DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 as filed on 05/27/2026 are pending and herewith considered as indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Apps et al. (US 6006677)(Herein Apps).
In regards to Claim 13, Apps discloses
A foot (40) [Fig 13] for a panel assembly (10 in combination with 40) [Fig 7] comprising:
a top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment);
a bottom side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) opposite the top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment);
a plurality of clip assemblies (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] coupled to the top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment), each clip assembly (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] comprising:
a flexible plate (22) [Col 4, Line 37] [Fig 17] with a first end [Upper] proximate to the top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) and a second end distal [Lower] from the top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment), the first end of the flexible plate (22) [Col 4, Line 37] being coupled to the top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment), the second end of the flexible plate (22) [Col 4, Line 37] being decoupled [Fig 17, Showing decoupled] from top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment); and a hook (24) [Fig 17] residing at the second end of the flexible plate (22) [Col 4, Line 37], wherein the hook (24) [Fig 17] is configured to couple to a panel (10) [Fig 7] of the panel assembly (10 in combination with 40) [Fig 7] when the clip assembly (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] is in a locked position [Fig 17, Showing Coupled in Locked Position].
In regards to Claim 14, Apps discloses the foot (40) [Fig 13] of claim 13, wherein the clip assembly (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] further comprises one or more walls [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comments),
wherein the one or more walls [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comments) couple to a panel (10) of the panel assembly (10 in combination with 40) [Fig 7] when the clip assembly (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] is in a locked position [Fig 17, Showing Coupled in Locked Position] , wherein the second end [Fig 17] of the flexible plate (22) [Col 4, Line 37] is decoupled from the one or more walls [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comments).
In regards to Claim 15, Apps discloses the foot (40) [Fig 13] of claim 13, wherein the clip assembly (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] further comprises a second opening (30) proximate to the first end of the flexible plate (22) [Col 4, Line 37], wherein the opening (30) is configured for a tool [Col 4, Lines 43-46] to be inserted into the opening to flex the flexible plate (22) [Col 4, Line 37] and the hook (24) [Fig 17] to place the clip assembly (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] in an unlocked position.
In regards to Claim 16, Apps discloses the foot (40) [Fig 13] of claim 13, wherein the plurality of clip assemblies (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] comprises one or more first clip assemblies (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] and one or more second clip assemblies (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] , wherein one or more hooks (24) [Fig 17] of the one or more first clip assemblies (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] are configured in a first orientation [Fig 12, Showing Orientation] , and one or more hooks (24) [Fig 17] of the one or more second clip assemblies (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] are configured in a second orientation [Fig 12, Showing Orientation], wherein the first orientation [Fig 12, Showing Orientation] is a mirror of the second orientation [Fig 12, Showing Orientation].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 1-9 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerasi et al. (US 7461482 B2)(Herein Cerasi) in view of Apps et al. (US 6006677)(Herein Apps).
In regards to Claim 1, Cerasi discloses
A flooring system [Unnumbered, Fig 30] (see examiners comments) , comprising:
at least one panel assembly [Figs 17-18] , the at least one panel assembly [Figs 17-18] comprising:
a panel (60) [Fig 19] comprising:
a right side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the panel (60) [Fig 19];
a left side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the panel (60) [Fig 19] opposite the right (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] side of the panel (60) [Fig 19];
a front side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the panel (60) [Fig 19];
a back side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the panel (60) [Fig 19] opposite the front side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the panel (60) [Fig 19];
a top side (74) [Fig 19] of the panel (60) [Fig 19]; and
a bottom (75) [Fig 20] side of the panel (60) [Fig 19] opposite the top side (74) [Fig 19] of the panel (60) [Fig 19], the bottom (75) [Fig 20] side of the panel (60) [Fig 19] comprising a plurality of ribs (76) forming a plurality of cavities [Unnumbered, Fig 20] (see examiners comments) , each cavity [Unnumbered, Fig 20] (see examiners comments) comprising a rib (76) with an opening [Unnumbered, Fig 18] (see examiners comment);
However, Cerasi fails to disclose at least one foot configured to couple the bottom side of the panel , the foot comprising: a top side of the foot; a bottom side of the foot opposite the top side the foot; and a plurality of clip assemblies coupled to the top side of the foot, each clip assembly comprising: a flexible plate a first end proximate to the top side of the foot and a second end distal from the top side of the foot, the first end of the flexible plate being coupled to the top side of the foot , the second end of the flexible plate being decoupled from top side of the foot; and a hook residing at the second end of the flexible plate, wherein the hook is configured to reside within the opening in the rib of a corresponding cavity of the plurality of cavities.
