DETAILED ACTION
This office action is responsive to communications filed on July 11, 2024. Claims 1-12 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement filed on 7/12/2024 has been considered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9, 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb et al. (US 2014/0192781) in view of Kaur et al. (US 10,531,365).
Regarding Claim 1, Teyeb teaches a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising:
identifying a time period in which a channel parameter condition changes based at least in part on the relay transmissions (“Control information, e.g., mobility related parameters, are modified or updated depending on the detected mobility state of the mobile RN. UE and mobile RN operation is then controlled in accordance with the modified or updated control information associated with the mobility state of the mobile RN” – See [0069]; “The mobile relay node mobility state may be communicated to UEs in a connected mode via dedicated messages, e.g., by Radio Resource Control, RRC, signaling, or broadcasted in an additional information element, IE, in a System Information Block, SIB” – See [0098]; Based on a received SIB received from the relay node (relay transmission), the UE identifies an updated mobility state (changed channel parameter condition)); and
modifying a channel estimation measurement and reporting schedule based at least in part on the time period in which the channel parameter condition changes (“in another non-limiting example embodiment, the mobile RN, upon detecting that it is entering the moving mobility state, changes the measurement configuration of UEs it is serving to stop or reduce measurement reporting. This may be realized in several example ways … A third example way is to introduce a new IE to inform UEs to stop measurements altogether, except measurements for the serving cell. The IE may include addition information such as for how long the UEs should disable the measurement reports” – See [0104]; The UE modifies its measurement and reporting schedule (e.g., by stopping measurements and reporting in one example) in response to the channel parameter condition changes).
Teyeb does not explicitly teach determining a transmission schedule associated with one or more relay nodes performing relay transmissions on a channel, wherein the identifying is based at least in part on the transmission schedule.
However, Kaur teaches determining a transmission schedule associated with one or more relay nodes performing relay transmissions on a channel, wherein the identifying is based at least in part on the transmission schedule (“The relay WTRU may respond with an acknowledgement message with optional configuration parameters to indicate the SIB transfer mechanism. The SIB transfer mechanism may include the schedule with which the SIBs are forwarded. For example, the SIBs may be forwarded on reserved frames, and the relay WTRU may indicate the DFN offset number of the DFN pattern when the SIBs are transmitted” – See col. 33, lines 12-19; The UE determines a transmission schedule for SIBs (transmission schedule associated with one or more relay nodes performing relay transmissions on a channel), in order to identify when the SIBs are transmitted).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Teyeb to include determining a transmission schedule associated with one or more relay nodes performing relay transmissions on a channel, wherein the identifying is based at least in part on the transmission schedule. Motivation for doing so would be to provide the UE with the necessary information so it can know how to acquire the SIBs/relay transmissions (See Kaur, col. 33, lines 39-40).
Regarding Claim 3, Teyeb in view of Kaur teaches the method of Claim 1. Kaur further teaches receiving a configuration signal identifying the transmission schedule (“A remote WTRU that has just joined the relay and desires to read the relay SIBs should first acquire the SL-MIB message to obtain the transmitted SIBs and the SIB schedule to know how it can acquire the SIBs” – See col. 33, lines 37-40; The UE receives an MIB (configuration signal) identifying the transmission schedule of the SIBs).
Claims 4, 7, and 10 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 1.
Claims 6, 9, and 12 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 3.
Claims 2, 5, 8, and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Teyeb et al. (US 2014/0192781) in view of Kaur et al. (US 10,531,365) and further in view of Palanki et al. (US 2010/0167743).
Regarding Claim 2, Teyeb in view of Kaur teaches the method of Claim 1. Teyeb and Kaur do not explicitly teach detecting a ramp up of the relay transmissions on the channel, wherein the time period is identified based at least in part on the detected ramp up of the relay transmissions.
However, Palanki teaches detecting a ramp up of the relay transmissions on the channel, wherein the time period is identified based at least in part on the detected ramp up of the relay transmissions (“In one design, a relay UE may slowly ramp up the transmit power of a discovery pilot in order to mitigate disruption to nearby UEs. This slow ramp up may prevent outage of client UEs as well as other UEs in the vicinity of the relay UE. The slow ramp up may be especially applicable if the discovery pilot comprises the primary and secondary synchronization signals sent on the downlink or the sounding reference signal sent on the uplink” – See [0069]; “The client UE may measure the discovery pilots from the relay UEs (step 4) and may select one relay UE to serve as a relay station for the client UE (step 5)” – See [0044]; Relay nodes ramp up transmission power of discovery pilot transmissions on the channel. The UE measures/detects the discovery pilots from the relay nodes and selects one of them as the serving relay node based on the measurements).
By modifying Teyeb’s UE to select a serving relay based on a ramp up of the relay transmissions on the channel, the UE can then modify its measurement/reporting schedule in the time period based on the channel parameter conditions of the serving relay. Accordingly, the time period is identified based at least in part on the detected ramp up of the relay transmissions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Teyeb to include detecting a ramp up of the relay transmissions on the channel, wherein the time period is identified based at least in part on the detected ramp up of the relay transmissions. Motivation for doing so would be to prevent outage of other UEs in the vicinity of the relay node (See Palanki, [0069]).
Claims 5, 8, and 11 are rejected based on reasoning similar to Claim 2.
Conclusion
/SCOTT M SCIACCA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2478