DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al (JP 2007-133093) in view of Maeda et al (JP H07-20653), further in view of Koga et al (JP 2012-173520), further in view of Lin et al (US PGP 2003/0114557). Machine translations of foreign patent documents are referred to henceforth.
Nakajima teaches a toner having a core, which contains a first binder resin and a colorant, and a shell layer containing a second binder resin, which covers the core ([0015]). The shell layer contains at least an ultraviolet (UV) inhibitor. Rhodamine B lake is given as an example of a red pigment which may be used as the colorant ([0059]). Where rhodamine-based pigments are fluorescent, this would read on a fluorescent colorant contained the core of the toner particle. Nakajima teaches that the UV inhibitor is contained in the shell layer in an amount of 0.1 – 60% by mass relative to the whole shell layer ([0028]). Nakajima does not appear to teach a triazine-based UV inhibitor.
Koga teaches a color toner comprising a binder resin and a coloring agent ([0021]). Koga teaches that the light resistance and durability of a printed image can be improved by an ultraviolet absorber (analogous to a UV inhibitor), which suppresses exposure of UV light to the color image to be protected ([0027] – [0028]). Triazine compounds are given as an example of a class of UV absorbers ([0090]), and specific triazine compounds are listed ([0094] – [0095]). Neither of Nakajima or Koga appears to teach a phosphite-based peroxide decomposer.
Maeda teaches a toner comprising rhodamine-based dye C.I. Solvent Red 49 and an antioxidant, which improves the lightfastness of the dye ([0004] – [0005]). “Antioxidants” may refer to radical chain inhibitors or peroxide decomposers ([0015]). Radical chain inhibitors may include UV absorbers ([0015]). Maeda gives as examples of peroxide decomposing agents several phosphite-based compounds, including triphenylphosphite ([0017]). None of Nakajima, Koga, or Maeda appears to teach a piperidyl group-bearing radical scavenger.
Lin teaches a colorless toner which may contain at least a UV absorber and a radical inhibitor (analogous to a radical scavenger) (Abstract). These are added in view of improving the lightfastness of a printed image ([0017] – [0018]). An example is given wherein a radical inhibitor is used in a toner alongside a UV absorber ([0021]). Lin teaches that the additives serve to prevent chemical degradation of colorants ([0022]). Commercially available Tinuvin™ 292 is given as an example of a good radical inhibitor, and is also described as a hindered amine compound ([0023]). Another example of a radical inhibitor is given, which is represented by a Formula 6 ([0034]), possessing a 1,2,2,6,6-pentamethylpiperidyl group, which is a hindered amine. Used in concert, the chemical additives improve lightfastness of printed images by dissipating energy from molecules excited by UV light and preventing reactions of high-energy radicals ([0035]).
In preparing the toner taught by Nakajima, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the light resistance and durability of printed images by selecting as the UV absorber one of the triazine-based compounds taught by Koga. In addition, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to improve the lightfastness of the rhodamine dye in the toner by incorporating, alongside a UV absorber, a phosphite-based peroxide decomposer as taught by Maeda. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been further motivated to improve the lightfastness of printed images by incorporating, alongside a UV absorber, a hindered amine-based radical inhibitor as taught by Lin. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to prepare the toner of Nakajima, having a core-shell structure wherein the core comprises a fluorescent colorant and the shell comprises a UV inhibitor (analogous to a UV absorber), incorporating as the UV absorber a triazine-based compound as taught by Koga, and also incorporating in the shell layer alongside the UV absorber the phosphite-based peroxide decomposer taught by Maeda and the hindered amine-based radical scavenger taught by Lin. Such a toner is described by Claim 1 and Claim 10.
In one preparative example, Nakajima discloses formation of toner particle core layers by agglomeration of 590 parts of resin, colorant, and release agent dispersions, followed by shelling with 280 parts of resin dispersion ([0108]). Therefore, the shell layer makes up about 32% by mass of the toner particles.
