DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 7-11 and 16-19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 04/20/2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of species A (Figs 3-7) a hub assembly that prevents rotation in the reply filed on 04/20/2026 is acknowledged.
Claim 15 is additionally withdrawn as being drawn to a nonelected species, specifically to Species B (Figs. 8-13), as the locking member is directed to the embodiment shown in Figs. 8-13, particularly in Fig. 10.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “one or more features that are adapted to limit relative rotation between the delivery sheath assembly and the hub assembly” in claim 1.
The claim limitation “one or more features that are adapted to limit relative rotation between the delivery sheath assembly and the hub assembly” invokes U.S.C. 112(f) because the term “features” is a generic placeholder with not specific structural meaning further modified by the functional language “adapted to limit relative rotation” further modified by being between the delivery sheath assembly and the hub assembly, however this is not enough sufficient structure to perform the recited function. For the purpose of prior art examination this limitation will be interpreted as “a protrusion” see [0079] of applicant’s specification as the protrusion limit the relative rotation between the distal hub and the hub body.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 20 is recites the limitation "the distal hub" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For the purpose of prior art interpretation this limitation will be interpreted as “the Luer fitting”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sutton et al (US 20030181942 A1), herein referenced to as “Sutton”
Claim 1
Sutton discloses: A delivery system 800a + 700 (see Figs. 2 and 6-7, [0072]) for an occlusive implant 700 (see Figs. 3c, 13A-13C, [072]) the delivery system 800a + 700 comprising: a delivery sheath assembly 800a (see Figs. 6-7, [0097[) comprising: a delivery sheath 220 + 230 (see Figs. 6-7, [0097]) extending from a proximal end proximal end of 220 attached to 812 (see Fig. 6) to a distal end distal end of 220 + 230 (see Figs. 3B and 7), the delivery sheath 220 defining a delivery lumen the lumen of 220 + 230 (see Figs. 3B and 7, [0097]-[0098]) extending therethrough, the delivery lumen the lumen of 220 + 230 adapted to accommodate an occlusive implant 700 (see Fig. 3B, [0098]) releasably secured to a core wire 410 (see Figs. 3b-3c, [0098]); and a proximal fitting 812 (see Figs. 6-7 and Figs. 17a-18b, [0100]) secured to the proximal end proximal end of 220 attached to 812 (see Fig. 6) of the delivery sheath 220 + 230; a hub assembly 810 (see Figs. 6-7, [0097]) adapted to be rotatably coupled with the delivery sheath assembly 220 + 230 (see Figs. 12a-12d, [0097]-[0098], [0102], and [0107], rotatably mounted like luer-type lock fittings), the hub assembly 810 comprising: a hub body the body of 810 (see Figs. 6-7 and 17a-17c); a distal hub 552 (see Figs. 17a-18b, [0107] and [0111]) secured relative to the hub body the body of 810 via 852 (see Figs. 17a-18b, [0107]) and adapted to engage the proximal fitting 812 (see [0111]) of the delivery sheath assembly 800a; a proximal hub proximal hub attached to 815 (see Figs. 17a-18b, [0111]) secured to the hub body 810, the proximal hub proximal hub attached to 815 adapted to accommodate the core wire 410 (see Figs. 17a-18b, [0111], core wire 410 extending through the proximal hub) extending through the proximal hub proximal hub attached to 815; and a side port 814 (see Figs. 17A-18b, [0097]) coupled to hub body 810 and adapted for flushing an interior (see [0097], flushing and contrast injection) of the delivery system 800a + 700, wherein the delivery system 800a + 700 includes one or more features tips of 852 (see Figs. 17a and 17c, [0107], meets 112f interpretation of a “protrusion”) that are adapted to limit relative rotation between the delivery sheath assembly and the hub assembly when the core wire is rotationally locked to the proximal hub.
The language, " that are adapted to limit relative rotation between the delivery sheath assembly and the hub assembly when the core wire is rotationally locked to the proximal hub," constitutes functional claim language, indicating that the claimed device need only be capable of being used in such a manner. The claim, however, is an apparatus claim, and is to be limited by structural limitations. The Office submits that the device of Sutton meets the structural limitations of the claim, and is capable of the tips of 852 to limit rotation by securing to 514 while the tether 410 is held (see [0111]).
