DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The continuation data listed in Paragraph 1 of the specification for Application No. 18/312,502, filed May 4, 2023, should be updated, as Application No. 18/312,502 is now U.S. Patent No. 11,925,401. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Note: “stiff” in claims 1 and 20, and “high stiffness” in claim 11 will be interpreted as having a stiffness of 0.5 GPa to 15 GPa {see instant specification [0054; 0068]}.
Note: “reaction temperature is physiological condition” in claim 1 will be interpreted as at most 40 oC {see instant specification [0070; 00162]}.
Note: “low melting point” in claim 7 will be interpreted as having a melting point of at most 100 oC {see instant specification [0055]}.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5-6 and 11-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “short-chain” in claims 5, 11 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “short” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear which chain length constitutes a short-chain cross-linker, therefore claims 5, 11 and 20 are indefinite. Accordingly, dependent claims 12-19 are indefinite.
The term “long-chain” in claims 5, 11 and 20 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “long” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear which chain length constitutes a long-chain cross-linker, therefore claims 5, 11 and 20 are indefinite. Accordingly, dependent claims 12-19 are indefinite.
Claim 6: it is unclear if activation by a free-radical initiator (ex. redox system without light) precludes the step b) of photopolymerization in claim 1. Therefore claim 6 is indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saadatmanesh et al. (WO 2021/016508) in view of Rabiner et al. (US 2013/0023877).
Regarding claims 1-7 and 10: Saadatmanesh et al. (WO ‘508) discloses a method of treating bone fractures [abstract], wherein a small hole is drilled (ex. laparoscopically) into a bone. A carbon fiber sleeve is inserted into the hole, and a biocompatible resin is injected into the sleeve [pg. 6, ln. 4-14]. The resin containing crosslinkable (meth)acrylate monomers [pg. 12, ln. 2-12], PMMA [pg. 11, ln. 26-30] and a photoinitiator are photopolymerized in situ [pg. 12, ln. 2-12] at a temperature lower than body temperature (lower than 40 oC) [pg. 3, ln. 24-30]. Saadatmanesh et al. (WO ‘508) discloses addition of gold nanoparticles to the monomer mixture prior to polymerization [pg. 14, ln. 2-4]. Saadatmanesh et al. (WO ‘508) discloses removal of the polymerized implant and carbon sleeve from the medullary shaft of the bone [pg. 13, ln. 25-30], wherein RF waves (13.56 MHz - 50 GHz) are used to depolymerize the implant containing gold nanoparticles. The resulting depolymerized polymer containing gold nanoparticles is removed from the bone [pg. 13, ln. - pg. 14, ln. 8].
Saadatmanesh et al. (WO ‘508) does not disclose photopolymerizing using a diffusive light guide. However, Rabiner et al. (US ‘877) discloses a photodynamic bone stabilization system, wherein a catheter having a cooling medium, a pressurizing medium and a light-conducting fiber is used to initiate polymerization of monomers [abstract; 0005]. Saadatmanesh et al. (WO ‘508) and Rabiner et al. (US ‘877) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely in situ photopolymerization of monomers for bone repair. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined a catheter having a cooling medium, a pressurizing medium and a light-conducting fiber for initiating polymerization of monomers, as taught by Rabiner et al. (US ‘877) in the invention of Saadatmanesh et al. (WO ‘508), and would have been motivated to do so since Rabiner et al. (US ‘877) discloses the photodynamic bone stabilization system allows for the control/prevention of polymerization shrinkage without temperature rise [0042-0044].
“Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties.” A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) [see MPEP 2112.01].
Claim(s) 8-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saadatmanesh et al. (WO 2021/016508) in view of Rabiner et al. (US 2013/0023877) as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of D’Agostino et al. (US 2017/0239396).
Regarding claims 8-9: Saadatmanesh et al. (WO ‘508) and Rabiner et al. (US ‘877) disclose the basic claimed method [as set forth above with respect to claim 1]; wherein Saadatmanesh et al. (WO ‘508) discloses crosslinkable (meth)acrylate monomers [pg. 12, ln. 2-12].
Saadatmanesh et al. (WO ‘508) does not disclose the specific (meth)acrylate monomer of instant claims 8-9. However, D’Agostino et al. (US ‘396) discloses resin injectable matrix materials for treating bone fractures [abstract; 0440; 0444], wherein the resin can contain a mixture of prepolymerized acrylic resins (ex. PMMMA) and monomers such as butyl acrylate and ethylene glycol dimethacrylate [0440]. Saadatmanesh et al. (WO ‘508) and D’Agostino et al. (US ‘396) are analogous art because they are concerned with a similar technical difficulty, namely injectable monomers for bone repair. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined butyl acrylate and ethylene glycol dimethacrylate as monomers, as taught by D’Agostino et al. (US ‘396) in the invention of Saadatmanesh et al. (WO ‘508), and would have been motivated to do so since D’Agostino et al. (US ‘396) discloses monomers such as butyl acrylate and ethylene glycol dimethacrylate for an injectable resin matrix material [0440; 0444].
Double Patenting
Claim 20 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-17 of U.S. Patent No. 11,925,401. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claimed system of U.S. Patent No. 11,925,401 substantially overlaps in scope with the instant claimed system. While U.S. Patent No. 11,925,401 does not specifically claim: about 50-80% w/w or v/v of a resin solution; about 1-50% w/w or v/v of a comonomer; about 0.1-20% w/w or v/v of short-chain crosslinkers; about 0.1-40% w/w or v/v of long-chain crosslinkers; and about 0.1-5% w/w or v/v of a photoinitiator, in the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990); In re Geisler, 116 F.3d 1465, 1469-71, 43 USPQ2d 1362, 1365-66 (Fed. Cir. 1997) [See MPEP 2144.05].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 11 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Claims 12-19 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The combination of Saadatmanesh et al. (WO 2021/016508), Rabiner et al. (US 2013/0023877) and D’Agostino et al. (US 2017/0239396) does not disclose a method of repairing a bone fracture comprising a photocurable polymeric resin comprising about 50-80% w/w or v/v of a resin solution; about 1-50% w/w or v/v of a comonomer; about 0.1-20% w/w or v/v of short-chain crosslinkers; about 0.1-40% w/w or v/v of long-chain crosslinkers; and about 0.1-5% w/w or v/v of a photoinitiator with sufficient specificity. Such a reconstruction of the claims would be based on improper hindsight reasoning.
See attached form PTO-892.
Correspondence
/MICHAEL F PEPITONE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1767