Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites “the reference time-domain symbol is an earliest time-domain symbol of a first reference PRACH occasion, time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion are earlier than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion.” However, nothing has been provided in the claims or in the specification how time-domain resources of a PRACH occasion that is being considered as a reference to the first PRACH occasion can be later than the time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion. Indeed, this appears to contradict the disclosure in the specification of the present application, for example, paragraph [0042] of the present application describes “and time-domain resources occupied by the first reference PRACH occasion are later than time-domain resources occupied by the first reference PRACH occasion” (emphasis added). Therefore, the abovementioned limitation fails to reasonably apprise one of ordinary skill in the art of the scope of the invention. Accordingly, claim 2 is indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. For examination purposes, in view of the specification of the present application, the abovementioned limitations have been construed as time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion are later than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10, 12-16, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0369381 A1) in view of He et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0225416 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches “[a] first node for wireless communications, comprising: a first transmitter, transmitting a first preamble in a first PRACH (Physical random access channel) occasion” (see ¶¶ [0058], and FIG. 3; UE (first node) transmits the random access preamble (i.e., first preamble) based on the determined PRACH occasion (i.e., in a first PRACH (Physical random access channel) occasion); UE’s transmission of first preamble inherently teaches a first node comprising a first transmitter; thus, a first transmitter, transmitting a first preamble in a first PRACH (Physical random access channel) occasion);
Park further teaches “a first receiver, receiving a first signaling, the first signaling adopting a first RNTI (Radio Network Temporary Identifier)” (see ¶¶ [0059] and [0060] and FIG. 3; the eNode B transmits, to the UE (first node), a random access response (RAR)/msg2 (i.e., receiving a first signaling); the UE (first node) receiving the RAR inherently teaches the first node comprising a first receiver; UE performs monitoring for receiving msg2 based on (i.e., adopting) a RA-RNTI value (i.e., a first RNTI (Radio Network Temporary Identifier));
Park also teaches “wherein the first signaling is used to respond to a transmission of the first preamble” (see ¶ [0059] and FIG. 3; the eNode B transmits, to the UE, a random access response (RAR)/msg2 (first signaling) corresponding to the preamble (i.e., respond to a transmission of the first preamble); thus, the first signaling is used to respond to a transmission of the first preamble);
Park further teaches “an index of a reference time-domain symbol and an index of a reference slot are both used to determine the first RNTI . . . and the reference time-domain symbol belongs to the reference slot” (see ¶ [0060]; the RA-RNTI value is determined based on a first OFDM symbol index (i.e., an index of a reference time-domain symbol), a first slot index (i.e., an index of a reference slot); the first OFDM symbol index can be in the first slot index, therefore it teaches the reference time-domain symbol belongs to the reference slot; thus, an index of a reference time-domain symbol and an index of a reference slot are both used to determine the first RNTI and the reference time-domain symbol belongs to the reference slot);
Park also teaches “a time-domain position of the reference time-domain symbol is related to at least one of the first PRACH occasion or the first preamble” (see ¶ [0060]; the RA-RNTI value is determined based on a first OFDM symbol index (i.e., the reference time-domain symbol), a first slot index (i.e., a time-domain position of the reference time-domain symbol) associated with transmission of the preamble (i.e., the first PRACH occasion or the first preamble); thus, a time-domain position of the reference time-domain symbol is related to at least one of the first PRACH occasion or the first preamble).
