DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Son et al. (KR 20230100681).
Note: US 2024/0213227 A1 is cited as an English language equivalent to Son. Citations to paragraph/page/line numbers refer to the English version.
With respect to claim 11: Son teaches “a manufacturing method of a display device (throughout reference), comprising: transferring (see Fig. 4a) a plurality of light emitting diodes (120) on a wafer (WF) to a donor (DN); disposing a first planarization layer (615) on a substrate (110) of a display panel (600); disposing an adhesive layer (AD) on the substrate and the first planarization layer (see Fig. 6); disposing a mask (Mask) on the adhesive layer (see Fig. 4c) and irradiating light (LT); and transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes on the donor to a display panel (see Fig. 4e), wherein the adhesive layer is comprised of a plurality of first areas (AD1) that overlap the mask (see Fig. 4c), and a non-attachment area (AD2) which is exposed from the mask and to which light is irradiated (see Fig. 4c), and wherein among the plurality of light emitting diodes, only light emitting diodes contacting the plurality of first areas are transferred to the display panel (see Fig. 4g)”.
With respect to claim 12: Son teaches “The manufacturing method of claim 11 (see above), wherein disposing a mask on the adhesive layer and irradiating light comprises: blocking light proceeding toward the plurality of first areas (see Fig. 4c) to prevent the plurality of first areas from being cured (paragraph 116), and irradiating light to the non-attachment area and curing the non-attachment area (paragraph 116)”.
With respect to claim 13: Son teaches “the manufacturing method of claim 12 (see above), further comprising: transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes to the display panel (Fig. 4g), and then irradiating light to the adhesive layer and curing the entire adhesive layer (Fig. 4i)”.
With respect to claim 14: Son teaches “the manufacturing method of claim 12 (see above), wherein the adhesive layer of the plurality of first areas has a greater thickness than an adhesive layer of a second area and the adhesive layer of the non-attachment area (see Fig. 6), and wherein the plurality of first areas has a greater adhesive force than the second area (paragraph 143)”.
With respect to claim 15: Son teaches “the manufacturing method of claim 11 (see above), wherein the display panel comprises a plurality (see Fig. 4d) of sub pixels (SP), and wherein the plurality of first areas overlaps the plurality of sub pixels (see Fig. 4d)”.
With respect to claim 16: Son teaches “the manufacturing method of claim 15 (see above), wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes transferred to the donor from the wafer form a plurality of groups (120g), and in transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes on the donor to a display panel, each of the plurality of groups is disposed to overlap each of the plurality of sub pixels and an area adjacent to the plurality of sub pixels (see Fig. 4f)”.
With respect to claim 17: Son teaches “the manufacturing method of claim 16 (see above), wherein at least one of a plurality of light emitting diodes included in each of the plurality of groups overlaps the plurality of first areas, and the remaining light emitting diodes overlap the non-attachment area (see Fig. 4f)”.
With respect to claim 18: Son teaches “The manufacturing method of claim 15 (see above), wherein the display panel further comprises additional sub pixels disposed among the plurality of sub pixels, and wherein the plurality of first area of the adhesive layer correspond to the additional sub pixels (see Fig. 4f)”.
With respect to claim 19: Son teaches “the manufacturing method of claim 18 (see above), further comprising: transferring the plurality of light emitting diodes to a display panel (paragraph 152), and then detecting a transfer failure of the plurality of light emitting diodes (paragraph 152); transferring the light emitting diodes to the additional sub pixels adjacent to sub pixels to which a transfer failure occurs (paragraph 153); and curing the entire adhesive layer (paragraph 153)”.
With respect to claim 20: Son teaches “the manufacturing method of claim 11 (see above), further comprising: disposing a step formation layer (615a2) on the first planarization layer (see Fig. 7); patterning the step formation layer and forming an opening (see Fig. 7); and disposing an adhesive layer on the step formation layer (see Fig. 7)”.
With respect to claim 21: Son teaches “he manufacturing method of claim 11, further comprising: patterning a non-transfer area of the first planarization area (615a2) and forming an opening (see Fig. 6)”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son in view of Hu et al. (US 2013/0126081 A1).
With respect to claim 1: Son teaches “a display device (100/600), comprising: a substrate (110) including a pixel (PX), the pixel including a plurality of sub pixels (SP); a first planarization layer disposed on the substrate (115/615); an opening in the first planarization layer (through-hole permitting RF to contact SE); an adhesive layer disposed on the first planarization layer (AD); and a plurality of light emitting diodes (120) disposed on the adhesive layer (see Figs. 3b, 6) in each of the plurality of sub pixels (see Fig. 4f), wherein the adhesive layer comprises a plurality of first areas configured to overlap the plurality of light emitting diodes (AD1), a plurality of non-attachment areas disposed respectively to be adjacent to the first areas (AD2)”.
