DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to communications filed on 12/3/2025. Claims 1- 20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/3/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. In substance, applicant’s representative argues that the combination of Zhang and Li fail to teach and/or disclose: (A) generating M lane topology curves based on a first obstacle and first lane lines at an intersection, a second obstacle and second lane lines on a driving-in road at the intersection, and a third obstacle and third lane lines; (B) performing reasonableness detection on the M lane topology curves to obtain K’ lane topology curves, wherein K’ is not greater than M, and (C) guiding the vehicle on the target path based on K’ lane topology curves.
In response to applicant’s argument (A) the examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang clearly discloses (see at least fig. 2 and corresponding sections) a multi-lane intersection with first and second static obstacles on a driving-in (i.e., entering) road section R1—solid lane line markers as uncrossable lane lines, wherein each solid lane line marker-on left and right side of the road--corresponds to first and second obstacles in the driving-in road at the intersection—and a third obstacle from a driving out (i.e., exiting) road section R2--solid lane marker from exiting road. The examiner asserts that these correlations could be made in reverse, wherein R2 is the entering/driving-in road and R1 is the exiting/driving-out road. Hence, the examiner argues that Zhang discloses this limitation.
In response to (B) the examiner respectfully disagrees. It can be clearly seen that from Zhang’s disclosure (i.e., see fig. 2) that there are lane lines 1-8 corresponding to lane lines A-G where 1-8 is not greater than its corresponding lane lines A-G; hence examiner contends that Zhang discloses this limitation.
In response to (C), the examiner respectfully disagrees. Zhang discloses utilizing the virtual connection lines (i.e., 1-8) in order to guide vehicles from exit lanes into entry lanes. Hence, the examiner contends that Zhang discloses the instantly contested limitation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN112001986A and further in view of Li et al. (WO2022/178858 A1).
As per claim 1, 986 discloses: a method for guiding a vehicle, the method comprising:
generating M lane topology curves based on a first obstacle and first lane lines at an intersection, a second obstacle and second lane lines on a driving-in road at the intersection, and a third obstacle and third lane lines on a driving-out road at the intersection, wherein the M lane topology curves use as endpoints an end of one or more driving- in lane of the driving-in road and a start point of one or more driving-out lane of the driving- out road (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5, in particular fig. 2-5; generating a virtual lane in intersection, road information including entry and exit points, positional information of lanes, and virtual connection line segments, for automatic driving);
performing reasonableness detection on the M lane topology curves to obtain K' lane topology curves, wherein K' is not greater than M (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5, in particular fig. 1 & 4; generating a virtual lane in intersection, preset rule, and virtual connection line segments); and
guiding the vehicle on a target path based on the K' lane topology curves when the vehicle is located on the driving-in road (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; determining virtual connections of an intersection, to generating a virtual lane(s) in intersection, virtual lane guides, guiding the vehicle through intelligent traffic and automatic driving).
986 discloses the invention as detailed above.
However, 986 does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle which utilizes collision avoidance systems to help guide the vehicle over the target path.
Nevertheless, Li—who is in the same field of endeavor—discloses wherein the vehicle is an autonomous vehicle which utilizes collision avoidance systems to help guide the vehicle over the target path (see Li at least fig. 1-11 and in particular fig. 1 [141], 4, 6-7; autonomous vehicle with program for controlling vehicle to avoid collision with obstacles over planned travel route).
One of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the given invention, would have been motivated to combine Li’s obstacle and collision avoidance system with those of 986’s in order to form a safer system and better user experience (i.e., by accurately predicting driving intentions of vehicles at an intersection scene to prevent traffic accidents).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 not only comes from knowledge well known in the art, but also from Li (see Li Summary of Invention).
