DETAILED ACTION
This is the first office action regarding application number 18/770,077, filed July 11, 2024. This is a Non-Final Office Action on the merits, Claims 1-15 are currently pending and are addressed below.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of applicants claim for foreign priority based on an Korean application filed on December 28, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement filed on 7/24/2025 and 5/2/2025 is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Paragraph [0064], item 313. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: Fig 1, item 173. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d), or amendment to the specification to add the reference character(s) in the description in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(b) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference character “Figure 3 item 323” has been used to designate both volume media mode and seat mode. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Leary (US-20150042751).
Regarding claim 1, Leary teaches a cockpit system provided in an mobile device comprising (Abstract, "A panorama projection unit is disclosed which concentrates the projected images in a front area of the motor vehicle," here the system is teaching a system in a front area/cockpit of a motor vehicle)
a front display disposed in front of a driver seat and a passenger seat of the mobile device, the front display including a plurality of display regions (Paragraph [0036], "FIG. 1 shows a schematic perspective view of a three-dimensional panoramic screen 8 of a panorama projection unit 1 in a front area 47 of a vehicle interior space 38. ") (See Figure 5 showing a front display extending in front of both the driver and passenger which a plurality of display regions)
a first operating system configured to receive at least one first operation signal from a driver seated on the driver seat or a passenger seated on the passenger seat (Paragraph [0053], "In the embodiment shown in FIG. 5, the combination instrument 100 calls up a communication information system 102 so that symbols, characters and letterings appear in the left-hand area (l) of the lower panoramic screen part 88 and in the right-hand area (r) of the lower panoramic screen part 88 for use of the communication information system 102," here the first operating system/lower panoramic screen is configured to receive operation from either a driver/left hand area or the passenger/right hand area)
a second operating system configured to receive at least one second operation signal from the driver or the passenger (Paragraph [0054], "The upper panoramic screen part 89 has, for example, standard indicators and possible contact points 12-33 arranged on it, which can be of help while the vehicle is travelling. In the central area (z) moreover, in all shown embodiments of FIGS. 5, 6 and 7 an image of a speedometer 91, an engine tachometer 92, a coolant temperature indicator 93 and a fuel level indicator are provided. The central area additionally shows a battery status image 81, which in particular would be important for hybrid vehicles and electric vehicles," here the upper panoramic screen/second operating system is configured to receive operation from either a driver/left hand area or the passenger/right hand area)
and a controller configured to change a display screen of at least one of the front display via the at least one of the first operation system based on the first operation signal, the second operating system based on the second operation signal, or a combination thereof (Paragraph [0053], "As shown in FIG. 5, the combination instrument 100 forms a touchscreen with a menu selection 101 which is data-connected to and interacts with the central control unit shown in FIG. 2.") (Paragraph [0055], "The program of the central control unit is configured to change both the images in this area and to re-assign or redefine individual contact points.")
wherein the first operation system and the second operating system are configured to control a projector to project light from at least a part of the front display (Paragraph [0013], "In a further embodiment of the present disclosure the panoramic screen is composed of at least two or more parts, wherein each part has at least one projector or a group of projectors assigned to it, and at least two parts are adjacent to each other. Such a panoramic screen composed of at least two parts with associated groups of projectors has the advantage that several parts can be joined together to form a panorama projection unit").
Regarding claim 2, Leary teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Leary further teaches wherein each of the first operating system and the second operating system includes a plurality of protrusions formed at regular intervals and wherein each of the protrusions protrudes by a predetermined height (Paragraph [0046], “In comparison to optical or haptic detection. the contact-sensitive control elements are advantageous. For example activation, control or evaluation can be effected by a change in pressure or by an electromagnetic, in particular capacitive change in the area of the control element. The projection surfaces 71 to 80 may include either a smooth surface without haptic feedback or a structured surface with haptic feedback at the contact points”) (Paragraph [0055], “In the upper panoramic screen part 89, lighting levels 97 are provided close to the driver, which additionally include contact point 123 for high beam, contact point 124 for low beam and contact point 125 for fog light. Furthermore contact points 121, 122 for flashing left and for flashing right are provided within easy reach for the driver, together with an image of a flashing light indicator 95,” here the system is teaching that the contact sensitive control elements for the first and second operating system can include a series of contact points 121, 122, 123, etc. and each of these contact points can be structured/protrusions).