Son does not specifically teach “a second area as a remaining part, except for the plurality of first areas and non-attachment areas”.
However, Hu teaches a display device with an adhesive layer (128+129+210) with a second area (area of 210 on bottom of 206) as a remaining part (see Fig. 6), except for the plurality of first areas (211) and non-attachment areas (parts of 210 on sides of pillars 202)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Son with the remaining part of Hu in order to allow adhesive material from one sub-pixel to flow without interfering with adjacent pixels (Hu paragraph 117).
With respect to claim 2: Son in view of Hu teaches “The display device of claim 1 (see above)”.
Son further teaches “further comprising a step formation layer (part of 615a2 above 615a1) disposed on the first planarization layer (see Fig. 7)”.
With respect to claim 3: Son in view of Hu teaches “The display device of claim 2 (see above)”.
Son further teaches “wherein the step formation layer has an opening in an area where the step formation layer overlaps the plurality of first areas and non-attachment areas (see Fig. 7)”.
With respect to claim 4: Son in view of Hu teaches “the display device of claim 3 (see above)”.
Son further teaches “wherein the step formation layer is disposed in a second area adjacent to the plurality of first areas (see Fig. 7)”.
With respect to claim 5: Son in view of Hu teaches “the display device of claim 1 (see above)”.
Son further teaches “wherein the plurality of first areas has a greater thickness than the second area or the non-attachment area”.
With respect to claim 6: Son in view of Hu teaches “the display device of claim 5 (see above)”.
Son further teaches “wherein a light emitting diode is not disposed in the plurality of non-attachment areas (see Fig. 6)”.
With respect to claim 7: Son in view of Hu teaches “The display device of claim 5 (see above)”.
Son further teaches “wherein the plurality of non-attachment areas comprises a portion that is exposed to light and cured (see Fig. 4c)”.
With respect to claim 8: Son in view of Hu teaches “the display device of claim 5 (see above)”.
Son further teaches “wherein the plurality of first areas has a greater adhesive force than the plurality of non-attachment areas (paragraph 143)”.
With respect to claim 9: Son in view of Hu teaches “the display device of claim 1 (see above)”
Son does not specifically teach “wherein an upper end of the first area is lower than an upper end of the second area”.
However, Hu teaches “wherein an upper end of the first area (end of 209 contacting bottom of 100; see Fig. 30a) is lower than an upper end of the second area (parts of 220 to the sides that do not form 209; see Fig. 30a)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Son by pushing the LED into the bonding layer, thus creating a first area lower than the surrounding second area, in order to increase the grip pressure and thereby ensure the successful transfer of said LED (Son paragraph 169).
With respect to claim 10: Son in view of Hu teaches “the display device of claim 1 (see above)”
Son does not specifically teach “wherein an upper end of the first area is higher than an upper end of the non-attachment area”.
However, Hu teaches “wherein an upper end of the first area is higher than an upper end of the non-attachment area (see Fig. 6; particularly G)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Son with the lowered non-attachment areas of Hu in order to allow adhesive material from one sub-pixel to flow without interfering with adjacent pixels (Hu paragraph 117).
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Son as applied to claims 11, 12, 14 above, and further in view of Hu.
With respect to claim 22: Son teaches “The manufacturing method of claim 14 (see above)”.
Son does not specifically teach “wherein an upper end of the first area is lower than an upper end of the second area”.
However, Hu teaches “wherein an upper end of the first area (end of 209 contacting bottom of 100; see Fig. 30a) is lower than an upper end of the second area (parts of 220 to the sides that do not form 209; see Fig. 30a)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Son by pushing the LED into the bonding layer, thus creating a first area lower than the surrounding second area, in order to increase the grip pressure and thereby ensure the successful transfer of said LED (Son paragraph 169).
With respect to claim 23: Son in view of Hu teaches “the display device of claim 11 (see above)”
Son does not specifically teach “wherein an upper end of the first area is higher than an upper end of the non-attachment area”.
However, Hu teaches “wherein an upper end of the first area is higher than an upper end of the non-attachment area (see Fig. 6; particularly G)”.
It would have been obvious at the time the application was effectively filed for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the display device of Son with the lowered non-attachment areas of Hu in order to allow adhesive material from one sub-pixel to flow without interfering with adjacent pixels (Hu paragraph 117).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kang (US 20200168777 A1), which teaches a display device and method of making the display device.
Contact Information
/NATHANIEL J LEE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2875
/EVAN P DZIERZYNSKI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875