DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sundarakrishnamachari et al. (US 11450985).
As per claim 1: Sundarakrishnamachari et al. discloses an article (connector assembly 100) comprising: a connector housing102 comprising a group of terminal assembly cavities 104 (see figs. 1-4); and a group of terminal assemblies 106 that differ in functionality from each other (see figs. 1-4, wherein there are multiple groups of terminal cavities which are configured to accept and retain electrical terminals 106), the terminal assemblies of the group receivable in the terminal assembly cavities of the connector housing 102 in a unique arrangement (wherein the terminal cavities 104 are configured to accept and retain electrical terminals 106 attached to the ends of wire electrical cables), the unique arrangement selectable from a plurality of unique arrangements corresponding to different predetermined configurations of a mate interface (wherein difference types/shapes/sizes of the terminal cavities is configured to accept and retain the same types/shapes/sizes of the terminals accordingly with difference functionalities from the terminal connection).
Claim(s) 1 as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han (KR20240146261).
As per claim 1: Han discloses an article (connector) comprising: a connector housing 110 comprising a group of terminal assembly cavities (see fig. 2, not label, wherein there are difference types/shapes of terminal cavities are located within the housing 110); and a group of terminal assemblies (see fig. 2, wherein the female connector (20) is formed with a plurality of third terminal installation grooves (23) in which the first female terminals (22) are installed, and a fourth terminal installation groove (25) in which the second female terminals (24) are installed) that differ in functionality from each other, the terminal assemblies of the group receivable in the terminal assembly cavities of the connector housing 110 in a unique arrangement, the unique arrangement selectable from a plurality of unique arrangements corresponding to different predetermined configurations of a mate interface (see fig. 2, wherein there are difference of types/shapes/sizes of the terminal cavities are located within the connector housing with differences functionalities to be connected accordingly to the mate interface with their same types/shapes/sizes in order to perform the connector intended functions).
Claim(s) 1 as best understood and is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chazottes et al. (US 7922530).
As per claim 1: Chazottes et al. discloses an article (connector 1) comprising: a connector housing 3 comprising a group of terminal assembly cavities (see fig. 1, wherein there are 2 groups of terminal assemblies with the axial passages element 34); and a group of terminal assemblies (see fig. 1, Wherein one of the terminal element 9 crimped at the end of respective wires 10) that differ in functionality from each other (2 different groups with 2 different types of terminal), the terminal assemblies of the group receivable in the terminal assembly cavities of the connector housing 3 in a unique arrangement (configured to be in the chamber element 4), the unique arrangement selectable from a plurality of unique arrangements corresponding to different predetermined configurations of a mate interface (wherein the connector 1 would connected to a mating interface accordingly with their same types/shapes/sizes in order to perform the connector intended functions).
Claim(s) 1-2,4-5,7-9,13-14, and 16 are as best understood and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by DeWitt (US 2020/0176919).
As per claim 1: DeWitt discloses an article (connector 100) comprising: a connector housing (102/104/106/108) comprising a group of terminal assembly cavities 124/164/200/212 (as shown in fig. 5, wherein there are 4 different groups of terminal assembly cavities); and a group of terminal assemblies 122/162/198/208 (as shown in figs. 9,11,13,15) that differ in functionality from each other (since there are different terminals, different types of terminals), the terminal assemblies of the group receivable in the terminal assembly cavities of the connector housing in a unique arrangement, the unique arrangement selectable from a plurality of unique arrangements corresponding to different predetermined configurations of a mate interface (wherein each of the different types of terminal would connect accordingly to the mating interface terminals in order to perform the connector intended functions).
As per claims 2, 4-5, 7-9: DeWitt discloses the article (connector 100), wherein the terminal assembly cavities are of a common cavity geometry and the terminal assemblies are of a common terminal assembly geometry that corresponds to the common cavity geometry (as shown in figs. 9,11,13,15, wherein each of the set of terminals are fitting within each of the set of terminal cavities); and wherein the at least one of the terminal assemblies includes terminal slots and terminal pins receivable into the terminal slots, and an arrangement of the terminal pins in the terminal slots is selectively configurable with respect to whether each of the terminal slots includes one of the terminal pins (as shown in figs. 9,11,13,15); and wherein a first one of the terminal assemblies has first number of terminals and a second one of the terminal assemblies has a second number of terminals that differs from the first number of terminals (as shown in figs. 9,11,13,15; wherein each of the terminal assemblies are difference in each one); and wherein a first one of the terminal assemblies has a first type of terminal and a second one of the terminal assemblies has a second type of terminal that differs from the first type of terminal (see figs. 9,11,13,15; wherein there are 4 different types of terminals); and wherein the connector housing has a first mate side 108 that is connectable to a mate interface (as shown in fig. 1), an opposed second, installation side that is attachable with a cover 104 that encloses the terminal assembly cavities, and the terminal assemblies are receivable through the installation side into the terminal assembly cavities (as shown in fig. 4); and wherein the terminal assembly cavities are arranged in rows and columns, including at least a first row, a second row, a first column, and a second column (as shown in figs. 6-7).