Regarding claim 3, Leary teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Leary further teaches wherein each of the first operating system and the second operating system further a vibrator located to correspond to at least one of the plurality of protrusions and configured to generate vibration and wherein the controller is further configured to control the vibrator corresponding to protrusions through which contact is sensed, from among the plurality of protrusions (Paragraph [0046], “In comparison to optical or haptic detection. the contact-sensitive control elements are advantageous. For example activation, control or evaluation can be effected by a change in pressure or by an electromagnetic, in particular capacitive change in the area of the control element. The projection surfaces 71 to 80 may include either a smooth surface without haptic feedback or a structured surface with haptic feedback at the contact points”) (Paragraph [0025], “Besides it is possible for the panorama projection unit to trigger an acoustic, haptic or visual feedback when the provided contact points of virtual control elements are actuated, resulting in the user being informed that his entry has been recognized by the panorama projection unit.”).
Regarding claim 10, Leary teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Leary further teaches wherein the mobile device comprises at least one of a vehicle an autonomous vehicle, an electric vehicle (EV), an automobile, a truck or a mobility device (Paragraph [0008], “One embodiment of the present disclosure is a panorama projection unit for a vehicle, which includes a three-dimensional panoramic screen, a plurality of projectors which project images onto a rear side of the panoramic screen, and a central control unit which controls the projectors in such a way that the projected images are mapped without distortion on the three-dimensional panoramic screen.”).
Regarding claim 11, Leary teaches a mobile device provided with a cockpit system, comprising: (Abstract, "A panorama projection unit is disclosed which concentrates the projected images in a front area of the motor vehicle," here the system is teaching a system in a front area/cockpit of a motor vehicle)
a cockpit system including: a front display disposed in front of a driver seat and a passenger seat of the mobile device, the front display including a plurality of display regions (Paragraph [0036], "FIG. 1 shows a schematic perspective view of a three-dimensional panoramic screen 8 of a panorama projection unit 1 in a front area 47 of a vehicle interior space 38. ") (See Figure 5 showing a front display extending in front of both the driver and passenger which a plurality of display regions)
a first operating system configured to receive at least one first operation signal from a driver seated on the driver seat or a passenger seated on the passenger seat (Paragraph [0053], "In the embodiment shown in FIG. 5, the combination instrument 100 calls up a communication information system 102 so that symbols, characters and letterings appear in the left-hand area (l) of the lower panoramic screen part 88 and in the right-hand area (r) of the lower panoramic screen part 88 for use of the communication information system 102," here the first operating system/lower panoramic screen is configured to receive operation from either a driver/left hand area or the passenger/right hand area)
a second operating system configured to receive at least one second operation signal from the driver or the passenger (Paragraph [0054], "The upper panoramic screen part 89 has, for example, standard indicators and possible contact points 12-33 arranged on it, which can be of help while the vehicle is travelling. In the central area (z) moreover, in all shown embodiments of FIGS. 5, 6 and 7 an image of a speedometer 91, an engine tachometer 92, a coolant temperature indicator 93 and a fuel level indicator are provided. The central area additionally shows a battery status image 81, which in particular would be important for hybrid vehicles and electric vehicles," here the upper panoramic screen/second operating system is configured to receive operation from either a driver/left hand area or the passenger/right hand area)
and a controller configured to change a display screen of at least one of the front display, via at least one of the first operating system based on the first operation signal, the second operating system based on the second operation signal, or a combination thereof (Paragraph [0053], "As shown in FIG. 5, the combination instrument 100 forms a touchscreen with a menu selection 101 which is data-connected to and interacts with the central control unit shown in FIG. 2.") (Paragraph [0055], "The program of the central control unit is configured to change both the images in this area and to re-assign or redefine individual contact points.")
wherein the first operating system and the second operating system are configured to control a projector to project light from at least a part of the front display (Paragraph [0013], "In a further embodiment of the present disclosure the panoramic screen is composed of at least two or more parts, wherein each part has at least one projector or a group of projectors assigned to it, and at least two parts are adjacent to each other. Such a panoramic screen composed of at least two parts with associated groups of projectors has the advantage that several parts can be joined together to form a panorama projection unit").
