DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4-9, 11-16 and 18-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TSENG et al PG PUB 2023/0066448 in view of PARK et al PG PUB 2025/0071782.
Re Claims 1, 8 and 15, TSENG et al teaches in figure 5a, a gNB configuring a SL DRX configuration for transmitting a SCI between first and second UEs wherein figure 5a teaches the configuration indicating a SL-DRX cycle with SL-DRX On-Duration Opportunity for SL-DRX off-period and Sidelink Sensing window within the SL-DRX off- period [0151] wherein the UE (the first wireless device comprising a processor, memory and CRM) transmits a first in the SL-DRX off period (outside of an active time of SL DRX), during the sidelink Sensing window and further transmits a second SCI in the SL-DRX off-period for a second stage SCI [0152 0172 0229].
TSENG et al fails to explicitly teach “a second SCI scheduled by the first SCI”. However, PARK et al teaches a second SCI is scheduled by a first SCI [See abstract].
By combining the teachings, PARK et al teaches in figure 10, S1030, based on receiving the scheduled second SCI, the device may determine to start the DRX configuration based on a success of decoding the second SCI [0190]. One skilled fin the art would have been motivated to have scheduled the second SCI in the first SCI to verify SL data connection to improve reliability. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled to have combined the teachings.
Re Claims 2, 9 and 16, TSENG et al teaches the second UE receiving the SL DRX configuration indicating the sidelink sensing window [0152] of a sensing operation for the second wireless device.
Re Claims 4-7, 11-14 and 18-20, TSENG et al teaches in figure 1, the UE (the second wireless) receiving the sidelink configuration parameters from the the gNB (a base station) such as the SL-DRX cycle, sidelink sensing window time period, SL-DRX On-Duration (the active time) [0159 0172] for monitoring the SCI wherein figure 5a teaches the sidelink sensing window in the SL-DRX off-period for transmitting the second SCI.
Re Claims 21-23, TSENG teaches in figure 5a, the SL sensing window in the SL-DRX off period for transmitting the second SCI or second stage SCI [0229] to the second UE via the PSSCH.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 2, 4-9, 11-16 and 18-23have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANDREW LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475