280
p
a
r
t
s
s
h
e
l
l
590
p
a
r
t
s
c
o
r
e
+
280
p
a
r
t
s
s
h
e
l
l
*
100
%
=
32.2
%
Where Nakajima teaches that the UV inhibitor is contained in the shell layer in an amount of 0.1 – 60% by mass relative to the whole shell layer ([0028]), the UV inhibitor may be contained in the toner particles in an amount of roughly 0.03 – 19% by mass, reading on the ranges stated in Claim 2 and Claim 3.
32
%
s
h
e
l
l
*
0.1
%
U
V
i
n
h
i
b
i
t
o
r
=
0.032
%
U
V
i
n
h
i
b
i
t
o
r
32
%
s
h
e
l
l
*
60
%
U
V
i
n
h
i
b
i
t
o
r
=
19.2
%
U
V
i
n
h
i
b
i
t
o
r
As discussed above, Koga teaches triazine-based compounds as UV absorbers, satisfying Claim 4.
Maeda teaches that the antioxidants (which may include radical inhibitors and peroxide decomposers) are preferably contained in a toner in an amount of 0.01 – 5% by weight relative to the binder resin of the toner ([0017]). Lin teaches that the total of the additives (referring to UV absorbers, radical inhibitors, and peroxide scavengers) is preferably 0.1 – 20% by weight in the toner ([0022] – [0023]). These ranges read on those stated in Claim 5, Claim 6, and Claim 7.
As mentioned above, Lin teaches hindered amine-based radical scavengers, and Maeda teaches phosphite-based peroxide decomposers, satisfying Claim 8, Claim 9, and Claim 11.
As mentioned above, Nakajima and Maeda each teach rhodamine-based colorants, satisfying Claim 12.
Nakajima teaches that the toner may be used as one-component developer, or mixed with a carrier and used as a two-component developer ([0090]), satisfying Claims 13 – 16.
Koga describes an image forming apparatus ([0038]) which comprises electrostatic latent image carriers ([0039]) (analogous to image holding members); a charging means ([0040]) (analogous to a charging unit); an exposure means ([0040]) (analogous to an electrostatic image formation unit); a developing means ([0040]) (analogous to a developing unit); a transfer means ([0040] – [0041]) (analogous to a transfer unit); and a fixing device ([0045]) (analogous to a fixing unit), satisfying Claim 19. Such an apparatus carries out the image forming method described by Claim 20.
Claims 17 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nakajima et al (JP 2007-133093) in view of Maeda et al (JP H07-20653), further in view of Koga et al (JP 2012-173520), further in view of Lin et al (US PGP 2003/0114557), further in view of Nakamura et al (US PGP 2021/0253845).
None of Nakajima, Maeda, Koga, or Lin appear to teach a toner cartridge or a process cartridge.
Nakamura teaches a resin particle which may be used as an electrophotographic toner ([0188]) and an electrophotographic image forming apparatus which may use said toner ([0240] – [0241]). The toner cartridge stores electrophotographic toner and supplies the toner to the developing unit of the image forming apparatus, to which the toner cartridge is detachably attached ([0273] – [0274]). Nakamura further describes a process cartridge which is detachably attached to the image forming apparatus, and which comprises a developing unit storing an electrophotographic developer ([0245]). The developing unit develops an electrostatic image on an image carrier into a toner image ([0241]).
Where none of Nakajima, Maeda, Koga, or Lin appears to teach a toner cartridge or process cartridge, one of ordinary skill in the art would have looked to the prior art for guidance as to an appropriate toner cartridge and process cartridge for use in the image forming apparatus taught by Koga, alongside the toner described above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to use the toner cartridge and process cartridge taught by Nakamura in the electrophotographic apparatus of Koga, with the toner of Nakajima, Maeda, Koga, and Lin described above, satisfying Claim 17 and Claim 18.
Conclusion
/GRANT STEVEN SEILER/Examiner, Art Unit 1734
/PETER L VAJDA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1737 08/26/2026