DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1 – 25 are pending in the present application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the pressure fixtures" (plural) in line 2. There is an antecedent basis issue this limitation in the claim.
Specifically, it is unclear if these “pressure fixtures” are the same as the previously recited “pressure fixture” (singular; line 1-2 of claim 1); OR an additional set of fixtures different from the previously recited pressure fixture.
As best understood, in order to expedite prosecution and for purpose of examination “the pressure fixtures” will be considered as “the pressure fixture” and as such referencing the prior recitation of “a pressure fixture”.
Claims 2-25 are rejected by dependency from claim 1.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 1 recites the broad recitation “a device-under-test (DUT), having spaced-apart faces”, and the claim also recites “the spaced-apart faces of the battery cell during testing” (emphasis added) which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language (a battery cell as the DUT) is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims.
As best understood, in order to expedite prosecution and for purpose of examination the DUT is a/the battery cell as based on the instant specification (see at least instant publication Title and Abstract).
Further, there is an antecedent basis issue with the first recital of the term “the battery cell”.
However, positive in claim recitation of the metes and bounds of the limitation(s) applicant intends to claim is required, including clarification of the DUT/battery cell limitations as well as proper antecedent basis.
Claims 2-25 are rejected by dependency from claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hwang et al. (US 20240133761; hereinafter Hwang) in view of Ha et al. (US 20230258727; hereinafter Ha) and Hilligoss et al. (US 20220077507; hereinafter Hilligoss).
Regarding claim 1, Hwang teaches a testing plate for testing (10; battery cell internal pressure measurement apparatus -- abstract) a device-under-test (DUT), having spaced-apart faces (abstract; DUT is a battery cell “B” with faces shown in fig. 2 which are spaced apart; see also fig. 8; [0034]), in a pressure fixture that applies to and/or resists pressure from the DUT during testing (abstract teaches that the jig/fixture is “for measuring an internal pressure of at least one battery cell”; see also [0034]), the pressure fixtures including a pair of spaced-apart pressure plates (at least 100/200; see fig. 2), the testing plate comprising:
a working face that confronts one of the spaced-apart faces of the battery cell during testing (see figs. 2 and 8 showing that the inner faces of the plates confront the outer faces of the battery cell – i.e. the battery is inside the jig when tested);
a plurality of recesses (recess of units 600; see figs. 2; 6 and 7 showing that each of temperature measurement units 600 have a recess; see [0065] teaching that “600 is for measuring the temperature change inside the jig housing 100, and is provided in at least one or more or in plurality”); and
a temperature sensor (650) located in each one of the plurality of recesses (see fig. 7 showing that the at least one temperature sensors 650 are in the recesses of temperature measurement units 600; see [0065]); and
electronic circuitry in operative communication with each of the temperature sensors (“M”; [0077]; [0078]; see fig. 8).
Hwang does not directly and specifically state that the testing plate comprises a body designed and configured to be located between the DUT and one of the pressure plates and that the recesses are formed in the working face and distributed across the working face.
However, Ha teaches a device for testing a battery cell (abstract) having plates (see figs. 4A, 5A and 4B) temperature measuring unit(s) (64) with temperature sensors disposed on the upper plate (32 and 31 – “a thermocouple array 32 is disposed on the upper plate 31.” [0088]; see especially; fig. 4B) where recesses are formed and distributed across and in the plate for passing the temperature sensors/units through (see fig. 4B showing a vertical sectional view) to measure the battery cell/DUT temperature ([0089]) and where the temperature sensors are connected to a control device ([0089]; see also fig. 6).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the testing device for a battery with plural temperature sensor on a plate of Hwang with the specific knowledge of using the plural recessed temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery of Ha. This is because such recesses in the plate allow for the temperature sensitive elements to have better thermal contact with the DUT/battery. This is important in order to increase accuracy of the measurements.
Hwang and Ha lack direct and specific teaching of a body designed and configured to be located between the DUT and one of the plates.
