DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The applicant respectfully argues
Fry fails to teach or suggest “selecting either the first pneumatic braking signal or the second pneumatic braking signal for delivery to the rear trailer of the vehicle train”, Meuller fails to overcome this deficiency.
Fry fails to teach or suggest “one of the applied pneumatic braking signal, the left-roll stability pneumatic braking signal, and the right-roll stability pneumatic braking signal for delivery to the rear trailer of the vehicle train”, Meuller fails to overcome this deficiency.
Fry fails to teach or suggest “selecting one of the first and second pneumatic braking signals for delivery to the rear trailer based upon the roll stability event occurring with the vehicle train”, Meuller fails to overcome this deficiency.
The examiner respectfully argues
Fry teaches the required limitation of “selecting either the first pneumatic braking signal or the second pneumatic braking signal for delivery to the rear trailer of the vehicle train”. According to the invention…the brake force into the brake being controllable by a braking ECU on each trailer…the sensor generates a signal for actuating stability control, which signal is passed via the communication interface to the braking ECU on the other trailer, so that the other trailer can actuate stability control; [0009]; as suggested in fig. 1, and [0017-0018], trailer brakes are air brakes; note: it is typical in the art that trailer brakes are air brakes, further, while the signal passed to the braking ECU, is understood to be an electrical signal, the output passed to the air brakes is understood to be a pneumatic signal. It is in this way that the prior art of Fry teaches the required limitation.
Fry teaches the required limitation of “one of the applied pneumatic braking signal, the left-roll stability pneumatic braking signal, and the right-roll stability pneumatic braking signal for delivery to the rear trailer of the vehicle train”. According to the invention…the brake force into the brake being controllable by a braking ECU on each trailer…the sensor generates a signal for actuating stability control, which signal is passed via the communication interface to the braking ECU on the other trailer, so that the other trailer can actuate stability control; [0009]; From the air brake reservoir 27, a pneumatic line 28, 31 leads to a supply input of the pressure control module 13 and ABS valve 32…pneumatic line 30 extends between the parking valve 26 and the air brake reservoir 27; [0018]; Note: the air brake reservoir 27 in [0018] is very suggestive of the presence of air brakes; the ABS valve 32 has a pneumatic control input 36; [0020]; roll stability control can be actuated on both trailers; [0028]; note: roll stability control is considered to include both left-roll stability control and right-roll stability control, with the respective pneumatic braking signal being necessarily present , as indicated and explained above. As suggested in fig. 1, and [0017-0018], trailer brakes are air brakes; note: it is typical in the art that trailer brakes are air brakes, further, while the signal passed to the braking ECU, is understood to be an electrical signal, the output passed to the air brakes is understood to be a pneumatic signal. It is in this way that the prior art of Fry teaches the required limitation.
See a and b above, mutatis mutandis.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5 and 15-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fry et al. (U.S. 20100070149).
In re claim 1, Fry teaches a trailer brake control apparatus (fig. 1; trailer electronic braking system; [0016]) for enabling a lead trailer (fig. 2, first trailer 101; [0026]) of a vehicle train (as shown in fig. 2-3; [0026]; note: the dual trailers 101, 102) to provide a selected pneumatic braking signal (as indicated in fig. 1; The braking system of the trailer vehicle can be connected by way of three connections, specifically a pneumatic supply line connection 22, a pneumatic control line connection 23…with the braking system of a tractor or a further trailer; [017]; with the pneumatic braking signal being necessarily present) for delivery to a rear trailer of the vehicle train (as indicated in fig. 2-3 and [0026-0027]; the trailers 101 and 102 are provided with a braking ECU 13a and 13b; [0026]; note: braking signal is necessarily present, with the brake signal going into the airbrakes being a pneumatic signal, that controls the opening of the airbrakes via air pressure, as is known in the art), the trailer brake control apparatus comprising:
a number of pneumatic devices (From the air brake reservoir 27, a pneumatic line 28, 31 leads to a supply input of the pressure control module 13 and ABS valve 32…pneumatic line 30 extends between the parking valve 26 and the air brake reservoir 27; [0018]; the ABS valve 32 has a pneumatic control input 36; [0020]) arranged to select one of
a plurality of pneumatic braking signals (as indicated in fig. 1; via. pneumatic outputs 39 42, which are connected by way of assigned pneumatic lines with the spring brake cylinders 20 or 21; [0021]); and
a trailer braking controller (fig. 2-3; braking ECU 13a and 13b; [0026]) arranged to