Furthermore, Apps discloses
at least one foot (40) [Fig 13] configured to couple [Fig 6, Showing Coupling Capabilities] to the bottom side (75, Cerasi) [Fig 20] of the panel (60, Cerasi) [Fig 19], the foot (40) [Fig 13] (40) comprising:
a top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40) [Fig 13] ;
a bottom side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40) [Fig 13] opposite the top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40) [Fig 13]; and
a plurality of clip assemblies (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] coupled to the top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40) [Fig 13], each clip assembly (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] comprising:
a flexible plate (22) [Col 4, Line 37] a first end [Upper end] proximate to the top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40) [Fig 13] and a second end [Lower end] distal from the top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40) [Fig 13], the first end [Upper end] of the flexible plate (22) [Col 4, Line 37] being coupled to the top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40) [Fig 13] , the second end [Upper end] of the flexible plate (22) [Fig 17] being decoupled [Fig 18] from top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40) [Fig 13]; and
a hook (24) [Fig 17] residing at the second end [Lower end] of the flexible plate (22) [Fig 17], wherein the hook (24) [Fig 17] is configured to reside within the opening [Unnumbered, Fig 18, Cerasi] (see examiners comment) in the rib (76, Cerasi) of a corresponding cavity [Unnumbered, Fig 20, Cerasi] (see examiners comments) of the plurality of cavities [Unnumbered, Fig 20, Cerasi] (see examiners comments).
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flooring system as disclosed by Cerasi to further include at least one foot configured to couple the bottom side of the panel , the foot comprising: a top side of the foot; a bottom side of the foot opposite the top side the foot; and a plurality of clip assemblies coupled to the top side of the foot, each clip assembly comprising: a flexible plate a first end proximate to the top side of the foot and a second end distal from the top side of the foot, the first end of the flexible plate being coupled to the top side of the foot , the second end of the flexible plate being decoupled from top side of the foot; and a hook residing at the second end of the flexible plate, wherein the hook is configured to reside within the opening in the rib of a corresponding cavity of the plurality of cavities as disclosed by Apps. When modified, the foot with all limitations as disclosed by Apps provides support and additional structural integrity to the flooring system.
In regards to Claim 2, as modified discloses the system [Unnumbered, Fig 30] (see examiners comment) of claim 1. Apps discloses wherein the clip assembly (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] further comprises one or more walls (10) [Fig 17] , wherein the one or more walls (10) [Fig 17] reside within the corresponding cavity [Unnumbered, Fig 20, Cerasi] (see examiners comments) when the clip assembly (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] is in a locked [Fig 17, Showing Coupled in Locked Position] position.
In regards to Claim 3, Cerasi as modified discloses the the system [Unnumbered, Fig 30] (see examiners comment) of claim 2, wherein the second end [Upper end] of the flexible plate (22) [Col 4, Line 37] is decoupled [Fig 17, Showing decoupled] the one or more walls (10) [Fig 17].
In regards to Claim 4, Cersai as modified discloses the system [Unnumbered, Fig 30] (see examiners comment) of claim 1. Apps discloses wherein the clip assembly (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] further comprises a second opening (30) proximate to the first end [Top portion] of the flexible plate (22) [Fig 17] and configured for a tool [Col 4, Lines 43-46] to be inserted into the opening of the clip assembly (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] to flex the flexible plate (22) [Fig 17], such that the hook (24) [Fig 17] is removed from the opening in the rib (76, Cersai) of the corresponding cavity [Unnumbered, Fig 20, Cersai] (see examiners comments).
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flooring system as disclosed by Cerasi to further include a second opening proximate to the first end of the flexible plate and configured for a tool to be inserted into the opening of the clip assembly to flex the flexible plate, such that the hook is removed from the opening in the rib of the corresponding cavity as disclosed by Apps. When modified, the additional limitations as disclosed by apps allows for an ease of installation.
In regards to Claim 5, Cerasi as modified discloses the system [Unnumbered, Fig 30] (see examiners comment) of claim 1. Apps discloses wherein the foot (40) [Fig 13] further comprises:
one or more first openings (56) [Fig 15] traversing through the top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40) [Fig 13] and the bottom side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40) [Fig 13] ; and
one or more second openings (48) [Fig 13] traversing through the top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40) [Fig 13] and the bottom side [Unnumbered, Fig 13] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40) [Fig 13] , wherein the one or more second openings (48) [Fig 13] are smaller [Fig 13, Showing Smaller] than the one or more first openings (56) [Fig 15].
In regards to Claim 6, Cerasi as modified discloses the system [Unnumbered, Fig 30] (see examiners comment) of claim 5. Apps discloses wherein the one or more first openings (56) [Fig 15] and the one or more second openings (48) [Fig 13] are configured to allow moisture and air to traverse.