However, Hilligoss teaches a body designed and configured to be located between the DUT and one of the plates (see fig. 3; at least elements 24-battery; 42-body; 48-plate) where the body (laminated busbar 42; also reference as laminated busbar 56) has a flexible circuit board (84; [0131]) where the “flexible circuit board which is located on the underside of the laminated busbar 56” ([0131]; see fig. 14) with plural thermistors (76; see fig. 18) and where “each thermistor 76 is mounted on the underside of a circuit board 84” ([0131]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural recessed temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery of Hwang and Ha with the specific knowledge of using the flexible circuit board having plural temperature sensors between a plate and the DUT/battery of Hilligoss. This is because such placement allows for the temperature sensors to be organized by the flexible circuit board into an appropriate location set and further placement between the plate and the battery allows these plural temperature sensitive elements to have good thermal contact with the DUT/battery. This is important in order to increase accuracy of the measurements and to better understand the location on a surface of those measurements.
Regarding claim 2, Hwang as modified by the teaching of Ha lacks direct and specific teaching that each of the temperature sensors is a negative temperature coefficient thermistor.
However, Hilligoss teaches a body designed and configured to be located between the DUT and one of the plates (see fig. 3; at least elements 24-battery; 42-body; 48-plate) where the body (laminated busbar 42; also reference as laminated busbar 56) has a flexible circuit board (84; [0131]) where the “flexible circuit board which is located on the underside of the laminated busbar 56” ([0131]; see fig. 14) with plural thermistors (76; see fig. 18) and where “each thermistor 76 is mounted on the underside of a circuit board 84” ([0131]) and where the thermistors are NTC (see at least [0144] “a chain of negative temperature coefficient (NTC) thermistors connected in series”; see also [0049]; [0149]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural recessed temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery of Hwang and Ha with the specific knowledge of using the flexible circuit board having plural NTC thermistors between a plate and the DUT/battery of Hilligoss. This is because such placement allows for the temperature sensors to be organized by the flexible circuit board into an appropriate location set and further placement between the plate and the battery allows these plural NTC temperature sensitive elements to have good thermal contact with the DUT/battery. This is important in order to increase accuracy of the measurements and to better understand the location on a surface of those measurements.
Regarding claim 3, Hwang lacks teaching that each temperature sensor has a front face confronting the battery cell during testing, wherein the front face is recessed within recess containing the temperature sensor.
However, Ha teaches a device for testing a battery cell (abstract) having plates (see figs. 4A, 5A and 4B) temperature measuring unit(s) (64) with temperature sensors disposed on the upper plate (32 and 31 – “a thermocouple array 32 is disposed on the upper plate 31.” [0088]; see especially; fig. 4B) where recesses are formed and distributed across and in the plate for passing the temperature sensors/units through (see fig. 4B showing a vertical sectional view) to measure the battery cell/DUT temperature ([0089]) and where the temperature sensors have a front face (face of each sensor of temperature sensing array 32 which is confronting battery/DUT element 10 in fig. 4B) and which is within the recess of the face of the upper plate (see figs. 4A and 4B).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the testing device for a battery with plural temperature sensor on a plate of Hwang with the specific knowledge of using the plural recessed temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery of Ha. This is because such recesses in the plate allow for the temperature sensitive elements to have better thermal contact with the DUT/battery. This is important in order to increase accuracy of the measurements.
Regarding claim 4, Hwang and Ha lacks teaching that during testing, a thermal gel is located between each temperature sensor and the spaced-apart face of the DUT proximate to the testing plate.
However, Ha does disclose that “thermal conductivity (k)” is a “basic parameter” ([0021]; [0076]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural and arrayed temperature sensors of Hwang and Ha with known thermal pastes/greases/gels for improving/stabilizing thermal conductivity. This is because since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material (here thermal gel) on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (improving or stabilizing thermal conductivity at junctions/contact points) as a matter of obvious design choice (see MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 5, Hwang lacks teaching that the plurality of recesses are arranged in an array on the working face of the testing plate.
However, Ha teaches a device for testing a battery cell (abstract) having plates (see figs. 4A, 5A and 4B) temperature measuring unit(s) (64) with and array of temperature sensors disposed on the upper plate (32 and 31 – “a thermocouple array 32 is disposed on the upper plate 31.” [0088]; see especially; fig. 4B).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the testing device for a battery with plural temperature sensor on a plate of Hwang with the specific knowledge of using the array of temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery of Ha. This is because such an array in the plate allows for the temperature sensitive elements to be organized regarding contact locations on the DUT/battery. This is important in order to increase accuracy of the measurements.
