DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-16, and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemeny US 20200114682 A1 in view of Zhang et al. CN 112303085 A.
Regarding claim 1, Kemeny teaches a wheel assembly for a vehicle comprising: an inner rim 31 to be coupled to the vehicle; an outer rim 33 surrounding the inner rim 31; a plurality of gas springs 50 operatively coupled between the inner rim 31 and the outer rim 33 to provide relative movement between the inner rim 31 and the outer rim 33; and a plurality of attachment assemblies 53, each comprising an attachment bracket coupled to a corresponding one of the inner 31 and outer rims 33 and a fastener passing through the attachment bracket. (Fig. 4)
Kemeny does not teach that the attachment bracket defines spaced apart first and second fastener-receiving tapered wedge passageways, a fastener extending through the spaced apart first and second fastener-receiving tapered wedge passageways and coupling a corresponding gas spring to the attachment bracket, and first and second tapered wedges carried by the fastener and engaging the respective first and second fastener-receiving tapered wedge passageways upon securing of the fastener.
Zhang teaches an assembly comprising a fastener extending through tapered wedge passageways 5 and carrying tapered wedges 6 which engage with the tapered wedge passageways in order to provide improved shear resistance. (Fig. 4; abstract)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a fastener utilizing the taper wedges to attach the gas springs to the wheel rim in order to improve shear resistance and overall strength and longevity of the tire with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Kemeny and Zhang teach the wheel assembly of Claim 1. Kemeny and Zhang do not expressly teach the wheel assembly comprising first and second threaded nut pairs carried by opposing ends of the fastener. However, it is well known in the art to use a stud or threaded rod with lock nuts on either end instead of a bolt to eliminate the stress concentration point under the head. Official notice is hereby given. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a stud to improve stress loading in the fastener and reduce stress concentrations with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 4 and 5, Kemeny and Zhang teach the wheel assembly of Claim 2. Kemeny and Zhang do not teach wherein each attachment assembly comprises a respective locking member carried by the fastener outboard of the corresponding threaded nut pair. However, it is well known in the art to use an outboard locking member such as a cotter pin to prevent nuts from loosening and coming undone. Official notice is hereby given. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a cotter pin as an added security measure to ensure the critical nuts holding the gas springs on do not unintentionally come undone.
Regarding claim 6, Kemeny and Zhang teach the wheel assembly of Claim 1. Kemeny and Zhang do not teach wherein the first and second tapered wedges each comprises a plurality of split tapered wedge segments. It is well known in the art to use split wedge pieces in a conically expanding wedge fastener assembly (e.g. a wedge fastener holding hollow tubes together or wedged lock nuts) in order to allow the wedge element to expand and engage the tapered passageways in a uniform manner without undue stress on the wedge pieces. Official notice is hereby given. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multiple split wedge pieces with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 7, Kemeny and Zhang teach the wheel assembly of Claim 1. Kemeny further teaches the wheel assembly comprising an outer ring 38 coupled to the outer rim 33 and extending radially inwardly to define a mechanical stop with adjacent portions of the inner rim. (Fig. 15)
Regarding claim 8, Kemeny and Zhang teach the wheel assembly of Claim 1. Kemeny further teaches the wheel assembly further comprising a tread 72 carried by the outer rim. (Fig. 8)
Regarding claim 9, Kemeny teaches a wheel assembly for a vehicle comprising: an inner rim 31 to be coupled to the vehicle; an outer rim 33 surrounding the inner rim 31; a plurality of gas springs 50 operatively coupled between the inner rim 31 and the outer rim 33 to provide relative movement between the inner rim 31 and the outer rim 33; and a plurality of attachment assemblies 53, each comprising an attachment bracket coupled to a corresponding one of the inner 31 and outer rims 33; a fastener passing through the attachment bracket (Fig. 4) and a tread 72 carried by the outer rim. (Fig. 8)
Kemeny does not teach that the attachment bracket defines spaced apart first and second fastener-receiving tapered wedge passageways, a fastener extending through the spaced apart first and second fastener-receiving tapered wedge passageways and coupling a corresponding gas spring to the attachment bracket, and first and second tapered wedges carried by the fastener and engaging the respective first and second fastener-receiving tapered wedge passageways upon securing of the fastener or first and second threaded nut pairs carried by opposing ends of the fastener
Zhang teaches an assembly comprising a fastener extending through tapered wedge passageways 5 and carrying tapered wedges 6 which engage with the tapered wedge passageways in order to provide improved shear resistance. (Fig. 4; abstract)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a fastener utilizing the taper wedges to attach the gas springs to the wheel rim in order to improve shear resistance and overall strength and longevity of the tire with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding the first and second treaded nut pairs carried by opposing ends of the fastener, it is well known in the art to use a stud or threaded rod with lock nuts on either end instead of a bolt to eliminate the stress concentration point under the head. Official notice is hereby given. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a stud to improve stress loading in the fastener and reduce stress concentrations with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Kemeny and Zhang teach the wheel assembly of Claim 9. Kemeny and Zhang do not teach wherein each attachment assembly comprises a respective locking member carried by the fastener outboard of the corresponding threaded nut pair. However, it is well known in the art to use an outboard locking member such as a cotter pin to prevent nuts from loosening and coming undone. Official notice is hereby given. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a cotter pin as an added security measure to ensure the critical nuts holding the gas springs on do not unintentionally come undone.
