DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claims 12-14, the base claim is for a rubber composition, the golf ball parameters do not further limit the composition. Claims 13-14, no antecedent basis for the core.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shindo et al. (2020/0001143) in view of Miyazaki et al. (2019/0048175). Claim 1, Shindo discloses a rubber composition for golf balls, comprising (a) a base rubber, (b) a co-crosslinking agent which is an alpha, beta unsaturated carboxylic acid or a metal salt thereof or both, (c) an organic peroxide (crosslinking initiator), and (d) water (abstract). Shindo further discloses at least 0.1 parts of a hindered phenol-type antioxidant based on 100 parts rubber [0054]. Shindo does not disclose the antioxidant having a thioether structure. Miyazaki teaches a rubber composition comprising antioxidants such as Antage HP-500 and Irganox 1520L [0065], which are identical to applicant’s antioxidant with a thioether structure, see instant spec [0070]. One of ordinary skill in the art would include the antioxidant comprising a thioether structure for the desired durability. Claims 2-5, Miyazaki teaches a rubber composition comprising antioxidants such as Antage HP-500 and Irganox 1520L [0065], which are identical to applicant’s antioxidant with a thioether structure, see instant spec [0070]. The properties will also be identical. Claim 6, Shindo discloses an antioxidant which is a benzoimidazole of general formula (II) (see claim) or a metal salt thereof or both. R is a hydrogen atom or a hydrocarbon group of 1 to 20 carbon atoms and m is an integer from 1 to 4, with each R being the same or different when m is 2 or more [0046-0047]. Claim 7, Shindo discloses the antioxidant is selected from the group consisting of 2-mercaptobenzoimidazole, 2-mercaptomethylbenzoimidazole, and metal salts thereof [0047]. One of ordinary skill in the art would include the antioxidant comprising a thioether structure for the desired durability.
Claim(s) 8-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shindo et al. (2020/0001143) in view of Miyazaki et al. (2019/0048175), and further in view of Shindo et al. (2021/0379450). Claim 8, Shindo in view of Miyazaki does not disclose (g) a sulfur or alkylphenoldisulfide. Shindo ‘450 teaches a rubber composition comprising a sulfur or an organosulfur which is alkylphenoldisulfide polymers represented by the general formula (III) (see claim). R is an alkyl group and n is the degree of polymerization in a range of 2 to 20 [0065, 0067]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have included an additional organosulfur for enhanced processing. Claim 9, Shindo ‘450 teaches R in the general formula (III) is an lower alkyl group of 1 to 6 carbon atoms selected from the group consisting of methyl, ethyl, n-propyl,iso-propyl, n-butyl, tert-butyl, n-amyl (pentyl), iso-amyl (pentyl), tert-amyl (pentyl), sec- isoamyl, neopentyl, n-hexyl, iso-hexyl, tert-hexyl groups [0065]. Claim 10, Shindo ‘450 teaches amylphenoldisulfide polymers. Claim 11, Shindo ‘143 discloses an organosulfur differing from component (g) [0051]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have included an additional organosulfur for enhanced processing.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
February 17, 2026