DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claims 1-17 and 19-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-24 of U.S. Patent No. 12059734. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of US ‘734 anticipate the instant claims, although they are written in a slightly different order. See table below.
Instant Claim
US ‘734 claim(s)
Comments
1
1
Instantly claimed “second opening” corresponds to the “first circular opening” claimed in US ‘734.
2
1
3
5
4
1
5
1
6
6
7
1
8
2
9
5
The instantly claimed “second opening” corresponds to the “first partial circular opening” claimed in US ‘734.
10
5
11
5
12
5
13
5
14
5 & 12
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the hole saw of claim 5 to include the second group of openings set forth in claim 12 to provide more chip removal/slug removal properties to the hole saw.
15
5 & 12
16
12
17
5 & 12
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the hole saw of claim 12 to include the claimed spacing of claim 5 in order to provide the optimum chip removal/hole saw strength properties to the hole saw.
18
-
Not taught or rendered obvious by US ‘734
19
3 & 12
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the hole saw of claim 12 to include the claimed spacing of claim 3 in order to provide the optimum chip removal properties to the hole saw.
20
12 & 23
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the hole saw of claim 12 by providing the circular openings and partial circular openings with the same respective diameters as taught by claim 23 to make the hole saw easier to produce and provide the optimum chip removal properties to the hole saw.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Bek et al. (US 20200282474, hereinafter ‘Bek’).
Regarding claim 9, Bek discloses a hole saw 2 comprising an endcap 3/11 and a sidewall 7 defining a cylindrical shape and extending along a longitudinal axis. The sidewall comprises a cutting edge 6 at a first end and a second end opposite the cutting edge with respect to the longitudinal axis, the second end being coupled to the endcap and a first group of openings. The first group of openings comprises a first circular opening formed in the sidewall between the first end and second end and a second opening formed in the sidewall between the first end and second end (see e.g. Fig. 2, the group of openings in section D). An area of the second opening (small circle) is smaller than an area of the first circular opening (large circle), and wherein the second opening is located closer to the cutting edge than the first circular opening.
Regarding claim 11, Bek discloses the second opening being spaced a distance from the cutting edge such that there is solid area in a longitudinal direction of the sidewall between the second opening and the cutting edge.
Regarding claim 14, Bek discloses the hole saw comprising a second group of openings (e.g. groups E and or A in Fig. 2). The second group of openings comprises a second circular opening and a fourth opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 12-13 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bek et al. (US 20200282474).
Regarding claims 10, 12 and 13, Bek discloses the group of openings being a variety of shapes (see e.g. Fig. 2, group D), with no specific required arrangement/configuration of shapes other than an exemplary configuration illustrated. Therefore, providing the second opening with a different shape other than the circular shape illustrated, such that the second opening is a different shape than the first circular opening would have been an obvious design choice modification one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing would have made. Specifically, forming the second opening as a first partial circular opening (i.e. a semicircle) comprising an arc extending between a first end and second end and a straight portion extending in a line from the firs tend of the arc to the second end of the arc would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing depending on the chip evacuation properties and structural strength requirements desired by the hole saw. See MPEP 2144.04, IV, B and 2143, I, E.
Regarding claim 15, as above, Bek discloses the group of openings being a variety of shapes (see e.g. Fig. 2, group D), with no specific required arrangement/configuration of shapes other than an exemplary configuration illustrated. Therefore, providing the fourth opening as a second partial circular opening (e.g. a semicircle) would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing depending on the chip evacuation properties and structural strength requirements desired by the hole saw. See MPEP 2144.04, IV, B and 2143, I, E.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 18 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim (the double patenting rejection of claim 16 above), but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 1-8 and 16-20 would be allowed upon overcoming the double patenting rejection above.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The most relevant prior art of record is considered to be Bek et al. (US 20200282474) as discussed above, in addition to Kim (US 5316416) and Kwang (US 5392759).
As discussed, Bek discloses much of independent claim 1, including the hole saw, endcap, sidewall and first and second openings. Although a suggestion to provide a semicircular/partial circular opening exists, orienting the arc/straight portions as instantly claimed is not explicitly taught, nor would not have been rendered obvious by Bek. Kim and Kwang both disclose partial circular openings 3A located closer to the cutting edge than respective circular openings, however, as above, orienting the partial circular openings so that the straight portion is closer to the cutting edge than the arc portion would not have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, absent impermissible hindsight reconstruction of the instant invention.
Similarly, Bek discloses much of independent claim 16, including the hole saw, endcap, sidewall and a plurality of openings. Although a suggestion to provide a semicircular/partial circular opening exists, specifically separating the openings into discrete groups is not expressly taught. Fig. 2 illustrates various types of openings, but no disclosure exists to teach the claimed solid area between first and second groups of openings, and with Figures 1 and 4 taken into consideration, Bek is believed to disclose one type of openings extending around the entire circumference of the hole saw. Providing the discrete first and second groups, as well as the specific partial circular openings is not considered to have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing, absent impermissible hindsight reconstruction of the instant invention.
Conclusion
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722