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 2: wherein generating the M lane topology curves comprises: obtaining a lane topology curve hard boundary constraint based on the first obstacle and un-crossable first lane lines at the intersection, the second obstacle and un-crossable second lane lines on the driving-in road at the intersection, and the third obstacle and un-crossable third lane lines on the driving-out road at the intersection; obtaining a lane topology curve soft boundary constraint based on crossable first lane lines at the intersection, crossable second lane lines on the driving-in road at the intersection, and crossable third lane lines on the driving-out road at the intersection; obtaining K lane topology curve virtual boundary constraints based on the lane topology curve hard boundary constraint and the lane topology curve soft boundary constraint; and generating the M lane topology curves based on the lane topology curve hard boundary constraint, the lane topology curve soft boundary constraint, and the K lane topology curve virtual boundary constraints (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 3: wherein the K lane topology curve virtual boundary constraints are in a one-to-one correspondence with K lane topologies, and wherein any lane topology curve virtual boundary constraint A in the K lane topology curve virtual boundary constraints is based on offsetting a hard boundary constraint and/or a soft boundary constraint on a left side of a leftmost lane topology of the intersection rightwards by a first preset distance and offsetting a hard boundary constraint and/or a soft boundary constraint on a right side of a rightmost lane topology of the intersection leftwards by the first preset distance, wherein the first preset distance is based on a lane sequence of a lane topology A', or based on a lane sequence of a lane topology A' and at least one of a preset passing width of the vehicle or a lane width, wherein the lane topology curve virtual boundary constraint A corresponds to the lane topology A', and wherein the K lane topologies comprise the leftmost lane topology and the rightmost lane topology of the intersection (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 4: wherein generating the M lane topology curves comprises: separately performing angle sampling on an end of each driving-in lane of the driving-in road to obtain at least one start point pose vector of the driving-in road; separately performing angle sampling on a start point of each driving-out lane of the driving-out road to obtain at least one end point pose vector of the driving-out road; performing curve sampling on the at least one start point pose vector and the at least one end point pose vector to obtain a plurality of curves between the driving-in road and the driving-out road; and performing screening on the plurality of curves based on the lane topology curve hard boundary constraint, the lane topology curve soft boundary constraint, and the K lane topology curve virtual boundary constraints to obtain the M lane topology curves (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 5: comprises: generating a plurality of control points between the end of each driving-in lane of the driving-in road and the start point of each driving-out lane of the driving-out road; and generating the plurality of smooth curves based on the at least one start point pose vector, the at least one end point pose vector, and the plurality of control points (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 6: wherein obtaining the at least one start point pose vector of the driving-in road is obtained by comprises extending the end of each driving-in lane by a second preset distance and performing sampling (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 7: wherein performing reasonableness detection on the M lane topology curves to obtain K' lane topology curves comprises: obtaining a projection line between the driving-in road and the driving-out road based on a direction vector of the driving-in road and a direction vector of the driving-out road, wherein the projection line is a straight line on which a bisector of an included angle obtained by intersecting the direction vector of the driving-in road and the direction vector of the driving-out road is located, or the projection line is a straight line that is perpendicular to the direction vector of the driving- out road and that passes through the start point of the driving-out road; calculating an alignment coefficient between each driving-in lane of the driving-in road and each driving-out lane of the driving-out road, wherein the alignment coefficient between each driving-in lane and each driving-out lane is a ratio of a first parameter to a second parameter, wherein the first parameter is an overlapping length between two line segments obtained by separately extending a lane sideline of each driving-in lane and a lane sideline of each driving-out lane to the projection line, and wherein the second parameter is a length of a shorter line segment in the two line segments obtained by separately extending the lane sideline of each driving-in lane and the lane sideline of each driving-out lane to the projection line; and obtaining the K' lane topology curves based on the alignment coefficient between each driving-in lane of the driving-in road and each driving-out lane of the driving-out road, wherein the K' lane topology curves comprise a curve that uses an end of a driving-in lane and a start point of a driving-out lane as endpoints, and wherein an alignment coefficient between the driving-in lane and the driving-out lane is greater than a first preset threshold (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 8: wherein the K' lane topology curves comprise a first curve that respectively and a second curve, wherein the first curve uses an end of a leftmost driving-in lane of the driving-in road and a start point of a leftmost driving-out lane of the driving-out road as endpoints, and further comprise a curve that respectively wherein the second curve uses as endpoints an end of a rightmost driving-in lane of the driving-in road and a start point of a rightmost driving-out lane