DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the initial filing filed on July 12, 2024, claim 1-20 have been examined this application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The Information Disclosure Statement (IDS) filed on 7/12/2024 and 12/13/2024 has been acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikolov et al (US 11,051,089 1) in view of Perkins et al (US 2023/0133302 A1).
Regarding Claim 1. An apparatus for steering and beam shaping RF signals, the apparatus comprising [col 5, lines 5-15 for brag grading allows for forming a fast reconfigurable true time delay based RF beam former]:
one or more radio frequency (RF) inputs [col 9, lines 30-40 for to receive the multitude of
equidistantly spaced optical wavelengths from OFC and data signal];
and a photonic true time delay engine, wherein the photonic true time delay engine is configured to [col 10, lines 50-60 for true time delay is implemented in the optical domain]:
receive an input signal on each of the one or more RF inputs [col 9, lines 30-40 for electro optic modulator EOM];
adjust a respective amplitude and a time delay of each input signal [col 7, lines 5-15 for using amplitude balancing between signals and col 9, lines 45-55 for different time delays are introduced between different wavelengths in each fiber];
and feed each adjusted input signal to the DSA [col 9, lines 55-65 for transmit an individual wavelength of time-delayed modulated optical beam].
Nikolov fails to explicitly teach a differential segmented array (DSA) antenna.
Perkins has a beam steering system includes a differential segmented array antenna comprising a plurality of pyramid structures (abstract) and teaches a differential segmented array (DSA) antenna [0016 for a DSA structure and opposing faces of two adjacent pyramid structures form an antenna element].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the array calculations as taught by Perkins for the purpose to optimize signal gain between the array and the target (Perkins, 0017).
Claims 2-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikolov et al (US 11,051,089 B1) in view of Perkins et al (US 2023/0133302 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Gessell et al (US 5390046 A).
Regarding Claim 2, Nikolov teaches the photonic true time delay engine comprises [col 9, lines 30-40 for electro-optic modulator to receive the multitude of equidistantly spaced optical wavelengths from OFC and data signal]:
one or more lasers [col 7, lines 30-3 for using a master laser];
one or more modulators [col 9, lines 30-40 for electro-optic modulator];
an optical switch [col 9, lines 40-45 for element 635 optical switch]
and a detector array [col 9, lines 55-65 for plurality of antenna elements comprise
photodiode].
Nikolov fails to explicitly teach one or more optical point sources arranged in an RF scene plane; a lens.
Gesell has an optical systems are disclosed which are capable of generating and rapidly changing time delays of electrical signals for true time delay beam formation (abstract) and teaches one or more optical point sources arranged in an RF scene plane [col 1, lines 40-45 for Bragg cell as a continuous tapped delay line. Selected points in the Bragg cell may be optically mapped to the output];
a lens [col 1, lines 45-50 for lens].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the optical element calculations as taught by Gesell for the purpose to simultaneously scan multiple beams rapidly over a continuum of angles (Gesell, col 1, lines 50-55).
Regarding Claim 3, Nikolov teaches the one or more modulators are configured to: convert the input signal on each of the one or more RF inputs to light, each of the one or more modulators using one of the one or more lasers [col 9, lines 30-45 for using optical beam and Mach Zehnder modulator for modulating the beams].
Regarding Claim 4, Nikolov teaches the optical switch is configured to: direct a modulator output of each of the one or more modulators to a specific optical point source [col 8, lines 25-35 for electronically controlled and each input can be steered to any output].
Regarding Claim 5, Nikolov fails to explicitly teach the lens is configured to: direct a point source output of each of the one or more optical point sources to the detector array, wherein each point source output of each of the one or more optical point sources has a time delay based on a specific path from the RF scene plane through the lens to the detector array.
Gesell has an optical systems are disclosed which are capable of generating and rapidly changing time delays of electrical signals for true time delay beam formation (abstract) and teaches the lens is configured to: direct a point source output of each of the one or more optical point sources to the detector array [col 8, lines 45-55 for pair of lenses and may be provided for imaging the output of the Bragg cell onto each of the photodiodes in the photodiode array],
wherein each point source output of each of the one or more optical point sources has a time delay based on a specific path from the RF scene plane through the lens to the detector array [col 10, lines 1-5 for a delay determined by the position of the reference spot on the photodiode].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the optical element calculations as taught by Gesell for the purpose to simultaneously scan multiple beams rapidly over a continuum of angles (Gesell, col 1, lines 50-55).
Regarding Claim 6, Nikolov fails to explicitly teach causing the DSA antenna to transmit a wave based on the one or more RF inputs.