Park does not explicitly disclose “a first time-domain symbol is an earliest time-domain symbol of the first PRACH occasion” and “the reference time-domain symbol is a time-domain symbol other than the first time-domain symbol” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, He teaches “a first time-domain symbol is an earliest time-domain symbol of the first PRACH occasion . . . the reference time-domain symbol is a time-domain symbol other than the first time-domain symbol” (see ¶ [0110] and FIG. 8A; with different SCSs of the vertical axis of FIG. 8A, exemplary symbol position (i.e., time-domain symbol) (and, by extension, slot position) are determined for different PRACH Occasions; for example, for 480 kHZ SCS, PRACH slot 826_1 can be for the first PRACH occasion, and the corresponding symbol position can be the earliest time-domain symbol of that PRACH occasion (i.e., a first time-domain symbol is an earliest time-domain symbol of the first PRACH occasion); similarly PRACH slot 826_0 can be for the reference PRACH occasion and the corresponding symbol position can be the reference time-domain symbol other than the first-time domain symbol; thus, reference time-domain symbol that is a time-domain symbol other than the first time-domain symbol). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention as taught by Park to incorporate the teachings of He to have a first time-domain symbol that is an earliest time-domain symbol of the first PRACH occasion and for the reference time-domain symbol to be a time-domain symbol other than the first time-domain symbol. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve RA-RNTI determination (see ¶ [0029] of He).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Park and He teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the reference time-domain symbol is an earliest time-domain symbol of a first reference PRACH occasion, time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion are earlier than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion, and the first RNTI is an RA-RNTI” (see ¶ [0060] of Park; ¶ [0110] and FIG. 8A of He; [NOTE: as explained above with respect to the 112(b) rejection of claim 2, the limitations have been construed as time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion are later than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion]; Park teaches that the RNTI is an RA-RNTI; He teaches for 480 kHZ SCS, PRACH slot 826_0 can be for the reference PRACH occasion and the corresponding symbol position can be the reference time-domain symbol which can be an earliest time-domain symbol of a first reference PRACH occasion; and since PRACH slot 826_1 can be for the first PRACH occasion, time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion are later than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion; [also note, the PRACH slots 826_0 and 826_1 can be reversed, and the time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion are earlier than the than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion]; thus, the reference time-domain symbol is an earliest time-domain symbol of a first reference PRACH occasion, time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion are earlier than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion, and the first RNTI is an RA-RNTI). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention as taught by Park to incorporate the teachings of He to have the reference time-domain symbol in an earliest time-domain symbol of a first reference PRACH occasion and for the time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion be later than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve RA-RNTI determination (see ¶ [0029] of He).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Park and He teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein the first RNTI = 1 + s + 14 × t + 14 × 80 × f + 14 × 80 × 8 × ul_carrier; wherein s denotes the index of the reference time-domain symbol, t denotes the index of the reference slot, f is an index of the first reference PRACH occasion in frequency domain, and ul_carrier denotes a UL (uplink) carrier used to transmit the first preamble” (see ¶ [0027] of He; RA-RNTI is calculated using the following: 1+s_id+(14×t_id)+(14×80×f_id)+(14×80×8×ul_carrier_id), wherein s_id is the index of the first Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the PRACH occasion (0≤s_id<14) (i.e., s denotes the index of the reference time-domain symbol), t_id is the index of the first slot of the PRACH occasion in a system frame (0≤t_id<80) (i.e., t denotes the index of the reference slot), where the subcarrier spacing to determine t_id is based on the value of μ specified in clause 5.3.2 in Technical Specification 38.211, f_id is the index of the PRACH occasion in the frequency domain (0≤f_id<8) (i.e., f is an index of the first reference PRACH occasion in frequency domain), and ul_carrier_id is the uplink (UL) carrier used for Random Access (RA) Preamble transmission (using a value of 0 for Normal UL carrier, and 1 for Supplemental UL carrier)) (i.e., ul_carrier denotes a UL (uplink) carrier used to transmit the first preamble)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention as taught by Park to incorporate the teachings of He to calculate RA-RNTI according to the disclosed formula. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve RA-RNTI determination (see ¶ [0029] of He).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Park and He teaches the apparatus of claim 3, and further teaches “wherein the first PRACH occasion and the first reference PRACH occasion do not overlap in time domain” (see ¶ [0110] and FIG. 8A of He; PRACH slot 826_0 and 826_1 can be for different PRACH occasions (i.e., one for first PRACH occasion and another for the reference PRACH occasion) and they do not overlap in time domain as shown in FIG. 8; therefore, teaches the first PRACH occasion and the first reference PRACH occasion do not overlap in time domain). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention as taught by Park to incorporate the teachings of He to have different PRACH occasions not overlap in time. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve RA-RNTI determination (see ¶ [0029] of He).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Park and He teaches the apparatus of claim 1, and further teaches “wherein a second reference PRACH occasion does not overlap with the first reference PRACH occasion in time domain, the second reference PRACH occasion is used to determine a first time window, the first time window is an RAR (Random Access Response) time window for the first preamble, and the first signaling is detected in the first time window” (see ¶¶ [0059] and [0060] of Park; ¶¶ [0027] and [0110] and FIG. 8A of He; Park teaches the UE starts monitoring for receiving msg2 [RAR] after a predetermined symbol (e.g., OFDM symbol) after transmitting the random access preamble; a time section (definable with a number of slots) in which the UE performs monitoring for receiving msg2 [RAR] is referred to as a random access (RA) window (i.e., this time period is RAR (Random Access Response) time window for the first preamble); the RA window is provided from the eNode B to the UE; monitoring is performed based on a RA-RNTI value; therefore, the RA-RNTI value can help determine the RAR window; and when the UE receives the RAR (first signaling) successfully, it receives it within this time window; therefore, the first signaling is detected in the first time window;
He teaches different PRACH occasions in different slots that do not overlap in time domain, therefore, teaches a second reference PRACH occasion that does not overlap with the first reference PRACH occasion in time domain; He further teaches that the RA-RNTI is calculated based on the equation provided, which uses an OFDM symbol of a specified PRACH (i.e., the second reference PRACH); as Park explained, the RAR time window can be based on the RA-RNTI value, therefore, when the second reference PRACH occasion is used to calculate the value of RA-RNTI, the second reference PRACH occasion is used to determine the RAR window (i.e., first time window); thus, the second reference PRACH occasion is used to determine a first time window, the first time window is an RAR (Random Access Response) time window for the first preamble). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention as taught by Park to incorporate the teachings of He to have different reference PRACH occasions not overlap in time and determine a RAR time window based off one of the reference PRACH occasions. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve RA-RNTI determination (see ¶ [0029] of He).
Regarding claim 8, Park teaches “[a] second node for wireless communications, comprising: a second receiver, receiving a first preamble in a first PRACH (Physical random access channel) occasion” (see ¶¶ [0058], and FIG. 3; UE (first node) transmits to eNode B (i.e., second node receiving) the random access preamble (i.e., first preamble) based on the determined PRACH occasion (i.e., in a first PRACH (Physical random access channel) occasion); eNode B’s receptions of first preamble inherently teaches a second node comprising a second receiver; thus, a second receiver, receiving a first preamble in a first PRACH (Physical random access channel) occasion);
Park further teaches “a first transmitter, transmitting a first signaling, the first signaling adopting a first RNTI (Radio Network Temporary Identifier)” (see ¶¶ [0059] and [0060] and FIG. 3; the eNode B (second node) transmits, to the UE, a random access response (RAR)/msg2 (i.e., transmitting a first signaling); the eNode B (second node) transmitting the RAR inherently teaches the second node comprising a second transmitter; the msg2 is based on (i.e., adopting) a RA-RNTI value (i.e., a first RNTI (Radio Network Temporary Identifier));
Park also teaches “wherein the first signaling is used to respond to a transmission of the first preamble” (see ¶ [0059] and FIG. 3; the eNode B transmits, to the UE, a random access response (RAR)/msg2 (first signaling) corresponding to the preamble (i.e., respond to a transmission of the first preamble); thus, the first signaling is used to respond to a transmission of the first preamble);
Park further teaches “an index of a reference time-domain symbol and an index of a reference slot are both used to determine the first RNTI . . . and the reference time-domain symbol belongs to the reference slot” (see ¶ [0060]; the RA-RNTI value is determined based on a first OFDM symbol index (i.e., an index of a reference time-domain symbol), a first slot index (i.e., an index of a reference slot); the first OFDM symbol index can be in the first slot index, therefore it teaches the reference time-domain symbol belongs to the reference slot; thus, an index of a reference time-domain symbol and an index of a reference slot are both used to determine the first RNTI and the reference time-domain symbol belongs to the reference slot);
Park also teaches “a time-domain position of the reference time-domain symbol is related to at least one of the first PRACH occasion or the first preamble” (see ¶ [0060]; the RA-RNTI value is determined based on a first OFDM symbol index (i.e., the reference time-domain symbol), a first slot index (i.e., a time-domain position of the reference time-domain symbol) associated with transmission of the preamble (i.e., the first PRACH occasion or the first preamble); thus, a time-domain position of the reference time-domain symbol is related to at least one of the first PRACH occasion or the first preamble).
