DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Komuro et al. (US 2020/0239252),
Komuro et al. disclose the following claimed limitations:
* Re clm 1, a recording apparatus/printer 1/ (Abst., figs 1-7);
* a recording unit/ink jet printer 1 having head 9/ configured to perform recording on a medium/paper/ conveyed in a first direction/+Y/ (paras 0029-0035, figs 1-9);
* a recording-time conveying path/FR1, see upper dotted line shown in the x direction that runs before, under and after the recording head/ that is a medium conveying path facing the recording unit/9/ (paras 0030, 0035, figs 2 & 4-5);
* a guide path/FR1, FR2, FR3/ located below the recording-time conveying path/F1/, the guide path guiding/FR3/, in a second direction/-Y/ opposite to the first direction/+Y/, the medium being passed through the recording-time conveying path/F1/ (para 0039, fig 2);
* a reversing path/RR/ coupled to the guide path/FR3/, the reversing path/RR/ reversing the medium and causing the medium to join the recording-time conveying path/FR1/ (paras 0033.0035, fig 2);
* a conveying roller/transport drive roller 17, 41/ disposed in the recording-time conveying path/FR1/ and configured to feed the medium/recording paper/ downstream in the recording-time conveying path/FR1/ (para 0040, fig 2);
* a motor/second transport motor 66/ for conveyance configured to drive the conveying roller/16/ (para 0050, figs 2-4);
* a first path forming section/18 support member including structures 25 bottom section & sections 27, 27a shown on FR3 & FR5 paths/ forming a lower surface of the recording-time conveying path/FR1/;
* a second path forming section/see structures 18 support member including structures 22 & 25 upper surface formed along FR2 & FR4 path, top surface of section/ forming an upper surface of the guide path (figs 2, 4-5), wherein
* the motor/second transport motor 66, for conveying roller 16, 17 that is the first discharge drive roller, motor is provided with gear mechanism 41/ for conveyance is disposed at a position between the first path forming section and the second path forming section (para 0040, 0050-0051, figs 2-4).
* Re clm 2, wherein a plurality of the conveying rollers/16, 17/ are provided, the plurality of conveying rollers include: a first conveying roller/16/ located upstream of the recording unit/ink jet printer 1 having head 9/ (figs 2-5);
* a second conveying roller/41 first discharge drive roller/motor is provided with gear mechanism/roller 41/ located downstream of the recording unit, and the motor/66/ for conveyance drives a guide roller/16/ provided in the guide path/FR1/ (para 0050-0051, figs 2-5).
* Re clm 3, wherein the motor/66 present in first discharge drive roller, motor or gears present/ for conveyance is located in the first direction with respect to the recording unit/9/ (paras 0040, 0042, fig 2).
* Re clm 4, wherein, in the motor/66, in discharge rollers 15, 16, 17/ for conveyance, at least a motor main body unit does not project from the first path forming section in a width direction, which is a direction intersecting the first direction, when viewed from a normal direction with respect to a surface of the medium conveyed on the recording-time conveying path (paras 0040, 0050-0051, figs 2-4).
Furthermore, Ikeda (US 2008/0150986) disclose the following:
* a motor/a driven roll 28, a motor is present/ for conveying the recording medium/ for the purpose of conveying the medium.
Moreover Inoue disclose the following
* a motor/M, 23, 24, 31/ disposed within the driving feeding correcting roller/21a, 22a/ for the purpose of driving the rollers separately.
* Re clm 5, wherein the motor/66/ first discharge drive roller 16, motor is provided with gear mechanism/ for conveyance is in contact with the second path forming section/ path forming unit 27, see structure below or the structure that is formed below 72, / (paras 0050, 0061, figs 2-4)
* Re clm 6, a reversing roller/21 reverse roller/ disposed in the reversing path/RR/ and configured to feed the medium downstream in the reversing path (fig 2;
* a motor/driven rollers 14a, 14b, 14c, 14d/ for reversing configured to drive the reversing roller, wherein the motor/driven roller 14d/ for reversing is disposed at a position between the first path forming section and the second path forming section /driven rollers have. motors is provided with gear mechanism/ (para 0038, figs 2-4).
