Election/Restrictions
2. Claims 13-14 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group II , there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 05/04/2026.
3. Examiner states that apparatus and method claims are given different patentable weight. Examiner wishes to point out to applicant that claims 1-12 are directed towards an apparatus and as such will be examined under such conditions. The material worked upon or the process of using the apparatus are viewed as recitation of intended use and are given little patentable weight (Please see MPEP 2114 R1-2115 R2 for further details). Therefore method claims 13-14 are withdrawn from consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRUNNER (20100090375), in view of Schmid (US 20150042021) and Hartog, (US 20130092371).
8. Regarding Claim 1 BRUNNER discloses apparatus for forming plastic preforms into plastic containers with 10a preferably movable carrier on which a plurality of forming stations for forming the plastic preforms into the plastic containers is arranged (Figure 3, forming station-121, 122.), wherein these forming stations each have valve arrangements for applying a flowable medium to the plastic preforms in order to expand them ([0028], [0042], 121 from the first pressure compartment 21). Brunar didn’t disclose that valve arrangements have valve devices with movable piston devices.
In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, Schmid discloses that Schmid (US 20150042021) wherein each of these valve arrangements has at least two controllable valve devices, wherein these valve devices having movable piston devices which can switch the valve devices between at least two valve positions( [0003], [0048], Figure 1, controlled valves-122 , in order to control the position of each valve piston 110a-110d. As can be seen, the valve pistons 110a and 110b are shown in the open position with the valve pistons 110c and 110d in the closed position. ), the apparatus has a monitoring device for checking a state of wear of at least one of the valve devices and wherein this monitoring device has at least one detection device.( Fig. 3, monitor- CPU , items/detection device 330a-b ([0048], lines 9-13 (i.e., the position sensors/monitoring device- 330a-b may provide a signal to the stretch rod control valve 203 indicating a position of the stretch rod 202 (i.e., the piston 302) relative to the cylinder 201)).
9. It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine BRUNNER’s teaching with that of Schmid’s teaching of the valve devices consisting of piston by Schmid for the purpose of controlling the pressure of the flowable medium.
10. Further, the above combination didn’t disclose that detecting the state of wear of the valve device by electromagnetic radiation and/or acoustically and without contact. In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, of valve wear, Hartog is configured for detecting the state of wear of the valve device by electromagnetic radiation and/or acoustically and without contact ([0012], [0040], [0069]).
11. It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine BRUNNER’s teaching with that of Schmid’s teaching of the Hartog’s detection system for the purpose of understanding of the conditions of the neighboring surrounding while detecting the wear of the valves ([0015], Hartog).
12. Regarding Claim 2 Hartog discloses the detection device is configured for capturing a spatially resolved image of at least one component of a valve device ([0006], [0012], [0032]-[0033], detection for the valves in wellbore are used).
13 Regarding Claim 3 Schmid discloses detection device is configured for detecting the state of wear of the valve device through a wall of this housing or the detection device is integrated into this housing (Figure 3, sensor-330 a-b, the detection sensors are positioned on the cylinder housing-201 of the valve-203);
14. Regarding Claim 4 Hartog discloses that the detection device is or has an image capturing device ([0040], [0077]).
15. Regarding claim 6 Schmid/Hartog disclose wherein the detection device is configured for detecting a state of wear of the valve piston (Figure 1 as it can be seen, the valve pistons 110a and 110b are shown in the open position with the valve pistons 110c and 110d in the closed position, Schmid; ([0006], [0012], [0032]-[0033], wear valves detection are used in Hartog).
16. Regarding Claim 7 Schmid/Hartog discloses wherein the apparatus has a control device which is configured for controlling the apparatus on the basis of at least one value output by the detection device ([0048], Schmid) and for outputting a signal which is characteristic of a state of wear of the valve device ([0040], Hartog).
17. Regarding Claim 8 Schmid discloses apparatus according to wherein the detection device is arranged in a stationary manner relative to the valve device (Figure 2-3, [0048]).
18. Regarding Claim 9 Schmid discloses wherein said valve device has a media inlet for a flowable medium and a media outlet for the flowable medium and a linearly movable piston device which is movable between at least two positions of the valve device, wherein in one of the two positions a media flow of the flowable medium from the media inlet to the media outlet is enabled and in the other of the two positions a media flow of the flowable medium from the media inlet to the media outlet is prevented ([0003], Figure 1, inlet and outlet ports-114, 116, 118, [0048]the valve pistons 110a and 110b are shown in the open position with the valve pistons 110c and 110d in the closed position), and having a housing within which the piston device is movable, wherein at least a portion of the piston device and/or a valve seat can be observed by an optical detection device through a region of the housing (Figure 1 as it can be seen, the valve pistons 110a and 110b are shown in the open position with the valve pistons 110c and 110d in the closed position in the housing 101, Schmid; ([0006], [0012], , wear valves detection are used in Hartog).
19. Regarding Claim 11 Schmid discloses wherein the valve device is a pneumatically or electrically controlled valve device ([0045])
20. Regarding Claim 12 Schmid/Hartog device for monitoring a state of wear of a valve device with a valve device according to claim 9 and with a detection device which is configured for detecting at least one state of wear the valve seat ( ([0006], [0012], , wear valves detection are used in Hartog).
21. Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRUNNER 20100090375, in view of Schmid (US 20150042021) and Hartog, US 20130092371 as applied in Claim 3 further in view of JP H 0953749 .
13. Regarding Claim 5 Schmid discloses detection device is configured for detecting the state of wear of the valve device through a wall of this housing or the detection device is integrated into this housing (Figure 3, sensor-330 a-b, the detection sensors are positioned on the cylinder housing-201 of the valve-203); however didn’t disclose that the housing has at least one wall portion that is transparent to light JP’749 disclose s that housing has at least one wall portion that is transparent to light (Figure 1, transparent widow-80, [0027], translated).
14. It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine BRUNNER’s teaching with that of Schmid’s teaching of the detection system with JP’748 transparent wall of the housing so that presence of the flowable medium and the flow amount can be visible.
15. Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BRUNNER 20100090375, in view of Schmid (US 20150042021) and Hartog, US 20130092371 as applied in Claim 9 further in view of JP 2006125548.
16. Regarding Claim 10 Schmid/Hartog disclose wherein the detection device is configured for detecting a state of wear of the valve piston (Figure 1 as it can be seen, the valve pistons 110a and 110b are shown in the open position with the valve pistons 110c and 110d in the closed position, Schmid; ([0006], [0012], [0032]-[0033], wear valves detection are used in Hartog) but did not disclose that wherein the housing has a recess where detection device can be inserted . In the related field of endeavor pertaining to the art, JP’548 discloses housing has a recess where detection device can be inserted (Figure 5, [0006]).
17. It would be obvious for one ordinary skilled in the art to combine BRUNNER’s teaching with that of Schmid’s teaching of the detection system with JP’548 teaching of recess for the detecting device for the positional gripping of the detectors during the process.
Conclusion
/DEBJANI ROY/Examiner, Art Unit 1741
/ALISON L HINDENLANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1741