Park does not explicitly disclose “a first time-domain symbol is an earliest time-domain symbol of the first PRACH occasion” and “the reference time-domain symbol is a time-domain symbol other than the first time-domain symbol” of claim 1. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, He teaches “a first time-domain symbol is an earliest time-domain symbol of the first PRACH occasion . . . the reference time-domain symbol is a time-domain symbol other than the first time-domain symbol” (see ¶ [0110] and FIG. 8A; with different SCSs of the vertical axis of FIG. 8A, exemplary symbol position (i.e., time-domain symbol) (and, by extension, slot position) are determined for different PRACH Occasions; for example, for 480 kHZ SCS, PRACH slot 826_1 can be for the first PRACH occasion, and the corresponding symbol position can be the earliest time-domain symbol of that PRACH occasion (i.e., a first time-domain symbol is an earliest time-domain symbol of the first PRACH occasion); similarly PRACH slot 826_0 can be for the reference PRACH occasion and the corresponding symbol position can be the reference time-domain symbol other than the first-time domain symbol; thus, reference time-domain symbol that is a time-domain symbol other than the first time-domain symbol). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention as taught by Park to incorporate the teachings of He to have a first time-domain symbol that is an earliest time-domain symbol of the first PRACH occasion and for the reference time-domain symbol to be a time-domain symbol other than the first time-domain symbol. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve RA-RNTI determination (see ¶ [0029] of He).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Park and He teaches the apparatus of claim 8, and further teaches “wherein the reference time-domain symbol is an earliest time-domain symbol of a first reference PRACH occasion, time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion are earlier than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion, and the first RNTI is an RA-RNTI” (see ¶ [0060] of Park; ¶ [0110] and FIG. 8A of He; [NOTE: as explained above with respect to the 112(b) rejection of claim 2, the limitations have been construed as time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion are later than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion]; Park teaches that the RNTI is an RA-RNTI; He teaches for 480 kHZ SCS, PRACH slot 826_0 can be for the reference PRACH occasion and the corresponding symbol position can be the reference time-domain symbol which can be an earliest time-domain symbol of a first reference PRACH occasion; and since PRACH slot 826_1 can be for the first PRACH occasion, time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion are later than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion; [also note, the PRACH slots 826_0 and 826_1 can be reversed, and the time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion are earlier than the than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion]; thus, the reference time-domain symbol is an earliest time-domain symbol of a first reference PRACH occasion, time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion are earlier than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion, and the first RNTI is an RA-RNTI). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention as taught by Park to incorporate the teachings of He to have the reference time-domain symbol in an earliest time-domain symbol of a first reference PRACH occasion and for the time-domain resources of the first PRACH occasion be later than time-domain resources of the first reference PRACH occasion. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve RA-RNTI determination (see ¶ [0029] of He).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Park and He teaches the apparatus of claim 8, and further teaches “wherein the first RNTI = 1 + s + 14 × t + 14 × 80 × f + 14 × 80 × 8 × ul_carrier; wherein s denotes the index of the reference time-domain symbol, t denotes the index of the reference slot, f is an index of the first reference PRACH occasion in frequency domain, and ul_carrier denotes a UL (uplink) carrier used to transmit the first preamble” (see ¶ [0027] of He; RA-RNTI is calculated using the following: 1+s_id+(14×t_id)+(14×80×f_id)+(14×80×8×ul_carrier_id), wherein s_id is the index of the first Orthogonal Frequency Division Multiplexing (OFDM) symbol of the PRACH occasion (0≤s_id<14) (i.e., s denotes the index of the reference time-domain symbol), t_id is the index of the first slot of the PRACH occasion in a system frame (0≤t_id<80) (i.e., t denotes the index of the reference slot), where the subcarrier spacing to determine t_id is based on the value of μ specified in clause 5.3.2 in Technical Specification 38.211, f_id is the index of the PRACH occasion in the frequency domain (0≤f_id<8) (i.e., f is an index of the first reference PRACH occasion in frequency domain), and ul_carrier_id is the uplink (UL) carrier used for Random Access (RA) Preamble transmission (using a value of 0 for Normal UL carrier, and 1 for Supplemental UL carrier)) (i.e., ul_carrier denotes a UL (uplink) carrier used to transmit the first preamble)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention as taught by Park to incorporate the teachings of He to calculate RA-RNTI according to the disclosed formula. