the conduit second end (“the first and second fittings 30, 32 can be brazed or otherwise suitably secured to the adjoining ends of the first and second tubes 26, 28,” [0021]).
10. The assembly of claim 1, wherein the second fitting abuts against a face of the boss (abuts in a male/female connection, as seen in fig. 5; “a port 54 for receiving the male portion 32a of the second fitting 32 in a male/female connection,” [0026]); and the face of the boss is parallel to the axis (cylindrical female surface is parallel to the central axis through the opening in 52).
11. The assembly of claim 10, wherein the face of the boss is laterally offset from the axis (cylindrical boss face is offset from the central axis in order to provide the central opening).
12. The assembly of claim 1, wherein a trajectory of the centerline has one or more bends between the conduit first end to the conduit second end (as seen in figs. 1, 2, 5).
13. The assembly of claim 1, further comprising a support (standard support seen on intermediate portion of 28 in figs. 2, 5 with bolt opening for fastening to engine structure) connecting the fluid conduit to the engine structure, the support located longitudinally along an intermediate portion of the fluid conduit between the conduit first end and the conduit second end (as seem in figs. 2, 5).
16. The assembly of claim 1, further comprising a fluid source fluidly coupled to the fluid conduit through the first fitting (“service tube assembly 22 used to covey a fluid (e.g. oil, air, an oil-air mixture) between the compressor 12 and the exhaust 15. However, it is understood that the tube assembly 22 could be used to fluidly interconnect other portions of the engine 10 and to convey fluids other than oil, air or an air-oil mixture, the illustrated embodiment being representative of only one of the contemplated applications,” [0018]).
17. The assembly of claim 16, wherein the fluid source comprises a compressor section (12) of the turbine engine (10).
18. An assembly for a turbine engine (10), comprising: an engine housing (12, 15) including a receptacle (“ends 26a and 28a of the first and second tubes 26, 28 are securely connected to their respective points of connection/attachment on the exhaust 15 and the compressor 12,” [0024], which such connection would require a receptacle in order to accept the cylindrical male portion of 28a) and a boss (52, fig. 5); a fluid conduit (28) extending longitudinally along a centerline (seen in figs. 1, 2, 5) from a conduit first end (28a) to a conduit second end (32a), the fluid conduit comprising rigid tubing (material that allows brazing, [0021]); a first fitting (cylindrical male portion of 28a and bolted flange) permanently connected to the fluid conduit at the conduit first end (no additional removable fastening means are shown to connect 28a to the pipe 28, and 28a is a standard fitting which is integral with the pipe), the first fitting inserted into and removably mated with the receptacle (cylindrical male portion of 28a would be insertable and removable once bolts are unfastened), and the first fitting fluidly coupling the fluid conduit to a first volume in the engine housing (“service tube assembly 22 used to covey a fluid (e.g. oil, air, an oil-air mixture) between the compressor 12 and the exhaust 15. However, it is understood that the tube assembly 22 could be used to fluidly interconnect other portions of the engine 10 and to convey fluids other than oil, air or an air-oil mixture, the illustrated embodiment being representative of only one of the contemplated applications,” [0018]); and a flanged fitting permanently connected to the fluid conduit at the conduit second end (42 is a flange), the flanged fitting removably attached to the boss by one or more fasteners (fasteners 46 would extend through flange 42; “Holes (not shown) are defined in the mounting surface 52 for alignment with the bolt holes in the adjustable flange 42 of the service tube 28,” [0026]), and the flanged fitting fluidly coupling the fluid conduit to a second volume (50 in fig. 5, but [0018] discloses various other potential volumes) in the engine housing.
19. The assembly of claim 18, wherein the receptacle includes an aperture (in order to accept the cylindrical male portion of 28a), the aperture extends axially along an axis in the receptacle (at least axially enough to receive the male portion of 28a).
20. A method, comprising: providing a service tube assembly (22), the service tube assembly including a fluid conduit (28), a first (shown on end 28a) and (32) second fitting, the first fitting connected to the fluid conduit at a first end (28a) of the fluid conduit, and the second fitting connected to the fluid conduit at a second end (32a) of the fluid conduit; sliding a coupler (cylindrical portion of 28a) of the first fitting axially along an axis into an aperture of a receptacle (“ends 26a and 28a of the first and second tubes 26, 28 are securely connected to their respective points of connection/attachment on the exhaust 15 and the compressor 12,” [0024], which such connection would require a receptacle in order to accept the cylindrical male portion of 28a); rotating the service tube assembly about the axis to lock the first fitting axially into the receptacle (28a would rotate to some degree until the end 32a aligned with its respective opening in 52, and then 28a can have its respective bolts fastened which would axially lock it in); and attaching the second fitting to a boss using one or more bolts (fasteners 46 would extend through flange 42; “Holes (not shown) are defined in the mounting surface 52 for alignment with the bolt holes in the adjustable flange 42 of the service tube 28,” [0026]) (Note, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed that the device will perform the claimed process. See MPEP 2112.02.).
