DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-10 have been considered but are moot due to new grounds of rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,7,8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20150084658) in view of Shin et al. (US 20230228808).
Regarding claim 1, Lee teach A signal transmission connector for performing an electrical test of a device under test by connecting terminals of the device under test to pads of a tester generating a test signal, (Note Fig. 6) the signal transmission connector comprising:
an upper frame (120, Fig. 6) through which frame holes are formed in a thickness direction at positions corresponding to the terminals of the device under test; (Examiner position is that the area filled by the conductive elements are interpreted as holes. )
a plurality of conductive electrodes, (121 ) each of which is composed of plural conductive particles contained in an elastic insulating material, ([0048] The insulating support parts 122 function to support the conductive parts 121 and prevent electricity passing between adjacent the conductive parts 121. Although the insulating support parts 122 may be formed of the same elastic material as that of the conductive parts 121, the present embodiment is not limited thereto and any material that has high elasticity and excellent insulation properties may be used.) and (Fig 6) and includes an electrode body with an outer diameter smaller than that of the frame hole, and an electrode bump (tip of 121, Fig. 6) connected to the electrode body and having an outer diameter smaller than that of the electrode body; (Examiner position is that the diameter is shorter than the body of the electrode, Note Fig. 6)
a ball guide film (130, par . 0051, Fig. 6) coupled to an upper side of the upper frame and provided with guide holes having an outer diameter smaller than that of the electrode body at positions corresponding to the frame holes;( [0051] Reference numerals 130 and 131 respectively denote a guide sheet and support frames. The guide sheet 130 is disposed on an upper end of the elastic conductive sheet 120 and has guide holes formed at the points corresponding to the terminals 141 of the device to be inspected 140. ) Examiner’s position is that the guide hole diameter is smaller than the length of the electrode body 121 and
a lower cover (110, Fig. 6) coupled to a lower side of the upper frame and provided with cover holes having an outer diameter smaller than that of the electrode body and larger than that of the electrode bump at centers of positions corresponding to the frame holes, (Note 111, Fig. 6 is larger than the electrode bump 121)
wherein the lower cover (110, Fig. 6) is detachably coupled to the upper frame in a manner that the electrode body connected to the terminal of the device under test is disposed in the frame hole (Note terminals 121 is disposed in the frame hold, Fig. 6) and the electrode bump connected to the pad of the tester is disposed in the cover hole. ([0054] First, the alignment member 110 is first attached to the inspection apparatus 150, and then the elastic conductive sheet 120 is received in the through-holes 111 of the alignment member 110. In detail, the elastic conductive sheet 120 may be aligned with the alignment member 110 by inserting the protruding conductive parts 123 into the through-holes 111 of the alignment member 110.)
Lee is silent regarding a lower cover made of an insulating material, coupled to a lower side of the upper frame and provided with cover holes having an outer diameter smaller than that of the electrode body and larger than that of the electrode bump at centers of positions corresponding to the frame holes,
wherein the lower cover is detachably coupled to the upper frame in a manner that the electrode body connected to the terminal of the device under test is disposed in the frame hole and the electrode bump connected to the pad of the tester is disposed in the cover hole.
Shin et al. teach a lower cover made of an insulating material (Note [0036] The lower block 22 may be formed by integrally adhering a second insulating member 222 to one side of a second base member 221.), coupled to a lower side of the upper frame and provided with cover holes having an outer diameter smaller than that of the electrode body and larger than that of the electrode bump at centers of positions (Note annotated Fig. 4 below) corresponding to the frame holes,(Note area 31, 41 and 51 are located, Fig. 4)
wherein the lower cover (222, Fig. 4) is detachably coupled to the upper frame (Note par. 0039, The second elastic member 2212 may be made of a conductive material that electrically connects the second terminal of the electronic component 6 and the lower block 22 . The second elastic member 2212 may prevent the second terminal of the electronic component 6 from being damaged when the upper block 21(frame) , the lower block 22(frame) and the gap member 23 are coupled. ) in a manner that the electrode body connected to the terminal of the device under test is disposed in the frame hole and the electrode bump connected to the pad of the tester is disposed in the cover hole (Examiner’s position is that all elements would be connected the test device and therefore meets this limitation). Also Examiner’s position is that if the elements are coupled together implying an attaching process then it would be reasonable to a person of ordinary skill in the art that the elements are also detachable.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify to include the teaching of a lower cover made of an insulating material, coupled to a lower side of the upper frame and provided with cover holes having an outer diameter smaller than that of the electrode body and larger than that of the electrode bump at centers of positions corresponding to the frame holes, wherein the lower cover is detachably coupled to the upper frame in a manner that the electrode body connected to the terminal of the device under test is disposed in the frame hole and the electrode bump connected to the pad of the tester is disposed in the cover hole because it would provide extra stability for the electrodes as well as prevent electrical leakage.
