DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 10 dependency is not correct. Claim 10 depends on claim 10.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 2, 3 and 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “a high-current pulse”. It is unclear what a high-current pulse is. For the purpose of examination is current pulse is viewed as high-current pulse. Applicant is suggest to amend high-current pulse.
Claim 3 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C 112 (b) due to dependency on claim 2.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “wherein the LC temperature inductor further comprises” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) Regarding claim 1, 2, 3,4, 5, 9, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Carvajal et al US 20200402680 A1 herein after “Carvajal” in view of McFarland US 20060063522 A1.
Regarding claim 1, Carvajal teaches an LC-resonance sensor system for monitoring internal conditions of an enclosure, comprising (para [0044] As can be further understood from FIG. 1, and as will be set forth in greater detail below, the electrical circuit apparatus 44 and the interrogation apparatus 48 communicate wirelessly with one another.):
an LC temperature sensor comprising an inductor and capacitor (para [0045] As can be understood from FIG. 3, the electrical circuit apparatus 44 can be said to include a resonant electrical circuit 50 that operates as a sensor and that includes a plurality of circuit components that include a capacitor 54 and an inductor 56.
Para [0047] However, and as will be set forth in greater detail below, the resonant electrical circuit 50 is exposed to the condition that is being measured within the interior region 36, such as the temperature and/or elongation of the fuel pellets 38, and/or the ambient pressure within the interior region 36, by way of example.);
Examiner views the circuit 50 (i.e., temperature sensor) comprises inductor and capacitor.
an LC pressure sensor comprising an inductor and capacitor (please see above limitation where the sensor 50 is also capable of measuring pressure inside an enclosure (i.e., reactor tank). This is viewed to be duplication of sensor 50 to measure pressure inside the enclosure in the instant application. Please see MPEP 2144.04, VI);
a transmitting coil that transmits a wireless signal to each of the LC temperature sensor, LC pressure sensor (para [0035] As can be further understood from FIG. 1, and as will be set forth in greater detail below, the electrical circuit apparatus 44 and the interrogation apparatus 48 communicate wirelessly with one another.
Para [0039] As can further be understood from FIG. 3, the interrogation apparatus 48 can be said to include a transmitter 68 and a receiver 72.)
From Fig. 1 and 3 examiner views the transmitter coil 68 transmits a wireless signal to LC temperature and Pressure sensor. Pressure sensor is considered to be duplication of temperature sensor.
a first receiving coil for receiving wireless signals from the LC temperature sensor, a second receiving coil for receiving wireless signals from the LC pressure sensor (similarly see From Fig. 1 and 3 receiver coil is 72 from the temperature sensor and pressure sensor. pressure sensor is considered to be a duplication).
Carvajal does not teach an LC gas species sensor comprising an inductor and capacitor;
a transmitting coil that transmits a wireless signal to LC gas species sensor; and a third receiving coil for receiving wireless signals from the LC gas species sensor.
McFarland teaches an LC gas species sensor comprising an inductor and capacitor ([0082] The sensor 216 may be a single sensor or include multiple sensors. The sensor 216 may be a temperature, pressure, humidity, fire, smoke, occupancy, air quality, flow, velocity, vibration, rotation, enthalpy, power, voltage, current, light, gas, CO.sub.2, CO, N.sub.2, O.sub.2, chemical, radiation, fluid level, tank level, motion, Global Positioning System (GPS), infrared, or other sensor or combination thereof. The sensor 216 also may be a limit or proximity switch. Alternate sensors may be used.
[0095] FIG. 5 illustrates a floor layout for a network of wireless radios 310 operating with one or more control radios 322 within a building 324.
Para [0122] The electrical energy extracted may directly power a wireless radio and the accompanying wireless radio components, or may be stored in a storage unit, such as a rechargeable battery, capacitor, inductor, or other electrical component, for later use by the wireless radio and the accompanying wireless radio components).