of the driving-out road as endpoints (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 9: wherein the K' lane topology curves either comprise a lane a first lane topology curve, a second lane topology curve, and third lane topology curve or comprise a fourth lane topology curve and a fifth lane topology curve, wherein the first lane topology curve uses as endpoints an end of a driving-in lane X of the driving-in road and a start point of a left lane of a driving-out lane Y of the driving-out road as endpoints, wherein the second lane topology curve uses as endpoints the end of the driving-in lane X and a start point of a right lane of the driving-out lane Y as endpoints, and further comprise a wherein the third lane topology curve uses as endpoints the end of the driving-in lane X and a start point of the driving-out lane Y as endpoints, wherein there is a lane on each of a left side and a right side of the driving-out lane Y, wherein the fourth lane topology curve uses as endpoints an end of a driving- in lane X of the driving-in road and a start point of a left lane or a right lane of a driving-out lane Y of the driving-out road wherein the fifth lane topology curve uses as endpoints the end of the driving-in lane X of the driving-in road and a start point of the driving-out lane Y and wherein there is a lane only on a left side or a right side of the driving-out lane Y of the driving-out road (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 10: wherein a maximum curvature of each of the K' lane topology curves is not greater than a second preset threshold, wherein a distance between each lane topology curve and each of the lane topology curve soft boundary constraint and the lane topology curve hard boundary constraint is not less than a third preset distance, and wherein a distance between any two lane topology curves is not less than a fourth preset distance (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 11: wherein the method further comprises calculating an evaluation value of each of the K' lane topology curves, wherein the evaluation value is based on related to at least one of a curvature of the lane topology curve, a curvature change rate, a quantity of diagonal crossing lanes, and at least one of lane intersection information, traffic rule information, a vehicle traffic estimation value, or drivable distance that are of a lane corresponding to the lane topology curve, wherein guiding the vehicle on the target path is based on the evaluation value of each of the K' lane topology curves (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 12: wherein the intersection comprises at least one of a crossroad, a roundabout, an intersection of a turn waiting area, a small S-bend, an elevated road entrance/exit, a multi-lane road segment without a lane marking line, a continuous turning intersection, or a narrow-lane U-turn intersection (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 13: An intersection-based map generation method, comprising: generating M lane topology curves based on a first obstacle and first lane lines at an intersection, a second obstacle and second lane lines on a driving-in road at the intersection, and a third obstacle and third lane lines on a driving-out road at the intersection, wherein the lane topology curves use as endpoints an end of one or more driving-in lane of the driving-in road, and a start point of [[a]] one or more driving-out lane of the driving- out road; performing reasonableness detection on the M lane topology curves to obtain K' lane topology curves, wherein K' is not greater than M; and generating a map of the intersection based on the K' lane topology curves at the intersection (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 14: wherein generating the M lane topology curves based on an obstacle and lane lines at an intersection, an obstacle and lane lines on a driving-in road at the intersection, and an obstacle and lane lines on a driving-out road at the intersection comprises: obtaining a lane topology curve hard boundary constraint based on the first obstacle and un-crossable first lane lines at the intersection, the second obstacle and un-crossable second lane lines on the driving-in road at the intersection, and the third obstacle and un-crossable third lane lines on the driving-out road at the intersection; obtaining a lane topology curve soft boundary constraint based on crossable first lane lines at the intersection, crossable second lane lines on the driving-in road at the intersection, and crossable third lane lines on the driving-out road at the intersection; obtaining K lane topology curve virtual boundary constraints based on the lane topology curve hard boundary constraint and the lane topology curve soft boundary constraint; and generating the M lane topology curves based on the lane topology curve hard boundary constraint, the lane topology curve soft boundary constraint, and the K lane topology curve virtual boundary constraints (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 15: A computer program product comprising instructions stored on a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the computer-readable storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program is instructions, when executed by one or more processors to implementing cause an apparatus to: generate M lane topology curves based on a first obstacle and first lane lines at an intersection, a second obstacle and second lane lines on a driving-in road at the intersection, and a third obstacle and third lane lines on a driving-out road at the intersection, wherein the lane topology curves use as endpoints an end of one or more driving-in lane of the driving-in road, and a start point of one or more driving-out lane of the driving-out road as endpoints; perform reasonableness detection on the M lane topology curves to obtain K' lane topology curves, wherein K' is not greater than M; and guide a vehicle on a target path based on the K' lane topology curves when the vehicle is located on the driving-in road (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 16: wherein generating the M lane topology curves comprises: separately performing angle sampling on an end of each