Perkins has a beam steering system includes a differential segmented array antenna comprising a plurality of pyramid structures (abstract) and teaches a causing the DSA antenna to transmit a wave based on the one or more RF inputs [0017 for the DSA antenna array in a position for communication (RX and/or TX) with a target].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the array calculations as taught by Perkins for the purpose to optimize signal gain between the array and the target (Perkins, 0017).
Nikolov fails to explicitly teach the detector array is configured to: convert the point source output of each of the one or more optical point sources from the lens to electrical energy; and send the electrical energy to the DSA antenna, wherein each RF input of the one or more RF inputs is transmitted in a specific direction based on the time delay to focus energy of the wave in a direction of interest.
Gesell has an optical systems are disclosed which are capable of generating and rapidly changing time delays of electrical signals for true time delay beam formation (abstract) and teaches the detector array is configured to: convert the point source output of each of the one or more optical point sources from the lens to electrical energy [col 10, lines 5-15 for the photodiode array may be sent to a linear transmitting array];
and send the electrical energy to the DSA antenna [col 10, lines 5-15],
wherein each RF input of the one or more RF inputs is transmitted in a specific direction based on the time delay to focus energy of the wave in a direction of interest [col 7, lines 5-15 for point-to-point mappings may be required to generate the different time delays necessary for pointing an RF planar array in a large number of directions].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the optical element calculations as taught by Gesell for the purpose to simultaneously scan multiple beams rapidly over a continuum of angles (Gesell, col 1, lines 50-55).
Regarding Claim 7, Nikolov teaches the optical switch comprises a different number of optical inputs than optical outputs [col 8, lines 25-30 for Optical switch has N input and M outputs, which N is less than or equal to M].
Claims 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikolov et al (US 11,051,089 B1) in view of Gessell et al (US 5390046 A) and Perkins et al (US 2023/0133302 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Nikolov teaches a system for optical beam steering, the system comprising [col 5, lines 5-15 for brag grading allows for forming a fast reconfigurable true time delay based RF beam former]:
one or more radio frequency (RF) inputs [col 9, lines 30-40 for to receive the multitude of
equidistantly spaced optical wavelengths from OFC and data signal];
one or more modulators [col 9, lines 30-40 for electro-optic modulator];
an optical switch [col 9, lines 40-45 for element 635 optical switch];
receive an input signal on each of the one or more RF inputs [col 9, lines 30-40 for electro optic modulator EOM];
convert the input signal on each of the one or more RF inputs to light [col 9, lines 40-50 for having a modulated optical beam];
direct a modulator output of each of the one or more modulators to any optical point source using the optical switch to select the optical point source [col 8, lines 25-35 for electronically controlled and each input can be steered to any output].
Nikolov fails to explicitly teach one or more optical point sources arranged in an RF scene plane; a lens; and a detector array, direct a point source output of each of the one or more optical point sources to the detector array using the lens; convert the light from the lens to electrical energy using the detector array, wherein each RF input of the one or more RF inputs is transmitted in a specific direction based on a time delay to focus energy of the wave in a direction of interest.
Gesell has an optical systems are disclosed which are capable of generating and rapidly changing time delays of electrical signals for true time delay beam formation (abstract) and teaches one or more optical point sources arranged in an RF scene plane [col 1, lines 40-45 for Bragg cell as a continuous tapped delay line. Selected points in the Bragg cell may be optically mapped to the output];
a lens [col 1, lines 45-50 for lens];
and a detector array [figure 1, photodiode array element 20]
direct a point source output of each of the one or more optical point sources to the detector array using the lens [col 8, lines 45-55 for A pair of lenses and may be provided for imaging the output of the Bragg cell onto each of the photodiodes in the photodiode array];
convert the light from the lens to electrical energy using the detector array [col 10, lines 5-15 for the photodiode array may be sent to a linear transmitting array]
wherein each RF input of the one or more RF inputs is transmitted in a specific direction based on a time delay to focus energy of the wave in a direction of interest [col 7, lines 5-15 for point-to-point mappings may be required to generate the different time delays necessary for pointing an RF planar array in a large number of directions].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the optical element calculations as taught by Gesell for the purpose to simultaneously scan multiple beams rapidly over a continuum of angles (Gesell, col 1, lines 50-55).
Nikolov fails to explicitly teach and a differential segmented array (DSA) antenna, the system configured to: and transmit a wave from the DSA antenna based on the one or more RF inputs.
Perkins has a beam steering system includes a differential segmented array antenna comprising a plurality of pyramid structures (abstract) and teaches and a differential segmented array (DSA) antenna, the system configured to [0016]:
and transmit a wave from the DSA antenna based on the one or more RF inputs [0016 for a DSA structure and opposing faces of two adjacent pyramid structures form an antenna element].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the array calculations as taught by Perkins for the purpose to optimize signal gain between the array and the target (Perkins, 0017).
