DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the telescopic portion between the top part and the intermediate zone as recited in claim 3, the telescopic portion between the intermediate zone and the bottom part as recited in claim 4, the cleaning head element comprising the surface cleaning layer, the backing layer, and the at least one fluid absorbing layer as recited in claim 12, the hook and loop material recited in claim 15, the clip secured within the elongated element recited in 18, and the snapping of the protrusions into the openings recited in claim 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 700 in fig. 7.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 6, and 10 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, the term may be amended as “a removably attachable cleaning head element” in line 7.
In claim 6, the term may be amended as “[[the]]a distal end” in line 2.
In claim 10, the term may be amended as “the cleaning head element” in lines 1 and 3.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caillou (US 2011/0247157), in view of Harrington et al. (ES 2899257T3, hereinafter Harrington).
Regarding claim 1, Caillou discloses, in fig. 1, a system for cleaning (a floor cleaning mop) comprising:
an elongated element (stick 2) comprising:
a top part (top part 4), wherein the top part is a rectilinear first portion that extends along a longitudinal axis (see annotated Caillou fig. 1 below, the top part 4 extends along a longitudinal axis of the stick 2 rectilinearly);
a bottom part (bottom part 6), wherein the bottom part comprises an arc that extends away from the longitudinal axis and comprises a mating component configured to receive a removably attachable head element (annotated Caillou fig. 1 below, the bottom part 6 comprises an arc extending away from the stick 2. The recited mating component is coupled with a cleaning head 8 [corresponds to the recited cleaning head element]; abstract, a bottom end 15 of the bottom part 6 receives the cleaning head 8. Therefore, the cleaning head 8 attached to the bottom part 6 would be removable); and
an intermediate zone, wherein the intermediate zone links the top part and bottom part (annotated Caillou fig. 1 below, an intermediate zone 5 links the top part 4 and the bottom part 6);
a cleaning head element that is removably attached to the bottom part of the elongated element (abstract, a bottom end 15 of the bottom part 6 receives the cleaning head 8 [corresponds to the recited cleaning head element]. Therefore, the cleaning head 8 is removably attached to the bottom part 6); and
at least one grip element that is attached to the top part of the elongated element (annotated Caillou fig. 1 below and ¶ 0039, an outside surface 22 [corresponds to the recited grip element] of a handle 20 disposed at the top part of the stick 2 [corresponds to the recited elongated element]. The outside surface 22 is to be gripped by a user), but does not disclose the grip element is removably attached and is configured to allow the elongated element to rotate free of said grip element.
Harrington teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the grip element is removably attached and is configured to allow the elongated element to rotate free of said grip element (Harrington English translation, p. 28:21-30 and fig. 17, an elongated element of a surface cleaning assembly comprises a grip 218 [corresponds to the recited grip element]. The grip 218 can rotate about a handle 214, thus the handle 214 [corresponds to the recited elongated element] can rotate free of the grip 218. Any attached component of an apparatus can be removed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Caillou to provide the grip element as taught by Harrington so that a user may grab the grip element with one hand and rotate the handle with the other hand stably in order to scrub a mop on a floor surface for effective hard surface cleaning.
Annotated Caillou Figure 1
Regarding claim 2, Caillou as modified by Harrington teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein, in the direction of the longitudinal axis, the top part of the elongated element extends over a first distance, and the bottom part of the elongated element extends over a second distance that is less than one-third of the first distance (see annotated Caillou fig. 1 above, the recited second distance of the bottom part 6 is less than one-third of the recited first distance of the top part 4; ¶ 0012, a second distance, which is a linear distance of the recited intermediate zone and the bottom part together, is less than one-third and preferably less than one-fifth of the first distance, which is a distance of the top part).
Regarding claim 3, Caillou as modified by Harrington teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the elongated element comprises a telescopic portion between the top part and the intermediate zone (Caillou fig. 3, annotated Caillou fig. 1 above, and ¶ 0037, a first segment 10a and a second segment 10b form a telescopic assembly. The telescopic segments 10a, 10b are disposed between the top part 4 and the recited intermediate zone).