Regarding claim 6, Hwang lacks teaching that the testing plate includes 30 or more of each of the recesses and temperature sensors.
However, Ha does disclose a general 4X4 array (see e.g. figs. 4A/B) and that the Peltier array below may be M×N array (see at least [0095] “element P in an N×M shape (N, M are natural numbers identical or different from each other)”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural and arrayed temperature sensors of Hwang and Ha with any design indicated array size including with 30 or more elements. This is because it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to choose 30 or more recess/temperature sensor pairs, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)).
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (a temperature sensing array), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (30 or more sensors) involves only routine skill in the art. (see MPEP 2144.05 (II-A).)
Regarding claim 7, Hwang lacks teaching that the testing plate includes 100 or more of each of the recesses and temperature sensors.
However, Ha does disclose a general 4X4 array (see e.g. figs. 4A/B) and that the Peltier array below may be M×N array (see at least [0095] “element P in an N×M shape (N, M are natural numbers identical or different from each other)”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural and arrayed temperature sensors of Hwang and Ha with any design indicated array size including with 100 or more elements. This is because it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to choose 100 or more recess/temperature sensor pairs, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (IV)).
Further, it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art (a temperature sensing array), discovering the optimum or workable ranges (100 or more sensors) involves only routine skill in the art. MPEP 2144.05 (II-A).
Regarding claim 8, Hwang lacks teaching that the temperature sensors are functionally grouped into a plurality of groups, and the electronic circuitry includes circuitry for processing temperature-sensor signals from the temperature sensors on a group-by-group basis.
However, Ha teaches a device for testing a battery cell (abstract) having plates (see figs. 4A, 5A and 4B) temperature measuring unit(s) (64) with and array of temperature sensors disposed on the upper plate (32 and 31 – “a thermocouple array 32 is disposed on the upper plate 31.” [0088]; see especially; fig. 4B) and that the temperature measuring circuits may be processed on a group basis (see fig. 6, elements 241/242/24N; [0098] “temperature measuring circuits 241 to 24N”; see [0100-102] regarding processing of the temperature measuring circuit outputs via groups as small as individual outputs).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the testing device for a battery with plural temperature sensor on a plate of Hwang with the specific knowledge of using the array of temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery with group by group including down to individual basis of Ha. This is because such an array in the plate allows for the temperature sensitive elements to be organized regarding contact locations on the DUT/battery and grouping into groups allows for determining a more granular understanding of the temperature map of the DUT. This is important in order to increase the granularity of the data sent to an end user.
Regarding claim 9, Hwang lacks teaching that the circuitry for processing temperature-sensor signals includes a plurality of analog-to-digital (A/D) converters.
However, Ha teaches a device for testing a battery cell (abstract) having plates (see figs. 4A, 5A and 4B) temperature measuring unit(s) (64) with and array of temperature sensors disposed on the upper plate (32 and 31 – “a thermocouple array 32 is disposed on the upper plate 31.” [0088]; see especially; fig. 4B) and that the temperature measuring circuits may be processed on a group basis including by a plurality of analog-to-digital (A/D) converters (see fig. 6, elements 241/242/24N having signals processed by ADC 251/252/25N; see [0100]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the testing device for a battery with plural temperature sensor on a plate of Hwang with the specific knowledge of using the array of temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery with group by group including down to individual basis and processed by a plurality of ADCs of Ha. This is because such ADCs allow for converting the temperature signals from analog to digital for further processing in a microprocessor (see fig. 6 of Ha). This is important in order to provide digitally processed signals to an end user.
Regarding claim 10, Hwang and Ha lacks teaching that the body includes a flexible printed circuit (flex), and the A/D converters are located onboard the FPC.
However, Hilligoss teaches a body designed and configured to be located between the DUT and one of the plates (see fig. 3; at least elements 24-battery; 42-body; 48-plate) where the body (laminated busbar 42; also reference as laminated busbar 56) has a flexible circuit board (84; [0131]) where the “flexible circuit board which is located on the underside of the laminated busbar 56” ([0131]; see fig. 14; see also [0040] “a flexible printed circuit board, and may be part of or attached to a laminated busbar”) where analog-to-digital converters are known to be useful for user with microprocessors ([0121]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural recessed temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery with ADCs of Hwang and Ha with the specific knowledge of using the flexible circuit board having plural temperature sensors between a plate and the DUT/battery of Hilligoss. This is because such placement allows for the temperature sensors to be organized by the flexible circuit board into an appropriate location set and further placement between the plate and the battery allows these plural temperature sensitive elements to have good thermal contact with the DUT/battery. This is important in order to increase accuracy of the measurements and to better understand the location on a surface of those measurements.