Furthermore, wherein in product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-5, 12-13, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutton et al (US 20030181942 A1), herein referenced to as “Sutton” in view of Kriheli et al (US 20240009082 A1), herein referenced to as “Kriheli”.
Claim 2
Sutton discloses: The delivery system of claim 1, see 102 rejection above. Sutton does not explicitly disclose: wherein the proximal fitting comprises a Luer fitting.
However, Kriheli in a similar field of invention teaches a delivery system 1 (see Figs. 1-3I) with a proximal fitting 110A (see Figs. 1-3I) and a hub assembly 20 (see Fig. 3A) with a distal hub 110 (see Fig. 3A). Kriheli further teaches: wherein the proximal fitting 100A comprises a Luer fitting (see [0263], luer lock connection port).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the proximal fitting of Sutton to incorporate the teachings of Kriheli and teach a delivery system with the proximal fitting comprises a Luer fitting. Motivation for such can be found in Kriheli as this ensures inadvertent transfer of hazardous fluids and ensuring proper disconnection and reduction of air pressure from building in the system (see [0003]-[0004] and [0020]).
Claim 3
The combination of Sutton and Kriheli teaches: The delivery system of claim 2, see 103 rejection above. Sutton further discloses: wherein the proximal fitting (will not be examined here due to being an optional claim limitation) and/or the distal hub 552 include one or more features tips of 852 (see Figs. 17a and 17c, [0107], meets 112f interpretation of a “protrusion”) that are adapted to limit relative rotation between the delivery sheath assembly and the hub assembly (see 102 rejection above, functional language).
Claim 4
The combination of Sutton and Kriheli teaches: The delivery system of claim 3, see 103 rejection above. Sutton does not explicitly teach: wherein the distal hub comprises a Luer adaptor.
However, Kriheli in a similar field of invention teaches a delivery system 1 (see Figs. 1-3I) with a proximal fitting 100A (see Figs. 1-3I) and a hub assembly 20 (see Fig. 3A) with a distal hub 110 (see Fig. 3A). Kriheli further teaches: wherein the distal hub 110 comprises a Luer adaptor 110 (see Fig. 3C, [0261], 100 is adapted to fit 230, hence is a luer adaptor).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the distal hub of Sutton to incorporate the teachings of Kriheli and teach a delivery system with the distal hub comprises a Luer adaptor. Motivation for such can be found in Kriheli as this ensures inadvertent transfer of hazardous fluids and ensuring proper disconnection and reduction of air pressure from building in the system (see [0003]-[0004] and [0020]).
Claim 5
The combination of Sutton and Kriheli teaches: The delivery system of claim 4, see 103 rejection above. Sutton does not explicitly teach: wherein: the Luer adaptor includes a first protruding feature; and a distal region of the hub body includes a second protruding feature adapted to engage the first protruding feature as a result of relative rotation between the Luer adaptor and the hub body; where engagement between the first protruding feature and the second protruding feature limits relative rotation between the Luer adaptor and the hub body to less than 360 degrees.
However, Kriheli in a similar field of invention teaches a delivery system 1 (see Figs. 1-3I) with a proximal fitting 100 (see Figs. 1-3I) and a hub assembly 20 (see Fig. 3A) with a distal hub 110 (see Fig. 3A) with a hub body 210 (see Fig. 3A). Kriheli further teaches: wherein: the Luer adaptor 110 includes a first protruding feature 124 (see Figs. 3A-3C, [0259]) ; and a distal region 210A (see Figs. 3aA-3C, [0261]) of the hub body 210 includes a second protruding feature 232 (see Figs. 3A-3C, [0261]) adapted to engage the first protruding feature 124 as a result of relative rotation (see [0261], rotation between 110 and 210 causes 124 and 232 to come into contact and limits rotation in the clockwise direction when the two are coupled, see [0262]) between the Luer adaptor 110 and the hub body 210; where engagement between the first protruding feature 124 and the second protruding feature 232 limits relative rotation between the Luer adaptor 110 and the hub body 210 to less than 360 degrees (see [0262], restricts rotation in a clockwise direction during the coupling enabled state and furthermore, the angle of rotation between 232 and 124 when twisted to lock is determined by the widths of both, which are non-zero, hence rotation will be restricted at least below 360 degrees).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sutton to incorporate the teachings of Kriheli and teach a delivery system with the Luer adaptor includes a first protruding feature; and a distal region of the hub body includes a second protruding feature adapted to engage the first protruding feature as a result of relative rotation between the Luer adaptor and the hub body; where engagement between the first protruding feature and the second protruding feature limits relative rotation between the Luer adaptor and the hub body to less than 360 degrees. Motivation for such can be found in Kriheli as this allows for selective rotation of the luer to the hub body (see [0262]).
