DETAILED ACTION
Oath/Declaration
2. The oath/declaration filed on 07/12/2024 is acceptable.
Priority
3. Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
4. The office acknowledges receipt of the following items from the applicant:
Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 07/12/2024.
Specification
5. The specification is objected to for the following reason: The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (see MPEP 606.01).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 1-2, 5, 12-13 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by JIN et al., hereafter “JIN” (U.S. Publication No. 2022/0173185 A1).
Regarding claim 1, JIN discloses a display device comprising:
a substrate (from array substrate (1));
driving transistors (T from pixel driver circuit (3)) disposed in pixel areas (opening region a1, para [0024]) on the substrate, each of the driving transistors (T) including a first electrode (S) and a second electrode (D);
an insulating layer (8) disposed over the driving transistors (T) to cover the first electrodes (S) and the second electrodes (D) of the driving transistors (T), the insulating layer (8) having contact holes (a2, para [0029]) respectively overlapping with the first electrodes (S) of the driving transistors (T);
light emitting elements (2) disposed on the insulating layer (8), the light emitting elements (2) including pixel electrodes (anode 4) respectively overlapping with the first electrodes (S) of the driving transistors (T); and
an insulating pattern (5) disposed in at least one of the contact holes to prevent a corresponding one of the pixel areas (opening region a1, para [0024]) opening from emitting light (Fig. 2 and para [0022]-[0044]).
Regarding claim 2, JIN discloses wherein: the pixel electrodes include a first pixel electrode (anode 4) and a second pixel electrode (cathode, not shown, para [0024]), the first pixel electrode (4) overlaps with the insulating pattern (5), and the first pixel electrode (4) is electrically separated from a first electrode (S) overlapping with the first pixel electrode (4) among the first electrodes (S) of the driving transistors (T) by the insulating pattern (5) (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 5, JIN discloses wherein: pixel circuits (3) are respectively disposed in the pixel areas (opening region a1)) on the substrate, the pixel circuits (3) include the driving transistors (T), and a pixel circuit of a pixel area (opening region a1)) overlapping with the insulating pattern (5) among the pixel areas corresponds to a defective pixel circuit (Fig. 2).
Regarding a process claim 12, prior art device either anticipates or render obvious a claimed process, in its normal and usual operation, and it would necessarily perform the method claim, MPEP2112.02.
Regarding claim 13, JIN discloses wherein: the pixel electrodes (4) include a first pixel electrode (4) and a second pixel electrode (cathode, not shown), the first pixel electrode (4) overlaps with the insulating pattern (5), and the first pixel electrode (4) is electrically separated from a first electrode (S) overlapping with the first pixel electrode (4) among the first electrodes (S) of the driving transistors (T) by the insulating pattern (5) (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 19, JIN discloses a pixel, comprising:
a light emitting element (2);
a pixel circuit (3) configured to drive the light emitting element (2); and
an insulating pattern (5) to electrically disconnect the pixel circuit (3) from the light emitting element (2) when the pixel (including the light emitting element (2) and the pixel driver circuit (3)) is defective (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 20, JIN further comprising: a planarization insulating layer (8) between a driving transistor (T) of the pixel circuit (3) and the light emitting element (2), wherein the planarization insulating layer (8) includes a contact hole (a2) which includes the insulating pattern (5) (Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 3 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over JIN in view of LEE G (KR-20030014928-A).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, JIN discloses the feature of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the second pixel electrode is electrically connected to a first electrode overlapping with the second pixel electrode among the first electrodes of the driving transistors through another of the contact holes.
LEE G, however, discloses wherein the second pixel electrode (refers as a cathode 24) is electrically connected to a first electrode (source electrode 24) overlapping with the second pixel electrode (24) among the first electrodes of the driving transistors through another of the contact holes (wherein via holes 21a is formed) (Fig. 1 and English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teaching of JIN to provide wherein the second pixel electrode is electrically connected to a first electrode overlapping with the second pixel electrode among the first electrodes of the driving transistors through another of the contact holes as taught by LEE G for a purpose of improving the reliability of the display device and process of manufacturing the display device.
8. Claims 4 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over JIN in view of ZHEN C (CN-116261355).
Regarding claims 4 and 15, JIN discloses the feature of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the insulating pattern includes an inorganic material or an organic material.
ZHEN C, however, discloses wherein the insulating pattern (105) includes an inorganic material or an organic material (Fig. 1 and claim 11).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the insulating pattern teaching of ZHEN C with JIN because such material substitution or replacement would have been considered a mere substitution of art-recognized equivalent values, i.e. to improving the pixel areas preventing form emitting light. MPEP 2144.06.
9. Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over JIN in view of ROKUHARA K (CN-101978783-A).
Regarding claim 22, JIN discloses the feature of the claimed invention as discussed above, but does not disclose wherein the insulating pattern includes an insulating ink.
ROKUHARA K, however, discloses wherein the insulating pattern includes an insulating ink (Fig. 1 and English Text).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the insulating pattern teaching of ROKUHARA K with JIN because such material substitution or replacement would have been considered a mere substitution of art-recognized equivalent values, i.e. to improving the pixel areas preventing from emitting light. MPEP 2144.06.
Allowable Subject Matter
10. The following is a statement of reason for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Claims 6-11, 16-18 and 21 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Cited Prior Arts
11. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure.
YOU C (KR-20210146489-A) discloses a display device comprises: a buffer layer 120 is stacked on a substrate 110, and a first semiconductor layer 135 and a second semiconductor layer 136 are stacked on the buffer layer 120 through a first photolithography process. is formed, and the first gate insulating layer 140 is stacked on the first semiconductor layer 135 and the second semiconductor layer 136, and the first gate electrode is formed on the first gate insulating layer 140 through a second photolithography process. 125 and the second gate electrode 126 are formed, and the first and second gate electrodes 125 and 126 are used as masks to form the first semiconductor layer 135 and the second semiconductor layer 136 (Fig. 6 and English Text).
Conclusion
/PHUC T DANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2897