In regards to Claim 7, Cerasi as modified discloses the system [Unnumbered, Fig 30] (see examiners comment) of claim 1. Apps discloses wherein the plurality of clip assemblies (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] comprises one or more first clip assemblies (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] and one or more second clip assemblies (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] , wherein one or more hooks (22) [Fig 17] of the one or more first clip assemblies (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] are configured in a first orientation [Fig 12, Showing Orientation] , and one or more hooks (22) [Fig 17] of the one or more second clip assemblies (50,52,54) [Each Include a Snap Tab (20), Figs 12 and 16] are configured in a second orientation [Fig 12, Showing Orientation], wherein the first orientation [Fig 12, Showing Orientation] is a mirror of the second orientation [Fig 12, Showing Orientation].
In regards to Claim 8, Cerasi discloses the system [Unnumbered, Fig 30] (see examiners comment) claim 1, however fails to disclose , wherein lengths of the right side, the left side, the front side, and the back side of the panel are same .
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the panel (all sides) of Cerasi to have the same length in order to allow easier installation in the field. In general, a change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). When modified, when a panel is the same size, it allows for an easier installation sequence in the field.
In regards to Claim 9, Cerasi discloses the system [Unnumbered, Fig 30] (see examiners comment) of claim 1, wherein the lengths of the right side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] and the left side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the panel (60) [Fig 19] are shorter than the lengths of the front side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] and the back side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19, Showing different sizing] [See Col 3. Lines 46-49].
In regards to Claim 11, Cerasi discloses the system [Unnumbered, Fig 30] (see examiners comment) of claim 1, wherein the plurality of ribs (76) in the panel (60) [Fig 19] comprise recessed portions and non-recessed portions [Unnumbered, Fig 18] (see examiners comment), wherein the top side [Unnumbered, Fig 13, Apps] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40, Apps) [Fig 13] is configured to reside within the recessed portions [Multiple elements (134) and Unnumbered, Fig 18] (see examiners comment), wherein the bottom side [Unnumbered, Fig 13, Apps] (see examiners comment) of the foot (40, Apps) [Fig 13] is flush with the no recessed portions [Unnumbered, Fig 18] (see examiners comment) of the plurality of ribs (76).
Additionally, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to modify the recess and not recessed portions of the ribs to introduce more elements, combining the prior art to achieve the claimed invention and whether there would have been a reasonable expectation of success in doing so. DyStar Textilfarben GmbH & Co. Deutschland KG v. C.H. Patrick Co., 464 F.3d 1356, 1360, 80 USPQ2d 1641, 1645 (Fed. Cir. 2006). When modified, the addition of adding more recessed areas allows for an easier flush combination and installation mechanism between the foot and and panel in the field.
In general, it has been held that the duplication of parts is considered within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent production of a new or unexpected result. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669.
7. Claims 10 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cerasi et al. (US 7461482 B2)(Herein Cerasi) in view of Apps et al. (US 6006677)(Herein Apps) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Frank Petersen (DE 102019110650 A1)(Herein Petersen).
In regards to Claim 10, Cerasi discloses the system [Unnumbered, Fig 30] (see examiners comment) of claim 1, wherein the panel (60) [Fig 19] further comprises:
a receptacle portion (102) of a cam lock (100) [Fig 27] residing in the front side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the panel (60) [Fig 19] and a latch portion (110) of the cam lock (100) residing in the back side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the panel (60) [Fig 19];
a male portion (70) of at least one slide lock (80) residing in the right side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the panel (60) [Fig 19] and a female portion (Fig 24) of the at least one slide lock (80) residing in the left side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the panel, wherein the male portion (70) of the least one slide lock (80) comprises a plate [Unnumbered, Fig 21) (see examiners comment) and a neck (78) coupling the plate [Unnumbered, Fig 21) (see examiners comment)to the right side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the panel (60) , wherein the female portion (Fig 24) of the least one slide lock (80) comprises an opening (86) and a pocket (88).
However, Cerasi fails to disclose a male portion of at least one tongue and groove locking mechanism residing in the back side of the panel and a female portion of the at least one tongue and groove locking mechanism residing in the front side of the panel.
Furthermore, Petersen discloses a male portion (15) [Figs 1-3] of at least one tongue and groove locking mechanism (11) [Figs 1-3] residing in the back side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent, Cerasi) [Fig 19] of the panel (60, Cerasi) [Fig 19] and a female portion (14) [Figs 1-3] of the at least one tongue and groove locking mechanism (11) residing in the front side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent, Cerasi) [Fig 19] of the panel (60, Cerasi) [Fig 19].