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leary (US-20150042751) in view of Kim-2021 (US-20210354559).
Regarding claim 4, Leary teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Leary further teaches wherein the mobile device includes a camera (Paragraph [0046], “Moreover, optical detection devices may be used, which without making contact can detect and evaluate the user's entry.”).
However Leary does not explicitly teach wherein the mobile device includes a camera configured to recognize a presence or an absence of the passenger and wherein the controller is further configured to interact with the camera to adjust a drivers operating range of the second operating system based on the presence or absence of the passenger.
Kim-2021 teaches a vehicle controlling apparatus for controlling a vehicle having a display including
wherein the mobile device includes a camera (Paragraph [0076], “The user interface apparatus 200 may include an input unit 210, an internal camera 220, a biometric sensing unit 230, an output unit 250 and a processor 270.”)
configured to recognize a presence or an absence of the passenger (Paragraph [0092], “The internal camera 220 may acquire an internal image of the vehicle. The processor 270 may detect a user's state based on the internal image of the vehicle.”) (Paragraph [0248], “the number of passengers inside the vehicle”)
and wherein the controller is further configured to interact with the camera to adjust a drivers operating range of the second operating system based on the presence or absence of the passenger (Paragraph [0288], “The processor 830 may control the communication unit 810 so that visual information is not displayed on the remaining region except for the display region, among the entire region of the display. For instance, the display region may be turned on, and the remaining region may be turned off. As visual information is not displayed on the remaining region which is not used by the passenger,” here the system is adjusting the display regions/operating range based on the passengers detected by the camera) (See also Paragraphs [0290-0294]).
Leary and Kim-2021 are analogous art as they are both generally related to controlling a plurality of display systems in a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the mobile device includes a camera configured to recognize a presence or an absence of the passenger and wherein the controller is further configured to interact with the camera to adjust a drivers operating range of the second operating system based on the presence or absence of the passenger of Kim-2021 in the cockpit system of a vehicle of Leary with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the experience of passengers by customized the user interface with consideration of a passengers line of sight (Paragraph [0033], “In an embodiment of the present invention, a passenger may be provided with various interactions, through the large-screen display mounted in the vehicle. Further, the vehicle controlling apparatus according to the present invention may provide a customized user interface with consideration of a passenger's sight line range.”).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Leary and Kim-2021 teaches the system as discussed above in claim 4, Kim-2021 further teaches wherein, in response to the camera not recognizing the presence of the passenger the controller is further configured to adjust the drivers operating range to correspond to the entirety of the second operating system (Paragraph [0092], “The internal camera 220 may acquire an internal image of the vehicle. The processor 270 may detect a user's state based on the internal image of the vehicle.”) (Paragraph [0248], “the number of passengers inside the vehicle”) (See Figure 10C showing that when a single passenger is in the vehicle the entire viewing region is available, and Figure 12A showing that when two passengers are in the vehicle the operating ranges are adjusted to smaller regions)
and wherein, in response to the camera recognizing the presence of the passenger, the controller is further configured to adjust the drivers operating range to correspond to a left portion of a half of the second operating system (Paragraph [0092], “The internal camera 220 may acquire an internal image of the vehicle. The processor 270 may detect a user's state based on the internal image of the vehicle.”) (Paragraph [0248], “the number of passengers inside the vehicle”) (See Figure 10C showing that when a single passenger is in the vehicle the entire viewing region is available, and Figure 12A showing that when two passengers are in the vehicle the operating ranges are adjusted to smaller regions).