driving-in lane of the driving-in road to obtain at least one start point pose vector of the driving-in road, and separately performing angle sampling on a start point of each driving-out lane of the driving-out road to obtain at least one end point pose vector of the driving-out road; performing curve sampling on the at least one start point pose vector and the at least one end point pose vector, to obtain a plurality of curves between the driving-in road and the driving- out road; and performing screening on the plurality of curves based on the lane topology curve hard boundary constraint, the lane topology curve soft boundary constraint, and the K lane topology curve virtual boundary constraints, to obtain the M lane topology curves (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 17: wherein performing reasonableness detection on the M lane topology curves comprises: obtaining a projection line between the driving-in road and the driving-out road based on a direction vector of the driving-in road and a direction vector of the driving-out road, wherein the projection line is a straight line on which a bisector of an included angle obtained by intersecting the direction vector of the driving-in road and the direction vector of the driving-out road is located, or the projection line is a straight line that is perpendicular to the direction vector of the driving- out road and that passes through the start point of the driving-out road; calculating an alignment coefficient between each driving-in lane of the driving-in road and each driving-out lane of the driving-out road, wherein the alignment coefficient between each driving-in lane and each driving-out lane is a ratio of a first parameter to a second parameter, wherein the first parameter is an overlapping length between two line segments obtained by separately extending a lane sideline of each driving-in lane and a lane sideline of each driving-out lane to the projection line, and wherein the second parameter is a length of a shorter line segment in the two line segments obtained by separately extending the lane sideline of each driving-in lane and the lane sideline of each driving-out lane to the projection line; and obtaining the K' lane topology curves based on the alignment coefficient between each driving-in lane of the driving-in road and each driving-out lane of the driving-out road, wherein the K' lane topology curves comprise a curve that uses an end of a driving-in lane and a start point of a driving-out lane as endpoints, and wherein an alignment coefficient between the driving-in lane and the driving-out lane is greater than a first preset threshold (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 18: wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: obtain a lane topology curve hard boundary constraint based on the first obstacle and un- crossable first lane lines at the intersection, the second obstacle and un-crossable second lane lines on the driving-in road at the intersection, and the third obstacle and un-crossable third lane lines on the driving-out road at the intersection; obtain a lane topology curve soft boundary constraint based on crossable first lane lines at the intersection, crossable second lane lines on the driving-in road at the intersection, and crossable third lane lines on the driving-out road at the intersection; obtain K lane topology curve virtual boundary constraints based on the lane topology curve hard boundary constraint and the lane topology curve soft boundary constraint; and generate the M lane topology curves based on the lane topology curve hard boundary constraint, the lane topology curve soft boundary constraint, and the K lane topology curve virtual boundary constraints (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 19: wherein the K lane topology curve virtual boundary constraints are in a one-to-one correspondence with K lane topologies, and wherein any lane topology curve virtual boundary constraint A in the K lane topology curve virtual boundary constraints is based on offsetting a hard boundary constraint and/or a soft boundary constraint on a left side of a leftmost lane topology of the intersection rightwards by a first preset distance and offsetting a hard boundary constraint and/or a soft boundary constraint on a right side of a rightmost lane topology of the intersection leftwards by the first preset distance, wherein the first preset distance is based on a lane sequence of a lane topology A' or based on a lane sequence of a lane topology A' and at least one of a preset passing width of the vehicle or a lane width, wherein the lane topology curve virtual boundary constraint A corresponds to the lane topology A', and wherein the K lane topologies comprise the leftmost lane topology and the rightmost lane topology of the intersection (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Both 986 and Li disclose claim 20: wherein the instructions further cause the apparatus to: separately perform angle sampling on an end of each driving-in lane of the driving-in road to obtain at least one start point pose vector of the driving-in road, and separately performing angle sampling on a start point of each driving-out lane of the driving-out road to obtain at least one end point pose vector of the driving-out road; perform curve sampling on the at least one start point pose vector and the at least one end point pose vector, to obtain a plurality of curves between the driving-in road and the driving-out road; and perform screening on the plurality of curves based on the lane topology curve hard boundary constraint, the lane topology curve soft boundary constraint, and the K lane topology curve virtual boundary constraints, to obtain the M lane topology curves (see 986 at least Abstract and fig. 1-5 and in particular fig. 2-5; and see Li at least fig. 1-11 and Abstract and Summary of Invention; high precision map layer, road component layer, lane layer, road attribute layer etc.).
Motivation to combine Li and 986 in the instant claim for the same reasoning and rationale as presented above with respect to claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MACEEH ANWARI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663