DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on or reply to the remarks of 10/28/2025. The instant application has claims 1-23 pending. The system, method and medium for decrypting an file sent by the client to server based on executable code and access keys. There a total of 23 claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested: The encrypted file being decrypted based on access information, file information, policies and access keys.
Double Patenting
Claim 1-23 rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-21 of U.S. Patent No.12061706. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are an broader version of claims of ‘706 patent, i.e. the instant claims are anticipated by ‘706 patent claims.
US App #18770817
US Patent # 12061706
Comments
1. A method for data security at a server, comprising: receiving, by the server from an access client, an access request for a file at the access client to be accessed, that includes access information and file information; generating, by the server, an access package that includes one or more access keys and executable code that is usable by at the access client to access the file; and transmitting, by the server, the executable code to the access client to access the file using the one or more access keys.
1. A method for data security at an access client, comprising: identifying that a file is associated with the access client based at least in part on metadata associated with the file, wherein the file includes a payload encrypted using a first key of one or more access keys and one or more encrypted data packs that are encrypted using at least one second key of the one or more access keys; transmitting, to a server, an access request that includes access information and file information for the file to be accessed, wherein transmitting the access request comprises: transmitting, to the server, a decryption request and the file information, wherein the decryption request is transmitted to the server based at least in part on the file being associated with the access client; receiving, from the server based at least in part on transmitting the access request, an access package that includes executable code and the one or more access keys, wherein the executable code includes code that is used to decrypt the file; executing, by the access client, the executable code to access the file using the one or more access keys; and removing the access package from memory associated with the access client.
The patent (US 12061706) anticipates claims (1-23) of instant application, because the patent claims (1-21, genus) teaches all the elements/features of the examined claim (a-b, sub-genus, e.g. has less of the same limitations than the patent). Claims of instant application are effectively a subset of the claims in the patent. Thus, the entire scope of the patent reference claim falls within the scope of the examined claim. Therefore, a patent to the instant applicant would improperly extend the right to exclude granted by a patent to the sub-genus should it issue after the genus (conflicting patent).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent 107798073 to Jahid in view of US Patent Pub 2016/0285835 to Linga and further in view of US Patent 8560785 to Malhotra.
Regarding claim 1, 22-23, Jahid discloses A method for data security at a server, comprising: receiving, by the server from an access client, an access request for a file at the access client to be accessed, that includes access information and file information, for a file at the access client to be accessed (Fig. 4 item 410 & Abstract, the ticket issued for retrieving the key to be used for encryption/decryption & Col 11 LN 1-34, the data message and header includes information about the MAC address and files to be retrieved)); generating, by the server, an access package that includes one or more access keys and executable code that is usable by at the access client to access the file(Col 3 LN 54-13, the keys are associated with policies and rules for accessing the files).
But Jahid does not disclose transmitting, by the server, the executable code to the access client to access the file using the one or more access keys.
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Linga discloses transmitting, by the server, the executable code to the access client to access the file using the one or more access keys( Abstract & Fig. 13 item 1332 & Par. 0053 & Par. 0050-0051, the files are decrypted for the user).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Jahid invention to incorporate transmitting, by the server, the executable code to the access client to access the file using the one or more access keys for the advantage of the user’s to view the file based on policy as taught in Linga see Par. 0055.
Jahid nor Linga discloses wherein the file includes a payload encrypted using a first key of one or more access keys and one or more encrypted data packs that are encrypted using at least one second key of the one or more access keys; the executable code being generated in association with the access request and operable with the one or more access keys to enforce one or more file access policies associated with the file, wherein the executable code is not pre-installed at the access client, and the use of one or more file access policies.
In the same field of endeavor as the claimed invention, Malhotra discloses wherein the file includes a payload encrypted using a first key of one or more access keys and one or more encrypted data packs that are encrypted using at least one second key of the one or more access keys(Fig. 3 item 310, keys being associated with catalog & Col 7 ln 18-41, the metadata and image is encrypted with separate keys); the executable code being generated in association with the access request and operable with the one or more access keys to enforce one or more file access policies associated with the file, wherein the executable code is not pre-installed at the access client, and the use of one or more file access policies(Fig. 3 item 306, 314, the levels of access based on policies & Col 7 Ln 7-35 & Col 4 Ln 15-47, keys from backup management software).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of claimed invention to modify Jahid invention to incorporate wherein the file includes a payload encrypted using a first key of one or more access keys and one or more encrypted data packs that are encrypted using at least one second key of the one or more access keys; the executable code being generated in association with the access request and operable with the one or more access keys to enforce one or more file access policies associated with the file, wherein the executable code is not pre-installed at the access client, and the use of one or more file access policies for the advantage of providing levels of access to file based on roles as taught in Malhotra see Col 4 Ln 27-48.