Leary and Kim-2021 are analogous art as they are both generally related to controlling a plurality of display systems in a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein, in response to the camera not recognizing the presence of the passenger the controller is further configured to adjust the drivers operating range to correspond to the entirety of the second operating system and wherein, in response to the camera recognizing the presence of the passenger, the controller is further configured to adjust the drivers operating range to correspond to a left portion of a half of the second operating system of Kim-2021 in the cockpit system of a vehicle of Leary with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the experience of passengers by customized the user interface with consideration of a passengers line of sight (Paragraph [0033], “In an embodiment of the present invention, a passenger may be provided with various interactions, through the large-screen display mounted in the vehicle. Further, the vehicle controlling apparatus according to the present invention may provide a customized user interface with consideration of a passenger's sight line range.”).
Regarding claim 6, Leary teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Leary further teaches wherein the controller interacts with the camera and controls the second operating system according to one or more specific gestures of the driver that are recognized by the camera (Paragraph [0046], “moreover, optical detection devices may be used, which without making contact can detect and evaluate the user's entry,” here the system is using an optical device/camera to recognize gestures/user entries and control the operating system according to those entries).
However Leary does not explicitly teach wherein the mobile device includes a camera configured to recognize whether the driver is looking forward.
Kim-2021 further teaches wherein the mobile device includes a camera configured to recognize whether the driver is looking forward (Paragraph [0271], “The processor 830 receives various types of information through the communication unit 810. For instance, the information may include at least one of a passenger's image captured by a camera provided in the vehicle 100, a passenger's sight line direction traced by the passenger's image, a reference point of a sight line direction, and a position of a passenger's seat.”)
and wherein the controller interacts with the camera and controls the second operating system according to one or more specific gestures of the driver that are recognized by the camera (Paragraph [0080-0084], “The input unit 200 may include a voice input module 211, a gesture input module 212, a touch input module 213, and a mechanical input module 214. … The gesture input module 212 may convert a user's gesture input into an electric signal. The converted electric signal may be provided to the processor 270 or the controller 170. The gesture input module 212 may include at least one of an infrared sensor and an image sensor for detecting the user's gesture input.”).
Leary and Kim-2021 are analogous art as they are both generally related to controlling a plurality of display systems in a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the mobile device includes a camera configured to recognize whether the driver is looking forward of Kim-2021 in the cockpit system of a vehicle of Leary with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the experience of passengers by customized the user interface with consideration of a passengers line of sight (Paragraph [0033], “In an embodiment of the present invention, a passenger may be provided with various interactions, through the large-screen display mounted in the vehicle. Further, the vehicle controlling apparatus according to the present invention may provide a customized user interface with consideration of a passenger's sight line range.”).
Claim 7-9 and 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leary (US-20150042751) in view of Kim-2016 (US 20160193923).
Regarding claim 7, Leary teaches the system as discussed above in claim 1, Leary further teaches wherein the cockpit system further includes a see-through panel (Paragraph [0038], “Further the panoramic screen 8 includes a transparent panoramic pane 9 manufactured from a transparent plastic such as polymethylmethacrylate (PMMA) or polycarbonate (PC).”).
However Leary does not explicitly teach wherein the controller is further configured to control the front display to move downward based on a low signal among the first operation signals and wherein, in response to a downward movement of the front display, the see through panel is configured to provide information to the driver and the passenger by transmitting light emitted from a lower region of the front display.
