DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment and communication filed on 01/22/2026.
In the instant Amendment, filed on 01/22/2026, the Applicant stated that no claim has been amended. Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending in this application. Claims 1, 10, and 19 are independent.
Response to Arguments/Remarks
Applicant’s arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on 01/22/2026, with respect to the prior-art rejections to claims 1-20, and limitations listed below, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Remarks: As to independent claim 1, the Applicant submits that Jacob fails to teach the limitation, “after selecting the selected one of the plurality of user types, displaying a permissions screen on the display of the user interface of the thermostat that concurrently displays a plurality of thermostat functions of the thermostat.” Emphasizing on the claim language “concurrently,” the Applicant submits that the applied Jacobs illustrates an interface in which an operator sets access credentials for other users. The figure does not depict, nor do the cited portions of the specification describe, a screen that concurrently displays a plurality of thermostat functions for the purpose of granting or denying access to individual functions. Rather, Jacobs teaches that once access credentials are verified, users are permitted to perform predefined thermostat setting functions, such as increasing or decreasing temperature, without disclosing a permissions screen that displays multiple thermostat functions concurrently for configuration (Applicant Arguments/Remarks, 01/22/2026, pages 9-10).
The Examiner disagrees with the Applicants. The Examiner respectfully submits that applied reference teaches the limitations as applied in the rejections, and the limitations that are addressed above by the Applicant. As to the emphasized the claim language “concurrently,” the Examiner submits that with respect to the disclosure and the field of the invention, the language “concurrently,” is given the broadest interpretation. To one of ordinary skill in the art, considering the synonyms, synchronously, alongside, in conjunction with, “concurrently display,” would mean, along with the other function, in any order, display is conducted.
Applied reference Jacobs teaches of a processes, where in one scenario, using a master code, the operator access the system, and then the system displaying/prompting the operator to key in the user's choice of the access controller component functions [i.e., selecting one or more displayed functions] the user desires to modify, and further prompting for keyed in entries to make those modifications [i.e., one or more displayed functions is modified/set], In another scenario, using the master code, the operator sets the other user access password/key setting that the operator selects to set [i.e., the operator selects other user for whom (the user type) the setting is done], and stored in the memory for user’s access control verification where the operator is allowed to perform thermoset setting functions, including setting a schedule [i.e. for the selected user type] thermostat temperature setting adjustment adjusted at various times and dates [i.e. display of plurality of thermostat functions and setting/granting the access right to the functions]. Once set by the operator, the other users are allowed to perform thermoset setting functions, including temperature increasing function and decreasing function [i.e. granting the access rights of the plurality of thermostat functions] (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, col 7, lines 20-24, col 10, lines 25-67, col 14, lines 19-63). Therefore, broadly interpreted, Jacobs teaches the claim limitations of claim 1.
Applicant’s Remarks: As to independent claims 10 and 19, the Applicant submits that for the similar arguments as to claim 1, and claims are patentable over the cited refence (Applicant Arguments/Remarks, 01/22/2026, page 10).
The Examiner disagrees with the Applicants. The Examiner respectfully submits that the claims 10 and 19 are rejected at least based on the reference applied to the claims and the rationale and response presented to the argument above for claim 1.
Additionally, as to the dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20, the Applicant argues that the claims are dependent directly or indirectly from a respective independent claim, and are therefore the rejections to the claims are requested to be withdrawn (Applicant Arguments/Remarks, 01/22/2026, page 10).
The Examiner disagrees with the Applicants. The Examiner respectfully submits that the dependent claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20 are rejected at least based on the rationale and response presented to the argument for their respective base claims, and the reference applied to the claims 2-9, 11-18, and 20.
The Examiner respectfully suggests that the independent claims be further amended and details, in light of the specification, be incorporated to distinguish the claimed invention over prior art of record, by refining the limitations to cite:
(a) clarifying/refining the claim language “concurrently,” with respect to a set logical steps or algorithm that is unique for providing the inventive solution.
(b) citing the user/actor’s name of the “selecting” and “granting” functions of the user management screen, and differentiating this user/actor from other user types, including what are the other types user and their permitted thermoset functions that are to be set using the management screen.
(c) for better clarification for the claim scope, citing the system/controller as the actor of the functions that are performed by the system/controller for differentiating form the human-user/actor’s performed functions.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacobs (“Jacobs,” US 6,644,557, patented on 11/03/2003), in view of Wilairat (“Wilairat,” US 2012/0084734, published on 04/05/2012).