Examiner views gas sensor 216 is a wireless sensor that comprises inductor and capacitor located within a building (i.e., an enclosure).
a transmitting coil that transmits a wireless signal to LC gas species sensor; and a third receiving coil for receiving wireless signals from the LC gas species sensor ([0030] FIG. 1 illustrates an exemplary network 110 of wireless radios 112. The network 110 may utilize a dynamic routing algorithm that permits data transmitted to travel the shortest distance or link 114 between wireless radios 112 to a destination, which decreases the required transmission time for a given message, as well as the required power level of that transmission. The destination may be another wireless radio 112 or a control radio 116. Each wireless radio 112 and control radio 116 may have a dedicated processor, a receiver, and a transmitter. The network 110 may include additional, fewer, or alternate components).
From paragraph [0030] and [0122] examiner views the inductor (i.e, has coil) that transmit or receive a wireless signal to gas sensor 216 from the neighboring wireless radio with transmitter and receiver. Examiner also views the receiving and transmitting coil to the LC gas sensor can be implied from Carvajal as discussed for LC temperature and pressure sensors.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated McFarland into Carvajal for the purpose of including a wireless gas sensor inside an enclosure so that the information related to gas can be communicated outside the container and prevent any gas leakage from the container or canister.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Carvajal and McFarland teach the LC-resonance sensor system of claim 1, Carvajal teaches wherein the transmitting coil is injected with a high-current pulse to generate a time-varying magnetic field that induces a voltage at the inductors of the LC temperature sensor, the LC pressure sensor, and the LC gas species sensor (para [0048] The transmitter 68 is configured to output an excitation pulse 74 which is in the form of a magnetic field signal that is capable of being transmitted through the cladding of the instrument thimble 8 within which the interrogation apparatus 48 is situated and is further capable of being transmitted through the cladding 32 of the fuel rod 6. The excitation pulse 74 is thus receivable by the inductor 56 and the inductor 66 of the resonant electrical circuits 50 and 60, respectively, to induce a resonant current in the resonant electrical circuits 50 and 60 in a known fashion.
[0049] The excitation pulse 74 is of a generally sinusoidal configuration.).
In fig,3 and above paragraphs, examiner views the transmitting coil 68 transmit or inject an excitation pulse 74 (i.e., current) to generate excitation sinusoidal magnetic pulse that induces current (voltage) at the receiver of sensor 50 (i.e., LC temperature, pressure sensor, gas sensors).
A person skilled in the art would obviously have sensor coil 50 (duplicate sensors -temperature, pressure and gas) to induce voltage due to magnetic field from the transmitter coils.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Carvajal and McFarland teach the LC-resonance sensor system of claim 2, Carvajal teaches wherein the time-varying magnetic field that induces a voltage at the inductors of the LC temperature sensor, the LC pressure sensor, and the LC gas species sensor induces a voltage at the first, second, and third receiver coils (para [0048] The induced currents in the resonant electrical circuits 50 and 60 result in the outputting of a response pulse 78 from the resonant electrical circuit 50 and a response pulse 80 from the resonant electrical circuit 60. The responses pulses 78 and 80 are in the form of magnetic field signals, which are not merely radio frequency signals, and which can be transmitted from the electrical circuit apparatus 44 through the cladding 32 and through the cladding of the instrument thimble 8 and thus be received on the receiver 72.)
Similarly, as discussed in claim 2 a current (i.e., voltage) is induced in the receiver coil 78 due to the induced voltage and sinusoidal magnetic field generated from the sensor coil 50.