receive a first pneumatic braking signal to apply trailer service brakes of the vehicle train (inherent, normal operation of the brakes),
produce a second pneumatic braking signal based upon roll stability activation (According to the invention…the brake force into the brake being controllable by a braking ECU on each trailer…the sensor generates a signal for actuating stability control, which signal is passed via the communication interface to the braking ECU on the other trailer, so that the other trailer can actuate stability control; [0009]; as suggested in fig. 1, and [0017-0018], trailer brakes are air brakes; note: it is typical in the art that trailer brakes are air brakes), and
control the number of pneumatic devices (signal is passed via the communication interface to the braking ECU on the other trailer, so that the other trailer can actuate stability control; [0009]; note: the signal is not sent to the braking ECU on both trailers, but, instead is sent to the other trailer, thus limiting the number of pneumatic devices (i.e. spring-loaded brake cylinders 20, 21) involved in braking) in response to the roll stability activation to select either
the first pneumatic braking signal or
the second pneumatic braking signal (as explained above)
for delivery to the rear trailer of the vehicle train (the other trailer can actuate stability control; [0009]; Here, the other trailer can be either of trailer 101 or 102, as indicated in fig. 2, and similarly fig. 3).
In re claim 5, Fry teaches a trailer brake control apparatus (fig. 1; trailer electronic braking system; [0016]) for enabling a lead trailer (fig. 2, first trailer 101; [0026]) of a vehicle train (as shown in fig. 2-3; [0026]; note: the dual trailers 101, 102) to provide a selected pneumatic braking signal (as indicated in fig. 1; The braking system of the trailer vehicle can be connected by way of three connections, specifically a pneumatic supply line connection 22, a pneumatic control line connection 23…with the braking system of a tractor or a further trailer; [017]; with the pneumatic braking signal being necessarily present) for delivery to a rear trailer of the vehicle train (as indicated in fig. 2-3 and [0026-0027]; the trailers 101 and 102 are provided with a braking ECU 13a and 13b; [0026]; note: braking signal is necessarily present, with the brake signal going into the airbrakes being a pneumatic signal, that controls the opening of the airbrakes via air pressure, as is known in the art), the trailer brake control apparatus comprising:
a number of pneumatic devices (From the air brake reservoir 27, a pneumatic line 28, 31 leads to a supply input of the pressure control module 13 and ABS valve 32…pneumatic line 30 extends between the parking valve 26 and the air brake reservoir 27; [0018]; the ABS valve 32 has a pneumatic control input 36; [0020]) arranged to select one of
a plurality of pneumatic braking signals (as indicated in fig. 1; via. pneumatic outputs 39 42, which are connected by way of assigned pneumatic lines with the spring brake cylinders 20 or 21; [0021]); and
a trailer braking controller (fig. 2-3; braking ECU 13a and 13b; [0026]) arranged to
receive an applied pneumatic braking signal (as suggested in fig. 1; via. 22, 23 and explained above) to apply trailer service brakes of the vehicle train (inherent, normal operation of the brakes),
produce a left-roll stability pneumatic braking signal and a right-roll stability pneumatic braking signal (roll stability control can be actuated on both trailers; [0028]; note: roll stability control is considered to include both left-roll stability control and right-roll stability control, with the respective pneumatic braking signal being necessarily present , as indicated and explained above) based upon the applied pneumatic braking signal received (According to the invention…the brake force into the brake being controllable by a braking ECU on each trailer…the sensor generates a signal for actuating stability control, which signal is passed via the communication interface to the braking ECU on the other trailer, so that the other trailer can actuate stability control; [0009]; From the air brake reservoir 27, a pneumatic line 28, 31 leads to a supply input of the pressure control module 13 and ABS valve 32…pneumatic line 30 extends between the parking valve 26 and the air brake reservoir 27; [0018]; the ABS valve 32 has a pneumatic control input 36; [0020]; ), and
control the number of pneumatic devices (signal is passed via the communication interface to the braking ECU on the other trailer, so that the other trailer can actuate stability control; [0009]; note: the signal is not sent to the braking ECU on both trailers, but, instead is sent to the other trailer, thus limiting the number of pneumatic devices (i.e. spring-loaded brake cylinders 20, 21) involved in braking) in response to a roll stability event occurring to select one of
the applied pneumatic braking signal (as explained above),
the left-roll stability pneumatic braking signal (as explained above), and
the right-roll stability pneumatic braking signal (as explained above)
for delivery to the rear trailer of the vehicle train (the other trailer can actuate stability control; [0009]; Here, the other trailer can be either of trailer 101 or 102, as indicated in fig. 2, and similarly fig. 3).