Claim 12
Sutton discloses: A delivery system 800a + 700 (see Figs. 2 and 6-7, [0072]) for an occlusive implant 700 (see Figs. 3c, 13A-13C, [072]) the delivery system 800a + 700 comprising: a delivery sheath 220 + 230 (see Figs. 6-7, [0097]) defining a delivery lumen the lumen of 220 + 230 (see Figs. 3B and 7, [0097]-[0098]) extending therethrough, that is adapted to accommodate an occlusive implant 700 (see Fig. 3B, [0098]) releasably secured to a core wire 410 (see Figs. 3b-3c, [0098]); and a proximal fitting 812 (see Figs. 6-7 and Figs. 17a-18b, [0100]) secured to a proximal end proximal end of 220 attached to 812 (see Fig. 6) of the delivery sheath 220 + 230; a hub body the body of 810 (see Figs. 6-7 and 17a-17c); a distal hub 552 (see Figs. 17a-18b, [0107] and [0111]) secured relative to the hub body the body of 810 via 852 (see Figs. 17a-18b, [0107]) and adapted to engage the proximal fitting 812 (see [0111]); a proximal hub proximal hub attached to 815 (see Figs. 17a-18b, [0111]) secured to the hub body 810, the proximal hub proximal hub attached to 815 adapted to accommodate the core wire 410 (see Figs. 17a-18b, [0111], core wire 410 extending through the proximal hub) extending through the proximal hub proximal hub attached to 815; wherein the proximal fitting 812 and/or the distal hub includes one or more features tips of 852 (see Figs. 17a and 17c, [0107], meets 112f interpretation of a “protrusion”) that are adapted to limit relative rotation between the delivery sheath assembly and the hub assembly when the core wire is rotationally locked to the proximal hub.
The language, " that are adapted to limit relative rotation between the delivery sheath assembly and the hub assembly when the core wire is rotationally locked to the proximal hub," constitutes functional claim language, indicating that the claimed device need only be capable of being used in such a manner. The claim, however, is an apparatus claim, and is to be limited by structural limitations. The Office submits that the device of Sutton meets the structural limitations of the claim, and is capable of the tips of 852 to limit rotation by securing to 514 while the tether 410 is held (see [0111]).
Furthermore, wherein in product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Sutton does not explicitly teach: wherein the proximal fitting is a Luer fitting and the distal hub is a Luer adaptor.
However, Kriheli in a similar field of invention teaches a delivery system 1 (see Figs. 1-3I) with a proximal fitting 110A (see Figs. 1-3I) and a hub assembly 20 (see Fig. 3A) with a distal hub 110 (see Fig. 3A). Kriheli further teaches: wherein the proximal fitting 100A comprises a Luer fitting (see [0263], luer lock connection port) and wherein the distal hub 110 comprises a Luer adaptor 110 (see Fig. 3C, [0261], 100 is adapted to fit 230, hence is a luer adaptor).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the proximal fitting of Sutton to incorporate the teachings of Kriheli and teach a delivery system with the proximal fitting comprises a Luer fitting and the distal hub is a Luer adaptor. Motivation for such can be found in Kriheli as this ensures inadvertent transfer of hazardous fluids and ensuring proper disconnection and reduction of air pressure from building in the system (see [0003]-[0004] and [0020]).