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flooring system as disclosed by Cerasi include a male portion of at least one tongue and groove locking mechanism residing in the back side of the panel and a female portion of the at least one tongue and groove locking mechanism residing in the front side of the panel as disclosed by Petersen. When modified, the male and female portion of the tongue and groove locking system allows for an additional securing mechanism for the panels.
In regards to Claim 12, Cerasi discloses a first panel (60) [Fig 19] of a first panel assembly [Figs 17-18], a second panel (60) [Fig 19] of a second panel assembly [Figs 17-18], and a third panel (60) [Fig 19] of a third panel assembly [Figs 17-18],
wherein a latch portion (110) of a first cam lock (100) [Fig 27] residing in a front side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the first panel (60) [Fig 19] is configured to engage a receptacle portion (102) of a second cam lock (100) [Fig 27] residing in a back side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the second panel (60) [Fig 19] engages.
wherein a plate [Unnumbered, Fig 21) (see examiners comment) of a male portion (70) of a first slide lock (80) residing in a right side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the first panel (60) [Fig 19] is configured to reside within a pocket (88) of a female portion [Fig 23] of a second slide lock (72) residing in a left side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent) [Fig 19] of the third panel (60) [Fig 19].
However, fails to disclose wherein a female portion of a first tongue and groove locking mechanism residing in the front side of the first panel is configured to engage a male portion of a second tongue and groove locking mechanism residing in the back side of the second panel.
Furthermore, Petersen discloses wherein a female portion (14) [Figs 1-3] of a first tongue and groove locking mechanism (11) [Figs 1-3] residing in the front side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent, Cerasi) [Fig 19] of the first panel (60, Cerasi) [Fig 19] is configured to engage a male portion (15) [Figs 1-3] of a second tongue and groove locking mechanism (11) [Figs 1-3] residing in the back side (62,64,66,68, Orientation Dependent, Cerasi) [Fig 19] of the second panel (60, Cerasi)
Based on the prior art relied upon above, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the flooring system as disclosed by Cerasi include a female portion of a first tongue and groove locking mechanism residing in the front side of the first panel is configured to engage a male portion of a second tongue and groove locking mechanism residing in the back side of the second panel as disclosed by Peterson. When modified, the addition of the first tongue and groove locking mechanism allows for an additional securing mechanism for the panels.
Examiners Comment
Figure 30, Cerasi
Figure 20, Cerasi
Figure 18, Cerasi
Apps, Figure 13
Apps, Figure 21
Response to Arguments
8. Objections to the Drawings: Applicant' s argument with respect to the drawings is persuasive and objection to the drawings is hereby withdrawn.
In regards to amended figure 12C, examiner agrees with applicant regarding elements 1200, 1201, 1202, 1203, 1204 and 1207 being supported in the specifications paragraph 0073. However, elements 1208, 1209, 1210 and 1211 are supported by paragraph number 0074, not 0073.
9. Claim Rejections 35 USC 102: Applicant' s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
In regards to claims 13-16, Applicant recites Examiner’s mapping is internally inconsistent and reads different features of the claim onto structures drawn from two separate and distant components of Apps, without any basis for treating those structures as a unified teaching. Furthermore disclosing, the structure in the lower deck 40 – supports 50, 52, and 54 are physically separate components from the structures in the upper deck 10 – snap tabs 20, flexible shank portions 22 and sloped portions 24. Claim 13 requires clip assemblies, the flexible plate and the hook to be part of the same structure – the foot.
Furthermore, Applicant discloses the Examiner's rejection relies on an impermissible picking and choosing of disparate disclosures within Apps, without demonstrating that the reference itself teaches the claimed arrangement. To arrive at the claimed invention, one would need to modify or rearrange the features of the upper and lower decks 10, 40 to achieve
the claimed relationships between the elements. Such a reconstruction of elements is
improper under 35 U.S.C. § 102.
Additionally, Applicant recites Claim 15 requires the foot to comprise the recited second opening. Whereas the examiner points to opening 30 in Apps as teaching the second opening. However, opening 30 of Apps is a part of the upper deck (10) and not the lower deck.
Examiners Response: Claim 13 in regards to the clip assemblies reads as is “ a plurality of clip assembles assemblies coupled to the top side, each clip assembly comprising: a flexible plate with a first end proximate to the top side and a second end distal from the top side, the first end of the flexible plate being coupled to the top side, the second end of the flexible plate being decoupled from top side; and a hook residing at the second end of the flexible plate, wherein the hook is configured to couple to a panel of the panel assembly when the clip assembly is in a locked position”. As currently claimed, the clip assemblies are COUPLED to the top side of the foot. The phrase couple by definition as disclosed in Merriam Webster is “to connect for consideration together” The claim language is not requiring the clip assemblies to be integrally connected to the foot, only to connect to the top of the foot which is shown in figures 17 and 18.
