DETAILED ACTION
This final office action is responsive to Applicants' response filed on 06/03/26. Claims 1-17 are presented for examination and are pending for the reasons indicated herein below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/03/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
1. Kawagoe Discloses Mode Switching, Not Simultaneous Adjustment
Kawagoe discloses a switching regulator that switches between a PWM control mode and a PFM control mode based on the direction of inductor current. Specifically, Kawagoe employs a mode switch unit (PWM/PFM mode control circuit 120) and a plurality of switches (SW10-SW60), including switch 16 shown in FIG. 1, to reconfigure the amplifier 180 and phase compensation circuit 190 when transitioning between modes.
In the PWM mode, switches SW10 and SW20 are closed to connect the phase
compensation circuit, causing amplifier 180 to operate as an error amplifier. In the PFM mode, these switches are opened, and amplifier 180 operates as a comparator. This architecture constitutes a mutually exclusive, time-multiplexed mode selection: at any given instant, the circuit operates in either PWM mode (fixed frequency, variable pulse width) or PFM mode (fixed pulse width, variable frequency). Kawagoe explicitly teaches that the mode switch occurs upon detection of inductor current reversal (see Kawagoe, [0038], [0047]-[0048]).
Crucially, Kawagoe's switches (including switch 16) serve only to reconfigure the control loop between two distinct operating states; they do not enable the simultaneous, weighted adjustment of both switching period and on-time within a single continuous cycle.
Examiner respectively disagrees: Applicant is not claiming simultaneous adjustments on both modulation states.
Applicant argues:
2. Amended Claim 1 Recites a Fundamentally Different Control Paradigm
Amended Claim 1 recites that the control circuit synchronously and dynamically adjusts both the switching cycle and the on-time as the load state changes, and does so in continuous switching cycles. This is achieved by the combination of:
the loop compensation unit generating a single compensation amount Ad;
the switching cycle calculation unit allocating Ad to ATsw according to weight Kpfm (see original Claim 5 / specification [0014]);
the on-time calculation unit allocating Ad to ATon according to weight Kpwm (see original Claim 6 / specification [0015]); and
the hybrid modulator simultaneously applying both compensation amounts to generate the switching control signal.
The mathematical relationship is expressed as:
where both ATsw and ATon are non-zero when both weights are greater than zero
(hybrid modulation mode). This results in continuous, concurrent modulation of frequency and pulse width without any mode-switching hardware or decision logic.
Examiner respectively disagrees: Applicant is not claiming the math equation in claim 1.
Applicant argues:
3. Kawagoe Provides No Teaching or Suggestion of Simultaneous Adjustment
Nothing in Kawagoe teaches or suggests allocating a compensation amount between
frequency and pulse-width dimensions according to preset weights, nor does Kawagoe disclose the above formulas or the hybrid modulator architecture. Kawagoe's mode-switching mechanism (switch 16 and related switches) is designed precisely to avoid operating in two modes at once; introducing simultaneous adjustment would require a complete redesign of Kawagoe's control loop and would defeat the purpose of its mode-selection switches.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would not have been motivated to modify Kawagoe to perform simultaneous weighted adjustment, because Kawagoe's entire teaching is directed to eliminating output voltage variation caused by mode switching by ensuring clean, mutually exclusive transitions. Adding concurrent modulation would reintroduce the very voltage fluctuation problem Kawagoe seeks to solve.
Examiner respectively disagrees: Examiner is not rejecting equation since the equation are not recited claim 1. Although the application describes features that may differ from those disclose in the cited reference, the rejection is based on the claim language. As currently drafted, the claims recite elements in a manner that is fully met by the teachings of the cited reference, even if the reference operates differently or serves a different purpose. The examiner’s analysis focuses on what the claims actually requires, and the cited reference discloses each of those recited limitations. For this reason, the distinction of the applicant identifies does not overcome the rejection, because the claims, as written, still follow on the reference use on record.
Applicant argues:
4. Unexpected Technical Effects
The claimed synchronous hybrid modulation provides several advantages not taught or suggested by Kawagoe:
Smooth, continuous transition between effective PWM, PFM, and hybrid modes without output voltage glitches (specification [0072], FIG. 6);
Reduced electromagnetic interference through dynamic frequency dithering while maintaining fast transient response;
Simplified circuit architecture by sharing a single loop compensation unit and calculation units across all modulation modes (specification [0028]).
These benefits flow directly from the simultaneous, weighted adjustment feature now recited in amended Claim 1.