Regarding claim 5, Caillou as modified by Harrington teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the bottom part extends away from the longitudinal axis for an arc length between 40 centimeters and 60 centimeters with an angle of 60 degrees.
Caillou discloses the second distance, which is the linear distance of the recited intermediate zone and the bottom part together, is less than or equal to 30 cm (¶ 0013 and fig. 3). Thus, an arc distance of the bottom part may be between 40 and 60 cm, but does not disclose an arc length of the bottom part nor an angle explicitly.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Caillou as modified by Harrington to provide the recited arc length and angle in order to provide an ergonomically sized cleaner so that a user can clean a surface effectively in a comfortable position. Where the only difference between a claim and the prior art is one of relative dimensional differences and there is no showing that the claimed device and the prior art would perform any differently, the claimed device is not patentably distinct from the prior art. See MPEP 2144.04(IV)(A).
Regarding claim 6, Caillou as modified by Harrington teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the top part of the elongated element comprises a knob disposed at the distal end of the elongated element (annotated Caillou fig. 1 above and fig. 3, a knob 30 is disposed at a distal end of the elongated element).
Regarding claim 7, Caillou as modified by Harrington teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the grip element is moveable in rotation relative to the elongated element around the longitudinal axis (Harrington English translation, p. 28:21-30 and fig. 17, the grip 218 can rotate about a primary axis Pa [corresponds to the recited longitudinal axis]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Caillou as modified by Harrington to provide the moveable grip element as taught by Harrington so that a user may grab the grip element with one hand and rotate the handle with the other hand stably in order to scrub a mop on a floor surface for effective hard surface cleaning.
Regarding claim 8, Caillou as modified by Harrington teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the grip element comprises a molded plastic or synthetic rubber that includes ridges (Harrington English translation, p. 29:18-24, the grip 218 can be made of plastics such as acrylonitrile butadiene styrene with thermoplastic elastomer which is synthetic rubber; p. 28:31 and fig. 24, the grip 218 may include a plurality of finger receiving features 366 [correspond to the recited ridges]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Caillou as modified by Harrington to provide the synthetic rubber grip element including ridges as taught by Harrington so that a user can operate the cleaning apparatus without slippage when grabbing the grip.
Regarding claim 9, Caillou as modified by Harrington teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the grip element is made of a material that comprises at least one of ethylene-vinyl acetate, polypropylene, or polychloroprene (Harrington English translation, p. 29:18-24, the grip 218 can be made of plastics such as polypropylene).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Caillou as modified by Harrington to provide the polypropylene grip element as taught by Harrington. The material enables a user’s hand to slide easily on the grip (Harrington English translation, p. 29:23-24).
Regarding claim 10, Caillou as modified by Harrington teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 1, wherein the head element is connected to the bottom part of the elongated element with a coupling device that provides at least two degrees of freedom in rotation between the head element and elongated element (annotated Caillou fig. 1 above and ¶ 0044, a hinge 7 [corresponds to the recited coupling device] connects the bottom part 6 of the stick 2 and the cleaning head 8. The hinge 7 provides two degrees of freedom in rotation).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caillou in view of Harrington, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Hamilton (US 2023/0094754).
Regarding claim 4, Caillou as modified by Harrington teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the elongated element comprises a telescopic portion between the intermediate zone and the bottom part. As discussed in the rejection of claim 3, Caillou discloses the telescopic portion between the top part and the intermediate zone (fig. 3).
Hamilton teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the elongated element comprises a telescopic portion between the intermediate zone and the bottom part (fig. 1A and ¶ 0032, a scrubbing device comprises a telescoping handle 104. A plurality of telescoping pins 116 allow the handle 104 to extend or retract. In fig. 1A, an upper telescoping pin 116 is considered to operate the telescoping handle between the top part and the intermediate zone, and a lower telescoping pin 116 is considered to operate the telescoping handle between the intermediate zone and the bottom part).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Caillou as modified by Harrington to provide the telescopic portion between the intermediate zone and the bottom part as taught by Hamilton so that the cleaning apparatus can be adjusted according to a user’s height for effective cleaning in a comfortable position.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caillou in view of Harrington, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Chen et al. (US 2003/0135181, hereinafter Chen ‘181).
