This is the first Office Action for the serial number 18/769,982, CONNECTING APPARATUS DETACHABLY CONNECTING DISPLAY AND STAND, filed on 7/11/24.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I and species I in the reply filed on 2/20/26 is acknowledged.
Since the applicant elected species I, claim 10 reads on non-elected species, therefore claim 10 is withdrawn to non-elected invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by US Patent # 11,441,724 to Huang.
Huang teaches a connecting apparatus comprising a plurality of coupling protrusions arranged at the display (2) and a mounting unit (11) connectable to the stand (3). The mounting unit including plurality of hooks (1113, 1133) coupleable to plurality of coupling protrusions respectively so that while the plurality of hooks of the mounting unit is connected to the stand are coupled to the plurality of coupling protrusions which are arranged at the display. The display and the stand are connected to each other. Wherein at least a number of hooks from among the plurality hooks are moved along a first direction to couple to the plurality of coupling protrusions, respectively, and moved along a second direction opposite the first direction to decoupleable from the plurality of coupling protrusions respectively. The plurality of coupling protrusions comprises a first coupling protrusion and a second coupling protrusion arranged on a rear chassis of the display. A third coupling protrusion and a fourth coupling protrusion spaced apart from the first coupling protrusion and the second coupling protrusion and at a lower side of the first coupling protrusion and second coupling protrusion. Wherein the plurality of hooks comprises a first hook and a second hook corresponding to the first coupling protrusion and the second coupling protrusion. A third hook and a fourth hook corresponding to the third coupling protrusion and the fourth coupling protrusion respectively. The mounting unit comprises a body (111), a support plate (1112) coupleable to the body. The first hook and the second hook are being integrally formed on the support plate. A slider (113) slidably connectable to the support plate so that while the slider is connected to the support plate, the slider is moveable along a direction adjacent to the first hook and the second hook. The slider is movable along a direction away from the first hook and the second hook. The third hook and the fourth hook being integrally formed on the slider. The slider is elastically (1132) support at the support plate in a direction moving away from the first hook and the second hook. Wherein the mounting unit comprises at least one elastic member (1132) connectable between the slider and the support plate. The slider comprises an operation knob (112) which passes through the body and moves the slider.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2020/0081483 to Laurent et al.
Huang teaches the mounting unit but fails to teach the mounting unit includes the fixing part. Laurent et al. teaches the mounting unit (106) with the fixing part (3604). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Huang’s mounting unit with fixing part as taught by Laurent et al. to “improve user experience and allow the display to be installed on a support arm from the viewing side of the display without having to see or reach behind the display” (see abstract in Huang’s invention).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4 and 11 and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: Regarding claim 3, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from claims 1-3 especially with “a head part having a greater diameter than a diameter of the column part.” Regarding claim 11, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from claims 1-2 and 11 especially with “a pair of reinforcement plates coupleable to one surface of the rear chassis.” Regarding claim 13, the prior arts fail to teach all of the limitations from claims 1-2, 5-6 and 12-13 especially with “wherein the support plate further comprising a limiting protrusion which is protruded toward the fixing part.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Patent Application Publication # 2006/0231667 to Tsuo
US Patent # 10,809,761 to Lin et al.
US Patent Application Publication # 2020/0392077 to Huang
US Patent # 10,030,806 to Wen et al.
The cited references above teach the detachable connectable stand for supporting the display.
ALFRED J. WUJCIAK III
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ALFRED J WUJCIAK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3636 3/17/2026