Kim-2016 teaches a vehicle having a display apparatus includes a main display part installed at a front surface of a center fascia of the vehicle to display an image including
wherein the controller is further configured to control the front display to move downward based on a low signal among the first operation signals (Paragraph [0012-0014], “The center panel may traverse the main display part in a width direction of the main display part. The center panel may be provided to move in an upper side and lower side direction so as to adjust a display area of the main display part. When the center panel moves downward, the main display part may be divided by the center panel into an upper display part and a lower display part. The center panel may move in an upper side and lower side direction by being guided by rails that are provided at both sides of the main display part.”) (See also figures 1 and 2 showing the display moving in a downward direction)
and wherein, in response to a downward movement of the front display, the see through panel is configured to provide information to the driver and the passenger by transmitting light emitted from a lower region of the front display (Paragraph [0088], “Meanwhile, the center panel 23 may be formed as transparent.”) (Paragraph [0095], “In the first operation, the main display part 110 is not divided, and shown below the center panel 23. In this case, the main display part 110 is moved downward such that the main display part 110 has no area blocked by the center panel 23, or such that the main display part 110 is blocked by the center panel 23 but has no area exposed upward of the center panel 23. In the drawings, the main display part 110 is moved downward such that an upper end portion of the main display part 110 is blocked by the center panel 23,” here the system controls the display to move upward or downward and controls the display based on the position including a transparent portion).
Leary and Kim-2016 are analogous art as they are both generally related to controlling a plurality of display systems in a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein the controller is further configured to control the front display to move downward based on a low signal among the first operation signals and wherein, in response to a downward movement of the front display, the see through panel is configured to provide information to the driver and the passenger by transmitting light emitted from a lower region of the front display of Kim-2016 in the cockpit system of a vehicle of Leary with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the experience of passengers by providing a flexible display area that can change the physical configuration of screens depending on the current situation (Paragraph [0010], “Therefore, it is an aspect of the present disclosure to provide a vehicle including a display apparatus that is capable of applying a large-scaled display part to a center fascia and ensuring flexibility in use in a stop state and in a driving state.”).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Leary and Kim-2016 teaches the system as discussed above in claim 7, Leary further teaches wherein the plurality of display regions of the front display includes a first shy button, a first in-vehicle infotainment (IVI) display, a second IVI display, and a second shy button (EXAMINERS NOTE: Here the examiner referred to the applicants specification for the definition of “shy button”, paragraph [0049] states “The shy buttons (110, 140) generally refer to buttons that are set to be recognized by the user’s field of view (FOV) only when necessary. In the example of FIG. 1, the first shy button 110 is a shy button that provides a function (for example, a function related to driving control) that the driver can use when necessary, and the second shy button 140 is a shy button that provides a function (for example, a function related to music playback) that a passenger in the passenger seat can use when necessary.”) (See figure 5 showing a plurality of buttons in a users field of view for drivers and passengers such as the headlight buttons 97 and fan controls 87, Figure 5 further shows a plurality of IVI displays as at least 48 and 8).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Leary and Kim-2016 teaches the system as discussed above in claim 7, Kim-2016 further teaches wherein, in response to receiving the low signal (Paragraph [0012-0014], “The center panel may traverse the main display part in a width direction of the main display part. The center panel may be provided to move in an upper side and lower side direction so as to adjust a display area of the main display part. When the center panel moves downward, the main display part may be divided by the center panel into an upper display part and a lower display part. The center panel may move in an upper side and lower side direction by being guided by rails that are provided at both sides of the main display part.”) (See also figures 1 and 2 showing the display moving in a downward direction)
information provided through the see-through panel is configured to correspond to a screen displayed through each of the first shy button, the first IVI display, the second IVI display, and the second shy button (Paragraph [0088], “Meanwhile, the center panel 23 may be formed as transparent.”) (See Figure 14, showing the system changing the information provided through the display surfaces and corresponding buttons based on the position of the movable screen) (Leary additionally teaches additionally changing a plurality of shy buttons and displays as can be seen in Figures 5-7)
and wherein the information is in a more simplified form than information displayed through an upper end of the front display (Paragraph [0106], “The upper display part 111 displays brief information that may be scanned with a glance, and simple and important information. For example, information about driving is displayed on the upper display part 111. For example, the upper display part 111 may display navigation information, or a notification indicator or a warning indicator while driving,” here the system teaches that one part of the display is configured to display a more simplified version of information, a person of reasonable skill in the art could apply this same methodology to an upper or lower section or even different information displays such as those in Leary).
