DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is responsive to Applicant submission filed 08/12/2025.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues that JIANG does not qualify as prior art according to 35 USC 102(a)(1) as JIANG was published after the filing date of the present invention. The examiner acknowledges JIANG does not qualify as prior art under 102(a)(1), however, notes that use of 102(a)(1) was a minor clerical error. JIANG qualifies as prior art under 102(a)(2) rather than 102(a)(1).
The MPEP states that “If the issue date of the U.S. patent or publication date of the U.S. patent application publication or WIPO published application is not before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it may be applicable as prior art under AIA 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) if it was “effectively filed” before the effective filing date of the claimed invention in question with respect to the subject matter relied upon to reject the claim” (see MPEP §2154.01). The AIA defines the term “effective filing date” for a claimed invention in a patent or application for patent (other than a reissue application or reissued patent) as the earlies of: (1) the actual filing date of the patent or the application for the patent containing the claimed invention; or (2) the filing date of the earliest application for which the patent or application is entitled, as to such invention, to a right of priority or the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119, 120, 121, 365, or 386 (see MPEP §2152.01).
The effective filing date of JIANG is 03/03/2023, which is before the effective filing date of the present application. As such, the JIANG qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). The rejection is therefore proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5-7, 9, 10, 13, 15, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by JIANG et al, US 2024/0296232
Re claim 1:
JIANG discloses a computer-implemented method for analyzing QR codes, comprising:
Scanning, via a computing device, a QR code with a camera, wherein the camera is connected to the computing device [0002] [0015] [0041];
Determining, via the computing device, metadata associated with the QR code matches a QR code metadata type [0042] [0043];
Enriching, via the computing device, the metadata associated with the QR code [0043]-[0045];
Synthetically testing, by the computing device, one or more downstream resources identified by the enriching [0050] [0051];
Assigning, via the computing device, a safety rating to the QR code [0052] [0053]; and
Presenting, via the computing device, the safety rating [0053].
Re claims 9 and 15:
JIANG teaches a system for analyzing QR codes, comprising:
At least one non-transitory computer-readable medium configured to store instructions [0064];
A camera [0002] [0015]; and
At least one processor [0024] configured to execute the instructions to perform operations comprising:
Scanning a QR code with a camera, wherein the camera is connected to the at least one processor [0002] [0015] [0041];
Determining metadata associated with the QR code matches a QR code metadata type [0042] [0043];
Enriching the metadata associated with the QR code [0043]-[0048];
Synthetically testing one or more downstream resources identified by the enriching [0050] [0051];
Assigning a safety rating to the QR code [0052] [0053]; and
Presenting the safety rating [0053].
Re claims 2, 10, and 16:
JIANG teaches the computer-implemented method, system, and non-transitory computer readable medium of claims 1, 9, and 15, wherein enriching the metadata associated with the QR code further comprises:
Checking raw data associated with the QR code [0044]-[0048];
Checking linked data associated with the QR code [0044]-[0048]; and
Checking processed data associated with the QR code [0044]-[0048].
Re claims 5-7, 13, and 19:
JIANG teaches the computer-implemented method, system, and non-transitory computer readable medium of claims 1, 9, and 15, wherein enriching the metadata further comprises:
Testing for one or more signatures of malware [0047]; testing for one or more privacy threats [0047]; and testing for one or more tracking threats [0047].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 11-12, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG et al, US 2024/0296232 in view of HERREN et al, US 2023/0394151.
Re claims 3-4, 11-12, and 17-18:
JIANG teaches the computer-implemented method, system, and non-transitory computer readable medium of claims 1, 9, and 15, further comprising testing the one or more downstream resources for one or more signatures of malware [0047].
JIANG does not explicitly teach checking for one or more redirects, wherein the one or more redirects are associated with the one or more downstream resources.
HERREN teaches a method of checking processed data associated with a QR code, comprising checking for one or more redirects, wherein the one or more redirects are associated with the one or more downstream resources [0026] [0063]; and testing the one or more downstream resources for one or more signatures of malware [0063] [0064].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date the further incorporate the teachings of HERREN in the method, system, and non-transitory computer readable medium of JIANG such that processed data is checked for one or more redirects associated with the one or more downstream resources. Such incorporation would be for the purpose of detecting malicious redirect commands so as to warn users of potential threats behind the URL obtained from the QR code (HERREN [0063] [0065]). Further, while HERREN does not specify what type of redirects are checked, server redirects, code redirects, and cookie redirects are merely common types of redirects known in the art.
Claim(s) 8, 14, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over JIANG et al, US 2024/0296232 in view of ROZHNOV, US 2023/0262078.
Re claim 8, 14, and 20:
JIANG teaches the computer-implemented method, system, and non-transitory computer readable medium of claims 1, 9, and 15, but does not teach building a redirection chain, wherein the redirection chain lists each of the one or more downstream resources; and presenting, via the computing device, the redirection change.
ROZHNOV teaches a method and computing device for identifying malicious web resources, including building a redirection chain, wherein the redirection chain lists each of the one or more downstream resources [0100]-[0103] [Figure 3A]; and presenting, via the computing device, the redirection chain (i.e., the processor presents the redirection chain as a redirect graph and analyzes the redirect graph to determine a plurality of user redirect rules [0031] [0125] [0126] [Figure 3A]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to further incorporate the teachings of ROZHNOV in the method, system, and non-transitory computer readable medium of JIANG such that a redirection chain is built and presented via the computing device. Such incorporation would be for the purpose of identifying templates that are commonly encountered when interacting with malicious web pages (ROZHNOV [0010]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA A GUDORF/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2876