A person skilled in the art would obviously have multiple receiver coil 78 (duplicate as first, second, third) to induce voltage due to magnetic field from the sensors coils.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Carvajal and McFarland teach the LC-resonance sensor system of claim 1, Carvajal teaches wherein the LC temperature sensor, the LC pressure sensor, and the LC gas species sensor are oriented internal to an enclosure, and the transmitting coil and receiving coils are oriented external to the enclosure (please see in claim 1, where Carvajal and McFarland both have temperature, pressure and gas sensor inside an enclosure nuclear reactor 12 or building or room where the transmitter and receiver coil are outside the reactor or building.).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Carvajal and McFarland teach the LC-resonance sensor system of claim 1, Carvajal wherein the LC temperature inductor further comprises a cylindrical inductor with coil windings with resistance that is sensitive to temperature (para [0051] The inductor 56 includes a coil 90 that is situated about and exterior surface of a tube 92 that is formed of a ceramic material.).
Inductor 56 is viewed to be a temperature senor inductor with coil made of metal (for example copper). The cooper has resistance that is sensitive to temperature.
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Carvajal and McFarland teach the LC-resonance sensor system of claim 1, Carvajal teaches further comprising a computer processor with memory operationally connected to the LC-resonance system (para [0041] As can be understood from FIG. 1, the electronic processing apparatus 16 can be seen as including a transceiver 18 and a signal processor 22. The transceiver 18 is connected with a wired connection with an interrogation apparatus 48 that is situated in the instrument thimble 8. The signal processor 22 includes a processor and storage 24, with the storage 24 having stored therein a number of routines 28,).
Please see in Fig. 1 processing apparatus with memory 24 operationally connected to the LC resonate system 8.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Carvajal and McFarland teach the LC-resonance sensor system of claim 10, Carvajal teaches wherein the temperature is tracked by tracking the peak to peak to voltage level of the signal from the LC temperature sensor ([0049] The excitation pulse 74 is of a generally sinusoidal configuration. The response pulses 78 and 80 are likewise sinusoidal pulses, but they are decaying sinusoidal signals, and it is noted that FIGS. 5A and 5B depict a pair of traces that are representative of two different response pulses 78. In this regard, the frequency of the response pulse 78 may correlate with one parameters within the fuel rod 6, such as temperature.
Para [0082]The gating circuit 888 in the OFF state attenuates the signal that is received by the receiver antenna 860 by three orders of magnitude in the depicted exemplary embodiment such that if the excitation pulse 874 when received by the receiver antenna 860 would ordinarily result in an output on the order of one volt, such attenuation of that signal by three orders of magnitude would result in an attenuated signal that is on the order of a millivolt. The gating circuit 888 thus advantageously avoids destruction of the detection apparatus 804 in response to the excitation pulse 874).
Examiner views the temperature inside the enclosure is monitored by using a sinusoidal signal (i.e., peak voltage measured by voltmeter) detected by the temperature sensor.
Claim(s) 6 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Carvajal and McFarland in view of Plesski et al US 20200182721 A1 herein after “Plesski”.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Carvajal and McFarland teach the LC-resonance sensor system of claim 1, the combination does not teach wherein the LC pressure sensor includes a piezo crystal bonded to a circular diaphragm forming an acoustic diaphragm which mechanically self-resonates at a controlled frequency.
Plesski teaches wherein the LC pressure sensor includes a piezo crystal bonded to a circular diaphragm forming an acoustic diaphragm which mechanically self-resonates at a controlled frequency ([0023] FIG. 1A and FIG. 1B are cross-sectional and plan views, respectively, of a pressure-sensitive acoustic resonator 100.
para [0024] The diaphragm 140 is a single-crystal piezoelectric material such as lithium niobate (LN) or lithium tantalate (LT).
0028] The first and second busbars 122, 124 serve as the terminals of the pressure-sensitive acoustic resonator 100. A radio frequency or microwave signal applied between the two busbars 122, 124 of the ICP 120 creates a spatially varying electric field that extends through the gap into the piezoelectric diaphragm 140. This field excites acoustic waves within the piezoelectric diaphragm 140.
[0032] For a circular isotropic diaphragm of radius R and thickness t, constrained about its entire perimeter, the deflection in the middle of the diaphragm is determined…).