Leary and Kim-2016 are analogous art as they are both generally related to controlling a plurality of display systems in a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include wherein, in response to receiving the low signal, information provided through the see-through panel is configured to correspond to a screen displayed through each of the first shy button, the first IVI display, the second IVI display, and the second shy button and wherein the information is in a more simplified form than information displayed through an upper end of the front display of Kim-2016 in the cockpit system of a vehicle of Leary with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the experience of passengers by providing a flexible display area that can change the physical configuration of screens depending on the current situation (Paragraph [0010], “Therefore, it is an aspect of the present disclosure to provide a vehicle including a display apparatus that is capable of applying a large-scaled display part to a center fascia and ensuring flexibility in use in a stop state and in a driving state.”).
Regarding claim 12, Leary teaches a cockpit system for a vehicle, comprising: (Abstract, "A panorama projection unit is disclosed which concentrates the projected images in a front area of the motor vehicle," here the system is teaching a system in a front area/cockpit of a motor vehicle)
a front display disposed in front of a driver seat and a passenger seat of the mobile device, the front display including a plurality of display regions (Paragraph [0036], "FIG. 1 shows a schematic perspective view of a three-dimensional panoramic screen 8 of a panorama projection unit 1 in a front area 47 of a vehicle interior space 38. ") (See Figure 5 showing a front display extending in front of both the driver and passenger which a plurality of display regions)
a first operating system configured to receive at least one first operation signal from a driver seated on the driver seat or a passenger seated on the passenger seat (Paragraph [0053], "In the embodiment shown in FIG. 5, the combination instrument 100 calls up a communication information system 102 so that symbols, characters and letterings appear in the left-hand area (l) of the lower panoramic screen part 88 and in the right-hand area (r) of the lower panoramic screen part 88 for use of the communication information system 102," here the first operating system/lower panoramic screen is configured to receive operation from either a driver/left hand area or the passenger/right hand area)
a second operating system configured to receive at least one second operation signal from the driver or the passenger (Paragraph [0054], "The upper panoramic screen part 89 has, for example, standard indicators and possible contact points 12-33 arranged on it, which can be of help while the vehicle is travelling. In the central area (z) moreover, in all shown embodiments of FIGS. 5, 6 and 7 an image of a speedometer 91, an engine tachometer 92, a coolant temperature indicator 93 and a fuel level indicator are provided. The central area additionally shows a battery status image 81, which in particular would be important for hybrid vehicles and electric vehicles," here the upper panoramic screen/second operating system is configured to receive operation from either a driver/left hand area or the passenger/right hand area)
a see-through panel adjacent to the front display for providing visual information to the driver and the passenger (Paragraph [0038], “Further the panoramic screen 8 includes a transparent panoramic pane 9 manufactured from a transparent plastic such as polymethylmethacrylate (PMMA) or polycarbonate (PC).”)
a projector (Paragraph [0013], "In a further embodiment of the present disclosure the panoramic screen is composed of at least two or more parts, wherein each part has at least one projector or a group of projectors assigned to it, and at least two parts are adjacent to each other. Such a panoramic screen composed of at least two parts with associated groups of projectors has the advantage that several parts can be joined together to form a panorama projection unit")
and a controller configured to: (Paragraph [0053], "As shown in FIG. 5, the combination instrument 100 forms a touchscreen with a menu selection 101 which is data-connected to and interacts with the central control unit shown in FIG. 2.")
change a display screen of at least one of the front display, via at least one of the first operating system based on the first operation signal, the second operating system based on the second operation signal, or a combination thereof (Paragraph [0053], "As shown in FIG. 5, the combination instrument 100 forms a touchscreen with a menu selection 101 which is data-connected to and interacts with the central control unit shown in FIG. 2.") (Paragraph [0055], "The program of the central control unit is configured to change both the images in this area and to re-assign or redefine individual contact points.")
and control the projector to transmit light emitted from a lower region of the front display to the see-through panel (Paragraph [0013], "In a further embodiment of the present disclosure the panoramic screen is composed of at least two or more parts, wherein each part has at least one projector or a group of projectors assigned to it, and at least two parts are adjacent to each other. Such a panoramic screen composed of at least two parts with associated groups of projectors has the advantage that several parts can be joined together to form a panorama projection unit").