Regarding claim 11, Hwang and Ha lacks teaching that the body further includes a rigid faceplate secured to the FPC, wherein the recesses are formed in the rigid faceplate.
However, Hilligoss teaches a body designed and configured to be located between the DUT and one of the plates (see fig. 3; at least elements 24-battery; 42-body; 48-plate) where the body (laminated busbar 42; also reference as laminated busbar 56) has a flexible circuit board (84; [0131]) where the “flexible circuit board which is located on the underside of the laminated busbar 56” ([0131]; see fig. 14; see also [0040] “a flexible printed circuit board, and may be part of or attached to a laminated busbar”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural recessed temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery with ADCs of Hwang and Ha with the specific knowledge of using the flexible circuit board having plural temperature sensors between a plate and the DUT/battery of Hilligoss. This is because such placement allows for the temperature sensors to be organized by the flexible circuit board into an appropriate location set and further placement between the plate and the battery allows these plural temperature sensitive elements to have good thermal contact with the DUT/battery. This is important in order to increase accuracy of the measurements and to better understand the location on a surface of those measurements.
Regarding claim 12, Hwang and Ha lacks teaching that the rigid faceplate comprises a printed circuit board (PCB).
However, Hilligoss teaches a body designed and configured to be located between the DUT and one of the plates (see fig. 3; at least elements 24-battery; 42-body; 48-plate) where the body (laminated busbar 42; also reference as laminated busbar 56) has a flexible circuit board (84; [0131]) where the “flexible circuit board which is located on the underside of the laminated busbar 56” ([0131]; see fig. 14; see also [0040] “a flexible printed circuit board, and may be part of or attached to a laminated busbar”) and specifically that “the circuit board may be part of the laminated busbar” ([0024]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural recessed temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery with ADCs of Hwang and Ha with the specific knowledge of using the flexible circuit board which is part of a rigid face portion of a laminated busbar of Hilligoss. This is because such placement allows for the temperature sensors to be organized by the printed circuit board into an appropriate and rigidly set location which allows these plural temperature sensitive elements to have good thermal contact with the DUT/battery. This is important in order to increase accuracy of the measurements and to better understand the location on a surface of those measurements.
Regarding claim 13 Hwang and Ha lacks teaching that the PCB includes the recesses and electrical contacts in bottoms of the recesses that electrically contact the thermal sensors.
However, Hilligoss that the body (laminated busbar 42; also reference as laminated busbar 56) has a circuit board (84; [0131]) and where electrical contacts (see fig. 14 with metal traces 86) connect to the sensors (76) which are in recesses (see fig. 14 showing this configuration for the sensors on the battery cells).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural recessed temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery with ADCs of Hwang and Ha with the specific knowledge of using the circuit board which electrically connects the sensors in recesses of Hilligoss. This is because such placement allows for the temperature sensors to be organized by the printed circuit board into an appropriate and rigidly set location which allows these plural temperature sensitive elements to have good thermal contact with the DUT/battery. This is important in order to increase accuracy of the measurements and to better understand the location on a surface of those measurements.
Regarding claim 14, Hwang lacks teaching that the testing plate comprises a rigid faceplate containing a plurality of through-holes that provide the plurality of recesses.
However, Ha teaches a device for testing a battery cell (abstract) having plates (see figs. 4A, 5A and 4B) temperature measuring unit(s) (64) with and array of temperature sensors disposed on the upper plate (32 and 31 – “a thermocouple array 32 is disposed on the upper plate 31.” [0088]; see especially; fig. 4B) where the disposal is in and on through holes in the recesses as shown in fig. 4B.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the testing device for a battery with plural temperature sensor on a plate of Hwang with the specific knowledge of using the array of temperature sensor disposed in recesses and through-holes of Ha. This is because such through-holes allow for converting passing the temperature sensors through the plate to the desired measuring points. This is important in order to provide better accuracy in the temperature measurements by placing the sensors against/near the DUT/battery.