Regarding Claim 9, Nikolov teaches the input signal on each of the one or more RF inputs is modulated by a specific modulator of the one or more modulators [col 1, lines 45-55 for configured such that each of the P receiving elements modulates one of P optical modulators].
Regarding Claim 10, Nikolov teaches one or more lasers, wherein each of the one or more modulators uses a specific laser of the one or more lasers [col 7, lines 30-40 for master laser is split and provided to first tunable optical frequency comb and second tunable optical frequency comb].
Regarding Claim 11, Nikolov fails to explicitly teach the point source output of each of the one or more optical point sources has the time delay based on a specific path from the RF scene plane through the lens to the detector array.
Gesell has an optical systems are disclosed which are capable of generating and rapidly changing time delays of electrical signals for true time delay beam formation (abstract) and teaches the point source output of each of the one or more optical point sources has the time delay based on a specific path from the RF scene plane through the lens to the detector array [col 10, lines 1-5 for a delay determined by the position of the reference spot on the photodiode].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the optical element calculations as taught by Gesell for the purpose to simultaneously scan multiple beams rapidly over a continuum of angles (Gesell, col 1, lines 50-55).
Claims 12-17, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikolov et al (US 11,051,089 B1) in view of Xue et al (IEEE, 2018) hereinafter Xue’18 and Perkins et al (US 2023/0133302 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Nikolov teaches a system for optical beam steering, the system comprising [col 5, lines 5-15 for brag grading allows for forming a fast reconfigurable true time delay based RF beam former]:
one or more radio frequency (RF) inputs [col 9, lines 30-40 for to receive the multitude of
equidistantly spaced optical wavelengths from OFC and data signal];
one or more modulators [col 9, lines 30-40 for electro-optic modulator];
a wavelength selective router [col 7, line 1-10 for optical circulator and second wavelength independent optical splitter are then routed to signal channelization];
an optical switch [col 9, lines 40-45 for element 635 optical switch];
a detector array [col 9, lines 55-65 for plurality of antenna elements comprise
photodiode];
the system configured to: receive an input signal on each of the one or more RF inputs [col 9, lines 30-40 for electro optic modulator EOM];
convert the input signal on each of the one or more RF inputs to one or more light inputs [col 9, lines 40-50 for having a modulated optical beam];
introduce a time delay to each wavelength channel of the plurality of wavelength channels [col 7, lines 5-15 for using amplitude balancing between signals and col 9, lines 45-55 for different time delays are introduced between different wavelengths in each fiber];
demultiplex the plurality of wavelength channels into a plurality of time dispersed wavelengths using the wavelength selective router [col 9, lines wavelength division multiplexer that are time delayed];
route the plurality of time dispersed wavelengths by specific wavelengths to a plurality of designated photodetectors on the detector array using the optical switch [col 7, lines 5-15 for point-to-point mappings may be required to generate the different time delays necessary for pointing an RF planar array in a large number of directions];
convert the plurality of time dispersed wavelengths from the optical switch to electrical energy using the detector array [col 10, lines 30-40 for RF beam forming, signal sampling and up/down-conversion, frequency channelization and parallel signal processing. Since photonic frequencies are orders of magnitude higher than typical RF bands];
wherein each RF input of the one or more RF inputs is transmitted in a specific direction based on the time delay to focus energy of the wave in a direction of interest [col 6, lines 25-35 for wavelengths representing signals from individual phased array elements forming a specific beam direction due to a true time delay imposed between different wavelengths].
Nikolov fails to explicitly teach one or more microresonators; generate a microcomb with a plurality of wavelength channels from each light input using the one or more microresonators; modulate the microcomb generated by the one or more microresonators using the one or more modulators.
Xue’18 has microwave phased array antennas are very attractive to defense applications and high-speed wireless communication (page 2312, abstract) and teaches one or more microresonators [page 2313, right column, second paragraph];
generate a microcomb with a plurality of wavelength channels from each light input using the one or more microresonators [page 2313, left column, last paragraph for optical frequency comb is generated by pumping a nonlinear microresonator with a continuous wave laser];
modulate the microcomb generated by the one or more microresonators using the one or more modulators [page 1213, left column, last paragraph comb lines with microwave modulation have different time delays due to the dispersion].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the micresonators calculations as taught by Xue’18 for the purpose to achieve a careful alignment between the comb lines and the wavelength demultiplexing devices (Xue’18, page 2313, right column, second paragraph).
Nikolov fails to explicitly teach and a differential segmented array (DSA) antenna and transmit a wave from the DSA antenna based on the one or more RF inputs,.