Additionally, in regards to Claim 15, the clip assembly comprises the second opening (see lines 1-2), as disclosed in the above the clip assembly has to be coupled not integrally connected or unified into one structure.
Lastly, Per MPEP 2111.01(IV) “To act as their own lexicographer, the applicant must clearly set forth a special definition of a claim term in the specification that differs from the plain and ordinary meaning it would otherwise possess. CCS Fitness, Inc. v. Brunswick Corp., 288 F.3d 1359, 1366, 62 USPQ2d 1658, 1662 (Fed. Cir. 2002).”
However, since COUPLED has not been given a special definition, the term COUPLED is presumed to be understood in its plain meaning “[T]he ordinary and customary meaning of a claim term is the meaning that the term would have to a person of ordinary skill in the art in question at the time of the invention, i.e., as of the effective filing date of the patent application.” Phillips v. AWH Corp.,415 F.3d 1303, 1313, 75 USPQ2d 1321, 1326 (Fed. Cir. 2005) (en banc); Sunrace Roots Enter. Co. v. SRAM Corp., 336 F.3d 1298, 1302, 67 USPQ2d 1438, 1441 (Fed. Cir. 2003); Brookhill-Wilk 1, LLC v. Intuitive Surgical, Inc., 334 F.3d 1294, 1298, 67 USPQ2d 1132, 1136 (Fed. Cir. 2003) (“In the absence of an express intent to impart a novel meaning to the claim terms, the words are presumed to take on the ordinary and customary meanings attributed to them by those of ordinary skill in the art.”).” MPEP 2111.01(III)
For the above reasons, Claims 13-16 being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a2) as being anticipated by Apps et al. (US 6006677)(Herein Apps) is hereby maintained.
10. Claim Rejections 35 USC 103: Applicant' s arguments with respect to all claims have been considered but are not persuasive.
In regards to Claims 1-9 and 11, Applicant recites examiner’s mapping is inconsistent.
Examiners Response: See the above.
Additionally, Applicant recites in addition to the inconsistency the Examiner has not articulated any specific reason why a person of ordinary skill in the art (POSITA) would modify Cerasi in view of Apps. To arrive at the claimed structure from Cerasi in view of Apps, a POSITA would not merely combine or modify existing elements. Instead, a significant redesign of the lower deck 40 of Apps would be required. Specifically, the snap tabs, which in Apps are integral features of the upper deck, would need to be separated from the upper deck and relocated to the lower deck. The supports, which in Apps are integral features of the lower deck, would likewise need to be reconceived so that their rib-and-hook interaction is separated from the lower deck and relocated to the panel of Cerasi. The directional and spatial relationships between the snap tabs and the supports in Apps would need to be reorganized to achieve the claimed relationship in which the clip assembly on the foot inserts into a cavity on the underside of the panel and locks thereto. This is not a routine modification. It would require a POSITA to reconceive the interplay between the components of Apps, as well as conceive their interactions with the panel of Cerasi not suggested by either reference.
In addition, regarding dependent claim 11, a POSITA would not modify the lower deck of Apps to be flush with the non-recessed portions of the ribs of the panel. Doing so would be counter to the purpose of the pallet of Apps. Apps explicitly states in Col. 4, lines 21-24, "The areas between the recesses [14, 16, 18 of the upper deck 10] are fork- receiving regions which are intended to rest on the forks of a fork lift that can engage the pallet from any side." Modification of the upper or lower decks of Apps to be flush with the non-recessed portions of the ribs would remove the ability of the panel to engage the forks of a fork lift.
Lastly, Applicant recites in regards to Claims 10 and 12, Peterson does not teach or suggest the features noted above that are absent from Cerasi in view of Apps.
Examiners Response: In regards to the reasoning, please see the above (103-rejections). Additionally, in response to applicant's argument that a significant redesign is required, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981).
Furthermore, in regards to the applicant’s argument regarding not being a routine modification and it would require a POSITA to reconceive the interplay between the components of Apps, as well as conceive their interactions with the panel of Cerasi not suggested by either reference. The modification requiring substantial reconception is only evidence by the remarks themselves.
Additionally, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually (Claim 11), one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Furthermore, In regard to Claims 10 and 12, see the above.
For the above reasonings, Claims 1-12 as rejected are hereby maintained
Conclusion
11. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Z.K.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635