Regarding claim 7, Lee teach wherein the upper frame is made of a conductive material, and an insulating layer is formed on the inner side surface of the frame hole. (0043] The elastic conductive sheet 120 includes conductive parts 121 that are disposed at the points corresponding to the terminals 141 of the device to be inspected 140, insulating support parts 122 that support and insulate the conductive parts 121, and protruding conductive parts 123 that protrude downward from the conductive parts 121 and are inserted into the through-holes 111 of the alignment member 110.) Note that the holes are interpreted as the space filled by the electrodes 121.
Regarding claim 8, Lee teach A method of manufacturing a signal transmission connector for performing an electrical test of a device under test, the method comprising:
preparing a bump mold in which a plurality of bump mold holes are formed, (Note bumps 121, Fig. 6) and stacking a body mold in which body mold holes having an outer diameter larger than that of the bump mold hole are formed at positions corresponding to the bump mold holes, above the bump mold; (Note 111, Fig. 6 is larger than the electrode bump 121)
filling the bump mold holes and the body mold holes with a conductive particle mixture containing conductive particles in an elastic insulating material, and curing the conductive particle mixture; ([0048] The insulating support parts 122 function to support the conductive parts 121 and prevent electricity passing between adjacent the conductive parts 121. Although the insulating support parts 122 may be formed of the same elastic material as that of the conductive parts 121, the present embodiment is not limited thereto and any material that has high elasticity and excellent insulation properties may be used.) and (Fig 6)
removing the bump mold to prepare an electrode mold in which multiple conductive electrodes, each having an electrode body and an electrode bump, are disposed on the body mold; ([0048] The insulating support parts 122 function to support the conductive parts 121 and prevent electricity passing between adjacent the conductive parts 121. Although the insulating support parts 122 may be formed of the same elastic material as that of the conductive parts 121, the present embodiment is not limited thereto and any material that has high elasticity and excellent insulation properties may be used.) and (Fig 6)
preparing an upper frame by forming frame holes penetrating the upper frame in a thickness direction; (120, Fig. 6) (Examiner position is that the area filled by the conductive elements are interpreted as holes.)
attaching a ball guide film in which guide holes having an outer diameter smaller than that of the electrode body are formed at positions corresponding to the frame holes, to an upper side of the upper frame; (130, Fig. 6, par. 0051)
turning over the upper frame in a manner that the ball guide film is located on a lower side, and arranging shims (131, Fig. 6) on an upper side of the upper frame; (All the elements are connected and are interpreted as being on each other)
turning over the electrode mold to arrange the conductive electrodes at positions corresponding to the frame holes; ([0048] The insulating support parts 122 function to support the conductive parts 121 and prevent electricity passing between adjacent the conductive parts 121. Although the insulating support parts 122 may be formed of the same elastic material as that of the conductive parts 121, the present embodiment is not limited thereto and any material that has high elasticity and excellent insulation properties may be used.) and (Fig 6)
disposing the conductive electrodes in the frame holes by pressing the conductive electrodes; ([0048] The insulating support parts 122 function to support the conductive parts 121 and prevent electricity passing between adjacent the conductive parts 121. Although the insulating support parts 122 may be formed of the same elastic material as that of the conductive parts 121, the present embodiment is not limited thereto and any material that has high elasticity and excellent insulation properties may be used.) and (Fig 6)and
fastening a lower cover (110, Fig. 6) in which cover holes having an outer diameter smaller than that of the electrode body and larger than that of the electrode bump are formed at positions corresponding to the frame holes, to an upper side of the flipped upper frame. (Note 111, Fig. 6 is larger than the electrode bump 121)
Lee is silent regarding fastening a lower cover in which cover holes having an outer diameter smaller than that of the electrode body, wherein the lower cover is made of an insulating material.