In re claim 15, Fry teaches a method of operating a trailer braking system (fig. 1; trailer electronic braking system; [0016]) of a lead trailer (fig. 2, first trailer 101; [0026]) of a vehicle train (as shown in fig. 2-3; [0026]; note: the dual trailers 101, 102) having a rear trailer towed by the lead trailer (as shown in fig. 2-3), the method comprising:
receiving a first pneumatic braking signal to apply trailer service brakes of the vehicle train (inherent, normal operation of the brakes);
producing a second pneumatic braking signal in response to a roll stability event occurring with the vehicle train (According to the invention…the brake force into the brake being controllable by a braking ECU on each trailer…the sensor generates a signal for actuating stability control, which signal is passed via the communication interface to the braking ECU on the other trailer, so that the other trailer can actuate stability control; [0009]; According to the invention…the brake force into the brake being controllable by a braking ECU on each trailer…the sensor generates a signal for actuating stability control, which signal is passed via the communication interface to the braking ECU on the other trailer, so that the other trailer can actuate stability control; [0009]; as indicated in fig. 1, and [0017-0018], trailer brakes are air brakes); and
selecting one of the first and second pneumatic braking signals (as explained above) for delivery to the rear trailer based upon the roll stability event occurring with the vehicle train (as explained above).
In re claim 16, Fry teaches a method according to claim 15, and Fry further teaches wherein
producing a second braking signal in response to the roll stability event includes:
producing at least one roll stability braking signal in response to the roll stability event (as explained above).
In re claim 17, Fry teaches a method according to claim 16, and Fry further teaches wherein
producing at least one roll stability braking signal in response to the roll stability event includes:
producing a left-roll stability pneumatic braking signal and a right-roll stability pneumatic braking signal in response to the roll stability event (roll stability control can be actuated on both trailers; [0028]; note: roll stability control is considered to include both left-roll stability control and right-roll stability control, with the respective braking signal being necessarily present , as indicated above).
In re claim 18, see claims 15-17 above.
In re claim 19, see claim 15 above.
In re claim 20, Fry teaches a method according to claim 15, Fry further teaches wherein
producing a second pneumatic braking signal in response to the roll stability event includes:
connecting to a pressurized air reservoir (fig. 1; air brake reservoir 27; [0018]; pressure control module 13 has pneumatic outputs 39 42, which are connected by way of assigned pneumatic lines with the spring brake cylinders 20 or 21; [0021]; note: the trailer brakes are understood to be spring brake cylinders, as is common, routine and typical in the art and as suggested via. [0009; 0021]) to provide the second pneumatic braking signal in response to the roll stability event (According to the invention…the brake force into the brake being controllable by a braking ECU on each trailer…the sensor generates a signal for actuating stability control, which signal is passed via the communication interface to the braking ECU on the other trailer, so that the other trailer can actuate stability control; [0009]; as indicated in fig. 1, and [0017-0018], trailer brakes are air brakes).
In re claim 21, see claims 15 and 20 above.
In re claim 22, Fry teaches a method according to claim 20 further comprising:
reducing pressure from the pressurized air reservoir to provide the second pneumatic braking signal (see claims 15 and 20 above, this is necessarily present, as is commonly known in the art, a positive air pressure is applied to the spring brakes on a tractor trailer to keep the brakes in a disengaged (open) state, when there is a loss in pressure, the springs in the spring brakes then causes the brakes to engage. Here, a braking signal is typically seen as a pressure reduction in the air pressure applied, with the pressure reduction being proportional to the desired brake pressure/braking force).