However Leary does not explicitly teach control movement of the front display downward.
Kim-2016 teaches a vehicle having a display apparatus includes a main display part installed at a front surface of a center fascia of the vehicle to display an image including
control movement of the front display downward (Paragraph [0012-0014], “The center panel may traverse the main display part in a width direction of the main display part. The center panel may be provided to move in an upper side and lower side direction so as to adjust a display area of the main display part. When the center panel moves downward, the main display part may be divided by the center panel into an upper display part and a lower display part. The center panel may move in an upper side and lower side direction by being guided by rails that are provided at both sides of the main display part.”) (See also figures 1 and 2 showing the display moving in a downward direction).
Leary and Kim-2016 are analogous art as they are both generally related to controlling a plurality of display systems in a vehicle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant application to include control movement of the front display downward of Kim-2016 in the cockpit system of a vehicle of Leary with a reasonable expectation of success in order to improve the experience of passengers by providing a flexible display area that can change the physical configuration of screens depending on the current situation (Paragraph [0010], “Therefore, it is an aspect of the present disclosure to provide a vehicle including a display apparatus that is capable of applying a large-scaled display part to a center fascia and ensuring flexibility in use in a stop state and in a driving state.”).
Regarding claim 13, claim 13 is similar in scope to claim 10, and therefore is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Leary and Kim-2016 teaches the system as discussed above in claim 12, Leary further teaches wherein at least one of the front display, the see-through panel, or a combination thereof are touch-sensitive (Paragraph [0042], “Furthermore navigation systems, ESP systems or the like can be activated and adjusted or controlled on the panoramic screen by touching the relevant touchscreen points.”)
wherein the front display includes a plurality of protrusions formed at regular intervals, each of the protrusions protruding by a predetermined height (Paragraph [0046], “In comparison to optical or haptic detection. the contact-sensitive control elements are advantageous. For example activation, control or evaluation can be effected by a change in pressure or by an electromagnetic, in particular capacitive change in the area of the control element. The projection surfaces 71 to 80 may include either a smooth surface without haptic feedback or a structured surface with haptic feedback at the contact points”) (Paragraph [0055], “In the upper panoramic screen part 89, lighting levels 97 are provided close to the driver, which additionally include contact point 123 for high beam, contact point 124 for low beam and contact point 125 for fog light. Furthermore contact points 121, 122 for flashing left and for flashing right are provided within easy reach for the driver, together with an image of a flashing light indicator 95,” here the system is teaching that the contact sensitive control elements for the first and second operating system can include a series of contact points 121, 122, 123, etc. and each of these contact points can be structured/protrusions).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Leary and Kim-2016 teaches the system as discussed above in claim 12, Leary further teaches wherein each of the first operating system and the second operating system are configured to control one or more vibrators positioned to correspond to the protrusions to generate vibration, and wherein the controller is further configured to control the one or more vibrators corresponding to the protrusions at which contact is sensed, from among the plurality of protrusions (Paragraph [0046], “In comparison to optical or haptic detection. the contact-sensitive control elements are advantageous. For example activation, control or evaluation can be effected by a change in pressure or by an electromagnetic, in particular capacitive change in the area of the control element. The projection surfaces 71 to 80 may include either a smooth surface without haptic feedback or a structured surface with haptic feedback at the contact points”) (Paragraph [0025], “Besides it is possible for the panorama projection unit to trigger an acoustic, haptic or visual feedback when the provided contact points of virtual control elements are actuated, resulting in the user being informed that his entry has been recognized by the panorama projection unit.”).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Saka (US-20190308501) teaches a cockpit system in a vehicle including a plurality of display areas. Jeon (US-20180130449) teaches determining if a passenger is present in a vehicle and configuring displays based on the passenger determination. Gireddy (US-20190284020) teaches changing passenger interfaces such as the functionality of buttons based on determinations of a passenger presence.
/CHRISTOPHER GEORGE FEES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3662