DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-13 are pending, and claims 1-12 are currently under review.
Claim 13 is withdrawn.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 7/20/2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claim 13 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 7/20/2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by McDevitt et al. (US 9,951,400).
Regarding claim 1, McDevitt et al. discloses a copper-zinc alloy having a composition as seen in table 1 below, which falls within the claimed range [abstract, table1 example 5B].
Table 1.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
McDevitt et al. (example 5B)
McDevitt et al. (example B)
Cu
66 – 73
69.59
69.56
Si
1.5 – 2.5
2.08
1.57
P
0.01 – 0.15
0.117
0.063
Pb
0 – 0.1
0.023
0.089
Zn & Impurities
Balance
28.14
28.64
Regarding claims 2-4, McDevitt et al. discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned examples 5B and B of McDevitt et al. do not contain any As or Al (ie. 0%) and contain less than 0.01 weight percent Sn or 0.018 weight percent Sn respectively, which falls within the claimed ranges [table1].
Regarding claims 5-6 and 8-9, McDevitt et al. discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned example 5B composition of McDevitt et al. further falls within the claimed ranges.
Regarding claims 5 and 7-8, McDevitt et al. discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned example B composition of McDevitt et al. further falls within the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 12, McDevitt et al. discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned examples 5B and B further exhibit maximum dezincification depths of much less than 200 micrometers [table2].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McDevitt et al. (US 9,951,400).
Regarding claim 1, McDevitt et al. discloses a copper-zinc alloy having a composition as seen in table 2 below, which falls overlaps with the claimed range [abstract, col.1 ln.15-17, col.2 ln.15-39].
Table 2.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
McDevitt et al.
Cu
66 – 73
66 – 70
Si
1.5 – 2.5
1.3 – 2
P
0.01 – 0.15
0 – 0.15
Pb
0 – 0.1
0 (no lead)
Zn & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claims 2-4, McDevitt et al. discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). McDevitt et al. further teaches that As, Al, and Sn can be omitted (ie. 0%) or further included in amounts of up to 0.15 weight percent As, up to 2.5 weight percent Al, and up to 1.2 weight percent Sn, which overlaps with the claimed ranges [col.2 ln.29-39]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 5-9, McDevitt et al. discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned compositional ranges of McDevitt et al. further overlap with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 10-11, McDevitt et al. discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). McDevitt et al. further teaches mainly alpha phase, wherein non-alpha phases (ie. beta, gamma, kappa) are included in an amount of between 3 to 45 percent, which overlaps with the claimed ranges [col.2 ln.62-67]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 12, McDevitt et al. discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). McDevitt et al. further teaches a dezincification maximum depth of less than 200 micrometers [col.5 ln.39-45, claim1].
Claim(s) 1-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oishi (US 2007/0158002).
Regarding claim 1, Oishi discloses a copper alloy having a composition as seen in table 3 below, which meets the limitation of a copper-zinc alloy [0021]. The examiner notes that the overlap between the composition of Oishi and that as claimed is prima facie obvious. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Table 3.
Element (wt.%)
Claim 1 (wt.%)
Oishi
Cu
66 – 73
58 – 72.5
Si
1.5 – 2.5
0.05 – 2
P
0.01 – 0.15
0.01 – 0.25
Pb
0 – 0.1
0.01 – 4
Zn & Impurities
Balance
Balance
Regarding claims 2-4, Oishi discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). The aforementioned embodiment of Oishi does not expressly contain As, Al, or Sn, such that these elements would be recognized to be absent (ie. 0%) which further meets the claimed ranges. Alternatively, Oishi further teaches optional inclusions of As, Al, and Sn in amounts of 0.02 to 0.2 weight percent, 0.01 to 4 weight percent, and 0.05 to 4 weight percent, respectively, which overlaps with the claimed ranges [0019-0020]. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 5-9, Oishi discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). The examiner notes that the aforementioned composition of Oishi further overlap with the claimed ranges. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Regarding claims 10-11, Oishi discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). Oishi further teaches that the alloy can have a microstructure of alpha and gamma phases, wherein gamma is included in an amount of up to 25 percent, which overlaps with the claimed ranges [abstract]. See MPEP 2144.05(I). Oishi is silent regarding any required beta phases, which one of ordinary skill would understand to mean that beta is not necessarily included (ie. 0%) which meets the claimed range.
Regarding claim 12, Oishi discloses the alloy of claim 1 (see previous). Oishi further teaches examples having dezincification depths much lower than 200 micrometers [tables6-10]. Although these specific example compositions are not relied upon in the current rejections, the examiner submits that the disclosure of Oishi suggests a range of desirable dezincification depths which overlaps with the claimed range as would have been recognized by one of ordinary skill. See MPEP 2144.05(I).
Conclusion
/NICHOLAS A WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1734