Regarding claim 13, Kemeny and Zhang teach the wheel assembly of Claim 9. Kemeny and Zhang do not teach wherein the first and second tapered wedges each comprises a plurality of split tapered wedge segments. It is well known in the art to use split wedge pieces in a conically expanding wedge fastener assembly (e.g. a wedge fastener holding hollow tubes together or wedged lock nuts) in order to allow the wedge element to expand and engage the tapered passageways in a uniform manner without undue stress on the wedge pieces. Official notice is hereby given. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multiple split wedge pieces with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 14, Kemeny and Zhang teach the wheel assembly of Claim 9. Kemeny further teaches the wheel assembly comprising an outer ring 38 coupled to the outer rim 33 and extending radially inwardly to define a mechanical stop with adjacent portions of the inner rim. (Fig. 15)
Regarding claim 15, Kemeny teaches a method of coupling a plurality of gas springs 50 between an inner rim 31 and an outer rim 33 of a wheel assembly, the method comprising: coupling an attachment bracket 53 to a corresponding one of the inner 31 and outer rims 33.
Kemeny does not teach an attachment bracket defining spaced apart first and second fastener-receiving tapered wedge passageways; positioning a fastener through the spaced apart first and second fastener-receiving tapered wedge passageways to couple a corresponding gas spring to the attachment bracket; and securing the fastener so that first and second tapered wedges carried by the fastener engage the respective first and second fastener-receiving tapered wedge passageways.
Zhang teaches an assembly comprising a fastener extending through tapered wedge passageways 5 and carrying tapered wedges 6 which engage with the tapered wedge passageways in order to provide improved shear resistance. (Fig. 4; abstract)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement a method of coupling the gas springs with the inner and out rim with a fastener utilizing the taper wedges to attach the gas springs to the wheel rim in order to improve shear resistance and overall strength and longevity of the tire with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 16, Kemeny and Zhang teach the method of Claim 15. Kemeny and Zhang do not expressly teach wherein securing the fastener comprises coupling first and second threaded nut pairs to opposing ends of the fastener. However, it is well known in the art to use a stud or threaded rod with lock nuts on either end instead of a bolt to eliminate the stress concentration point under the head. Official notice is hereby given. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a stud to improve stress loading in the fastener and reduce stress concentrations with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, Kemeny and Zhang teach the method of claim claim 16. Kemeny and Zhang do not teach coupling a locking member comprising a cotter pin to the fastener outboard of the corresponding threaded nut pair. However, it is well known in the art to use an outboard locking member such as a cotter pin to prevent nuts from loosening and coming undone. Official notice is hereby given. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a cotter pin as an added security measure to ensure the critical nuts holding the gas springs on do not unintentionally come undone.
Regarding claim 20, Kemeny and Zhang teach the method of claim 16. Kemeny and Zhang do not teach wherein the first and second tapered wedges each comprises a plurality of split tapered wedge segments. It is well known in the art to use split wedge pieces in a conically expanding wedge fastener assembly (e.g. a wedge fastener holding hollow tubes together or wedged lock nuts) in order to allow the wedge element to expand and engage the tapered passageways in a uniform manner without undue stress on the wedge pieces. Official notice is hereby given. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use multiple split wedge pieces with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claims 3, 10 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kemeny US 20200114682 A1 in view of Zhang et al. CN 112303085 A and further in view of Miller US 0856976 A
Regarding claim 3, Kemeny and Zhang teach the wheel assembly of Claim 2. Kemeny and Zhang do not teach wherein each of the first and second threaded nut pairs comprises a pair of oppositely threaded nuts. Miller teaches the use of an oppositely threaded nut to lock the primary nut in place and prevent the nut from loosening. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an oppositely threaded lock nut to securely hold the primary nut with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 10, Kemeny and Zhang teach the wheel assembly of Claim 9. Kemeny and Zhang do not teach wherein each of the first and second threaded nut pairs comprises a pair of oppositely threaded nuts. Miller teaches the use of an oppositely threaded nut to lock the primary nut in place and prevent the nut from loosening. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an oppositely threaded lock nut to securely hold the primary nut with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 17, Kemeny and Zhang teach the method of Claim 16. Kemeny and Zhang do not teach wherein each of the first and second nut pairs comprises a pair of oppositely threaded nuts. Miller teaches the use of an oppositely threaded nut to lock the primary nut in place and prevent the nut from loosening. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use an oppositely threaded lock nut to securely hold the primary nut with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Fernald US 0988988 A teaches a clamping mechanism using wedged members around a fastener.
/AP/Examiner, Art Unit 3615
/S. Joseph Morano/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3615