Regarding claim 11, Caillou as modified by Harrington teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the cleaning head element comprises a cleaning pad of ultrasonic-bonded construction.
Chen ‘181 teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the cleaning head element comprises a cleaning pad of ultrasonic-bonded construction (figs. 2 and 4 and ¶ 0088 and 0109, a cleaning pad 20, which is coupled to a head assembly 114 [corresponds to the recited cleaning head element], comprises a cover 46 and a stack of layers 24. They are joined by known bonding methods such as ultrasonic bonds).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Caillou as modified by Harrington to provide the pad of ultrasonic-bonded construction as taught by Chen ‘181 in order to make sure that the multi-layered pad maintain its structural integrity during repeated scrubbing on a floor surface.
Claims 12, 13, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caillou in view of Harrington and Chen ‘181, as applied to claim 11 above, and in further view of Wildeman (US 9,693,668, hereinafter Wildeman ‘668).
Regarding claim 12, Caillou as modified by Harrington and Chen ‘181 teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 11, but does not disclose the cleaning head element comprises: a surface cleaning layer comprising a microfiber material; a backing layer comprising an attachment surface; and at least one fluid absorbing layer, comprising at least one fluid absorbing material located between the surface cleaning layer and the backing layer.
Wildeman ‘668 teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the cleaning head element (figs. 2-4, a mop head 73) comprises:
a surface cleaning layer comprising a microfiber material (fig. 2, col. 4:20-42, 10:23-25, a cleaning pad 60 comprises a first and second stitching yarns 44, 45 [correspond to the recited surface cleaning layer] made of microfiber);
a backing layer comprising an attachment surface (fig. 2 and col. 4:43-67, a flat locking stitches 54 [corresponds to the recited backing layer] forms a backing surface for attachment to a mop head); and
at least one fluid absorbing layer, comprising at least one fluid absorbing material located between the surface cleaning layer and the backing layer (fig. 2 and col. 2:62-3:7, a first and second layers 30, 31 [fluid absorbing layer] comprise absorbent substrate material, and the layers 30, 31 are located between the first and second stitching yarns 44, 45 [correspond to the recited surface cleaning layer] and the flat locking stitches 54 [corresponds to the recited backing layer]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning head element of Caillou as modified by Harrington and Chen ‘181 to provide the surface cleaning layer, the backing layer, and the fluid absorbing layer as taught by Wildeman ‘668. The multi-layered cleaning pad is suited for good cleaning of floors and other surfaces. The pad is also replaceable so that a fresh cleaning pad can be used for each floor cleaning (Wildeman ‘668 col. 1:21-27).
Caillou as modified by Harrington, Chen ‘181, and Wildeman ‘668 teaches the surface cleaning layer, the backing layer, and the at least one fluid absorbing layer form a multilayer composite that are integrally attached with one or more ultrasonic weld lines configured to form pockets of expansion in said multilayer composite (Chen ‘181 figs. 2 and 4 and ¶ 0088 and 0109, the cleaning pad 20 comprising a cover 46 and a stack of layers 24 are joined by known bonding methods such as ultrasonic bonds. A seam 54 by the ultrasonic bond 57 [corresponds to the recited ultrasonic weld line] is shown in fig. 3. By combining with Wildeman ‘668, the layers of the Wildeman ‘668’s cleaning pad can be attached with ultrasonic weld lines. The ultrasonic bonded cleaning pad of Caillou as modified by Harrington, Chen ‘181, and Wildeman ‘668 would be configured to form pockets of expansion in the multilayer composite because it is made the same way as the instant application).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Caillou as modified by Harrington, Chen ‘181, and Wildeman ‘668 to provide the pad of ultrasonic bonding as taught by Chen ‘181 in order to make sure that the multi-layered pad maintain its structural integrity during repeated scrubbing on a floor surface.