Regarding claim 15, Hwang lacks teaching that the testing plate further comprises a backplane to which the temperature sensors are secured.
However, Ha teaches a device for testing a battery cell (abstract) having plates (see figs. 4A, 5A and 4B) temperature measuring unit(s) (64) with and array of temperature sensors disposed on the upper plate (32 and 31 – “a thermocouple array 32 is disposed on the upper plate 31.” [0088]; see especially; fig. 4B) where the disposal is in and on through holes in the recesses as shown in fig. 4B with the sensors secure on the backplane of the plate (see figs. 4A-B and fig. 5A element 64).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the testing device for a battery with plural temperature sensor on a plate of Hwang with the specific knowledge of using the array of temperature sensor disposed in recesses and through-holes and further connected to a backplane of the test plate of Ha. This is because such through-holes allow for converting passing the temperature sensors through the plate to the desired measuring points and the backplane allows for connectivity to the sensors for passing the signals on. This is important in order to provide better accuracy in the temperature measurements by placing the sensors against/near the DUT/battery while being able to access the signals outside of the device (see at least fig. 1 of Ha).
Regarding claim 16, Hwang teaches regarding containing electrical contacts in electrical communication with the plurality of sensors ([0077-78] teaches regarding connecting the sensors to the control unit).
Hwang and Ha lacks teaching regarding the backplane comprises a flexible printed circuit (FPC) with the electrical contacts.
However, Hilligoss teaches a body designed and configured to be located between the DUT and one of the plates (see fig. 3; at least elements 24-battery; 42-body; 48-plate) where the body (laminated busbar 42; also reference as laminated busbar 56) has a flexible circuit board (84; [0131]) where the “flexible circuit board which is located on the underside of the laminated busbar 56” ([0131]; see fig. 14; see also [0040] “a flexible printed circuit board, and may be part of or attached to a laminated busbar”) where the FPC provides electrical connectivity ([0131] “The leads of the thermistors 76 pass through holes in the circuit board 84. The thermistors 76 are connected in series using metal traces 86 on the upper side of the circuit board 84.”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural recessed temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery of Hwang and Ha with the specific knowledge of using the flexible circuit board having plural temperature sensors with FPC electrical connectivity of Hilligoss. This is because such FPC electrical connectivity allows for the temperature sensors to be organized by the flexible circuit board into an appropriate location set remain in communication with desired upstream calculation structures such as processors. This is important in order provide the measurement data in an efficient manner to an end user.
Regarding claim 17, Hwang lacks teaching that the body includes a pair of spaced-apart working faces, each having the plurality of recesses formed therein and distributed across the working face.
However, Ha teaches a device for testing a battery cell (abstract) having plates (see figs. 4A, 5A and 4B) temperature measuring unit(s) (64) with and array of temperature sensors disposed on the upper plate (32 and 31 – “a thermocouple array 32 is disposed on the upper plate 31.” [0088]; see especially; fig. 4B) and where the upper plate (31) has spaced apart faces distributed across (see fig. 4B) and each of the faces having a plurality of recess distributed thereacross (see fig. 4B) and where the disposal is in and on through holes in the recesses as shown in fig. 4B with the sensors secure on the backplane of the plate (see figs. 4A-B and fig. 5A element 64).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the testing device for a battery with plural temperature sensor on a plate of Hwang with the specific knowledge of using the array of temperature sensor disposed in recesses and through-holes where the recesses are known to be on both faces of the plate and further connected to a backplane of the plate of Ha. This is because such through-holes and recesses allow for converting passing the temperature sensors through the plate to the desired measuring points and the backplane allows for connectivity to the sensors for passing the signals on. This is important in order to provide better accuracy in the temperature measurements by placing the sensors against/near the DUT/battery while being able to access the signals outside of the device (see at least fig. 1 of Ha).
Regarding claim 18, Hwang and Ha lacks teaching that the body includes a backplane and a pair of rigid faceplates sandwiching the backplane and defining the plurality of recesses.