* Re clm 7, wherein the motor/14d driven roller/ for reversing is located in the second direction/-Y/ with respect to the recording unit/ink jet printer 1 having head 9/s /driven roller implies a motor is present/ (para 0038, fig 2-4).
* Re clm 8, a discharge path that is a medium conveying path located downstream in the recording-time conveying path, the discharge path being for discharging the medium on which recording was performed (figs 2 & 4)
* a discharge roller/46, 47,48/ disposed in the discharge path and configured to feed the medium downstream in the discharge path; and a motor/47, gears in the drive roller/ for discharge configured to drive the discharge roller, wherein the motor/gears in the drive roller 47/ for discharge is disposed at a position between the first path forming section and the second path forming section (para 0047, fig 2).
* Re clm 9, wherein the motor/66 present in discharge drive roller 47/ for discharge is disposed in the first direction with respect to the recording unit/inkjet printer 1 having head 9/, the motor/66 present in transport drive roller 16/ for conveyance is disposed at one end portion of the first path forming section/see structure 25/ in a width direction, which is a direction intersecting the first direction, and the motor/66 discharge driven roller, 41/ for discharge/discharge drive roller 41, discharge driven roller 42/ is disposed in another end portion of the first path forming section in the width direction (paras 0042-0043, 0050-0051, figs 2-5).
* Re clm 10, wherein the first path forming section/18 support member/ is formed of one member formed in a shape extending in the first direction from a position facing the recording unit/9/ and extending in the second direction from a position facing the recording unit /the support member extends in the left and right directions of the recording unit/ (para 0042, fig 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Komuro et al. (US 2020/0239252) in view of Nakashima et al. (2019/0248144).
Komuro et al. disclose the following:
* Re clm 11, wherein the recording unit/inkjet recording apparatus10/ includes a liquid ejection head/20K, 20C, 20M, 20Y/ configured to perform recording on the medium by ejecting liquid, the first path forming section includes an opening section/space between 22 and 20 maintenance units 22K, 22C, 22M, 22Y/ at a position facing the recording unit/20K, 20C, 20M, 20Y/ and the recording apparatus/14 image recording section/ (paras 0041-0042, fig 2)
* a cap section disposed on an inner side of the opening section/dotted line/ and configured to switch a state in which the cap unit covers a liquid ejection surface of the liquid ejection head and a state in which the cap unit is separated from the liquid ejection surface (paras 0041-0042, fig 2).
* a shutter/moved to opposing positions, moving mechanism, see fig 1, 22K, 22C,22M,22Y/ that is displaceable to a shielding position/cap covering the nozzle/ for shielding the opening section and an opening position for opening the opening section (paras 0041-0042, fig 2).
Komuro et al. does not disclose
* the shutter supporting the medium passing a position facing the liquid ejection head when the shutter is present in the shielding
Nakashima et al. disclose the following:
* a shutter/mounting mechanism 54, access area AA, support portion 15, see figs 4/ / that is displaceable to a shielding position/closing of access area AA, support portion 15 moves under the head 29/ for shielding the opening section and an opening position/access area AA opens, the support portion 15 moves from under the head/ for opening the opening section the shutter/mounting mechanism 54, access area AA, support portion 15, front surface cover 16/ supporting the medium passing a position facing the liquid ejection head/29/ when the shutter is present in the shielding position/access area AA is closed position, the support portion 15 is moved under the head 29, front surface cover 16 is closed/ (paras 0033, 0043-0049, 0060, 0062, 0064, 0066-0067, 0070, figs 2, 4, 10-12).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to utilize the shutter supporting the medium passing a position facing the liquid ejection head when the shutter is present in the shielding position, taught by Nakashima et al. into Komuro et al for the purpose of mounting the waste liquid container in a mounting mechanism that proves a cover for closure thereby providing an easy access to the waste liquid container.
Conclusion
/KRISTAL FEGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853