Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 9/17/24 has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 and 11-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by US 2022/0111620 (SUGIYAMA ET AL).
The applied reference has a common assignee/applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Regarding claim 1: The reference discloses a wood sheet comprising a support [0072], a thermoplastic shape conforming layer [0071], a wood layer [0068], a color layer [0070], a second adhesive layer [0065], a first adhesive layer [0062] and a protective layer [0058].
Regarding claim 2 and 4: The reference discloses a base layer formed on the surface away from the color layer. See Figure 2 and [0055] for base film 51.
Regarding claim 3: The reference discloses a second base layer. See Figure 8 for film 8.
Regarding claim 5-7: The reference discloses the second adhesive layer is formed on the color layer. conforms to the shape of the surface and is formed of an iso-cyanate based curing agent and has a crosslinking structure of a urethane bond. See [0065-66].
Regarding claim 9: The reference discloses the adhesive layers thickness. See [0067].
Regarding claim 11: The reference discloses the method of laminating the wood sheet. The steps of thermocompression bonding a wood laminate of a second adhesive, color layer, wood layer, thermoplastic shape conforming layer and support with a sheet comprising a first adhesive and protective layer. See [0049].
Regarding claim 12: The reference discloses a base layer. See base layers [0055] and layer 8.
Regarding claim 13: The reference discloses the second adhesive is formed on the color layer side of the wood. See [0065].
Regarding claim 14: The reference discloses a release layer and base film on the protective layer. See [0055-57].
Regarding claim 15: The reference discloses applying the second adhesive layer by the processes disclosed in [0091].
Regarding claim 16: The reference discloses the second adhesive is cured. See [0092].
Regarding claim 17-19: The reference discloses a molding formed by injection a resin into a cavity in a mold adjacent a wooden sheet and curing. See [0110-124]. The wooden sheet is bonded to a member. See [0127].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 is is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over US 2022/0111620 (SUGIYAMA ET AL).
The applied reference has a common assignee/applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). The reference discloses the wood sheet as described in the above 102 rejection. It is recognized that the reference does not specify the color of the support layer to thermoplastic shape conforming layer. However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to color the layer. One would be motivated by the reasoned expectation of obtaining a laminate with the desired design aesthetic, i.e. choosing to add a pigment to a resin is known.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
/ELIZABETH E MULVANEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1785