From Fig. 1 and above paragraphs examiner views the pressure sensor has circular diaphragm 140 which has crystal piezoelectric material. The circular diaphragm forms an acoustic diaphragm that self-resonates with a controlled frequency when a diaphragm is excited by a radio frequency.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Plesski into Carvajal for the purpose of having a pressure sensor with a cystal piezoelectric material on a diaphragm that is excited in a controlled frequency so that the pressure signal can be transmitted to or from an enclosure (dry storage canister).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Carvajal and McFarland teach the LC-resonance sensor system of claim 10, the combination does not teach wherein the pressure is tracked by tracking the shift in resonance peaks in frequency domain representation of the signal from the LC pressure sensor.
Plesski teaches wherein the pressure is tracked by tracking the shift in resonance peaks in frequency domain representation of the signal from the LC pressure sensor (para [0039] FIG. 5 is graph 500 showing results from simulating the performance of the pressure sensitive acoustic resonator 400 of FIG. 4… Comparison of the solid and dashed plots 510, 520 shows that changing the gap dimension by 14.6 nm results in a 380 kHz shift in the resonant frequency of the pressure sensitive acoustic resonator.).
From Fig. 5 examiner views the pressure is tracked by tracking the shift in resonance peaks 520 and 510 in frequency domain from the signal from the LC pressure sensor.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Plesski into Carvajal for the purpose of having a pressure with a crystal piezoelectric material on a diaphragm that is excited in a controlled frequency so that the pressure change signal can be transmitted to or from a dry storage canister.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Carvajal and McFarland in view of Willett et al US 20190137450 A1.
Regarding 13 the combination of Carvajal and McFarland teach the LC-resonance sensor system of claim 10, the combination does not teach wherein the gas species content is tracked by tracking the shift in resonance peaks in frequency domain representation of the signal from the LC gas species sensor
Willett teaches wherein the gas species content is tracked by tracking the shift in resonance peaks in frequency domain representation of the signal from the LC gas species sensor (para [0009] FIG. 4 is the resonance peaks for a particular gas and the setting of a dynamic threshold for determining a resonance frequency from one of those peaks.)
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Willett into Carvajal for the purpose of detecting a change in amount of gas by observing a shift in resonance peak frequency so that the accurate amount of gas be can predicted.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Carvajal and McFarland in view of Gong et al US 20210404949 A1 herein after “Gong”.
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Carvajal and McFarland teach the LC-resonance sensor system of claim 1, the combination does not teach wherein the LC gas species sensor comprises a piezo- diaphragm at one end of cylindrical tube with the other end sealed off by a reflector plate.
Gong teaches wherein the LC gas species sensor comprises a piezo- diaphragm at one end of cylindrical tube with the other end sealed off by a reflector plate (para 0005] A multi-cavity superimposed non-resonant photoacoustic cell, including a cylindrical metal shell 1, multiple non-resonant photoacoustic cavities 2, sensitive diaphragm of the fiber-optic Fabry-Perot acoustic sensor 3, optical glass window 4, air inlet 5 and air outlet 6 and the gas to be measured enters through the air inlet 5, diffuses into the multiple non-resonant photoacoustic cavities 2, and then discharges through the air outlet 6 at the other end.).
Examiner views in Fig. 1 a cylindrical tube 1 with diaphragm 3 with the fiber-optic Fabry-Perot acoustic sensor (i.e., acoustic sensor- piezo material bonded to diaphragm) at one end and other end sealed off by an optical glass window (i.e., reflector plate) of cylindrical tube 1.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Gong into Carvajal for the purpose of having a gas sensor with piezo membrane on one end and reflection material on the other end so that an accurate gas in an enclosure can be determined.
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Carvajal and McFarland teach the LC-resonance sensor system of claim 1, wherein the LC gas species sensor further comprises a piezo crystal bonded to a circular diaphragm attached to one end of the cylindrical tube with the other end of the tube closed using the reflector plate (please see claim 7 above), and wherein the cylindrical tube comprises a plurality of holes to enable an exchange of gases (please see fig. 1 air inlet or hole 5 and outlet or hole 6) .
