Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 17-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Padmanabhan (US Pat. No.: 6,179,942 B1) and further in view of Lewit (US Pub. No.: 2014/0199551 A1) (hereinafter Lewit).
Regarding claims 17 and 20, Padmanabhan discloses a method of bonding a fiber-reinforced plastic to a wood layer to form a composite structure, the method comprising: applying resin to a wood board and contacting a fiber reinforced plastic and laminating resin; curing the laminating resin to form a fiber-reinforced plastic, wherein the fiber-reinforced plastic is bonded to the wood layer by resin (Col 5, Ln 3-21). Padmanabhan is silent about co-cure adhesive layer comprises at least one elastomer and at least one resin selected from vinyl ester resin, a polyester resin, and an epoxy resin.
However, Lewit teaches a co-cure adhesive comprising at least one elastomer and at least one resin selected from a vinyl ester resin, a polyester resin, and an epoxy resin (¶0015, ¶0016). The benefit of doing so would have been to improve adhesion and reduce tendency to delaminate and provide flexibility and toughness (¶0014, ¶0016).
Given the wealth of knowledge, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to utilize co-cured adhesive as taught by Lewit within the method of manufacturing composite structure as taught by Padmanabhan. The benefit of doing so would have been to improve adhesion and reduce tendency to delaminate and provide flexibility and toughness.
Regarding claim 18, Padmanabhan discloses hotmelt adhesive have been determined to be the best choice to bond prefabricated FRP to wood members to manufacture composite wood boards (Paragraph connecting col 5 and 6). Thus, the use of hotmelt adhesive naturally involves partially cured prior to application of reinforced layer (Col 6, Ln 9-24).
Regarding claim 19, Padmanabhan discloses curing the resin between wood and FRP and resin within FRP simultaneously (Col 5, Ln 3-21).
Regarding claim 21, Padmanabhan discloses forming engagement features into the wood layer prior to applying step (Fig. 4b, RC 24)
Regarding claim 22, Padmanabhan discloses engagement features comprise at least one of grooves (Fig. 4b, RC 24).
Regarding claim 23, Padmanabhan discloses filling the engagement features with glue (Col 9, Ln 39-56).
Regarding claim 24, Padmanabhan discloses the cure resin in combination with FRP form a seal on the wood member to prevent passage of water (paragraph connecting Col 2 and 3). Thus, a person of ordinary skill can readily form additional layer of adhesive layer to form watertight seal to assure water is sealed off.
Conclusion
/VISHAL I PATEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746