Claim 13
The combination of Sutton and Kriheli teaches: The delivery system of claim 12, see 103 rejection above. Kriheli further teaches: wherein: the Luer adaptor 110 includes a first protruding feature 124 (see Figs. 3A-3C, [0259]) ; and a distal region 210A (see Figs. 3aA-3C, [0261]) of the hub body 210 includes a second protruding feature 232 (see Figs. 3A-3C, [0261]) adapted to engage the first protruding feature 124 as a result of relative rotation (see [0261], rotation between 110 and 210 causes 124 and 232 to come into contact and limits rotation in the clockwise direction when the two are coupled, see [0262]) between the Luer adaptor 110 and the hub body 210; where engagement between the first protruding feature 124 and the second protruding feature 232 limits relative rotation between the Luer adaptor 110 and the hub body 210 to less than 360 degrees (see [0262], restricts rotation in a clockwise direction during the coupling enabled state and furthermore, the angle of rotation between 232 and 124 when twisted to lock is determined by the widths of both, which are non-zero, hence rotation will be restricted at least below 360 degrees).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Sutton to incorporate the teachings of Kriheli and teach a delivery system with the Luer adaptor includes a first protruding feature; and a distal region of the hub body includes a second protruding feature adapted to engage the first protruding feature as a result of relative rotation between the Luer adaptor and the hub body; where engagement between the first protruding feature and the second protruding feature limits relative rotation between the Luer adaptor and the hub body to less than 360 degrees. Motivation for such can be found in Kriheli as this allows for selective rotation of the luer to the hub body (see [0262]).
Claim 20
Sutton discloses: A delivery system 800a + 700 (see Figs. 2 and 6-7, [0072]) for an occlusive implant 700 (see Figs. 3c, 13A-13C, [072]) the delivery system 800a + 700 comprising: a delivery sheath assembly 800a (see Figs. 6-7, [0097[) comprising: a delivery sheath 220 + 230 (see Figs. 6-7, [0097]) defining a delivery lumen the lumen of 220 + 230 (see Figs. 3B and 7, [0097]-[0098]) extending therethrough, an occlusive implant 700 (see Fig. 3B, [0098]) releasably secured to a core wire 410 (see Figs. 3b-3c, [0098]), the occlusive implant 700 and the core wire disposed within the delivery lumen the lumen of 220 + 230 (see Figs. 3B-3C); a proximal fitting 812 (see Figs. 6-7 and Figs. 17a-18b, [0100]) secured to a proximal end proximal end of 220 attached to 812 (see Fig. 6) of the delivery sheath 220 + 230; a hub body the body of 810 (see Figs. 6-7 and 17a-17c); and a distal hub 552 (see Figs. 17a-18b, [0107] and [0111]) secured relative to the hub body the body of 810 via 852 (see Figs. 17a-18b, [0107]) and adapted to engage the proximal fitting 812 (see [0111]); wherein the proximal fitting 812 includes one or more features tips of 852 (see Figs. 17a and 17c, [0107], meets 112f interpretation of a “protrusion”) that are adapted to limit relative rotation between the proximal fitting and the distal hub.
The language, " that are adapted to limit relative rotation between the proximal fitting and the distal hub," constitutes functional claim language, indicating that the claimed device need only be capable of being used in such a manner. The claim, however, is an apparatus claim, and is to be limited by structural limitations. The Office submits that the device of Sutton meets the structural limitations of the claim, and is capable of the tips of 852 to limit rotation by securing to 514 while the tether 410 is held (see [0111]).
Furthermore, wherein in product and apparatus claims, when the structure recited in the reference is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See MPEP 2112.01 I.
Sutton does not explicitly teach: wherein the proximal fitting is a Luer fitting, the distal hub is a Luer adaptor, and the Luer adaptor includes one or more features.