As per claim 13: DeWitt discloses a method comprising: in accordance with a predetermined configuration of a mate interface to which a connector is to be connected, selecting a unique arrangement from a plurality of unique arrangements of a group of terminal assemblies in a group of terminal assembly cavities of a connector housing (see figs. 17-18, wherein the mate interface must be accordingly match to the connector front face in order to complete the connection); and
assembling the connector by installing the group of terminal assemblies in the group of terminal assembly cavities in accordance with the selected unique arrangement (see figs. 9,11,13,15; wherein each of the terminals are in different sizes/shapes in order to fit in with their assign cavities).
(Note: claim 13 can be rejected by all the references as recited above in rejection of claim 1).
As per claims 14, 16: DeWitt discloses the method, further comprising attaching a cover onto the connector housing, the cover enclosing the terminal assemblies in the terminal assembly cavities (as shown in figs. 3-4, wherein covers 102/104/106/108 enclosed the terminal assemblies 228); wherein the connector housing 102/104/106/108 has a first mate side (see fig. 1, wherein socket contact assembly 110 is located) that is connectable to a mate interface (not shown) and an opposed second, installation side that is attachable with a cover that encloses the terminal assembly cavities (as shown in fig. 4), and the assembling includes installing the terminal assemblies through the installation side into the terminal assembly cavities (as shown in figs. 9,11,13,15).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 6, 10-12, and 15 are as best understood and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over DeWitt (US 2020/0176919).
As per claims 3, 15: DeWitt discloses the article (connector 100), wherein at least one of the terminal assemblies has a first number of terminal slots and a second number of terminal pins locked in selected ones of the terminal slots (as shown in figs. 9, 11, 13, 15). However, DeWitt does not explicitly disclose wherein the second number is less than the first number such that at least one of the terminal slots is empty; and wherein at least one of the unique arrangements excludes one or more of the terminal assemblies such that one or more of the terminal assembly cavities is empty.
On the other hand, DeWitt mentioned that each of the terminal pins of the terminal assemblies are fitting within each of the terminal assembly cavities (as shown in figs. 9, 11, 13, 15). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the second number is less than the first number such that at least one of the terminal slots is empty; and at least one of the unique arrangements excludes one or more of the terminal assemblies such that one or more of the terminal assembly cavities is empty can only deal with intended use because such modification still would change the function of the connector after all. Further, since applicant has not disclose that the second number is less than the first number such that at least one of the terminal slots is empty; and at least one of the unique arrangements excludes one or more of the terminal assemblies such that one or more of the terminal assembly cavities is empty would solved any stated problem or is for any particular purpose that would differentiated with any connectors in the art of connector. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (1987).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the connector of DeWitt by having the second number is less than the first number such that at least one of the terminal slots is empty, and at least one of the unique arrangements excludes one or more of the terminal assemblies such that one or more of the terminal assembly cavities is empty as taught by the instant invention to further adapt the mating interface as manufacture desire.
As per claims 10-11: DeWitt discloses the article (connector 100), wherein a first one of the unique arrangements includes a first one of the terminal assemblies in one of the terminal assembly cavities of the first row, a second one of the terminal assemblies in one of the terminal assembly cavities of the second row (as shown in figs. 6-7, wherein a first one of the terminal assemblies 122/162/198 in one of the terminal assembly cavities 124/164/200). However, DeWitt does not explicitly disclose wherein the remaining ones of the terminal assembly cavities are empty.
On the other hand, DeWitt mentioned that each of the terminal pins of the terminal assemblies are fitting within each of the terminal assembly cavities (as shown in figs. 9, 11, 13, 15). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the remaining ones of the terminal assembly cavities are empty can only deal with intended use because such modification still would change the function of the connector after all. Further, since applicant has not disclosed that the remaining ones of the terminal assembly cavities are empty would solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose that would differentiate with any connectors in the art of connector. It has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ 2d 1647 (1987).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the connector of DeWitt by having the remaining ones of the terminal assembly cavities are empty as taught by the instant invention to further adapt the mating interface as manufacture desire.
As per claim 12: DeWitt discloses the article (connector 100), and the terminal assembly cavities. However, DeWitt does not explicitly disclose wherein the terminal assembly cavities are arranged in a 2 x 3 configuration of, respectively, the rows and columns.
On the other hand, DeWitt discloses the terminal assembly cavities are arranged in different arrangements (as shown in figs. 6-7). However, a person having ordinary skill in the art would know that having the terminal assembly cavities are arranged in a 2 x 3 configuration of, respectively, the rows and columns can only deal with re-arrangement in parts, since applicant has not disclosed that the terminal assembly cavities are arranged in a 2 x 3 configuration of, respectively, the rows and columns would solve any stated problem or is for any particular purpose that would differentiate with any connectors in the art of connector after all or just manufacture desire design. A shifting in location is generally recognizing as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art when the operation of the device would not thereby be modified. In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to further modify the connector of DeWitt by having the terminal assembly cavities are arranged in a 2 x 3 configuration of, respectively, the rows and columns as taught by the instant to further adapt to the mating interface as the manufacture desire.
Conclusion
/T.H.N/Examiner, Art Unit 2831 /ABDULLAH A RIYAMI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2831