DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 12 recites “the the intermediate”. It should be “the intermediate”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takenaga et al. (JP 2019-012124) in view of Naito et al (JP 2008-163271).
Regarding claims 1-3, 6-7 and 13, Takenaga discloses an electrophotographic member (0001), wherein the electrophotographic member comprises a resin layer (0008), the resin layer is electrically conductive (0008), the resin layer comprises PET or PEN resin, i.e. an aromatic ring containing polyester, (0026), a fluorosulfonylimide anion (0034) and imidazolium based ions having chemical formula 4, i.e. double bond containing cation having an aromatic heterocyclic structure and cations represented by formula 2-1, (0040).
Takenaga fails to disclose the fluorosulfonylimide anion has the structure as represented by the present claim.
Naito discloses electrophotographic member (0056) comprising a resin (0001) and conductivity imparting agent bis(fluorosulfonyl)imde anion salt, has the same structure represented by present claim, to obtain very high conductivity (0006-0010).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the bis(fluorosulfonyl)imde anion salt of Naito in the electrically conductive resin of Takenaga to obtain very high conductivity.
Regarding claim 4, Takenaga in view of Naito discloses the member of claim 3, wherein R5, i.e. R1, can be hydrocarbon group having 1 to 15 carbon atoms (0037-0041) and R6, i.e. R2, can be hydrocarbon group having 1 to 8 carbon atoms (0037-0041).
Regarding claim 5, Takenaga in view of Naito discloses the member of claim 3, wherein R1 and R2 is hydrocarbon group having 1 to 15 carbon atoms (0037-0041).
Regarding claim 8, Takenaga in view of Naito discloses the member of claim 1, wherein the content of the double bond containing cation and the content of the fluorosulfonylimide anion in the resin layer is 0.1 to 15% by mass (0056).
Regarding claim 9, Takenaga in view of Naito discloses the member of claim 1, wherein the surface resistivity of the resin layer is 1x106 to 1x1014 Ω/□ (0023).
Regarding claim 10, Takenaga in view of Naito discloses the member of claim 1, wherein the electrophotographic member is an intermediate transfer member (0022-0023).
Regarding claim 11, Takenaga in view of Naito discloses the member of claim 1, wherein the electrophotographic member is an electrophotography belt having a form of an endless belt (0022).
Regarding claim 12, Takenaga in view of Naito discloses an electrophotographic image forming apparatus (title) comprises intermediate transfer member comprises the electrographic member of claim 1 (0022-0023).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to present claims have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SAMIR SHAH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1787