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve RA-RNTI determination (see ¶ [0029] of He).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Park and He teaches the apparatus of claim 10, and further teaches “wherein the first PRACH occasion and the first reference PRACH occasion do not overlap in time domain” (see ¶ [0110] and FIG. 8A of He; PRACH slot 826_0 and 826_1 can be for different PRACH occasions (i.e., one for first PRACH occasion and another for the reference PRACH occasion) and they do not overlap in time domain as shown in FIG. 8; therefore, teaches the first PRACH occasion and the first reference PRACH occasion do not overlap in time domain). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention as taught by Park to incorporate the teachings of He to have different PRACH occasions not overlap in time. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve RA-RNTI determination (see ¶ [0029] of He).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Park and He teaches the apparatus of claim 8, and further teaches “wherein a second reference PRACH occasion does not overlap with the first reference PRACH occasion in time domain, the second reference PRACH occasion is used to determine a first time window, the first time window is an RAR (Random Access Response) time window for the first preamble, and the first signaling is detected in the first time window” (see ¶¶ [0059] and [0060] of Park; ¶¶ [0027] and [0110] and FIG. 8A of He; Park teaches the UE starts monitoring for receiving msg2 [RAR] after a predetermined symbol (e.g., OFDM symbol) after transmitting the random access preamble; a time section (definable with a number of slots) in which the UE performs monitoring for receiving msg2 [RAR] is referred to as a random access (RA) window (i.e., this time period is RAR (Random Access Response) time window for the first preamble); the RA window is provided from the eNode B to the UE; monitoring is performed based on a RA-RNTI value; therefore, the RA-RNTI value can help determine the RAR window; and when the UE receives the RAR (first signaling) successfully, it receives it within this time window; therefore, the first signaling is detected in the first time window;
He teaches different PRACH occasions in different slots that do not overlap in time domain, therefore, teaches a second reference PRACH occasion that does not overlap with the first reference PRACH occasion in time domain; He further teaches that the RA-RNTI is calculated based on the equation provided, which uses an OFDM symbol of a specified PRACH (i.e., the second reference PRACH); as Park explained, the RAR time window can be based on the RA-RNTI value, therefore, when the second reference PRACH occasion is used to calculate the value of RA-RNTI, the second reference PRACH occasion is used to determine the RAR window (i.e., first time window); thus, the second reference PRACH occasion is used to determine a first time window, the first time window is an RAR (Random Access Response) time window for the first preamble). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention as taught by Park to incorporate the teachings of He to have different reference PRACH occasions not overlap in time and determine a RAR time window based off one of the reference PRACH occasions. The suggestion to do so would have been to improve RA-RNTI determination (see ¶ [0029] of He).
Regarding claims 14-16, 18, and 19, they are the method claims corresponding to claims 1-3, 5, and 6 that have been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 1-3, 5, and 6. Claims 1-3, 5, and 6 are rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 4, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of He and further in view of MolavianJazi et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2021/0058971 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Park and He does not explicitly teach “wherein the first PRACH occasion and the first reference PRACH occasion are both associated with a same SS/PBCH (Synchronization Signal/physical broadcast channel) block index” of claim 4. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, MolavianJazi teaches “wherein the first PRACH occasion and the first reference PRACH occasion are both associated with a same SS/PBCH (Synchronization Signal/physical broadcast channel) block index” (see ¶ [0088]; a mapping among actually transmitted SSBs and valid ROs can be identified by an SSB-to-RO association rule and an SSB-to-RO association period as well as an SSB-to-RO association pattern period, and an SSB (i.e., SS/PBCH (Synchronization Signal/physical broadcast channel) block) is mapped to multiple ROs; therefore different PRACH occasions (i.e., the first PRACH occasion and the first reference PRACH occasion) can be mapped to the same SSB index; thus, the first PRACH occasion and the first reference PRACH occasion are both associated with a same SS/PBCH (Synchronization Signal/physical broadcast channel) block index). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention as taught by Park in view of He to incorporate the teachings of MolavianJazi to have different PRACH occasions mapped to the same SSB index. The suggestion to do so would have been to help meet the demand for wireless data traffic and improve communication systems (see ¶ [0038] of MolavianJazi).