DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shindo et al. (2020/0001143) in view of Miyazaki et al. (2019/0048175). Claim 1, Shindo discloses a rubber composition for golf balls, comprising (a) a base rubber, (b) a co-crosslinking agent which is an alpha, beta unsaturated carboxylic acid or a metal salt thereof or both, (c) an organic peroxide (crosslinking initiator), and (d) water (abstract). Shindo further discloses at least 0.1 parts of a hindered phenol-type antioxidant based on 100 parts rubber [0054]. Shindo does not disclose the antioxidant having a thioether structure. Miyazaki teaches a rubber composition comprising antioxidants such as Antage HP-500 and Irganox 1520L [0065], which are identical to applicant’s antioxidant with a thioether structure, see instant spec [0070]. One of ordinary skill in the art would include the antioxidant comprising a thioether structure for the desired durability. Claims 2-5, Miyazaki teaches a rubber composition comprising antioxidants such as Antage HP-500 and Irganox 1520L [0065], which are identical to applicant’s antioxidant with a thioether structure, see instant spec [0070]. The properties will also be identical. Claim 6, Shindo discloses an antioxidant which is a benzoimidazole of general formula (II) (see claim) or a metal salt thereof or both. R is a hydrogen atom or a hydrocarbon group of 1 to 20 carbon atoms and m is an integer from 1 to 4, with each R being the same or different when m is 2 or more [0046-0047]. Claim 7, Shindo discloses the antioxidant is selected from the group consisting of 2-mercaptobenzoimidazole, 2-mercaptomethylbenzoimidazole, and metal salts thereof [0047]. Claim 15, water is moisture. One of ordinary skill in the art would include the antioxidant comprising a thioether structure for the desired durability.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shindo et al. (2020/0001143) in view of Miyazaki et al. (2019/0048175), and further in view of Shindo et al. (2021/0379450). Claim 8, Shindo in view of Miyazaki does not disclose (g) a sulfur or alkylphenoldisulfide. Shindo ‘450 teaches a rubber composition comprising a sulfur or an organosulfur which is alkylphenoldisulfide polymers represented by the general formula (III) (see claim). R is an alkyl group and n is the degree of polymerization in a range of 2 to 20 [0065, 0067]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have included an additional organosulfur for enhanced processing. Claim 9, Shindo ‘450 teaches R in the general formula (III) is an lower alkyl group of 1 to 6 carbon atoms selected from the group consisting of methyl, ethyl, n-propyl,iso-propyl, n-butyl, tert-butyl, n-amyl (pentyl), iso-amyl (pentyl), tert-amyl (pentyl), sec- isoamyl, neopentyl, n-hexyl, iso-hexyl, tert-hexyl groups [0065]. Claim 10, Shindo ‘450 teaches amylphenoldisulfide polymers. Claim 11, Shindo ‘143 discloses an organosulfur differing from component (g) [0051]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have included an additional organosulfur for enhanced processing.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 16-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/22/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues one of ordinary skill in the art would not have modified Shindo in view of Miyazaki because of the difference in terms of rubber crosslinking systems. Shindo is directed to a peroxide crosslinking system while Miyazaki is directed to a sulfur crosslinking system. However, antioxidants are known for providing durability such as crack prevention. The crosslinking system would not prevent one from searching across the rubber art for antioxidants.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
August 16, 2026