DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Song et al. (USPG Pub No. 2019/0121100), hereinafter “Song”.
Regarding claim 1, Song disclose an imaging lens system (see Fig. 1), comprising: a first lens (E1) comprising positive refractive power (Table 3); a second lens (E2) comprising a refractive power; a third lens (E3) comprising a refractive power; a fourth lens (E4) comprising negative refractive power (Table 3); a fifth lens (E5) comprising a refractive power; a sixth lens (E6) comprising a refractive power; and a seventh lens (E7) comprising a refractive power, wherein the first to seventh lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis from an object side of the imaging lens system toward an imaging plane of the imaging lens system (see Fig. 1, Table 1), wherein a thickness along the axis of the first lens is greater than a thickness along the axis of the seventh lens (Table 1), wherein a thickness along the axis of the sixth lens is greater than a thickness along the axis of the fourth lens (Table 1), and wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the sixth lens (Table 1), and wherein an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than an absolute value of a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the first lens (Table 1).
Regarding claim 2, Song disclose wherein the first lens (E1) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1).
Regarding claim 3, Song disclose wherein the second lens (E2) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1).
Regarding claim 4, Song disclose wherein the third lens (E3) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1).
Regarding claim 5, Song disclose wherein the fourth lens (E4) has a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1).
Regarding claim 7, Song disclose wherein the sixth lens (E6) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 1, Table 1).
Claims 9, 10, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chang et al. (USPG Pub No. 2019/0361196), hereinafter “Chang”.
Regarding claim 9, Chang discloses an imaging lens system (40) (see Fig. 4A), comprising: a first lens (410) comprising positive refractive power (Table 7); a second lens (420) comprising a refractive power; a third lens (430) comprising negative refractive power (Table 7); a fourth lens (440) comprising a refractive power; a fifth lens (450) comprising a negative refractive power (Table 7); a sixth lens (460) comprising a refractive power; and a seventh lens (470) comprising a refractive power, wherein the first to seventh lenses are sequentially disposed in ascending numerical order along an optical axis from an object side of the imaging lens system toward an imaging plane of the imaging lens system (40) (see Fig. 4A), wherein a thickness along the axis of the first lens is greater than a thickness along the axis of the seventh lens (Table 7), wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the second lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the sixth lens (Table 7), and wherein a radius of curvature of an object-side surface of the third lens is greater than a radius of curvature of an image-side surface of the second lens (Table 7).
Regarding claim 10, Chang discloses wherein the first lens (410) has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 4A, Table 7).
Regarding claim 13, Chang discloses wherein the sixth lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 4A, Table 7).
Regarding claim 14, Chang discloses wherein the seventh lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof (see Fig. 4A, Table 7).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song (USPG Pub No. 2019/0121100) in view of Jhang et al. (USP No. 10,705,319), hereinafter “Jhang”.
Regarding claim 6, Song discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the fifth lens has a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof. In the same field of endeavor, Jhang discloses wherein the fifth lens (5’50) has a concave object-side surface (5’51) in a paraxial region thereof (see Figs. 22, 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the imaging lens system of Song with wherein the fifth lens has a concave object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof of Jhang for the purpose of providing an imaging lens system with reduced aberration, simpler manufacturing and higher yield rate (Col. 18, Lines 48-51).
Regarding claim 8, Song discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the seventh lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof. In the same field of endeavor, Jhang discloses wherein the seventh lens (5’70) has a convex object-side surface (5’71) in a paraxial region thereof (see Figs. 22, 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the imaging lens system of Song with wherein the seventh lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof of Jhang for the purpose of providing an imaging lens system with reduced aberration, simpler manufacturing and higher yield rate (Col. 18, Lines 48-51).
Claims 11 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang (USPG Pub No. 2019/0361196) in view of Okano (USPG Pub No. 2020/0004125).
Regarding claim 11, Chang discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof. In the same field of endeavor, Okano discloses wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface (3) in a paraxial region thereof (Table 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the imaging lens system of Chang with wherein the second lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof of Okano for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight imaging lens system (Paragraph 5).
Regarding claim 12, Chang discloses the claimed invention except for wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof. In the same field of endeavor, Okano discloses wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface (5) in a paraxial region thereof (Table 11). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the imaging lens system of Chang with wherein the third lens has a convex object-side surface in a paraxial region thereof of Okano for the purpose of providing a compact and lightweight imaging lens system (Paragraph 5).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-14 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MAHIDERE S SAHLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 8/20/2026