DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-21 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6, 8, 9, 11-13, 15, 17, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn [US 20160248070].
As to claim 1. Ahn discloses An apparatus for testing a battery cell, [fig. 1], that includes a stack region having first and second lateral sides spaced from one another along a width axis, [fig. 1, 0028] housing 150 with side walls, first and second ends spaced from one another in a direction perpendicular to the width axis, [fig. 1, 0028] housing 150 with ends, a positive electrical tab projecting away from the stack region at the first end and a negative electrical tab projecting away from the stack region at the second end, [fig. 1, 0028] sensing block 130 on both sides attached to both sides of the battery cell stack 120, [0039] electrically connected with cell leads 122 on both sides, the apparatus comprising:
a cell slot for receiving the battery cell along an insertion axis in a direction parallel to the width axis of the battery cell, [fig. 1, 0033, 0034] lower housing 140 comprising multiple ribs for supporting individual battery cells;
a positive electrical contact, [fig. 1, 0039] first one of the sensing blocks 130 on both sides of the battery cells with an electrical contact with cell leads 122; and
a negative electrical contact, [fig. 1, 0039] second one of the sensing blocks 130 on both sides of the battery cells with an electrical contact with cell leads 122;
wherein the positive and negative electrical contacts are located and configured so that as the battery cell is inserted into the cell slot along the width axis of the battery cell, [figs. 1, 3, 0042] guide rib 147 guides the battery cell in a sliding manner, the positive electrical tab makes physical contact with the positive electrical contact by way of the lateral edge of the positive electrical tab and the negative electrical tab makes physical contact with the negative electrical contact by way of the lateral edge of the negative electrical tab, [figs. 1, 3, 0043] and guides the connecting member 136, of the sensing block 130 [0039], to make an electrical connection with a connecting member 148; [fig. 1, 0037] wherein the connecting member 148 is connected to a sensing wire 160 to transmit battery information to a controller 170.
As to claim 2. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein the cell slot further comprises at least one receiver that slidingly receives the battery cell and holds the battery cell during testing, [fig. 3, 0042] guide rib 147 enables the battery cell to be smoothly coupled to the housing 140.
As to claim 3. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 2, wherein the at least one cell receiver includes a holding region and a guiding region for guiding the battery cell into the holding region, [fig. 3, 0041] a guide rail 146 guides the battery in a vertical direction, and [0042] guide rib 147 enables the battery cell to be smoothly coupled to the housing 140.
As to claim 4. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the guiding region includes at least one sloped surface designed and configured to guide the battery cell along the insertion axis as the battery cell is inserted into the cell slot, [fig. 3, 0042] guide rib 147 enables the battery cell to be smoothly coupled to the housing 140; [0042] wherein the guide rib 147 is inclined downward and towards the internal section.
As to claim 5. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 3, wherein the holding region is designed and configured to hold the battery cell by friction, [fig. 3, 0042] guide rib 147 enables the battery cell to be smoothly coupled to the housing 140; [0042] wherein the guide rib 147 is inclined downward and towards the internal section, which makes the rail space tighter as the battery is inserted down creating more friction to hold the battery in place.
As to claim 6. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the positive and negative electrical contacts is biased by a biasing mechanism in a direction parallel to the insertion axis so that, when the battery cell is inserted into the cell slot, continued insertion of the battery cell compresses the biasing mechanism, [figs. 3, 4, 0042, 0058] as the battery is inserted into the space between two guide rails 147, [0058, 0065] the connecting member 136b of the member 136 is inserted into the connecting member 148; [fig. 5, 0065] wherein the connecting member 136d has a wedge shape that allows it to be easily fastened to the connecting member 148; [fig. 2, 0039] wherein the connecting member 136 is connected to the battery cell leads 122 structurally and electrically.
As to claim 8. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the biasing mechanism remains compressed by weight of the battery cell, [0042] wherein the cell is inserted downward, which forces the weight of the cell to push down on the mechanism.
As to claim 9. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 6, wherein the biasing mechanism remains compressed by friction fit of the battery cell with lateral guides designed and configured to guide the battery cell along the insertion axis as the battery cell is inserted into the cell slot, [fig. 3, 0042] guide rib 147 enables the battery cell to be smoothly coupled to the housing 140; [0042] wherein the guide rib 147 is inclined downward and towards the internal section, which makes the rail space tighter as the battery is inserted down creating more friction to hold the battery in place.