Lee does not teach fastening a lower cover in which cover holes having an outer diameter smaller than that of the electrode body and larger than that of the electrode bump are formed at positions corresponding to the frame holes, to an upper side of the flipped upper frame wherein the lower cover is made of an insulating material.
Shin et al. teach fastening a lower cover (222, Fig. 4, (Note par. 0039, The second elastic member 2212 may be made of a conductive material that electrically connects the second terminal of the electronic component 6 and the lower block 22 . The second elastic member 2212 may prevent the second terminal of the electronic component 6 from being damaged when the upper block 21(frame) , the lower block 22(frame) and the gap member 23 are coupled. )) in which cover holes (Space where 31,41,52 enters 222, Fig. 4) having an outer diameter smaller than that of the electrode body and larger than that of the electrode bump are formed at positions corresponding to the frame holes, to an upper side of the flipped upper frame wherein the lower cover is made of an insulating material. ([0036] The lower block 22 may be formed by integrally adhering a second insulating member 222 to one side of a second base member 221.)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include the teaching of fastening a lower cover in which cover holes having an outer diameter smaller than that of the electrode body and larger than that of the electrode bump are formed at positions corresponding to the frame holes, to an upper side of the flipped upper frame wherein the lower cover is made of an insulating material because it would provide extra stability for the electrodes as well as prevent electrical leakage.
Regarding claim 9, Lee teach wherein the preparing the upper frame and the attaching are carried out before the preparing the bump mold. (Note Fig. 6)
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20150084658) in view of Shin et al. (US 20230228808) further in view of Chung (KR 20200075204 A)
Lee teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 2, Lee does not teach wherein at least one of the conductive electrodes is capable of being replaced with another conductive electrode after detaching the lower cover.
Chung teach wherein at least one of the conductive electrodes is capable of being replaced with another conductive electrode after detaching the lower cover. (Note [0015] According to the present invention, a connection pin made of a conductive elastic body having elasticity and conductivity is detachably fixed to the lower plate of the housing so as to be easily replaced, and since the upper plate of the housing is coupled to the upper side of the lower plate of the housing and the connection pin is supported by penetrating the upper plate of the housing, the overall height of the housing can be significantly increased compared to the conventional height.) Also Note the lower plate 10 (cover) is detached from the upper plate 20 cover.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include the teaching of wherein at least one of the conductive electrodes is capable of being replaced with another conductive electrode after detaching the lower cover.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20150084658) in view of Shin et al. (US 20230228808) further in view of Kwon et al. (KR 102063761B1).
Lee teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 5 Lee does not teach wherein the ball guide film is attached to the upper frame with an adhesive.
Kwon et al. teach wherein the ball guide film is attached to the upper frame with an adhesive. [0056] The guide film (210) includes a plurality of guide holes (211) each positioned at a location corresponding to a plurality of conductive parts (110) so that a terminal (37) of an electronic component (35) can be inserted. The guide film (210) can be made of a material with greater rigidity than the insulating part (120). The guide film (210) can be attached to one side of the insulating part (120) facing the electronic component (35) through a liquid silicone adhesive or adhesive tape, etc.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include the teaching of wherein the ball guide film is attached to the upper frame with an adhesive to secure the guide film to the device.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20150084658) in view of Shin et al. (US 20230228808) further in view of Oh et al. (KR 102211358 B1).
Lee teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 6, Lee does not teach wherein the upper frame is made of an inelastic insulating material.
