DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on or reply to the remarks of 4/17/2026. The instant application has claims 1-23 pending. The system, method and medium for decrypting an file sent by the client to server based on executable code and access keys. There a total of 23 claims.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
The applicants filing of terminal disclaimer obviates the double patenting rejection.
The applicant recent amendments do not add any new subject matter to the claims. The claims merely re-arranges words that is already present. The claims mentions the files to access, access keys and access package which was already present before the Final Rejection of 12/18/2025. Thus no new or narrowing amendments are added to the claims.
Nevertheless, the applicant argues that upon decryption request the server executes the code that generates access keys that is transmitted with access package.
Malhotra discloses the access key being generated during backup requests see Col 7 Ln 18-32. And further discloses the policy being used to generate the keys see Fig. 3 item 306. That is, an policy can be implemented where an decryption request is sent to carry out the generating of keys or an backup request which would involve decrypting file and storing. Furthermore, the administrator or user can allow the access to file based backup request or policy that is set for decryption request see Col 4 Ln 26-47.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: The encrypted file being decrypted based on access information, file information, policies and access keys.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 107798073 to Jahid in view of US Patent Pub 2016/0285835 to Linga and further in view of US Patent 8560785 to Malhotra.
Regarding claim 1, 22-23, Jahid discloses A method for data security at a server, comprising: receiving, by the server from an access client, an access request for a file at the access client to be accessed, that includes access information and file information, for a file at the access client to be accessed (Fig. 4 item 410 & Abstract, the ticket issued for retrieving the key to be used for encryption/decryption & Col 11 LN 1-34, the data message and header includes information about the MAC address and files to be retrieved)); generating, by the server, an access package that includes one or more access keys and executable code that is usable by at the access client to access the file(Col 3 LN 54-13, the keys are associated with policies and rules for accessing the files).
But Jahid does not disclose transmitting, by the server, the executable code to the access client to access the file using the one or more access keys.
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Linga discloses transmitting, by the server, access package that includes the one or more access keys and the executable code to the access client for the execution at the access client to access the file using the one or more access keys( Abstract & Fig. 13 item 1332 & Par. 0053 & Par. 0050-0051, the files are decrypted for the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Jahid invention to incorporate transmitting, by the server, the executable code to the access client to access the file using the one or more access keys for the advantage of the user’s to view the file based on policy as taught in Linga see Par. 0055.
Jahid nor Linga discloses wherein the file includes a payload encrypted using a first key of one or more access keys and one or more encrypted data packs that are encrypted using at least one second key of the one or more access keys; the executable code being generated in association with the access request and operable with the one or more access keys to enforce one or more file access policies associated with the file, wherein the executable code is not pre-installed at the access client, and the use of one or more file access policies.
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Malhotra discloses wherein the file includes a payload encrypted using a first key of one or more access keys and one or more encrypted data packs that are encrypted using at least one second key of the one or more access keys(Fig. 3 item 310, keys being associated with catalog & Col 7 ln 18-41, the metadata and image is encrypted with separate keys); the executable code configured to be executed at the access client to access the file, the executable code being generated in association with the decryption request, included in the access package with one or more access keys and operable with the one or more access keys to enforce one or more file access policies associated with the file, wherein the executable code is not pre-installed at the access client, and the use of one or more file access policies(Fig. 3 item 306, 314, the levels of access based on policies & Col 7 Ln 7-35 & Col 4 Ln 15-47, keys from backup management software & Col 7 Ln 18-32 & Col 4 Ln 26-47 & Fig. 3 item 306, the policy can be implemented with decryption initiating an generating keys or an backup request initiating an generating keys).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Jahid invention to incorporate wherein the file includes a payload encrypted using a first key of one or more access keys and one or more encrypted data packs that are encrypted using at least one second key of the one or more access keys; the executable code being generated in association with the access request and operable with the one or more access keys to enforce one or more file access policies associated with the file, wherein the executable code is not pre-installed at the access client, and the use of one or more file access policies for the advantage of providing levels of access to file based on roles as taught in Malhotra see Col 4 Ln 27-48.
Regarding claim 2. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the access request comprises: receiving, by the server, an encryption request and the file information(Fig. 3 item 350, 370, 373, the ticket includes keyID and other information for retrieval).
Regarding claim 3. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 2, wherein generating the access package comprises: generating the access package that includes a data pack comprising an indication of one or more file access policies associated with the file, wherein the data pack is encrypted with the file using the one or more access keys(Col 12 Ln 23-39, the keys are used based on tickets and rules for decryption)
Regarding claim 4. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the one or more file access policies include read access, write access, display constraints, or a combination thereof(Col 10 Ln 34-49, the decrypting based on rules).
