Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/06/2026 have been fully considered. Prior art Chen has been brought in to address the claim amendments.
Please see the rejection below for further details
Claim Objections
The amendment to claim 1 overcomes the claim objection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The amendment to claim 2 overcomes the 112 rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1–2, 5–6 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ito et al. (USPN 9347336 B2) in view of Haruyama et al. (US PGPub 20120308772 A1) in further in view of Chen (CN 101831606 B).
Figure 1-Ito Annotated Fig. 1
Regarding Claim 1, Ito discloses a steam valve comprising: a valve casing (31) including a steam inlet portion (33), a steam outlet portion (34), and a steam chamber (61), and having an opening portion (Ito Annotated Fig. 1) communicating with the steam chamber (Ito Annotated Fig. 1); a valve seat (35) provided in a vicinity of the steam outlet portion (34) in the steam chamber (61) in the valve casing (31); a valve cover (36) installed on the valve casing (31) to close the opening portion (Ito Annotated Fig. 1), and having a through hole (Ito Annotated Fig. 1); and a valve element (32) provided at one end of the valve rod (37), and provided to be capable of abutting on the valve seat (35) but does not disclose a bush nor a PVD coating layer is formed on an outer peripheral surface of the valve rod.
Haruyama teaches a bush (202) in a cylindrical shape (Fig. 2) and a sleeve (203) in a cylindrical shape in order to provide a guide for the valve stem which also allows for smoother linear translation when controlling the flow rate (Paras. 2 and 27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve housing of Ito with a bushing and sleeve as taught by Haruyama in order to guide the valve stem as it moves linearly in the valve body.
Per the Ito–Haruyama combination Haruyama’s bushing (202) and sleeve (203) is surrounds Ito’s valve stem (37).
The Ito–Haruyama combination teaches a bush (Haruyama 202) in a cylindrical shape (Haruyama Fig. 2) and a sleeve (Haruyama 203) in a cylindrical shape fitted in the through hole (Ito Annotated Fig. 1); a valve rod (Ito 37/ Haruyama 201) penetrating the bush (Haruyama 202 and also seen in Fig. 2) to be slidable therein.
Chen teaches a physical vapor deposition coating layer (Para. 2) in order to prevent damage due to corrosion.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the valve element of Ito with a Physical Deposition Vapor (PVD) as taught by Chen in order to prevent damage due to corrosion (Para. 8).
The Ito–Haruyama–Chen combination teaches a PVD coating layer (Chen Para. 2) is formed on an outer peripheral surface of the valve rod sliding (Ito 37/ Haruyama 201) in an inner peripheral surface of the bush (Haruyama 202), and a film thickness of the physical vapor deposition coating layer is 2 µm to 30 µm (Chen Para. 47).
Regarding Claim 2, the Ito–Haruyama–Chen combination teaches a sleeve (Haruyama 203) in a cylindrical shape provided on the steam chamber side (Ito Annotated Fig. 1) of the valve cover (Ito 36), the sleeve (Haruyama 203) having a center axis coaxial with a center axis of the bush (Haruyama 202, as seen in Fig. 2), wherein: the valve element comprises: a column-shaped portion which is connected to one end of the valve rod (Ito 37/ Haruyama 201), and slides to an inner peripheral surface of the sleeve (Haruyama 203); and a hemispherical portion (Ito Fig. 1) provided to be capable of abutting on the valve seat (Ito 35); and a PVD coating layer is formed on the inner peripheral surface of the sleeve (Haruyama 203 and Chen Para. 2).
Regarding Claims 5 and 6, the Ito–Haruyama–Chen combination teaches a steam generator (Ito 20); a steam turbine (Ito 12); a steam pipe (Ito Fig. 2) which guides steam generated in the steam generator (Ito 20) to the steam turbine (Ito 12); and the steam valve (Ito 6) according to claim 1 interposed in the steam pipe (Ito Fig. 2).
Regarding Claim(s) 9, the structural limitation of the apparatus described in the claim is recited in claim(s) 1, with the exception of “a hardness of the physical vapor deposition coating layer is 2000 HV or more.”
Chen teaches a hardness of the physical vapor deposition coating layer is 2000 HV or more (Para. 52).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Angelisa L. Hicks/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3753