In re claim 23, Fry teaches a method according to claim 15, wherein the method is performed by a controller (control module 13 (EBS module); [0016]; tractor 100 is provided with a braking ECU 103 and the trailers 101 and 102 are provided with a braking ECU 13a and 13b; [0026]) having a memory executing one or more programs of instructions (the effectiveness of the roll stability control intervention can be enhanced by modifying the thresholds on the roll stability control program of the unaffected trailer based on data from the affected trailer; [0029]; Here, it is suggested that there is at least one roll stability program, which is necessarily stored in memory) which are tangibly embodied in a program storage medium readable by the controller.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-4 and 6-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fry et al. (U.S. 20100070149) in view of Mueller et al. (U.S. 20210197780).
In re claim 2, Fry teaches the trailer brake control apparatus according to claim 1, but lacks explicitly stating wherein
the number of pneumatic devices includes
a pair of shuttle valves cooperating together to select the one of
the first pneumatic braking signal and (Here, the term “and” is interpreted to simply mean “or”)
the second pneumatic braking signal
to be delivered to the rear trailer of the vehicle train.
Mueller teaches an analogous electronically controllable pneumatic brake system (abstract) having ABS ([0023-0024]) and further teaches wherein
a number of analogous pneumatic devices (fig. 2; relay valve 10, shuttle valve 20; [0036]; shuttle valve 44; [0044]; directional valve 15, directional valve 17; [0035]) includes
a pair of analogous shuttle valves (fig. 2; shuttle valve 20, shuttle valve 44; [0036; 0044]) cooperating together to select the one of
an analogous first pneumatic braking signal (fig. 2; the relay valve module 1 has a first service brake connection 6 for outputting the service brake pressure pB; [0033]; fig. 3; same service brake pressure pB is output both at the first and at the second service brake connection 6, 8, which service brake pressure can then be output to left-hand and right-hand wheel brakes 204, 206; [0033]) and
an analogous second pneumatic braking signal
to be delivered to the rear trailer of the vehicle train.
Thus it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the teachings of Fry, to incorporate a pair of shuttle valves cooperating together to select the one of the first braking signal and the second braking signal, as clearly suggested and taught by Mueller, in order to allow an improved transition between a pneumatic and electronic output of brake pressures ([0013]).
In re claim 3, Fry teaches the trailer brake control apparatus according to claim 1, but lacks explicitly stating wherein
the number of pneumatic devices includes
a shuttle valve and a solenoid cooperating together to select the one of
the first pneumatic braking signal and
the second pneumatic braking signal
to be delivered to the rear trailer of the vehicle train.
Fry further teaches using a solenoid operated valve (the ABS valve 32 may be replaced with an electro-pneumatic valve; [0024]).
Mueller teaches an analogous electronically controllable pneumatic brake system (abstract) having ABS ([0023-0024]) and further teaches wherein
the number of pneumatic devices includes
a shuttle valve (as shown in fig. 2; shuttle valve 20, shuttle valve 44; [0036; 0044]) and a solenoid (fig. 2; directional valve 15, directional valve 17; [0035]; note: both directional valves 15 and 17 are solenoid driven, spring return valves as shown in fig. 2 and are directly coupled with shuttle 20) cooperating together to select the one of
the first pneumatic braking signal (fig. 2; the relay valve module 1 has a first service brake connection 6 for outputting the service brake pressure pB; [0033]; fig. 3; same service brake pressure pB is output both at the first and at the second service brake connection 6, 8, which service brake pressure can then be output to left-hand and right-hand wheel brakes 204, 206; [0033]) and
the second pneumatic braking signal
to be delivered to the rear trailer of the vehicle train.
Motivation to combine is given above in claim 2.
In re claim 4, Fry teaches the trailer brake control apparatus according to claim 1, but lacks wherein
the number of pneumatic devices includes
a pair of solenoids cooperating together to select the one of
the first pneumatic braking signal and
second pneumatic braking signal
to be delivered to the rear trailer of the vehicle train.