Perkins has a beam steering system includes a differential segmented array antenna comprising a plurality of pyramid structures (abstract) and teaches a differential segmented array (DSA) antenna [0016 for a DSA structure and opposing faces of two adjacent pyramid structures form an antenna element]
and transmit a wave from the DSA antenna based on the one or more RF inputs, [0016].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the array calculations as taught by Perkins for the purpose to optimize signal gain between the array and the target (Perkins, 0017).
Regarding Claim 13, Nikolov fails to explicitly teach the one or more microresonators are one or more microring resonators.
Xue’18 has microwave phased array antennas are very attractive to defense applications and high-speed wireless communication (page 2312, abstract) and teaches the one or more microresonators are one or more microring resonators [page 2313, left column, last paragraph for optical frequency comb is generated by pumping a nonlinear microresonator with a continuous wave laser].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the micresonators calculations as taught by Xue’18 for the purpose to achieve a careful alignment between the comb lines and the wavelength demultiplexing devices (Xue’18, page 2313, right column, second paragraph).
Regarding Claim 14, Nikolov fails to explicitly teach the one or more RF inputs are converted to the one or more light inputs by a laser.
Xue’18 has microwave phased array antennas are very attractive to defense applications and high-speed wireless communication (page 2312, abstract) and teaches the one or more RF inputs are converted to the one or more light inputs by a laser [page 2313, left column, last paragraph for optical frequency comb is generated by pumping a nonlinear microresonator with a continuous wave laser].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the micresonators calculations as taught by Xue’18 for the purpose to achieve a careful alignment between the comb lines and the wavelength demultiplexing devices (Xue’18, page 2313, right column, second paragraph).
Regarding Claim 15, Nikolov teaches introduce the time delay to each wavelength channel of the plurality of wavelength channels further comprises: each of the plurality of wavelength channels having a specific time delay [col 7, lines 5-15 for point-to-point mappings may be required to generate the different time delays necessary for pointing an RF planar array in a large number of directions].
Regarding Claim 16, Nikolov fails to explicitly teach generate the microcomb with the plurality of wavelength channels from each of the one or more light inputs using the one or more microring resonators further comprises: level a gain for a range of frequencies generated by the microcomb using an intensity leveler.
Xue’18 has microwave phased array antennas are very attractive to defense applications and high-speed wireless communication (page 2312, abstract) and teaches generate the microcomb with the plurality of wavelength channels from each of the one or more light inputs using the one or more microring resonators further comprises: level a gain for a range of frequencies generated by the microcomb using an intensity leveler [page 2313, right column, first paragraph for comb is modulated by a microwave signal, shaped by a spectral shaper, and passes through a programmable dispersion matrix].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the micresonators calculations as taught by Xue’18 for the purpose to achieve a careful alignment between the comb lines and the wavelength demultiplexing devices (Xue’18, page 2313, right column, second paragraph).
Regarding Claim 17, Nikolov teaches the wavelength selective router is selected from a group consisting of an arrayed waveguide grating, a fiber grating, and a grating filter [col 7, lines 40-50 for Output of electrooptical modulator 225 is provided to first arrayed waveguide grating].
Regarding Claim 20, Nikolov teaches each of the one or more modulators is a Mach-Zehnder modulator [col 7, lines 35-40 for Mach Zehnder modulator to receive data].
Claims 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nikolov et al (US 11,051,089 B1) in view of Xue et al (IEEE, 2018) hereinafter Xue’18 and Perkins et al (US 2023/0133302 A1) as applied to claim 12, above and further in view of Xue et al (OSA, 2016) hereinafter Xue’16.
Regarding Claim 18, Nikolov fails to explicitly teach the one or more microring resonators are one or more Kerr combs.
Xue’16 has microresonator based Kerr frequency comb generation has many attractive features (page 687, abstract) and teaches the one or more microring resonators are one or more Kerr combs [page 692, second paragraph for relative frequencies of the Kerr combs can then be derived based on the reference markers].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the comb calculations as taught by Xue’16 for the purpose to determine the uncertainty of the relative frequency and measurement error (Xue’16, page 692, 2nd paragraph).
Regarding Claim 19, Nikolov fails to explicitly teach the one or more Kerr combs further comprises one or more pump lasers.
Xue’16 has microresonator based Kerr frequency comb generation has many attractive features (page 687, abstract) and teaches the one or more Kerr combs further comprises one or more pump lasers [page 692, second paragraph for relative frequencies of the Kerr combs can then be derived based on the reference markers].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the applicant’s invention for modifying the optical beam techniques, as disclosed by Nikolov, further including the comb calculations as taught by Xue’16 for the purpose of determining the uncertainty of the relative frequency and measurement error (Xue’16, page 692, 2nd paragrpah).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Anderson et al (Applied Optics, 1997) has a device for generating true-time delays optically for microwave signals used in beam steering and beam shaping in phased-array antennas.
/SAMARINA MAKHDOOM/
Examiner, Art Unit 3648