Examiner respectively disagrees: Although the application describes features that may differ from those disclose in the cited reference, the rejection is based on the claim language. As currently drafted, the claims recite elements in a manner that is fully met by the teachings of the cited reference, even if the reference operates differently or serves a different purpose. The examiner’s analysis focuses on what the claims actually requires, and the cited reference discloses each of those recited limitations. For this reason, the distinction of the applicant identifies does not overcome the rejection, because the claims, as written, still follow on the reference use on record.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-4, 7-8, 11-17 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kawagoe (US 20120105029 A1)
Regarding claim 1. Kawa teaches a control circuit for a power converter [fig 1], wherein the control circuit comprises: a loop compensation unit [feedback circuit] for obtaining a compensation amount for a switching control signal [i.e. for high/low switches] according to a voltage feedback signal of an output voltage [i.e. FB];
a switching cycle calculation unit [14, difference calculated by 14] for allocating the compensation amount as a switching cycle compensation amount according to a first preset weight [output preset value greater than 1];
an on-time calculation unit [13, implicit on time control for output of 13 setting to drive main switches] for allocating the compensation amount as an on-time compensation amount according to a second preset weight [i.e. 2nd preset value greater than 1 applied to controller];
and a hybrid modulator [A replicated above] for generating the switching control signal according to the switching cycle compensation amount and the on-time compensation amount [output of A is based on 13 and 14]; wherein, in continuous switching cycles [i.e. Kawa continuously monitors the output in order to provide continuous switching cycles], the control circuit synchronously [controlling high and low switches] and dynamically adjusts a switching cycle [compensating adjustments by using PFM or PWM] and an on-time of the switching control signal as a load state changes [¶8].
Regarding claim 3. Kawa teaches the control circuit according to claim 1, wherein at least one of the first preset weight and the second preset weight is greater than zero [output is 13 and 14 is inherently greater than 0 volt], according to values of the first preset weight and the second preset weight, a modulation mode of the control circuit is one of PWM mode, PFM mode and hybrid modulation mode [as shown in 13/14].
Regarding claim 4. Kawa teaches the control circuit according to claim 1, wherein a sum of the first preset weight and the second preset weight is equal to or greater than 1 [output is 13 and 14 is inherently greater than 1 volt], so that a compensation mode [i.e. compensation modes to compensate light or heavy loads] of the control circuit is one of accurate compensation mode and over compensation mode.
Regarding claim 7. Kawa teaches the control circuit according to claim 1, wherein the hybrid modulator performs a numerical calculation [i.e. calculation set by latch circuit giving by equation Qnext = S+R*Q, S = latch sets, R = latch resets and Q = output] based on the switching cycle compensation amount and the on-time compensation amount, and performs a digital-to-analog conversion [driver outputs analogue signal] to generate the switching control signal.
Regarding claim 8. Kawa teaches the control circuit according to claim 1, wherein the hybrid modulator comprises an RS flip-flop, and the hybrid modulator generates a reset signal [i.e. signal applied to R input] based on the switching cycle compensation amount [FB indirectly drives all components of controller and is based on switching cycle], generates a set signal based on the on-time compensation amount [i.e. same rational can be applied as above], and the RS flip-flop generates the switching control signal based on the reset signal and the 9 set signal.
Regarding claim 11. Kawa teaches a power converter, comprising: an input terminal [vin] and an output terminal for receiving an input voltage and providing an output voltage [vout], respectively;
an inductor and a transistor [LX, high/low switches] coupled between the input terminal and the output terminal;
and the control circuit according to claim 1, wherein the control circuit is configured to generate a switching control signal [output of driver] of the transistor, charge the inductor with the input voltage when the transistor is in on state, and discharge the inductor when the transistor is in off state, so as to generate the output voltage on the output terminal [function of buck converter of fig 1].
Regarding method claims 12, 14-17, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device "inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawa in view of Guam (US 20180131275 A1)
Regarding claim 10. Kawa teaches the control circuit according to claim 1, wherein the loop compensation unit comprises: an error amplifier [12] for converting an error signal between the voltage feedback signal and a reference voltage into a differential current.
However, Kawa does not explicitly mention a circuit comprising: a capacitor connected to an output terminal of the error amplifier, wherein the capacitor is charged with the differential current to obtain the compensation amount for the switching control signal.
Guan teaches a circuit comprising: a capacitor [C3, fig 1] connected to an output terminal of the error amplifier [i.e. 7], wherein the capacitor is charged with the differential current to obtain the compensation amount for the switching control signal.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the features of Guan in order to provide the error signal more stable and less jitter signal adjustment.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6 and 9 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the claim objections stated above were overcome.
Examiner Note
The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRYAN R PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2838