Mueller teaches an analogous electronically controllable pneumatic brake system (abstract) having ABS ([0023-0024]) and further teaches wherein
the number of pneumatic devices includes
a pair of solenoids (fig. 2; directional valve 15, directional valve 17; [0035]; note: both directional valves 15 and 17 are solenoid driven, spring return valves as shown in fig. 2 and are directly coupled with shuttle 20) cooperating together to select the one of
the first pneumatic braking signal (fig. 2; the relay valve module 1 has a first service brake connection 6 for outputting the service brake pressure pB; [0033]; fig. 3; same service brake pressure pB is output both at the first and at the second service brake connection 6, 8, which service brake pressure can then be output to left-hand and right-hand wheel brakes 204, 206; [0033]) and
second pneumatic braking signal
to be delivered to the rear trailer of the vehicle train.
Motivation to combine is given above in claim 2.
In re claim 6, see claims 2 and 5 above.
In re claim 7, Fry as modified by Mueller teaches the trailer brake control apparatus according to claim 6, and Mueller further teaches wherein
one of the pair of shuttle valves (as shown in fig. 2; 20) is pneumatically connected between
the left-roll stability pneumatic braking signal (as explained above) and
the right-roll stability pneumatic braking signal (as explained above), and
the other one of the pair of shuttle valves (as shown in fig. 2; shuttle valve 44; the first shuttle valve inlet is connected to the brake pressure connection for the purposes of receiving the brake control pressure; [0014]) is pneumatically connected between
the one of the pair of shuttle valves (shuttle valve 20) and
the applied pneumatic braking signal (as shown in fig. 2; pBS brake control pressure via. line 27; the first shuttle valve (44) inlet is connected to the brake pressure connection for the purposes of receiving the brake control pressure; [0014]).
In re claim 8, Fry as modified by Mueller teaches the trailer brake control apparatus according to claim 7
a pressure-reducing valve (fig. 2; The rapid ventilation valve 42 serves for the rapid ventilation of the volume in the system. It is of known design; [0043]) disposed in a pneumatic line (via elements 40, 33, 21, 10 and 26 which connect to the outlet of shuttle valve 20, which is connected to shuttle valve 44 via. line 27) that interconnects the pair of shuttle valves (as shown in fig. 2).
In re claim 9, see claims 3 and 5 above.
In re claim 10, Fry as modified by Mueller teaches the trailer brake control apparatus according to claim 9, and Mueller further teaches wherein
the shuttle valve (as shown in fig. 2; shuttle valve 20) is pneumatically connected between the solenoid (fig. 2; directional valve 15, directional valve 17; [0035]; note: both directional valves 15 and 17 are solenoid driven, spring return valves as shown in fig. 2 and are directly coupled with shuttle 20) and the applied pneumatic braking signal, and
the solenoid (fig. 2; directional valve 15, directional valve 17; [0035]; note: both directional valves 15 and 17 are solenoid driven, spring return valves as shown in fig. 2 and are directly coupled with shuttle valve 20 and reservoir pressure pV via. lines 2, 28 and 24) is pneumatically connected between the shuttle valve (as shown in fig. 2; shuttle valve 20) and a reservoir of pressurized air (fig. 2; reservoir pressure pV; [0042]).
In re claim 11, Fry as modified by Mueller teaches the trailer brake control apparatus according to claim 10
a pressure-reducing valve (fig. 2; The rapid ventilation valve 42 serves for the rapid ventilation of the volume in the system. It is of known design; [0043]) disposed in a pneumatic line that interconnects the solenoid and the shuttle valve (as shown in fig. 2).
In re claim 12, see claims 5 and 6 above, mutatis mutandis.
In re claim 13, Fry as modified by Mueller teaches the trailer brake control apparatus according to claim 12, and Mueller further teaches wherein
one of the pair of solenoids (directional valve 15 as shown in fig. 2) is pneumatically connected between a reservoir of pressurized air (via. line 28) and the other one of the pair of solenoids (directional valve 17 as shown in fig. 2), and
the other one of the pair of solenoids (directional valve 17 as shown in fig. 2) is pneumatically connected between the one of the pair of solenoids (directional valve 15 as shown in fig. 2) and the applied pneumatic braking signal (as shown in fig. 2; pBS brake control pressure via. line 27; the first shuttle valve (44) inlet is connected to the brake pressure connection for the purposes of receiving the brake control pressure; [0014]).
In re claim 14, see claims 11 and 13, mutatis mutandis.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN D BAILEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LOGAN M KRAFT/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747