DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending in the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claims 1 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 1 and 11 recite “…wherein the group epoch identifier identifies one of the at least one other epoch group when the one of more desired epoch parameters” This appears to be a typographical error. The claims should recite “…the one or more desired epoch parameters”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 11 recite the limitation, “…wherein the group epoch identifier identifies the default epoch group…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Claims 2-10 and 12-20 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on indefinite base claims 1 and 11
Claims 6 and 16 recite the limitation, “…wherein the EDP group epoch parameters…”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claims. Claims 7-8 and 17-18 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on indefinite base claims 6 and 16.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-6, 8, 9, 11-16, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Ficara et al. [Ficara], IEEE P802.11 -24/0604r11, “Frame Anonymization”.
Regarding claim 1, Ficara discloses a station (STA), comprising:
a processor configured to:
transmit, to an access point (AP), an association request frame or a re-association request frame comprising a desired epoch parameter element that indicates to the AP one or more desired epoch parameters (Ficara: Abstract and Pg. 4, section 10.71.2.2: …A CPE [Consumer Privacy Extension] STA [Station] can request starting a group EDP [Enhanced Data Privacy] epoch (with preferred epoch parameters specified) or request to join a specify Group epoch (with Group ID specified) ... A non-AP MLD may include in its (re)association request the Epoch minimum Pacing element); and
receive an association response frame or a re-association response frame comprising an enhanced data privacy (EDP) epoch definition element (Ficara: See Pg. 3, section 10.71.2.1 section, A CPE AP [Access Point] and CPE STA anonymizes selected OTA [Over-The-Air] MAC [Medium Access Control] Header fields of individually addressed frames of the CPE STA within EDP epochs.),
wherein the EDP epoch definition element comprises group epoch parameters (Ficara: See Pg. 3, section 10.71.2.1, EDP parameters assigned to a STA during the preceding EDP Epoch… Establishing frame anonymization parameter sets. Pg. 4, section 10.71.2.2: …A CPE STA can request starting a group EDP epoch (with preferred epoch parameters specified)),
wherein the group epoch parameters comprise a group epoch identifier for an assigned epoch group of a plurality of epoch groups managed by the AP (Ficara: Pg. 4, section 10.71.2.3 Group EDP epoch; A CPE AP MLD [Multi-Link Device] advertises group EDP epochs by sending an unicast protected action frame containing an Enhanced Group Privacy Availability element for each relevant group EDP epoch in the BSS [Basic Service Set]),
wherein the group epoch identifier identifies the default epoch group when the one or more desired epoch parameters fail to be satisfied by corresponding group epoch parameters of at least one other epoch group managed by the AP (Ficara: Pg. 4 section 10.71.2.2, EDP epoch request; The non-AP MLD is not member of any default group at (re)association otherwise. A CPE non-AP MLD may subsequently send a EDP epoch request to join a specific group EDP epoch or the CPE non-AP MLD can request the AP MLD to start a new group EDP epoch that matches specified EDP epoch settings by sending an EDP epoch setting protected action request frame. The AP MLD shall respond with an EDP epoch setting protected action response frame, accepting or rejecting the request. A CPE non-AP MLD may leave the group EDP epoch by sending an EDP epoch setting protected action request frame), and
wherein the group epoch identifier identifies one of the at least one other epoch group when the one of more desired epoch parameters are satisfied by the corresponding group epoch parameters of at least one other epoch group managed by the AP (Ficara: Pg. 4 section 10.71.2.2, EDP epoch request; If the value of the Group Epoch Interval Duration in the Minimum Epoch Pacing element is equal or larger than the value of the Group Epoch Interval Duration for the default EDP Epoch group (group 0), then the CPE non-AP MLD shall be assigned to the default group EDP epoch, with a Epoch ID of 0, when the non-AP MLD associates to the CPE BSS and both the AP MLD and non-AP MLD support group EDP epoch).
Regarding claim 2, Ficara discloses the STA of claim 1.
Ficara further discloses wherein the processor is further configured to: operate according to the group epoch parameters in the EDP epoch definition element for subsequent communications with the AP (Ficara: Pg. 4 section 10.71.2.3 Group EDP epoch; If a CPE non-AP MLD is a member of a group EDP epoch, the non-AP MLD and the AP MLD shall anonymize the selected OTA fields of the individually addressed frames according to group epoch settings as defined in 10.71.3 (Establishing frame anonymization parameter sets), 10.71.4 (Frame anonymization transmitting functions), 10.71.5 (Frame anonymization receiving functions) and 10.71.6).
Regarding claim 3, Ficara discloses the STA of claim 1.
Ficara further discloses wherein the association request or re-association request frame is protected via encrypted information (Ficara: Pg. 4 section 10.71.2.4; Group EDP epoch setup; If a CPE AP MLD supports group EDP epoch and receives a (Re)Association Request frame with the Group EDP Epoch Supported field set, then the AP MLD shall assign the CPE non-AP MLD to the default group EDP Epoch if association succeeds. The protected Association Response frame provides the default group EDP information in the EDP Epoch Settings field of the Group Enhanced Privacy Element. See also Pg. 8, PGTK (for Privacy GTK) is the cryptographic key assigned by an EDP AP MLD that is used to manage the group EDP Epoch).