Regarding claim 13, Caillou as modified by Harrington, Chen ‘181, and Wildeman ‘668 teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 12, wherein the at least one fluid absorbing layer comprises absorptive nonwoven material (Wildeman ‘668 fig. 2 and col. 2:62-3:7, the first and second layers 30, 31 [fluid absorbing layer] comprise nonwoven absorbent substrate material).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning head element of Caillou as modified by Harrington, Chen ‘181, and Wildeman ‘668 to provide the nonwoven fluid absorbing layer as taught by Wildeman ‘668 in order to make the durable cleaning pad useful for wet cleaning.
Regarding claim 15, Caillou as modified by Harrington, Chen ‘181, and Wildeman ‘668 teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 12, wherein the attachment surface comprises a hook and loop material projecting away from the surface cleaning layer (Wildeman ‘668 fig. 4 and col. 7:30-54, the flat locking stitches 54 [corresponds to the recited backing layer] is the attachment surface. It engages the mop head 73 by hook and loop attachment system. The hook and loop material should project away from a surface of the flat locking stitches 54 in order to be coupled with the mop head 73).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning head element of Caillou as modified by Harrington, Chen ‘181, and Wildeman ‘668 to provide the attachment surface comprising the hook and loop material as taught by Wildeman ‘668 for attachment and detachment of the cleaning pad so that a dirty mop pad can be replaced easily.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caillou in view of Harrington, Chen ‘181, and Wildeman ‘668, as applied to claim 13 above, and in further view of Wildeman (US 2017/0296025, hereinafter Wildeman ‘025).
Regarding claim 14, Caillou as modified by Harrington, Chen ‘181, and Wildeman ‘668 teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 13, but does not disclose the absorptive nonwoven material comprises a spun bonded polypropylene layer.
Wildeman ‘025 teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the absorptive nonwoven material comprises a spun bonded polypropylene layer (claim 1, a cleaning pad comprises a fluid absorbing layer comprising absorptive nonwoven material including a spun bonded polypropylene layer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning head element of Caillou as modified by Harrington, Chen ‘181, and Wildeman ‘668 to provide the absorptive nonwoven layer comprising the spun bonded polypropylene layer as taught by Wildeman ‘025. Polypropylene pad is used for quick liquid absorbing and liquid containing properties.
Claims 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caillou in view of Harrington, as applied to claim 1 above, and in further view of Chen (US 2003/0142811, hereinafter Chen ‘811).
Regarding claim 16, Caillou as modified by Harrington teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 1, but does not disclose the mating component includes an assembly stem having a top element comprising a hollow tube with at least one opening located in the sidewalls of the tube, said opening having the shape of a corresponding protrusion located in or on the elongated element, wherein the opening is configured to accept with the corresponding protrusion.
Caillou discloses the recited mating component which appears to be a hollow tube (fig. 1), but it is not clearly described.
Chen ‘811 teaches, in an analogous cleaning apparatus field of endeavor, the mating component includes an assembly stem having a top element comprising a hollow tube with at least one opening located in the sidewalls of the tube, said opening having the shape of a corresponding protrusion located in or on the elongated element, wherein the opening is configured to accept with the corresponding protrusion (fig. 2 and ¶ 0020-25, a cleaning tool 1 comprises a holding rod 10 [corresponds to the recited elongated element] and a cleaning head 24. A connecting tube 22 [corresponds to the recited mating component] connects the holding rod 10 and the cleaning head 24. A top portion of the connecting tube 22 is a hollow tube with an engaging recess 36 [corresponds to the recited opening] on a sidewall of the connecting tube 22. The holding rod 10 has a protrusion 321, and the protrusion 321 engages the engaging recess 36. The both recess 36 and the protrusion 321 have circular shape to correspond each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Caillou as modified by Harrington to provide the mating component as taught by Chen ‘811 for each connection between handle and cleaning head of a cleaning tool. The cleaning head can be easily detached for replacement or washing.