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Park and He does not explicitly teach “wherein the first PRACH occasion and the first reference PRACH occasion are both associated with a same SS/PBCH (Synchronization Signal/physical broadcast channel) block index” of claim 11. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, MolavianJazi teaches “wherein the first PRACH occasion and the first reference PRACH occasion are both associated with a same SS/PBCH (Synchronization Signal/physical broadcast channel) block index” (see ¶ [0088]; a mapping among actually transmitted SSBs and valid ROs can be identified by an SSB-to-RO association rule and an SSB-to-RO association period as well as an SSB-to-RO association pattern period, and an SSB (i.e., SS/PBCH (Synchronization Signal/physical broadcast channel) block) is mapped to multiple ROs; therefore different PRACH occasions (i.e., the first PRACH occasion and the first reference PRACH occasion) can be mapped to the same SSB index; thus, the first PRACH occasion and the first reference PRACH occasion are both associated with a same SS/PBCH (Synchronization Signal/physical broadcast channel) block index). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention as taught by Park in view of He to incorporate the teachings of MolavianJazi to have different PRACH occasions mapped to the same SSB index. The suggestion to do so would have been to help meet the demand for wireless data traffic and improve communication systems (see ¶ [0038] of MolavianJazi).
Regarding claim 17, it is the method claim corresponding to claim 4 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 4. Claim 17 is rejected under the same rationale.
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park in view of He and further in view of Bergstrom et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2023/0388971 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Park and He does not explicitly teach “the first receiver, receiving first information; wherein a first PRACH occasion pool comprises multiple PRACH occasions, a first PRACH occasion group comprises multiple PRACH occasions, and all PRACH occasions in the first PRACH occasion group belong to the first PRACH occasion pool; the first PRACH occasion belongs to the first PRACH occasion group, each PRACH occasion in the first PRACH occasion group is used to transmit a repetition of the first preamble, and the first information is used to determine the first PRACH occasion group from the first PRACH occasion pool” of claim 7. However, the foregoing limitations were well known in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
For example, Bergstrom teaches “the first receiver, receiving first information; wherein a first PRACH occasion pool comprises multiple PRACH occasions, a first PRACH occasion group comprises multiple PRACH occasions, and all PRACH occasions in the first PRACH occasion group belong to the first PRACH occasion pool; the first PRACH occasion belongs to the first PRACH occasion group, each PRACH occasion in the first PRACH occasion group is used to transmit a repetition of the first preamble, and the first information is used to determine the first PRACH occasion group from the first PRACH occasion pool” (see ¶¶ [0046], [0047], and [0198]; plurality of PRACH resources form a plurality of PRACH occasions (i.e., , a first PRACH occasion group comprises multiple PRACH occasions), the plurality of PRACH occasions being a common pool of PRACH occasions (i.e., a first PRACH occasion pool comprises multiple PRACH occasions); therefore, all PRACH occasions in the first PRACH occasion group belong to the first PRACH occasion pool; dedicated for feature signaling, and the information (i.e., received first information) that indicates the mappings between the plurality of PRACH resources and the plurality of sets of features comprises, for each of a plurality of features, a feature configuration that comprises information that indicates one or more PRACH occasions from the common pool of PRACH occasions dedicated for feature signaling that are mapped to the feature (i.e., the first information is used to determine the first PRACH occasion group from the first PRACH occasion pool); partitioning sets: a set of PRACH occasions which may be divided into partitions for feature signaling, wherein this set of PRACH occasions is repeated every feature association cycle; the first PRACH occasion can be of these PRACH occasions; therefore, the first PRACH occasion belongs to the first PRACH occasion group, each PRACH occasion in the first PRACH occasion group is used to transmit a repetition of the first preamble).
Regarding claim 20, it is the method claim corresponding to claim 7 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 7. Claim 20 is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0369380 A1) teaches determining RNTI for time-domain resources and RAR.
Hoshino et al. (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0124633 A1) teaches multiple PRACH occasions associated with same SSB.
/KHALED M KASSIM/supervisory patent examiner, Art Unit 2475
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2475