DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "said manually slidable and rotatable components" in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as claim 4 (from which claim 5 depends) recites “manually slidable or rotatable components”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conaway in view of Gressianu. Conaway discloses in the Figures and specification an interactive toy comprising a plastic panel having front and back surfaces and mounting members for mounting the device to an external support (see paragraph [0014]), sensory accessories 16-24 disposed on the front surface of the device and configured to provide visual, audio, tactile and mental stimulation to a user (paragraph [0012]), and a battery power source and control unit for controlling operation of the device (paragraph [0013]). Conaway does not disclose that the device is configured for attachment to a shopping cart. However, this feature is known in the art, as taght for example by Gressinau at Fig. 2 and paragraphs [0035-36]), and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results and for the purpose of providing a device which can be used during a shopping trip. With respect to claims 6-8, the sensory accessories of Conaway include pressable buttons that emit light or sound, and visual displays comprising static images. With respect to claim 9, Gressinau discloses at paragraph [0042] an electronic display screen for an electronic game. One of ordinary skill in the art would understand that such a screen would customarily display changing images.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conaway in view of Gressianu, and further in view of Aboukrat. Conaway as viewed in combination with Gressianu discloses or suggests the claim limitations with the exception of the provision of a C-clamp mounting element as recited. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Aboukrat at paragraph [0066] (see element 90), and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results and for the purpose of providing a more secure mounting of the device to an external support. The provision of a plurality of C-shaped clamps is considered to be an obvious duplication of the single clamp element of Aboukrat yielding no new or unexpected results under MPEP 2144.04(VI)(B).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conaway in view of Gressianu, and further in view of Chininis. Conaway as viewed in combination with Gressianu discloses or suggests the claim limitations with the exception of the provision of a layer of gripping material on an inner surface of a mounting material as recited. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Chininis at col. 4, lines 3-10 (see friction pad 53), and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art for the purpose of providing a more secure mounting of the device to an external support.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conaway in view of Gressianu, and further in view of Brown. Conaway as viewed in combination with Gressianu discloses or suggests the claim limitations with the exception of the provision of a manually slidable element as recited. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Brown at Fig. 1A (see element 102C), and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results and for the purpose of providing an additional type of tactile and fine motor skill activity to a user.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conaway in view of Gressianu and Brown, and further in view of Jeon. While Conway discloses at Fig 1A that sliding element 102C is on a curved or zigzag track, Conaway does not disclose meshed gear elements as recited. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Jeon, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conaway in view of Gressianu, and further in view of Givens. Conaway as viewed in combination with Gressianu discloses or suggests the claim limitations with the exception of the provision of a sliding cover over a visual display. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Givens at paragraph [0027], and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results and for the purpose of providing an additional type of tactile/visual activity to a user.
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conaway in view of Gressianu, and further in view of Strauss. Conaway as viewed in combination with Gressianu discloses or suggests the claim limitations with the exception of the provision of an automotive theme to the device. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Strauss, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results and for the purpose of teaching a child about various features associated with automobiles and driving. With respect to claims 12-14, Straus discloses the provision of each of the recited features in its device, including a rotatable steering wheel with a horn button 42, a gear shift knob assembly 62, and an ignition switch 56 with corresponding insertable key 58. The recited emission of a motor sound when the key is inserted into the ignition switch and turned is suggested by Strauss, which discloses at col. 4, line 65 to col. 5, line 2 that such action “simulates the starting of a car by turning an automobile ignition key in an ignition keyhole”, and further discloses at col. 2, lines 15-18 that “[a]nother object of this invention is to provide a toy which simulates a driving environment and produces an immediate visual or audio response to a child's manipulation of the toy”.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conaway in view of Gressianu and Strauss, and further in view of Weir. Conaway as viewed in combination with Gressianu and Strauss discloses or suggests the claim limitations with the exception of the provision of a display screen as recited. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Weir, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results and for the purpose of providing a more comprehensive and immersive simulation of a driving experience.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conaway in view of Gressianu and Strauss, and further in view of Brown. Conaway as viewed in combination with Gressianu and Strauss discloses or suggests the claim limitations with the exception of the provision of a slidably mounted element on a zig-zag or curved track. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Brown as discussed above with respect to claim 4, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Conaway in view of Gressianu and Strauss, and further in view of Jeon. Conaway as viewed in combination with Gressianu and Strauss discloses or suggests the claim limitations with the exception of the provision of meshed rotatable gears. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Jeon, and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 15 and 19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 20 is allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KURT FERNSTROM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715
March 4, 2026