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4-6, and 18-20, Lefebvre does not disclose wherein the receptacle includes a plurality of notches and a plurality of grooves, the plurality of notches arranged circumferentially about the axis and interspersed with the plurality of grooves, each of the plurality of notches projecting axially into the receptacle, each of the plurality of grooves extending axially within the receptacle and circumferentially into the receptacle from a respective one of the plurality of notches; the first fitting further including a plurality of tabs, the plurality of tabs arranged circumferentially about the axis, and each of the plurality of tabs at least partially seated within a respective one of the plurality of grooves; wherein, during mating of the first fitting with the receptacle, the plurality of tabs are configured to slide axially into the plurality of notches as the coupler plugs axially into the aperture, and the first fitting is configured to rotate about the axis to move the plurality of tabs from the plurality of notches at least partially into the plurality of grooves; wherein the first fitting is secured to the receptacle without use of any fasteners; further comprising a seal element circumscribing the coupler and forming a seal interface between the coupler and a cylindrical surface of the receptacle; wherein the seal element is a first seal element, and the assembly further comprises a second seal element circumscribing the coupler and further forming the seal interface between the coupler and the cylindrical surface of the receptacle; and wherein the first fitting is a bayonet fitting; or wherein the receptacle includes an aperture and a plurality of receptacle tabs, the aperture extends axially along an axis in the receptacle, the plurality of receptacle tabs are arranged circumferentially about the axis, each of the plurality of receptacle tabs projects radially inward towards the axis and extends partially circumferentially about the axis; and the bayonet fitting includes a coupler and a plurality of fitting tabs, the coupler projects axially along the axis into the aperture, the plurality of fitting tabs are arranged circumferentially about the axis, and each of the plurality of fitting tabs is circumferentially overlapped by and axially engaged with a respective one of the receptacle tabs.
Gibson et al. teach a related pipe fitting system for connecting pipe sections which convey fluids therethrough, having a receptacle (female end 8 having inner surface 9) including a plurality of notches (arm segment 15, fig. 5) and a plurality of grooves (arm segment 17, fig. 5), the plurality of notches arranged circumferentially about the axis and interspersed with the plurality of grooves (as seen in figs. 1, 5), each of the plurality of notches projecting axially into the receptacle (as seen in figs. 1, 5), each of the plurality of grooves extending axially within the receptacle and circumferentially into the receptacle from a respective one of the plurality of notches (to form an overall L-shape 14, as seen in figs. 1, 5); the first fitting further including a plurality of tabs (11), the plurality of tabs arranged circumferentially about the axis (as seen in fig. 1), and each of the plurality of tabs at least partially seated within a respective one of the plurality of grooves (fig. 8b shows 11 seated) ; wherein, during mating of the first fitting with the receptacle, the plurality of tabs are configured to slide axially into the plurality of notches as the coupler plugs axially into the aperture (“open end 16 of the first arm segment 15 enables the respective stud 11 to be received within the recess 14,” col. 16, ll. 64-66)3, and the first fitting is configured to rotate about the axis to move the plurality of tabs from the plurality of notches at least partially into the plurality of grooves (“17 limits the extent of rotational movement between the first and second pipe sections (2, 3), and defines an engaged position,” col. 17, ll. 1-3); wherein the first fitting is secured to the receptacle without use of any fasteners (only the tabs 11 in the notches and grooves 15, 17); further comprising a seal element (31, fig. 6) circumscribing the coupler (when 2 is seated in 3) and forming a seal interface between the coupler and a cylindrical surface of the receptacle (as seen in fig. 6); wherein the seal element is a first seal element (31), and the assembly further comprises a second seal element (29) circumscribing the coupler and further forming the seal interface between the coupler and the cylindrical surface of the receptacle (as seen in fig. 6); and wherein the first fitting is a bayonet fitting (as seen in figs. 1, 5, 8); or wherein the receptacle includes an aperture (female end 8 having inner surface 9) and a plurality of receptacle tabs (14 or 22), the aperture extends axially along an axis in the receptacle (as seen in fig. 5), the plurality of receptacle tabs are arranged circumferentially about the axis (as seen in figs. 1, 5), each of the plurality of receptacle tabs projects radially inward towards the axis and extends partially circumferentially about the axis (as seen in figs. 1, 5); and the bayonet fitting includes a coupler (male coupler 2) and a plurality of fitting tabs (11), the coupler projects axially along the axis into the aperture (as seen in fig. 6), the plurality of fitting tabs are arranged circumferentially about the axis (figs. 1, 5), and each of the plurality of fitting tabs is circumferentially overlapped by and axially engaged with a respective one of the receptacle tabs (as see in fig. 8), for the purpose of providing a fluid sealing pipe fitting system for releasably connecting sections of pipe to simplify end of line connections, repair/replacement of existing fixed pipes, and to facilitate temporary removal of pipes for maintenance or access purposes (col. 1, ll. 17-21).