Regarding claim 17, Caillou as modified by Harrington and Chen ‘811 teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the hollow tube of the assembly stem has a larger diameter than the elongated element (Chen ‘811, fig. 9, a diameter of the hollow tube of the connecting tube 22 [corresponds to the recited mating component] is larger than a diameter of the holding rod 10 [corresponds to the recited elongated element]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Caillou as modified by Harrington and Chen ‘811 to provide the recited diameters as taught by Chen ‘811 so that the handle of the cleaning apparatus can be securely assembled. It would help a user to use the cleaning apparatus stably.
Regarding claim 18, Caillou as modified by Harrington and Chen ‘811 teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 16, wherein the protrusions are located on a clip that is secured within the elongated element (Chen ‘811 fig. 2 and ¶ 0021, the protrusion 321 is located on a controlling member 32 [corresponds to the recited clip]. The controlling member 32 is secured within a connector 14 of the holding rod 10 [corresponds to the recited elongated element]. Merriam-Webster dictionary defines the clip is any of various devices that grip, clasp, or hook. The controlling member 32 of Chen ‘811 is used for clasping or hooking the elongated member to the cleaning head, thus the controlling member 32 is considered to be the recited clip).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Caillou as modified by Harrington and Chen ‘811 to provide the protrusion on the clip as taught by Chen ‘811. The controlling member 32 of Chen ‘811 can be elastically operated for convenient attachment and detachment of the cleaning head.
Regarding claim 19, Caillou as modified by Harrington and Chen ‘811 teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 18, wherein the protrusions located on the clip reversibly snap into the openings located in the sidewalls of the tube on the assembly stem to allow for attachment and detachment of the cleaning head (Chen ‘811 fig. 2 and ¶ 0021, the protrusion 321 on the controlling member 32 [corresponds to the recited clip] is coupled to the engaging recess 36 [corresponds to the recited opening], disposed on the side wall of the tube 22, by a snap fit when the cleaning head 24 is attached to the holding rod 10 [corresponds to the recited elongated element]. They also can be disengaged from each other).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Caillou as modified by Harrington and Chen ‘811 to provide snapping attachment as taught by Chen ‘811. It provides convenient attachment mechanism for the cleaning head for easy replacement of the cleaning head.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Caillou in view of Harrington and Chen ‘811, as applied to claim 18 above, and in further view of Dams et al. (JP 2000507437A, hereinafter Dams).
Regarding claim 20, Caillou as modified by Harrington and Chen ‘811 teaches the system for cleaning as in the rejection of claim 18, but does not disclose explicitly the clip is made from a plastic and comprises polypropylene (PP); acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS); polycarbonate (PC); and polyethylene (PE).
Dams teaches, in a connecting device field of endeavor and capable of solving primary problem, the clip is made from a plastic and comprises polypropylene (PP); acrylonitrile butadiene styrene (ABS); polycarbonate (PC); and polyethylene (PE) (figs. 1a and 2a and Dams English translation, p. 4:18-22, a connection strip comprising protrusions and recesses. The protrusions and recesses are engaged together for making connection. The strip is made of a plastic material, for example polyethylene or polypropylene).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cleaning system of Caillou as modified by Harrington and Chen ‘811 to provide the clip made from plastic as taught by Dams because the plastic made from PE or PP can be flexible yet strong.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Marino (US 8,375,499) discloses a cleaning device comprising a handle and a cleaning head element wherein the handle comprises a top part, a bottom part, and an intermediate zone, and wherein the bottom part extends away from a longitudinal axis of the handle.
Policicchio et al. (US 2004/0226123) discloses a cleaning apparatus comprising an elongated element, cleaning head, and a cleaning pad wherein the cleaning pad comprises a plurality of layers.
Jones (US 2022/0126162) discloses an exercise apparatus comprising a removable grip element.
/SUKWOO JAMES CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3723