DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Zhang et al. (USPG Pub No. 2022/0159154 presented as a translation of PCT/CN2019/0998371), hereinafter “Zhang”.
Regarding claim 9, Zhang discloses an imaging lens system (see Fig. 4a), comprising: a first lens (L1) comprising positive refractive power (Table 4a); a second lens (L2) comprising a refractive power (Table 4a); a third lens (L3) comprising negative refractive power (Table 4a); a fourth lens (L4) comprising a refractive power (Table 4a); a fifth lens L5) comprising negative refractive power (Table 4a); a sixth lens (L6) comprising a refractive power and a concave image-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 4a, Table 4a); and a seventh lens (L7) comprising a refractive power (Table 4a), wherein the first to seventh lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis from an object side of the imaging lens system toward an imaging plane of the imaging lens system (see Fig. 4a, Table 4a), wherein a thickness along the axis of the first lens is greater than a thickness along the axis of the seventh lens (Table 4a), wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the sixth lens (Table 4a), and wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the third lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the second lens (Table 4a).
Regarding claim 10, Zhang discloses wherein the first lens (L1) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 4a, Table 4a).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang discloses wherein the second lens (L2) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 4a, Table 4a).
Regarding claim 12, Zhang discloses wherein the third lens (L3) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 4a, Table 4a).
Regarding claim 13, Zhang discloses wherein the sixth lens (L6) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 4a, Table 4a).
Regarding claim 14, Zhang discloses wherein the seventh lens (L7) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 4a, Table 4a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Yoo et al. (USPG Pub No. 2019/0056569), hereinafter “Yoo”, in view of Song et al. (USPG Pub No. 2019/0121100), hereinafter “Song”.
The applied reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Regarding claim 1, Yoo discloses an imaging lens system (200) (see Fig. 4), comprising: a first lens (210) comprising positive refractive power (Table 3); a second lens (220) comprising a refractive power (Table 3); a third lens (230) comprising a refractive power (Table 3); a fourth lens (240) comprising negative refractive power (Table 3); a fifth lens (250) comprising a refractive power and a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Table 3); a sixth lens (260) comprising negative refractive power (Table 3); and a seventh lens (270) comprising a refractive power (Table 3), wherein the first to seventh lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis from an object side of the imaging lens system toward an imaging plane of the imaging lens system (see Fig. 4, Table 3), wherein a thickness along the axis of the first lens is greater than a thickness along the axis of the seventh lens (Table 3), wherein a thickness along the axis of the sixth lens is greater than a thickness along the axis of the fourth lens (Table 3), wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the sixth lens (Table 3). Yoo discloses the claimed invention except for and wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the first lens. In the same field of endeavor, Song discloses and wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the first lens (Tables 7, 25). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the imaging lens system of Yoo with and wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the first lens of Song for the purpose of providing a more compact imaging lens system with high imaging quality (Paragraphs 4-6).
Regarding claim 2, Yoo further discloses wherein the first lens (210) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 4, Table 3).
Regarding claim 3, Yoo further discloses wherein the second lens (220) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 4, Table 3).
Regarding claim 4, Yoo further discloses wherein the third lens (230) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 4, Table 3).
Regarding claim 5, Yoo and Song teach the imaging lens system set forth above for claim 1, Song further discloses wherein the fourth lens has a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Tables 7, 25). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the imaging lens system of Yoo with the teachings of Song for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 7, Yoo and Song teach the imaging lens system set forth above for claim 1, Song further discloses wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (Table 13). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the imaging lens system of Yoo with the teachings of Song for at least the same reasons as those set forth above with respect to claim 1.
Regarding claim 8, Yoo further discloses wherein the seventh lens (270) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 4, Table 3).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5 and 7-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 10/28/2026
1 Published as WO 2021/022561 A1