However, Kriheli in a similar field of invention teaches a delivery system 1 (see Figs. 1-3I) with a proximal fitting 110A (see Figs. 1-3I) and a hub assembly 20 (see Fig. 3A) with a distal hub 110 (see Fig. 3A). Kriheli further teaches: wherein the proximal fitting 100A comprises a Luer fitting (see [0263], luer lock connection port) and wherein the distal hub 110 comprises a Luer adaptor 110 (see Fig. 3C, [0261], 100 is adapted to fit 230, hence is a luer adaptor) and the Luer adaptor 110 includes one or more features 232 (see Figs. 3A-3C, [0261], see [0262], restricts rotation in a clockwise direction during the coupling enabled state and furthermore, the angle of rotation between 232 and 124 when twisted to lock is determined by the widths of both, which are non-zero, hence rotation will be restricted at least below 360 degrees).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the proximal fitting of Sutton to incorporate the teachings of Kriheli and teach a delivery system with the proximal fitting comprises a Luer fitting and the distal hub is a Luer adaptor and the Luer adaptor includes one or more features. Motivation for such can be found in Kriheli as this ensures inadvertent transfer of hazardous fluids and ensuring proper disconnection and reduction of air pressure from building in the system (see [0003]-[0004] and [0020]) and this allows for selective rotation of the luer to the hub body (see [0262]).
Claim(s) 6 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sutton in view of Kriheli as applied to claim 5 and 13 above, respectively, and further in view of Lashinski et al (US 20250143713 A1), herein referenced to as “Lashinski”.
Claim 6
The combination of Sutton and Kriheli teaches: The delivery system of claim 5, see 103 rejection above. Kriheli further teaches: where engagement between the first protruding feature 124 and the second protruding feature 232 limits relative rotation between the Luer adaptor 110 and the hub body 210 (see [0262], restricts rotation in a clockwise direction during the coupling enabled state and furthermore, the angle of rotation between 232 and 124 when twisted to lock is determined by the widths of both, which are non-zero, hence rotation will be restricted at least below 360 degrees).
The combination of Sutton and Kriheli does not explicitly teach: to about 330 degrees.
However, Lashinski in a similar field of invention teaches a delivery system 8000 (see Fig. 13C) for an occlusive device 6034 (see Fig. 13C) and limited rotation (see [0207], predetermined angle) between a hub body 8084 (see Figs. 9A-9 and 13C) and a distal hub 8011 (see Figs. 9A-9 and 13C). Lashinski further teaches: limits relative rotation to about 330 degrees (see [0207], to 330 degrees).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined connection between the Luer adaptor and hub body of Sutton and Kriheli to incorporate the teachings of Lashinski and teach a delivery system for an occlusive implant with limited relative rotation to about 330 degrees between the Luer adaptor and the hub body. Motivation for such can be found in Lashinski as this can set a predetermined distance for implanting a left atrial appendage occluder to achieve tighter compression of tissue and reduced angle of the fold relative to the longitudinal axis of the device (see [0206]-[0207]).
Claim 14
The combination of Sutton and Kriheli teaches: The delivery system of claim 13, see 103 rejection above. Kriheli further teaches: where engagement between the first protruding feature 124 and the second protruding feature 232 limits relative rotation between the Luer adaptor 110 and the hub body 210 (see [0262], restricts rotation in a clockwise direction during the coupling enabled state and furthermore, the angle of rotation between 232 and 124 when twisted to lock is determined by the widths of both, which are non-zero, hence rotation will be restricted at least below 360 degrees).
The combination of Sutton and Kriheli does not explicitly teach: to about 330 degrees.
However, Lashinski in a similar field of invention teaches a delivery system 8000 (see Fig. 13C) for an occlusive device 6034 (see Fig. 13C) and limited rotation (see [0207], predetermined angle) between a hub body 8084 (see Figs. 9A-9 and 13C) and a distal hub 8011 (see Figs. 9A-9 and 13C). Lashinski further teaches: limits relative rotation to about 330 degrees (see [0207], to 330 degrees).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the combined connection between the Luer adaptor and hub body of Sutton and Kriheli to incorporate the teachings of Lashinski and teach a delivery system for an occlusive implant with limited relative rotation to about 330 degrees between the Luer adaptor and the hub body. Motivation for such can be found in Lashinski as this can set a predetermined distance for implanting a left atrial appendage occluder to achieve tighter compression of tissue and reduced angle of the fold relative to the longitudinal axis of the device (see [0206]-[0207]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Agrawal et al (US 20180256871 A1) teaches valve device handle for a medical system with rotation limitation
Rothenberg et al (US 20210322749 A1) teaches a luer valve with rotation limitation
RAIHAN R. KHANDKER
Examiner
Art Unit 3771
/RAIHAN R KHANDKER/Examiner, Art Unit 3771