Regarding claim 4, Ficara discloses the STA of claim 1.
Ficara further discloses wherein the group epoch parameters comprise the group epoch identifier (Ficara: Pg. 9 section 9.6.38.7; The Group ID field signals an identifier of the group EDP Epoch) and at least one of: EDP epoch parameters control (Ficara: Pg. 9 section 9.6.38.7; The EDP Epoch Settings field defines the parameter of this group EDP Epoch), an epoch interval duration (Ficara: Pg. 7 section 9.6.38.4; Epoch Interval Duration field), GT0 (Ficara: Pg. 8, GT0 is the value indicated in the Next Epoch Start Time field of EDP Epoch Settings field. See Pg. 8, Next Epoch Start Time, Bits: 64), a time range (Ficara: Pg. 7 section 9.6.38.4; Time Range field), an epoch sequence duration (Ficara: Pg. 9 section 9.6.38.6; Group Epoch Duration field), a number of participating affiliated STAs (Ficara: Pg. 9 section 9.6.38.7; Number of Participating Affiliated STAs field), or a frame anonymization seed [¶ 0114 of the instant application describes “frame anonymization seed” as: “The frame anonymization seed subfield 316 includes a value used to feed the algorithm for the generation of over the air MAC addresses, AIDs or other anonymized parameters of frames that are generated through an algorithm.] (Ficara: See Pg. 4 section 10.71.2.1; EDP epoch operation allows the AP to define an MLD-specific schedule of anonymization events to anonymize selected OTA fields (e.g., STA address, AID, PN, SN, etc.) of individually addressed frames. See also Figure XX on top of Pg. 5, (Frame anonymization and AID). An overview of the group EDP epoch is shown in Figure XX (Overview of an EDP epoch); [Examiner’s Note: Only one phrase is required to meet the claimed subject matter. Emphasis Added.]).
Regarding claim 5, Ficara discloses the STA of claim 4.
Ficara further discloses wherein the GT0 comprises a value of 16, 32 or 64 bits length (Ficara: Pg. 8, GT0 is the value indicated in the Next Epoch Start Time field of EDP Epoch Settings field. See Pg. 7, Next Epoch Start Time, Bits: 64; [Examiner’s Note: Only one phrase is required to meet the claimed subject matter. Emphasis Added.]).
Regarding claim 6, Ficara discloses the STA of claim 1.
Ficara further discloses wherein the EDP group epoch parameters comprise the group epoch identifier (Ficara: Pg. 9 section 9.6.38.7; The Group ID field signals an identifier of the group EDP Epoch) and at least one of: EDP epoch parameters control (Ficara: Pg. 9 section 9.6.38.7; The EDP Epoch Settings field defines the parameter of this group EDP Epoch) and duration (Ficara: Pg. 7 section 9.6.38.4; Epoch Interval Duration field), GT0 (Ficara: Pg. 8, GT0 is the value indicated in the Next Epoch Start Time field of EDP Epoch Settings field. See Pg. 8, Next Epoch Start Time, Bits: 64), a time range (Ficara: Pg. 7 section 9.6.38.4; Time Range field), an epoch sequence duration (Ficara: Pg. 9 section 9.6.38.6; Group Epoch Duration field), a number of participating affiliated STAs (Ficara: Pg. 9 section 9.6.38.7; Number of Participating Affiliated STAs field), or a frame anonymization seed [¶ 0114 of the instant application describes “frame anonymization seed” as: “The frame anonymization seed subfield 316 includes a value used to feed the algorithm for the generation of over the air MAC addresses, AIDs or other anonymized parameters of frames that are generated through an algorithm.] (Ficara: See Pg. 4 section 10.71.2.1; EDP epoch operation allows the AP to define an MLD-specific schedule of anonymization events to anonymize selected OTA fields (e.g., STA address, AID, PN, SN, etc.) of individually addressed frames. See also Figure XX on top of Pg. 5, (Frame anonymization and AID). An overview of the group EDP epoch is shown in Figure XX (Overview of an EDP epoch); [Examiner’s Note: Only one phrase is required to meet the claimed subject matter. Emphasis Added.]).
Regarding claim 8, Ficara discloses the STA of claim 6.
Ficara further discloses wherein the GT0 comprises a value of 2, 4 or 8 octets length (Ficara: Pg. 8, GT0 is the value indicated in the Next Epoch Start Time field of EDP Epoch Settings field. See Pg. 7, Next Epoch Start Time, Bits: 64 [Examiner’s Note: 64 Bits = 8 octets]; [Examiner’s Note: Only one phrase is required to meet the claimed subject matter. Emphasis Added.]).
Regarding claim 9, Ficara discloses the STA of claim 1.
