DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: [“state synchronizing unit for”; multi-user experience unit for” and “computing unit for” in claims 10-14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 5, the phrase “all object state” is indefinite.
Claims 8, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The specification fails to disclose how “the computation results being information on at least one of an A* pathfinding agent or a machine learning-power agent”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6, 9-12, 15-17 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kavallierou (US 20200346109).
Regarding claims 1, 10 and 15, Kavallierou discloses a system comprising: receiving user information from at least one user, the user information comprising at least one of an object state or visual effect data related to a game (see paragraph 0041; 0048 and 0050); determining, based on a channel of the game in which the at least one user is playing, whether the user information of the at least one user requires cloud computing for processing (paragraph 0043 and 0045)); and in response to determining that the user information requires cloud computing, transmitting the user information of the at least one user to a computing server for processing the user information to generate graphics-related results for the channel (paragraphs 0043 and 0049). [regarding claims 10 and 15, see Fig. 6, server (604). It is also noted that the “sever” is --an intended use limitation--].
Regarding claims 2, 11 and 16, see paragraph 0049.
Regarding claims 3, 4, 12 and 17 see paragraph 0051.
Regarding claim 5, see paragraph 6.
Regarding claim 6, see paragraph 0049.
Regarding claim 9, see paragraphs 0027 and 0067.
Regarding claim 20, see Fig. 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 13 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kavallierou(US 20200346109) in view of Stowe et al. (WO 02/17044 A2).
Regarding claims 7, 13 and 18, Kavallierou teaches wherein the object state comprises at least one of animation state (see Figs 1-4 and paragraph 0006). However, Kavallierou does not the request is for a rendering process to be performed by the computing server, the rendering process being at least one of global illumination, planar reflection, or probe reflection. Nonetheless, in a similar field of endeavor, Stowe et al. discloses (pages 38-39) that it is well known in the rendering process to utilize global illumination of render images of scene (see paragraph 39). Giving the teachings of Stowe et al., a person having ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to modify Kavallierou such that the request is for a rendering process to be performed by the computing server, wherein the rendering process being at least one of global illumination, so as to improve the visibility and quality of virtual scene.
Claim(s) 8, 14 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kavallierou(US 20200346109) in view of Stowe et al. (WO 02/17044 A2) further in view of US 20230109654 (Benedetto et al.)
Regarding claims 8, 14 and 19, the combined teachings of Kavallierou and Stowe et al. (discussed in regards claims 7, 13 and 18, above) does not disclose the computation results being information on at least one of an A* pathfinding agent or a machine learning – powered agent.
In a similar filed of endeavor, Benedetto discloses a gaming system applying the correction value to the controller input to increase an accuracy of the controller input. Benedetto et al. further teaching that the AI model may also use a machine learning model that is used to predict the correction and gearing values to apply to the controller input of the user to help the user increase an accuracy of the controller input when performing an action in the game.
Given the teachings of Benedetto, a person having ordinary skills in the art would have been motivated to modify the combined system of Kavallierou and Stowe et al. such that computation results being information on at least one of machine learning -powered agent generate visualization effects which maybe beneficial to the user when participating in the game.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/GLENTON B BURGESS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2454