As to claim 1, Jacobs teaches a method for controlling access to a plurality of functions of a thermostat, wherein the thermostat includes a thermostat housing that houses a user interface of the thermostat (Jacobs: col 6, lines 7-38, col 10, lines 25-67; Fig. 2, a system and method for controlling access to a thermostat setting with different access level, where a housing component enclosing the thermostat, at least one display component for displaying temperature information and control information, and user input entry and function press buttons) the method comprising:
displaying on a display of the user interface of the thermostat a user management screen (Jacobs: col 6, lines 7-38, col 10, lines 25-67; Fig. 2, the thermostat includes, at least one display component for displaying temperature information and control information, and user input entry and function press buttons);
selecting a selected one of the plurality of user types via the user management screen (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, col 14, lines 19-63; Fig. 4, as an operator [management/owner/master user] of the thermostat system the operator entered using master code interacting with the user interface/display. As an option, the operator can perform temperature setting function using the interface, or/and can set permanent user’s access, temporary user’s access, and key-access user’s access [i.e. selecting one of the plurality of users] control setting);
after selecting the selected one of the plurality of user types, displaying a permissions screen on the display of the user interface of the thermostat that concurrently displays a plurality of thermostat functions of the thermostat; granting the selected one of the plurality of user types access rights to the selected one or more of the plurality of thermostat functions (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, col 7, lines 20-24, col 10, lines 25-67, col 14, lines 19-63; Fig. 4, in one scenario, using a master code, the operator access the system, and then the system displaying/prompting the operator to key in the user's choice of the access controller component functions [i.e., selecting one or more displayed functions] the user desires to modify, and further prompting for keyed in entries to make those modifications [i.e., one or more displayed functions is modified/set], In another scenario, using the master code, the operator sets the other user access password/key setting that the operator selects to set [i.e., the operator selects other user for whom (the user type) the setting is done], and stored in the memory for user’s access control verification where the operator is allowed to perform thermoset setting functions, including setting a schedule [i.e. for the selected user type] thermostat temperature setting adjustment adjusted at various times and dates [i.e. display of plurality of thermostat functions and setting/granting the access right to the functions]. Once set by the operator, the other users are allowed to perform thermoset setting functions, including temperature increasing function and decreasing function [i.e. granting the access rights of the plurality of thermostat functions]);
during subsequent operation of the thermostat, and for the selected one of the plurality of user types, providing access to the selected one or more of the plurality of thermostat functions via the user interface (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, col 10, lines 25-67, col 14, lines 19-63; Fig. 5, when one of the other user type enters the password/key, the system perform a matching verification with the stored password/key, and allows the other user to perform the thermoset setting functions upon successful matching result); and
providing control signals directly from the thermostat to an HVAC system based at least in part on one or more thermostat settings set by one or more of the plurality of thermostat functions of the thermostat (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, col 10, lines 25-67, col 13, 61-67; Fig. 5, based on the input of thermoset setting functions, including temperature increasing function and decreasing function, the HVAC unit performs the heating and colling operation).
Jacob does not explicitly teaches the limitations, that concurrently displays a plurality of user types; selecting one or more of the plurality of thermostat functions via the permissions screen; while not providing access to the plurality of thermostat functions that were not selected for the selected one of the plurality of user types via the permissions screen.
However, in an analogous art, Wilairat teaches that concurrently displays a plurality of user types; selecting one or more of the plurality of thermostat functions via the permissions screen; while not providing access to the plurality of thermostat functions that were not selected for the selected one of the plurality of user types via the permissions screen (Wilairat: pars 0027, 0038-0039; Fig. 3, 8, a multiple-access-level lock screen system allows different levels of functionality to be accessed on a computing device, based on user password [i.e. passcode] input of the registered level [i.e. selected and set] access. Access levels can be labeled as "Full Access," "Enhanced Access" and "Basic Access," where "Full Access" provides access to all functionality, "Enhanced Access" provides access to most, but not all functionality, and "Basic Access" provides access to basic functionality).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Wilairat with the method/system of Jacobs to include the limitations, concurrently displays a plurality of user types; selecting one or more of the plurality of thermostat functions via the permissions screen; while not providing access to the plurality of thermostat functions that were not selected for the selected one of the plurality of user types via the permissions screen, where one would have been motivated for the benefit of providing a user with a means for allowing control of a thermostat/HAVC/AA system based on the level of the functions the user are allowed to perform, associated with password input requirement and verification for the registered user level (Wilairat: pars 0027, 0038-0039).
As to claim 2, the combination of Jacobs and Wilairat teaches the method of claim 1,
Jacobs further teaches comprising: after the selection of the selected one of the plurality of user types, displaying a passcode screen on the display of the user interface of the thermostat; receiving a user passcode for the selected one of the plurality of user types via the passcode screen (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, col 10, lines 25-67, col 14, lines 19-63; Fig. 4, the operator sets the other user access password/key setting, that the operator selects to set, and stored in the memory for user’s access control verification);
after granting the selected one of the plurality of user types access rights to the selected one or more of the plurality of thermostat functions, receiving a received passcode via the user interface of the thermostat; and when the received passcode matches the user passcode selected for the selected one of the plurality of user types, providing access to the selected one or more of the plurality of thermostat functions (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, col 10, lines 25-67, col 14, lines 19-63; Fig. 5, when one of the other user type enters the password/key, the system perform a matching verification with the stored password/key, and allows the other user to perform the thermoset setting functions upon successful matching result).