Ficara further discloses wherein the desired epoch parameters element comprises an element identifier, a length, an element identifier extension, and a desired epoch parameters field (Ficara: Pg. 11, The EDP epoch setting element is present in the non-AP MLD Specific Epoch Setting action frame, and indicates a request or a response for EDP epoch settings…Element Id, Length, Element Id Extension, Dialog Token, Dialog Value, Target Group ID, EDP Epoch Settings. [Examiner’s Note: Ficara discloses Element Id, Length, Element Id Extension and EDP Epoch Settings field. The element “desired epoch parameters field” is present in the “STA Specific Epoch Setting action frame”]).
Features of claims 11-16, 18 and 19 correspond to features of claims 1-6, 8 and 9, respectively, and are therefore rejected using the same rationale(s) and same prior art(s) applied to claims 1-6, 8 and 9, above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 10, 17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ficara et al. [Ficara], IEEE P802.11 -24/0604r11, “Frame Anonymization” in view of De La Olivia [Olivia] (WO 2022/187636 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Ficara discloses the STA of claim 6.
Ficara further discloses wherein the EDP epoch parameters control and duration comprises an EDP epoch parameters control value of 3 bits and an epoch interval duration of 11 (Ficara: Pg. 7 Figure XX –Epoch Interval Length field; Epoch Interval Unit, i.e., 3 Bits and Epoch Interval Length 11, i.e., 11-Bit Interval Duration).
Ficara does not explicitly disclose an EDP epoch parameters control value of 5 bits.
However, in the analogous field of endeavor, Olivia teaches an EDP epoch parameters control value of 5 bits (Olivia: ¶ 0103, As shown in Table 2 [Example of an extension to Local MAC Address Policy field], bit 5, [MAC Address Masquerading supported]. ¶ 0102, For example, Table 2 illustrates an example of a row that may be added to an existing table defining bits of the Local MAC Address Policy field; [Examiner’s Note: The 5-bit control value acts as a localized bitmap where the receiving interface reads these parameters upon entering a new EDP epoch.]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ficara by further including, an EDP epoch parameters control value of 5 bits, as taught by Olivia, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of improving network failover reliability and preventing disruptions during device transitions by enabling policy table expansion while maintaining backward compatibility.
Regarding claim 10, Ficara discloses the STA of claim 9.
Ficara further discloses wherein the desired epoch parameters field comprises: a desired epoch parameters control (Ficara: Pg. 9 section 9.6.38.7; The EDP Epoch Settings field defines the parameter of this group EDP Epoch), a desired epoch interval duration (Ficara: Pg. 7 section 9.6.38.4; Epoch Interval Duration field), a minimum epoch interval (Ficara: Pg. 8 section 9.6.38.6 Minimum Epoch Pacing element; signals the minimum epoch duration value that the non-AP MLD can support), an epoch sequence duration (Ficara: Pg. 9 section 9.6.38.6; Group Epoch Duration field), a desired minimum number of STAs (Ficara: Pg. 9 section 9.6.38.7; Number of Participating Affiliated STAs field. Pg. 2, STA indicates its minimum supported epoch).
Ficara does not explicitly disclose a privacy level.
However, in the analogous field of endeavor, Olivia teaches a privacy level (Olivia: Fig. 8, Privacy Action. ¶ 0114, The Privacy Action field values may indicate that the frame is a MAC Address Masquerading Response frame. ¶ 0110, The Privacy Action field values may be as defined above in Table 4. The Number of Masquerading Options field may indicate a number of Masquerading Options fields included in the frame. The value of this field may be at least 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Ficara by further including, a privacy level, as taught by Olivia, since doing so would have achieved the desirable result of improving user privacy while maintaining session continuity by facilitating structured MAC address rotation.
Features of claims 17 and 20 correspond to features of claims 7 and 10, respectively, and are therefore rejected using the same rationale(s) and same prior art(s) applied to claims 7 and 10, above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
De Foy et al. (US 2023/0413212 A1); De Foy et al. teaches a WTRU-hosted network as a managed data network that can be registered, authorized, provisioned, and used for sessions through the mobile system. The WTRU advertises the hosted network to the core network, which records its status and determines whether the WTRU is allowed to host it. Policy rules and subscription/profile data are then used to decide how traffic should reach the hosted network. The WTRU may also locally provide session-management and user-plane functions so the hosted network can operate even with limited or no core-network support. See ¶¶ [0092, 136-145, 148-173].
Lee et al. (US 2016/0135041 A1); Lee et al. teaches splitting MAC usage into two roles: an OTA MAC address for privacy during wireless transmissions, and a persistent MAC address for backend communication and routing. The wireless station shares both addresses with the access point through a secure association channel, so the access point can map between them. During packet exchange, both sides replace one MAC address with the other as needed, preserving network functionality while hiding the persistent identity over the air. See ¶¶ [0006-07, 41-42, 74-81].
/M.A./Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/John Pezzlo/
Primary Examiner, AU 2456B
8 July 2026