DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of restriction requirement in the reply filed on 4/30/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that MPEP § 803 and/or arguing the claims and other species are considered in the same application. A portion of the argument is not found persuasive because the listed Inventions are related as combination and subcombination and different Species require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes /subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search strategies or search queries).
Examiner also consider Applicant’s arguments and re-group and reconsider the inventions as followings:
Claims 11-14, claims 18, 20 are consider as they are the similar invention as elected inventions I.
Examiner also consider Applicant’s arguments and agree to merge the figures as below:
Figures 7-8: Examiner agree to merge as a same group.
Figures 16-19: Examiner agree to merge as a same group.
Figures 22-23: Examiner agree to merge as a same group.
Therefore, Examiner will exam the above elected claims and specie A (Fig 1-6) in the office action.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 11-14, 18, 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Ladouceur (US 20120156907).
With regard claim 1, Ladouceur discloses An accessory device, (abstract, see also fig 1-15) comprising: one or more walls that define a receptacle for an electronic device (at least fig 3-4, one or more walls that define a receptacle for an electronic device, 200), the one or more walls comprising an opening having a first area (compare fig 3 and fig 4, a first area), wherein in response to receiving an object configured to connect to the electronic device (paragraph [48]-[52]), the opening transitions to a second area different from the first area (compare fig 3 and fig 4, a second area).
With regard claim 11, Ladouceur further discloses An accessory device, (abstract, see also fig 1-15) comprising: a bottom wall; and sidewalls extending from the bottom wall (at least fig 3-4, sidewalls extending from the bottom wall, under 210), the sidewalls combining with the bottom wall to define a receptacle (paragraph [48]-[52]), the sidewalls comprise a sidewall that includes an opening (at least fig 3-4, opening near 210), wherein: in response to the receptacle receiving an electronic device, the opening is aligned with a port of the electronic device (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52]), and in response to receiving an object, the opening is enables access to the electronic device (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52]).
With regard claim 18, Ladouceur further discloses An accessory device, (abstract, see also fig 1-15) comprising: a bottom wall; and sidewalls extending from the bottom wall (at least fig 3-4, sidewalls extending from the bottom wall, under 210), the sidewalls combining with the bottom wall to define a receptacle (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52]), the sidewalls comprise a sidewall that includes: a first material; and a second material coupled with the first material (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52]), the second material defining an opening (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52]), wherein in response to receiving an object at the opening, the second material is configured to move relative to the first material (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52]).
With regard claim 2, Ladouceur further discloses in response to the object being removed, the opening transitions to the first area (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52]).
With regard claim 3, Ladouceur further discloses the second area is greater than the first area (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52]).
With regard claim 4, Ladouceur further discloses the opening is configured to expand, to the second area, along a first dimension and a second dimension (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52]).
With regard claim 5, Ladouceur further discloses further comprising a material that surrounds the opening, the material configured to compress based on contact with the object (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52], [61-64]).
With regard claim 12, Ladouceur further discloses in response to removing the object, the opening is configured to contract (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52], [61-64 ]).
With regard claim 13, Ladouceur further discloses the opening includes a size and shape to: receive a connector of the object, and expand in response to engaging a boot of the cable assembly (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52], [61-64 ]).
With regard claim 14, Ladouceur further discloses a first material that forms, in part, the wall; and a second material that surrounds the opening, the second material different from the first material (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52], [61-64 ]).
With regard claim 20, Ladouceur further discloses in response to receiving the cable assembly, the opening is configured to expand (at least fig 3-4, see also paragraph [48]-[52], [61-64 ]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/JERRY WU/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841