Regarding claim 2. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the access request comprises: receiving, by the server, an encryption request and the file information(Fig. 3 item 350, 370, 373, the ticket includes keyID and other information for retrieval).
Regarding claim 3. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 2, wherein generating the access package comprises: generating the access package that includes a data pack comprising an indication of one or more file access policies associated with the file, wherein the data pack is encrypted with the file using the one or more access keys(Col 12 Ln 23-39, the keys are used based on tickets and rules for decryption)
Regarding claim 4. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 3, wherein the one or more file access policies include read access, write access, display constraints, or a combination thereof(Col 10 Ln 34-49, the decrypting based on rules).
Regarding claim 5. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 2, wherein generating the access package comprises: generating the access package that includes a data pack comprising an indication of ownership information associated with the file, wherein the data pack is encrypted with the file using the one or more access keys(Col 15 Ln 5-16, the keys retrieval ticket has authentication parameters) .
Regarding claim 6. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 2, wherein receiving the encryption request comprises: receiving, by the server, an indication of one or more file access policies associated the file(Fig. 2 item 210A-210C, the key policies).
Regarding claim 7. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the access client executes the executable code to generate an encrypted file by encrypting a payload and one or more data packs using the one or more access keys(Col 15 Ln 5-16, the keys retrieval ticket) .
Regarding claim 8. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 7, wherein encrypting the one or more data packs comprises: encrypting the one or more data packs that include an indication of one or more file access policies, file ownership information, a file access audit log, or a combination thereof(Fig. 6 item 650, 615, the decryption based on policies).
Regarding claim 9. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra,Linga discloses the method of claim 1, wherein generating the access request comprises: generating, by the server, a decryption request and the file information, wherein the executable code includes code that is used to decrypt the file(Abstract & Fig. 13 item 1332 & Par. 0053 & Par. 0050-0051, the files are decrypted for the user).
Regarding claim 10. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 9, wherein generating the access package comprises: generating the access package that includes a data pack comprising one or more updated file access policies(Fig. 6 item 650, 615, the decryption based on policies).
Regarding claim 11. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra,Linga discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the access client identifies validation information that includes access client information, computer information, device information, geolocation information, an authentication token, or a combination thereof, wherein the decryption request includes an indication of the validation information(Par. 0047, the user ‘s location is added to metadata & Par. 0072).
Regarding claim 12. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the access client identifies that the file is associated with the access client based at least in part on metadata associated with the file, wherein the file includes a payload encrypted using a first key of the one or more access keys and one or more encrypted data packs that are encrypted using at least one second key of the one or more access keys, wherein the decryption request is transmitted to the server based at least in part on the file being associated with the access client(Col 4 LN 14-41, the keys are used).
Regarding claim 13. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 9, wherein the access client executes the executable code to decrypting the file using the one or more access keys(Col 8 LN 9-29, the keys are associated the file is used to decrypt).
Regarding claim 14. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 13, wherein the access client displays a payload of the file according to one or more access policies associated with the file(Col 10 Ln 34-49, the decrypting based on rules). .
Regarding claim 15. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the one or more access policies include read access, write access, display constraints, or a combination thereof(Col 10 Ln 34-49, the decrypting based on rules). .
Regarding claim 16. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 14, wherein the one or more access policies are included in a data pack that was decrypted with the file using the one or more access keys(Abstract & Fig. 3 item 350, the KeyID for decryption)
Regarding claim 17. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Linga discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: updating a file access audit log to include device information associated with the access client, user information, geographic location information, or a combination thereof. (Par. 0047, the user ‘s location is added to metadata & Par. 0072).
Regarding claim 18. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 13, further comprising: identifying, based at least in part on decrypting the file, a payload and one or more data packs in the file, wherein the one or more data packs include an indication of one or more file access policies, ownership information, a file access audit log, or a combination thereof Fig. 6 item 650, 615, the decryption based on policies).
Regarding claim 19. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Jahid discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: instantiating, in the memory associated with the access client and based at least in part on executing the executable code, an access object that is used to decrypt or encrypt the file, wherein the access object is removed from the memory associated with the access client after decryption or encryption of the file(Abstract & Fig. 3 item 350, the KeyID for decryption) .
Regarding claim 20. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra,Linga discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising: receiving, by the server, a decryption request and the file information, wherein the executable code includes code that is used to overwrite contents of the file(Fig. 2A item 228, 229 & Par. 0050-0051, the decryption based on code)
Regarding claim 21. The combined method of Jahid, Linga and Malhotra, Linga discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the access request comprises: receiving the access request that includes the access information comprising a geographical location of a user device executing the access client, device information associated with the user device, network information associated with the user device, an authentication token associated with the access client, or a combination thereof(Par. 0047, the user ‘s location is added to metadata & Par. 0072). .
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/VENKAT PERUNGAVOOR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2492 Email: venkatanarayan.perungavoor@uspto.gov