DETAILED ACTION
Non-Finality of Office Action
Because this Office Action contains new grounds of rejection which were not necessitated by amendment, this second action on the merits has been made NON-FINAL.
Newly discovered prior art reference Hisanaga (U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2024/0302698 A1) anticipates or renders obvious Claims 1, 2 and 9. Thus, the previous indication of allowability for the previously-presented Claim 7 (which is now Claim 1 by virtue of the amendments of July 15, 2026) is withdrawn and new grounds of rejection are presented herein based upon Hisanaga.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been fully considered, but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection based on the newly-cited Hisanaga reference.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hisanaga et al., U.S. Pat. Appl. Pub. No. 2024/0302698 A1, newly-cited in the present Office Action.
Regarding Claim 1, Hisanaga discloses: An optical element comprising (the Office notes that the term “comprising” is an open-ended transitional phrase which permits additional elements or features), in the following order:
a first alignment film (second optically-anisotropic layer 36b, as depicted in FIG. 10 of Hisanaga, may include an alignment film 32 at its lower side; paragraphs [0073], [0107], [0187] and FIGS. 1, 2, 7-10 of Hisanaga);
a first optically anisotropic layer containing first anisotropic molecules (second optically-anisotropic layer 36b having liquid crystal compound [molecules] 40 therein; paragraph [0065] and FIG. 10 of Hisanaga);
a second alignment film (first optically-anisotropic layer 36a, as depicted in FIG. 10 of Hisanaga, may include an alignment film 32 at its lower side; paragraphs [0073], [0107], [0187] and FIGS. 1, 2, 7-10 of Hisanaga); and
a second optically anisotropic layer containing second anisotropic molecules (first optically-anisotropic layer 36a having liquid crystal compound [molecules] 40 therein; paragraph [0065] and FIG. 10 of Hisanaga);
wherein in a plan view:
alignment directions of the first anisotropic molecules and alignment directions of the second anisotropic molecules each rotate in a plane from a central portion to an end portion of the optical element (based on the side-view shown in, e.g., FIG. 10 of Hisanaga, orientation of liquid crystal compound [molecules] 40 may rotate in a horizontal plane from a central portion of each of the optically-anisotropic layers 36a, 36b to an edge [end] portion; paragraphs [0065], [0141] and FIG. 10 of Hisanaga);
a rotation direction of the first anisotropic molecules is opposite to a rotation direction of the second anisotropic molecules (a rotation direction of the optical axis in the liquid crystal alignment pattern of the first optically-anisotropic layer 36a and a rotation direction of the optical axis in the liquid crystal alignment pattern of the second optically-anisotropic layer 36b are opposite to each other; paragraph [0069] and FIG. 10 of Hisanaga).
Regarding Claim 9, Hisanaga discloses the limitations of Claim 1 and further discloses: wherein from a central portion toward an end portion of the optical element, the first anisotropic molecule and the second anisotropic molecule each have a discrete molecular alignment pattern (orientation of liquid crystal compound [molecules] 40 are shown having discrete alignment patterns; paragraphs [0065], [0141] and FIGS. 1, 2, 7-10 of Hisanaga).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hisanaga.
Regarding Claim 2, Hisanaga discloses the limitations of Claim 1, but does not appear to disclose: further comprising: a third alignment film disposed on a surface of the second optically anisotropic layer opposite to the second alignment film; and a third optically anisotropic layer disposed on a surface of the third alignment film opposite to the second optically anisotropic layer and containing third anisotropic molecules.
However, it has been held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. MPEP § 2144.04, Section VI, Subsection B, citing In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669; 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960).
In the present case, Hisanaga discloses that the first and second alignment films enable aligning the liquid crystal compound to the predetermined liquid crystal alignment pattern during the formation of the optically-anisotropic layer, and the first and second optically anisotropic layers enable diffraction of obliquely incident light, and that by the length over which rotation occurs, the liquid crystal alignment pattern can be used to adjust the diffraction angle (see, e.g., paragraphs [0065]-[0069], [0082] of Hisanaga).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to simply duplicate the disclosed alignment films and anisotropic layers to provide a third set of these layers to further effectuate the diffractive effect and/or adjust the diffraction angle, as evidenced by paragraphs [0065]-[0069], [0082] of Hisanaga.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-6 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon rejected base claims, but would be allowable if amended to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
With respect to Claims 3 and 5, although the prior art discloses various optical elements, including, in the following order:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above features further comprising:
OR
With respect to Claim 8, although the prior art discloses various optical elements, including, in the following order:
The prior art does not appear to disclose or suggest the above features further comprising:
With respect to Claims 4 and 6, these claims depend from Claims 3 and 5, respectively, and are therefore allowable for at least the reasons stated above.
Examiner Note – Consider Entirety of References
Although various text and figures of the cited references have been specifically cited in this Office Action to show disclosures and teachings which correspond to specific claim language, Applicant is advised to consider the complete disclosure of each reference, including portions which have not been specifically cited by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN S DUNNING whose telephone number is 571-272-4879. The examiner can normally be reached Monday thru Friday 10:30AM to 7:00PM Eastern Time Zone. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice
/RYAN S DUNNING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872