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Gong into Carvajal for the purpose of having a gas sensor with piezo membrane on one end and reflection material on the other end so that an accurate gas contained in an enclosure can be determined.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Carvajal and McFarland in view of Kauffman et al US 20150215684 A1 herein after “Kauffman”.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Carvajal and McFarland teach the LC-resonance sensor system of claim 10, Carvajal teaches further comprising a first signal processing algorithm, located within memory of the computer processor, which estimates the temperature inside an enclosure using the data recorded at the first receiving coil (para [0040] The detection apparatus 4 is situated within the containment of the nuclear reactor 12, and the detection apparatus 4 is cooperable with an electronic processing apparatus 16 that is situated external to the containment of the nuclear reactor 12.), a second signal processing algorithm that estimates the pressure inside an enclosure using the data recorded at the second receiving coil (para [0067] It thus can be seen that changes in ambient pressure within the main portion 481 of the interior region 436 result in a change in inductance of the inductor 456 and a corresponding change in the nominal frequency of the resonant electrical circuit 450 and a resultant change in the frequency of the response pulse 78 that is generated by the electrical circuit apparatus 444. When such response pulse 78 is received by the receiver 72, a corresponding signal is communicated to the electronic processing equipment 16, and the routines 28 and the data tables 30 are used to obtain a corresponding value for the ambient pressure within the interior region 436 for output as desired.)
Carvajal’s sensor is applicable for both temperature and pressure sensing. Therefore, pressure sensor is an obvious duplication of sensors in the present invention, and
the combination does not teach a third signal processing algorithm that estimates the gas species inside an enclosure using the data recorded at the third receiving coil.
Kauffman teaches a third signal processing algorithm that estimates the gas species inside an enclosure using the data recorded at the third receiving coil (para [0057] A sensor communication system 405 may be used to detect the presence of more than one condition within a metal enclosure 400 or tank 500…a third sensor transmitter 100c electrically coupled to a gas sensor are positioned within the metal enclosure 400 or tank 500. The first transmitter may include a first power supply, a first comparison device, a first sensor (e.g. leak detection sensor).... The third transmitter may include a third power supply, a third comparison device, a third sensor (e.g. gas sensor) and/or a third magnetic field device…. For example, the first sensor transmitter may have a first low frequency wireless signal of about 10 kHz, the second sensor transmitter may have a second low frequency wireless signal of about 150 Hz, and a third sensor transmitter may have a third low frequency wireless signal of about 15 kHz. The receiver 420 may be tuned to each low frequency wireless signal. If the 10 kHz low frequency wireless signal is detected, it is indicative of the leak detection sensor detecting a leak condition within the metal enclosure 400 or tank 500.
Para [0058] In another embodiment as depicted by FIG. 6, the sensor communication system 405 may include a controller 407 that is in communication with the receiver 420. The controller 407 may include a processor 409 and a computer readable medium or memory 411. The processor 409 may execute a set of instructions recorded on the computer-readable medium or memory 411 to determine which sensor of a plurality of sensors 110a-110d has detected or sensed the presence of the condition or event and which associated low frequency wireless signal 102 to transmit via the low frequency generator 115.).
Examiner views the gas sensor data transmitted by sensor system 405 from inside an enclosure is received by receiver 420 antenna (i.e., with inductor coil). The received data is processed by the controller 407 according to an instruction or algorithm.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to have incorporated Kauffman into Carvajal for the purpose of having a gas sensor within an enclosure to transmit the recorded sensor data wirelessly to the controller so that the amount of gas inside the enclosure is determined accurately using an algorithm.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Rokkam et al US 20200189760 A1 discusses remote fuel system sensor with wireless energy transfer.
Arndt et al US 20210074441 A1 discusses monitoring inside a nuclear reactor using inductor sensor.
Iacovino et al US 6252923 B1 discusses self-powered monitoring for stored spent nuclear fuel.
/SHARAD TIMILSINA/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857