DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 15 under 35 USC 102 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of US Patent # 7,739,850 to Daudet in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2014/0290175 to Klein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 15-17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent # 7,739,850 to Daudet in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2014/0290175 to Klein.
Regarding claim 15, Daudet teaches in Figure 9, a structure (200) [wall frame structure (Column 7, Lines 46-47)] for defining an opening (201) (Column 7, Line 46) for accommodating a window or a door (Column 9, Line 7) comprising: a header track (206) [upper track (Column 7, Line 49)]; a first end member (220’) [jamb stud (Column 8, Line 35)] defining a first boundary of the opening (201); a second end member (220’) defining a second boundary of the opening (201); a header (220) [header stud (Column 7, Line 58)] spaced apart and below the header track (206) and connected to the first and second end members (220’) and defining a third boundary of the opening (201) extending from the first boundary to the secondary boundary; and a plurality of spaced apart cripples (270) [cripple studs (Column 9, Line 6)] connected to the header (220) and to the header track (206). Daudet does not teach an outer surface of each of the first and second end members, header and first plurality of spaced apart cripples extends along a first plane. However, Klein teaches in Figure 4, an outer surface of a stud (16) and a sill (14) extend along a first plane. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Daudet with Klein and have a reasonable expectation of success because Klein teaches his connector allows for vertical abutting of the stud to the sill (Paragraph 0015) thus allowing for the outer surfaces of the stud and sill to extend along a first plane.
Regarding claim 16, Daudet in view of Klein teach a structure. Furthermore, Daudet teaches in Figures 10 and 11, the header (220) is a stud (Column 7, Line 58) comprising a web (222) (Column 7, Line 60), two spaced apart legs (224 and 226) [header flanges (Column 7, Lines 60-61)] extending generally perpendicular from the web (222), and two spaced apart lips (228 and 230) [header legs (Column 7, Lines 63-64 and 66-67)] extending from a corresponding leg (224 or 226) of the two spaced apart legs (224 and 226) and extending generally parallel to the web (222), wherein each of the plurality of spaced apart cripples (270) comprises a web (272) (Column 9, Line 2) and two spaced apart legs (274) [flanges (Column 9, Line 2)] extending generally perpendicularly from the web (272) of the cripple (270), and a first flange (260) [header track (Column 8, Line 61)] extending generally perpendicularly from a first end of the web (272) of the cripple (270) and relative to the cripple first and second legs (274) of the cripple (270), wherein the first flange (260) is attached to the header lips (228 and 230).
Regarding claim 17, Daudet in view of Klein teach a structure. Furthermore, Daudet teaches in Figures 10 and 11, the first flange (260) of each cripple (270) of said plurality of spaced apart cripples (270) extends in a direction away from the legs (274) of each cripple (270) of said plurality of spaced apart cripples (270).
Regarding claim 19, Daudet in view of Klein teach a structure. Furthermore, Daudet teaches in Figure 9, the header track (206) defines a channel [between upper track flanges 208 (Column 9, Lines 4-5)] and wherein an end portion of each of the plurality of spaced apart cripples (270) opposite the first flange (260) is received within the channel defined by the header track (206).
Regarding claim 21, Daudet in view of Klein teach a structure. Furthermore, Daudet teaches in Figure 11, the outer surfaces of each of the first plurality of spaced part cripples (270) do not have any protrusions extending therefrom.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent # 7,739,850 to Daudet in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2014/0290175 to Klein in further view of US Patent # 5,826,389 to Siler.
Regarding claim 18, Daudet in view of Klein teach a structure. Furthermore, Daudet teaches in Figure 9, each of the plurality of cripples (270) attached to the header track (206), wherein an outer surface of the header track (206) extends along the first plane. Daudet does not teach a second flange on the cripple. However, Siler teaches in Figure 8, a cripple (40) that has a second flange [angle clip (Column 3, Line 2)] extending from a second end opposite a first end of a web, wherein the second flange is attached to a header track. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Daudet and Klein with Siler and have a reasonable expectation of success because Siler teaches the angle clip secure and strength the joints (Column 3, Lines 2-3).
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent # 7,739,850 to Daudet in view of US Patent Application Publication # 2014/0290175 to Klein in further view of US Patent # 5,189,857 to Herren et al.
Regarding claim 20, Daudet in view of Klein teach a structure with a plurality of spaced apart cripples but they do not teach the spaced apart cripples are formed from a single piece of material. However, Herren teaches in Figure 1, a structure (30) formed of a single piece of material (Column 6, Lines 67-68). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Daudet and Klein with Herren and have a reasonable expectation of success because making the cripple from a single piece would improve structural integrity and durability.
Conclusion
/ANDREW J TRIGGS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635