However, Ha does disclose a device for testing a battery cell (abstract) having plates (see figs. 4A, 5A and 4B) temperature measuring unit(s) (64) with and array of temperature sensors disposed on the upper plate (32 and 31 – “a thermocouple array 32 is disposed on the upper plate 31.” [0088]; see especially; fig. 4B) and where the upper plate (31) has spaced apart faces distributed across (see fig. 4B) and each of the faces having a plurality of recess distributed across (see fig. 4B) and where the disposal is in and on through holes in the recesses as shown in fig. 4B with the sensors secure on the backplane of the plate (see figs. 4A-B and fig. 5A element 64).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the testing device for a battery with plural temperature sensor on a plate of with the specific knowledge of using the array of temperature sensor disposed in recesses and through-holes where the recesses are known to be on both faces of the plate and further connected to a backplane of the plate Hwang and Ha with a pair of rigid faceplates sandwiching the backplane. This is because it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device (here the plate formed as a sandwich of plural plates) involves only routine skill in the art (see MPEP 2144.04 (VI-B)).
Further, it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure (a plate) in various elements (as a sandwiched plate from a plurality of plates as here) involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04 (V-C)).
Regarding claim 19, Hwang teaches regarding electrical contacts in electrical communication with the plurality of sensors ([0077-78] teaches regarding connecting the sensors to the control unit).
Hwang and Ha lacks teaching regarding the backplane comprises a flexible printed circuit (FPC) with the electrical contacts.
However, Hilligoss teaches a body designed and configured to be located between the DUT and one of the plates (see fig. 3; at least elements 24-battery; 42-body; 48-plate) where the body (laminated busbar 42; also reference as laminated busbar 56) has a flexible circuit board (84; [0131]) where the “flexible circuit board which is located on the underside of the laminated busbar 56” ([0131]; see fig. 14; see also [0040] “a flexible printed circuit board, and may be part of or attached to a laminated busbar”) where the FPC provides electrical connectivity ([0131] “The leads of the thermistors 76 pass through holes in the circuit board 84. The thermistors 76 are connected in series using metal traces 86 on the upper side of the circuit board 84.”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural recessed temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery of Hwang and Ha with the specific knowledge of using the flexible circuit board having plural temperature sensors with FPC electrical connectivity of Hilligoss. This is because such FPC electrical connectivity allows for the temperature sensors to be organized by the flexible circuit board into an appropriate location set remain in communication with desired upstream calculation structures such as processors. This is important in order provide the measurement data in an efficient manner to an end user.
Regarding claim 20, Hwang and Ha lacks teaching that the FPC includes an external-contact region containing a plurality of external electrical contacts in electrical communication with corresponding respective ones of the electrical contacts that are in electrical contact with the plurality of sensors.
However, Hilligoss teaches a body designed and configured to be located between the DUT and one of the plates (see fig. 3; at least elements 24-battery; 42-body; 48-plate) where the body (laminated busbar 42; also reference as laminated busbar 56) has a flexible circuit board (84; [0131]) where the “flexible circuit board which is located on the underside of the laminated busbar 56” ([0131]; see fig. 14; see also [0040] “a flexible printed circuit board, and may be part of or attached to a laminated busbar”) where the FPC provides electrical connectivity ([0131] “The leads of the thermistors 76 pass through holes in the circuit board 84. The thermistors 76 are connected in series using metal traces 86 on the upper side of the circuit board 84.”).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural recessed temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery of Hwang and Ha with the specific knowledge of using the flexible circuit board having plural temperature sensors with FPC electrical connectivity of Hilligoss. This is because such FPC electrical connectivity allows for the temperature sensors to be organized by the flexible circuit board into an appropriate location set remain in communication with desired upstream calculation structures such as processors. This is important in order provide the measurement data in an efficient manner to an end user.
Regarding claim 21, Hwang and Ha lacks teaching the FPC includes a lead-out region located between each working face present and the external-contact region, the lead-out region containing electrical conductors operatively connecting the plurality of external electrical contacts with the electrical contacts that are in electrical contact with the plurality of sensors.