Oh et al. teach wherein the upper frame (312, Fig. 16) is made of an inelastic insulating material. ([0127] The test socket (350) shown in FIG. 16 comprises a non-elastic conductive housing (312) having a plurality of housing holes (313), a plurality of insulating parts (352) each disposed in the plurality of housing holes (313), a plurality of conductive parts (357) supported by the insulating parts (352) so as to penetrate the non-elastic conductive housing (312) in the thickness direction, a ground terminal (324) and a lower insulating sheet (326) disposed on the lower surface of the non-elastic conductive housing (312), and an upper insulating sheet (342) disposed on the upper surface of the non-elastic conductive housing (312).)
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include the teaching of wherein the upper frame is made of an inelastic insulating material to add rigidness to the structure.
Claims 3 and 4, rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20150084658) in view of Shin et al. (US 20230228808) further in view of Kang (KR 20220043866A).
Lee teach the instant invention except the following claim limitations.
Regarding claim 4, Lee does not teach wherein the lower cover and the upper frame are screwed together.
Kang teach wherein the lower cover and the upper frame are screwed together. [0032] [The socket housing (120) can be screwed to the frame (130), and the support plate (110) can be screwed to the socket housing (120).]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include the teaching of wherein the lower cover and the upper frame are screwed together to provide sturdiness to the device.
Regarding claim 3, Lee does not teach wherein a space formed by a gap between an inner side surface of the frame hole and an outer side surface of the electrode body is filled with air.
Kang teach wherein a space formed by a gap between an inner side surface of the frame hole and an outer side surface of the electrode body is filled with air. (Note Fig. 7, 160) and ( [0053] [A space (160) is formed between the signal probe (1401) or power probe (1402) and the support plate (110) and socket housing (120) by means of an insulating cap (150). The above space (160) is filled with air having a permittivity of 1.]
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include the teaching of teach wherein a space formed by a gap between an inner side surface of the frame hole and an outer side surface of the electrode body is filled with air to be used as a dielectric, the outer diameter of the signal probe 1401 or the power probe 1402 can be sufficiently large, so that the cost increase or process difficulty due to the fabrication of the fine-pitch probe is improved. (Note Kang par. 0024]
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee (US 20150084658) in view of Shin et al. (US 20230228808) further in view of Oh et al. (US 20210313730)
Lee teach the instant invention except the following limitations.
Regarding claim 10, Lee does not teach before the curing the conductive particles mixture, arranging an upper mold and a lower mold in which magnetic poles are formed at positions corresponding to the body mold holes and the bump mold holes, and applying a magnetic field to the conductive particle mixture in an upward and downward direction.
Oh et al. teach before the curing the conductive particles mixture, arranging an upper mold and a lower mold in which magnetic poles are formed at positions corresponding to the body mold holes and the bump mold holes, and applying a magnetic field to the conductive particle mixture in an upward and downward direction. ([0064] First, a molding mold 50 as shown in FIG. 7 is prepared. The molding mold 50 may include an upper mold 51 and a lower mold 54 which will be disposed to face each other. An upper mold groove 52 is provided inside the upper mold 51, and a lower mold groove 55 is provided inside the lower mold 54. [0070] A process of injecting the electro-conductive mixture 75 into the insulating part hole 62 and a process of applying the magnetic field to the electro-conductive mixture 75 may be performed in separate molds. When the magnetic field is applied to the electro-conductive mixture 75, due to the influence of the magnetic field, the electro-conductive particles dispersed in the liquid elastic insulating material may be oriented in the thickness direction of the insulator 120 to form an electrical path.
Therefore it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lee to include the teaching of before the curing the conductive particles mixture, arranging an upper mold and a lower mold in which magnetic poles are formed at positions corresponding to the body mold holes and the bump mold holes, and applying a magnetic field to the conductive particle mixture in an upward and downward direction to form an electrical path. (Note Oh et al. [par. 0070])
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEMETRIUS R PRETLOW/ Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/JERMELE M HOLLINGTON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858