As to claim 11. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 1, wherein each of the positive and negative electrical contacts comprises a tab receiver, [figs. 1, 3, 0039] sensing blocks 130 on both sides of the battery cells with an electrical contact with cell leads 122, having a connecting member 136 to receive each cell lead 122.
As to claim 12. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 11, wherein each tab receiver has a tab slot for receiving a lower portion of a corresponding one of the electrical tabs, [fig. 5, 0070] sensing blocks 130 on both sides of the battery cells with an electrical contact with cell leads 122, having a slot to receive each cell lead 122 from top to bottom.
As to claim 13. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 12, wherein each tab slot provides a friction fit between the tab receiver and the corresponding one of the electrical tabs, [figs. 3, 4, 0042, 0058] as the battery is inserted into the space between two guide rails 147, [0058, 0065] the connecting member 136b of the member 136 is inserted into the connecting member 148; [fig. 5, 0065] wherein the connecting member 136d has a wedge shape that allows it to be easily fastened to the connecting member 148; [fig. 2, 0039] wherein the connecting member 136 is connected to the battery cell leads 122 structurally and electrically.
As to claim 15. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising central electronics that collects data from the cell slot, wherein each of the positive and negative electrical contacts is in operative communication with the central electronics, [fig. 1, 0037, 0038] controller 170 receives data from each cell through a sensing wire, [figs. 1, 3, 0039] the connecting member 136 of the sensing block 130 makes an electrical connection with a connecting member 148; [fig. 1, 0037] wherein the connecting member 148 is connected to a sensing wire 160 to transmit battery information to a controller 170.
As to claim 17. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of the cell slots, wherein each cell slot includes one each of the positive and negative electrical contacts, [fig. 1, 0033, 0034] lower housing 140 comprising multiple ribs for supporting individual battery cells, [0040] wherein each rail comprises a connecting member 148.
As to claim 19. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 17, further comprising central electronics that collects data from the cell slots, [fig. 1, 0037, 0038] controller 170 receives data from each cell, wherein each of the positive and negative electrical contacts of the plurality of cell slots is in operative communication with the central electronics, [figs. 1, 3, 0039] the connecting member 136 of the sensing block 130 makes an electrical connection with a connecting member 148; [fig. 1, 0037] wherein the connecting member 148 is connected to a sensing wire 160 to transmit battery information to a controller 170.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14, 18, 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Jeon et al. [US 20230080035].
As to claim 14. Ahn fails to disclose The apparatus of claim 1, further comprising a temperature probe for measuring a temperature of the stack region of the battery cell.
Jeon teaches a battery cell assembly 200 for a plurality of battery cells 120, [fig. 14, 0157]; wherein the system comprises a sensing unit 170 for sensing temperature of the battery cells 120 and send the data to a battery management system, [0119].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahn with that of Jeon so that the system can monitor the heat of the assembly to detect fire causing conditions.
As to claim 18. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 17, wherein the plurality of cell slots are arranged side-by-side, with adjacent ones of the cell slots separated by a wall, [fig. 3] guide rib 147 separating each slot.
Ahn fails to disclose wherein the wall is a fireproof wall.
Jeon teaches a battery cell assembly 200 for a plurality of battery cells 120, [fig. 14, 0157]; wherein the system comprises a partition wall 210 comprising a fire-resistant member 211, [0166].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahn with that of Jeon so that the system can minimize the spread of fire to other sections of the assembly.
As to claim 21. Ahn discloses The apparatus of claim 17, wherein each of the cell slots includes a temperature probe for measuring a temperature of the stack region of the battery cell contained in the cell slot, wherein each of the temperature probes is in operative communication with the central electronics.
Jeon teaches a battery cell assembly 200 for a plurality of battery cells 120, [fig. 14, 0157]; wherein the system comprises a sensing unit 170 for sensing temperature of the battery cells 120 and send the data to a battery management system, [0119].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahn with that of Jeon so that the system can monitor the heat of the assembly to detect fire causing conditions.
Claim(s) 16, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn in view of Kukreja et al. [US 20240250323].
As to claim 16. Ahn fails to disclose The apparatus of claim 15, wherein the central electronics includes a wireless radio for transmitting the collected data to an offboard device.
Kukreja teaches a pouch cell temperature monitoring system that can monitor a plurality of battery cells 504, [fig. 5, 0060]; wherein the monitoring system transmits the data to a remote server wirelessly, [0068].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ahn with that of Kukreja so that the remote server can monitor a plurality of battery assemblies.
As to claim 20. Is rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claim 16.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7, 10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688