Regarding claim 5. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 2, wherein generating the access package comprises: generating the access package that includes a data pack comprising an indication of ownership information associated with the file, wherein the data pack is encrypted with the file using the one or more access keys(Col 15 Ln 5-16, the keys retrieval ticket has authentication parameters) .
Regarding claim 6. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 2, wherein receiving the encryption request comprises: receiving, by the server, an indication of one or more file access policies associated the file(Fig. 2 item 210A-210C, the key policies).
Regarding claim 7. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the access client executes the executable code to generate an encrypted file by encrypting a payload and one or more data packs using the one or more access keys(Col 15 Ln 5-16, the keys retrieval ticket) .
Regarding claim 8. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 7, wherein encrypting the one or more data packs comprises: encrypting the one or more data packs that include an indication of one or more file access policies, file ownership information, a file access audit log, or a combination thereof(Fig. 6 item 650, 615, the decryption based on policies).
Regarding claim 9. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra,Linga discloses the method of claim 1, wherein generating the access request comprises: generating, by the server, a decryption request and the file information, wherein the executable code includes code that is used to decrypt the file(Abstract & Fig. 13 item 1332 & Par. 0053 & Par. 0050-0051, the files are decrypted for the user).
Regarding claim 10. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 9, wherein generating the access package comprises: generating the access package that includes a data pack comprising one or more updated file access policies(Fig. 6 item 650, 615, the decryption based on policies).
Regarding claim 11. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra,Linga discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the access client identifies validation information that includes access client information, computer information, device information, geolocation information, an authentication token, or a combination thereof, wherein the decryption request includes an indication of the validation information(Par. 0047, the user ‘s location is added to metadata & Par. 0072).
Regarding claim 12. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the access client identifies that the file is associated with the access client based at least in part on metadata associated with the file, wherein the file includes a payload encrypted using a first key of the one or more access keys and one or more encrypted data packs that are encrypted using at least one second key of the one or more access keys, wherein the decryption request is transmitted to the server based at least in part on the file being associated with the access client(Col 4 LN 14-41, the keys are used).
Regarding claim 13. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the access client executes the executable code to decrypting the file using the one or more access keys(Col 8 LN 9-29, the keys are associated the file is used to decrypt).
Regarding claim 14. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the access client displays a payload of the file according to one or more access policies associated with the file(Col 10 Ln 34-49, the decrypting based on rules). .
Regarding claim 15. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the one or more access policies include read access, write access, display constraints, or a combination thereof(Col 10 Ln 34-49, the decrypting based on rules). .
Regarding claim 16. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the one or more access policies are included in a data pack that was decrypted with the file using the one or more access keys(Abstract & Fig. 3 item 350, the KeyID for decryption)
Regarding claim 17. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Linga discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: updating a file access audit log to include device information associated with the access client, user information, geographic location information, or a combination thereof. (Par. 0047, the user ‘s location is added to metadata & Par. 0072).
Regarding claim 18. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: identifying, based at least in part on decrypting the file, a payload and one or more data packs in the file, wherein the one or more data packs include an indication of one or more file access policies, ownership information, a file access audit log, or a combination thereof Fig. 6 item 650, 615, the decryption based on policies).
Regarding claim 19. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: instantiating, in the memory associated with the access client and based at least in part on executing the executable code, an access object that is used to decrypt or encrypt the file, wherein the access object is removed from the memory associated with the access client after decryption or encryption of the file(Abstract & Fig. 3 item 350, the KeyID for decryption) .
Regarding claim 20. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra,Linga discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the server, a decryption request and the file information, wherein the executable code includes code that is used to overwrite contents of the file(Fig. 2A item 228, 229 & Par. 0050-0051, the decryption based on code)
Regarding claim 21. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Linga discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the access request comprises: receiving the access request that includes the access information comprising a geographical location of a user device executing the access client, device information associated with the user device, network information associated with the user device, an authentication token associated with the access client, or a combination thereof(Par. 0047, the user ‘s location is added to metadata & Par. 0072). .
Conclusion
All claims are identical to or patentably indistinct from, or have unity of invention with claims in the application prior to the entry of the submission under 37 CFR 1.114 (that is, restriction (including a lack of unity of invention) would not be proper) and all claims could have been finally rejected on the grounds and art of record in the next Office action if they had been entered in the application prior to entry under 37 CFR 1.114. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL even though it is a first action after the filing of a request for continued examination and the submission under 37 CFR 1.114. See MPEP § 706.07(b). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VENKAT PERUNGAVOOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492 Email: venkatanarayan.perungavoor@uspto.gov