As to claim 3, the combination of Jacobs and Wilairat teaches the method of claim 1,
Jacobs and Wilairat further teaches comprising: after the selection of the selected one of the plurality of user types, displaying a view type screen on the display of the user interface of the thermostat; receiving a selection of one of a plurality of available home screens via the view type screen for display on the display of the user interface of the thermostat (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, col 16, lines 10-18; Fig. 5, the user gains general access, and the system prompt user to select for method of access associated with the registered use access type); and
for the selected one of the plurality of user types, displaying the selected one of the plurality of available home screens on the display of the user interface of the thermostat (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, col 16, lines 39-44; Fig. 5, once the user enters a valid password/key/input, the controller causes the control display to prompt for a new thermostat temperature [i.e., displaying associated home screen]. Wilairat: pars 0027, 0038-0039; Fig. 3, 8, based on user password [i.e. passcode] input of the registered level access, the user is given access with user screen associated on of the access levels from the "Full Access," "Enhanced Access" and "Basic Access").
As to claim 4, the combination of Jacobs and Wilairat teaches the method of claim 3,
Jacobs further teaches wherein the plurality of available home screens includes a default home screen and a simplified home screen (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, displaying temperature information and control information, the temperature information including at least the actual temperature, control information including at least prompts and messages).
As to claim 5, the combination of Jacobs and Wilairat teaches the method of claim 4,
Jacobs and Wilairat further teaches wherein the simplified home screen displays a setpoint temperature and actual room temperature but does not enable the selected one of the plurality of user types to adjust the setpoint temperature of the thermostat (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, displaying temperature information and control information, the temperature information including at least the actual temperature).
As to claim 6, the combination of Jacobs and Wilairat teaches the method of claim 4,
Wilairat further teaches wherein the simplified home screen displays an unlock icon, which when selected via the user interface of the thermostat, invites a user to enter a passcode via the user interface of the thermostat to unlock one or more of the plurality of thermostat functions (Wilairat: pars 0051-0052; Fig. 6, displays a screen with basic information, and an icon indicating lock status, and user input field to unlock the interface).
As to claim 7, the combination of Jacobs and Wilairat teaches the method of claim 3,
Jacobs and Wilairat further teaches wherein the plurality of available home screens includes a default home screen and a view only home screen (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, displaying temperature information and control information, the temperature information including at least the actual temperature, control information including at least prompts and messages. Wilairat: pars 0051-0052; Fig 6, displays a screen with basic information).
As to claim 8, the combination of Jacobs and Wilairat teaches the method of claim 1,
Jacobs further teaches wherein the plurality of thermostat functions include two or more of:
an alert management function; a temperature unit function for switching between temperature units of Fahrenheit and Centigrade; a schedule function for setting or changing a programmable schedule of the thermostat; a lockable thermostat function for changing one or more locking conditions for the user interface of the thermostat; a basic configuration function for changing one or more basic configuration settings of the thermostat; a permission management function for managing permissions for the plurality of thermostat functions of the thermostat; a change home screen function to change a home screen that is displayed on the display of the user interface of the thermostat; and a change setpoint function for changing a setpoint of the thermostat (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, col 10, lines 25-67, col 13, 61-67; Fig. 5, based on the input of thermoset setting functions, including temperature increasing function and decreasing function, the HVAC unit performs heating and colling operation. The operator can set temperature setting, time setting, schedule setting, and able to set the other user access password/key setting [i.e. permission management function]).
As to claim 9, the combination of Jacobs and Wilairat teaches the method of claim 1,
Jacobs and Wilairat further teaches comprising: verifying reception of valid passcode via the user interface of the thermostat before displaying on the display of the user interface of the thermostat the user management screen that concurrently displays the plurality of user types (Jacobs: col 5 lines 59-67, col 6, lines 1-38, col 14, lines 19-63; Fig. 4, the operator entered master code is verified, and then the operator is provided with interface to perform time setting, and perform setting of permanent user’s access, temporary user’s access, and key-access user’s access).
As to claim 10, the claim is directed to a thermostat, and scope of the claim limitations are similar to the limitations of method claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 1.
As to claim 19, the claim is directed to a computer readable medium, and scope of the claim limitations are similar to the limitations of method claim 1, and therefore, rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 1.
As to claims 11-18, the scopes of the claim limitations are similar to the limitations of claims 2-9, respectively, and therefore, rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 11.
As to claim 20, the scope of the claim limitations is similar to the limitations of claim 2, and therefore, rejected for the same reasons set forth above for claim 2.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JAHANGIR KABIR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439