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lefebvre, wherein the receptacle includes a plurality of notches and a plurality of grooves, the plurality of notches arranged circumferentially about the axis and interspersed with the plurality of grooves, each of the plurality of notches projecting axially into the receptacle, each of the plurality of grooves extending axially within the receptacle and circumferentially into the receptacle from a respective one of the plurality of notches; the first fitting further including a plurality of tabs, the plurality of tabs arranged circumferentially about the axis, and each of the plurality of tabs at least partially seated within a respective one of the plurality of grooves; wherein, during mating of the first fitting with the receptacle, the plurality of tabs are configured to slide axially into the plurality of notches as the coupler plugs axially into the aperture, and the first fitting is configured to rotate about the axis to move the plurality of tabs from the plurality of notches at least partially into the plurality of grooves; wherein the first fitting is secured to the receptacle without use of any fasteners; further comprising a seal element circumscribing the coupler and forming a seal interface between the coupler and a cylindrical surface of the receptacle; wherein the seal element is a first seal element, and the assembly further comprises a second seal element circumscribing the coupler and further forming the seal interface between the coupler and the cylindrical surface of the receptacle; and wherein the first fitting is a bayonet fitting; or wherein the receptacle includes an aperture and a plurality of receptacle tabs, the aperture extends axially along an axis in the receptacle, the plurality of receptacle tabs are arranged circumferentially about the axis, each of the plurality of receptacle tabs projects radially inward towards the axis and extends partially circumferentially about the axis; and the bayonet fitting includes a coupler and a plurality of fitting tabs, the coupler projects axially along the axis into the aperture, the plurality of fitting tabs are arranged circumferentially about the axis, and each of the plurality of fitting tabs is circumferentially overlapped by and axially engaged with a respective one of the receptacle tabs, as taught by Gibson et al., for the purpose of providing a fluid sealing pipe fitting system for releasably connecting sections of pipe to simplify end of line connections, repair/replacement of existing fixed pipes, and to facilitate temporary removal of pipes for maintenance or access purposes, in a manner yielding predictable results.
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lefebvre (US 20220127974) in view of Gibson et al. (US 11713840) further in view of Lefebvre (US 20220136410).
Lefebvre ‘974 discloses the invention as essentially claimed, except for wherein the axis is a receptacle axis, and the engine structure further includes a wall extending axially along and circumferentially about a centerline axis with the boss projecting radially out from the wall; and a flange projecting radially away from the centerline axis to an outer distal end with the receptacle projecting axially out from the flange; and wherein the receptacle axis is parallel with the centerline axis.
Lefebvre ‘410 teaches a related tube system in a turbine engine connected to a boss (58) on one end and to a receptacle (54) on another end, wherein the axis is a receptacle axis (axis seen running through the boss, the tube and the receptacle), and the engine structure further includes a wall (22) extending axially along and circumferentially about a centerline axis (17, fig. 1) with the boss projecting radially out from the wall (out from 22, fig. 2, 4); and a flange (36) projecting radially away from the centerline axis to an outer distal end (as seen in figs. 2, 4) with the receptacle projecting axially out (thickened portion 34a) from the flange (as seen in fig. 4); and wherein the receptacle axis is parallel with the centerline axis (as seen in fig. 4), for the purpose of a pipe service arrangement that allows for draining a sump of a turbine engine [0001].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lefebvre ‘974, such that the axis is a receptacle axis, and the engine structure further includes a wall extending axially along and circumferentially about a centerline axis with the boss projecting radially out from the wall; and a flange projecting radially away from the centerline axis to an outer distal end with the receptacle projecting axially out from the flange; and wherein the receptacle axis is parallel with the centerline axis, as taught by Lefebvre ‘410, for the purpose of a pipe service arrangement that allows for draining a sump of a turbine engine.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lefebvre (US 20220127974) in view of Gibson et al. (US 11713840) further in view of Morenko (US 20220082030).
Lefebvre discloses the invention as essentially claimed, except for wherein the boss comprises a boss flange; the second fitting comprises a fitting flange abutted against the boss flange; and each of the one or more fasteners projects through the boss flange and the fitting flange.
Morenko teaches bosses are known in the art of gas turbine engines to be used for service or mounting pads [0002], and teaches such a boss with a boss flange (44); the mated fitting comprises a fitting flange (56a) abutted against the boss flange (seen in figs. 3, 4); and each of the one or more fasteners projects through the boss flange and the fitting flange (as seen in fig. 4), for the purpose of providing a known service or mounting pad that can handle typical operating temperatures of cases in a gas turbine [0002].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to modify the invention of Lefebvre, wherein the boss comprises a boss flange; the second fitting comprises a fitting flange abutted against the boss flange; and each of the one or more fasteners projects through the boss flange and the fitting flange, as taught by Morenko, for the purpose of providing a known service or mounting pad that can handle typical operating temperatures of cases in a gas turbine.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 20180087776 A1 and US 6367240 B1 each disclose related tube assemblies for gas turbine engines.
CN 115370851 A, US 10995891 B2, CN 111373186 A, US 9770978 B2, US 20160298853 A1, US 20070284880 A1, US 5737913 A, US 5737913 A, and US 2439161 A each disclose related bayonet style couplings including use on gas turbine engines.
US 10316754 B2, US 20160201490 A1, US 20130224012 A1, US 8245518 B2, and JP S6414519 A each disclose conventional couplings including bosses and flanges with bolts used in gas turbine engines.
/MARINA A TIETJEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753