However, Hilligoss teaches a body designed and configured to be located between the DUT and one of the plates (see fig. 3; at least elements 24-battery; 42-body; 48-plate) where the body (laminated busbar 42; also reference as laminated busbar 56) has a flexible circuit board (84; [0131]) where the “flexible circuit board which is located on the underside of the laminated busbar 56” ([0131]; see fig. 14; see also [0040] “a flexible printed circuit board, and may be part of or attached to a laminated busbar”) where the FPC provides electrical connectivity ([0131] “The leads of the thermistors 76 pass through holes in the circuit board 84. The thermistors 76 are connected in series using metal traces 86 on the upper side of the circuit board 84.”) and where the electrical conductors are operatively connected to external electrical contacts (see at least figs. 8, 11, 13 and 16 in view of fig. 14 showing that the electrical connections/contacts/operative connections lead from the sensor all the way out to external contacts to external systems).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural recessed temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery of Hwang and Ha with the specific knowledge of using the flexible circuit board having plural temperature sensors with FPC electrical connectivity from the sensors to the external contacts an out to external systems of Hilligoss. This is because such FPC electrical connectivity allows for the temperature sensors to be organized by the flexible circuit board into an appropriate location set remain in communication with desired upstream calculation structures such as processors. This is important in order provide the measurement data in an efficient manner to an end user.
Regarding claim 22, Hwang teaches an apparatus for testing (10; battery cell internal pressure measurement apparatus -- abstract) a device-under-test (DUT) having spaced-apart faces (abstract; DUT is a battery cell “B” with faces shown in fig. 2 which are spaced apart; see also fig. 8; [0034]), the apparatus comprising:
a pressure fixture (abstract teaches that the jig/fixture is “for measuring an internal pressure of at least one battery cell”; see also [0034]) that includes a pair of pressure plates (at least 100/200; see fig. 2) and a pressurizing mechanism (at least via 700; see [0020]; see also [0077] teaching a temperature controlled pressure measurement chamber; see fig. 8) that causes the pressure plates to induce pressure within the DUT when the DUT is present between the pressure plates for testing (see at least fig. 8; [0068] teaches that the induced pressure is controlled by the valve 700; see also [0077]), the spaced-apart faces facing corresponding ones of the pressure plates during the testing (see figs. 2 and 8 showing this configuration);
a testing plate in accordance with claim 1 (see treatment of claim 1 above).
Regarding claim 23, Hwang teaches that the DUT comprises a battery cell (abstract; “battery cell B” [0077]).
Regarding claim 24, Hwang and Ha lacks teaching that during testing, a thermal gel is located between each temperature sensor and the spaced-apart face of the DUT proximate to the testing plate.
However, Ha does disclose that “thermal conductivity (k)” is a “basic parameter” ([0021]; [0076]).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the plural and arrayed temperature sensors of Hwang and Ha with known thermal pastes/greases/gels for improving/stabilizing thermal conductivity. This is because since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material (here thermal gel) on the basis of its suitability for the intended use (improving or stabilizing thermal conductivity at junctions/contact points) as a matter of obvious design choice (see MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 25, Hwang lacks teaching that the temperature sensors are functionally grouped into a plurality of groups, and the electronic circuitry includes circuitry for processing temperature-sensor signals from the temperature sensors on a group-by-group basis.
However, Ha teaches a device for testing a battery cell (abstract) having plates (see figs. 4A, 5A and 4B) temperature measuring unit(s) (64) with and array of temperature sensors disposed on the upper plate (32 and 31 – “a thermocouple array 32 is disposed on the upper plate 31.” [0088]; see especially; fig. 4B) and that the temperature measuring circuits may be processed on a group basis (see fig. 6, elements 241/242/24N; [0098] “temperature measuring circuits 241 to 24N”; see [0100-102] regarding processing of the temperature measuring circuit outputs via groups as small as individual outputs).
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the testing device for a battery with plural temperature sensor on a plate of Hwang with the specific knowledge of using the array of temperature sensors on a plate for a testing device for a battery with group by group including down to individual basis of Ha. This is because such an array in the plate allows for the temperature sensitive elements to be organized regarding contact locations on the DUT/battery and grouping into groups allows for determining a more granular understanding of the temperature map of the DUT. This is important in order to increase the granularity of the data sent to an end user.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
See especially:
Stefanopoulou et al. (US 20200313152); Abstract; [0011] and figs. 2 and 13B.
/PHILIP L COTEY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855
/LAURA MARTIN SWEENEY/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2855