Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-5, 8-13, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kaneda (US 20200125301 A1).
Referring to claims 10-11:
Kaneda disclose a method of controlling an information processing apparatus (102,103) comprising a display, at least one processor; and a memory coupled to the at least one processor, the memory storing an application program that supports printing software which is able to transmit print data to printing apparatuses supplied by multiple manufacturers, the method comprising:
causing the display to display a first setting item (741) regarding double-sided printing and a second setting item (761) regarding binding direction, a third setting item being displayed by the printing software, setting values of the third setting item including a first setting value (on registration screen 740) of the first setting item and a second setting value (on registration screen 760) of the second setting item; and
outputting print instruction (par. 62, 108, 96) corresponding to a user selection for the first setting item and the second setting item.
Referring to claims 12-13:
Kaneda disclose a user selecting, via the first setting item, a setting value regarding double-sided printing or a setting value regarding single-sided printing, and selecting, via the second setting item, a setting value regarding short side-binding or a setting value regarding long side-binding (par. 75, 77, Fig. 7C & 7E).
Referring to claim 16:
Kaneda disclose setting values of the third setting item includes a setting value regarding single-sided printing, a setting value regarding short side-binding for binding direction of double-sided printing, and a setting value regarding long side-binding for binding direction of double-sided printing (setting values entered on registration screens 740 and 760).
Referring to claim 17:
Kaneda disclose the setting values of the third setting item are defined by Internet Printing Protocol (IPP) (par. 49-52).
Referring to claims 1-5 and 8-9:
The computer-readable storage medium in Kaneda (par. 119) stores an application program which causes an information processing apparatus to perform the above method recited in claims 10-13 and 16-17.
Referring to claim 18:
The application program causes, when executed by the at least one processor, the information processing apparatus in Kaneda (102,103) to perform the above method recited in claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneda as applied to claims 10 and above, and further in view of Ferlitsch et al (US 20080123140 A1).
Referring to claims 14-15:
While Kaneda does not disclose that the user cannot select setting values of the second setting item in a case where single-sided printing is selected via the first setting item, and the user can select the setting values of the second setting item in a case where double-sided printing is selected via the first setting item, nor that the display is caused to display the second setting item, in response to double-sided printing being selected via the first setting item, this is well-known as disclosed, for example, in Ferlitsch et al (par. 46).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have Kaneda in view of Ferlitsch et al whereby the user cannot select setting values of the second setting item in a case where single-sided printing is selected via the first setting item, and the user can select the setting values of the second setting item in a case where double-sided printing is selected via the first setting item, and the display is caused to display the second setting item, in response to double-sided printing being selected via the first setting item in order to avoid entering printing and finishing settings that are in conflict or are not mutually permitted.
Referring to claims 6-7:
The computer-readable storage medium in Kaneda (par. 119) stores an application program which causes an information processing apparatus to perform the above method recited in claims 14-15.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed (i.e., a descriptive title that distinguishes the invention and is not a generic or general description). The new title should take into account any amendments to the claims to best indicate the claimed invention.
The title must be as short and specific as possible (see 37 CFR 1.72(a)). Applicant should distill a description of the claimed invention into as few words as possible to capture the essence of the claimed invention. Rather than reciting statutory categories (apparatus, method, product) and some generic descriptor (e.g., information processing), a title that is specific, but characterizes the essence or key aspect(s) of the claimed invention, should be submitted.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 12 July 2024 filed in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner.
The relevance of the cited document(s), not otherwise applied above or indicated below, can be found in Parent Application no. 18/457,467.
Cited Art
The prior art and other references made of record and not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Akashi et al (US 8139236 B2) disclose an information processing apparatus comprises: a loading unit which loads function information representing a function of the post-printing processing device; an identification unit which identifies a printing function processible by the printing device and a post-processing function processible after printing by the post-printing processing device; a display control unit which displays a setting window for setting the printing function and post-processing function; a data generation unit which generates printing data to be printed by the printing device; a setting information generation unit which generates post-processing setting information subjected to post-printing processing by the post-printing processing device; and wherein the printing data is transmitted to the printing device, and the post-processing setting information is transmitted to the post-printing processing device. See Fig. 20.
Kujirai et al (US 8497999 B2) disclose previewing on a display prior to printing, device functions and print specifications. Preview of double-sided faces is concurrently provided when double-sided printing is specified. Display is performed by generation of data which allows print preview that reflects consideration of device information and document data. Data is generated for perspective-reverse-face preview when page-specification information is set for double-sided faces. See Figs. 27 and 29-32.
Takeo et al (US 10956095 B2) disclose in a case where it is determined that a printer capable of performing printing to which the first and second print settings are applied is not possible, information indicating that the first print setting and the second print setting conflicting with each other is stored as prohibited settings information. The print settings are controlled based on the prohibited settings information.
Takahashi (US 20060221358 A1) disclose a property setting window related to finishing of the printer driver (Fig. 20). "Single-Sided Printing" or "Double-Sided Printing" is designated in a "Printing Method" pull-down list box. If the "Combine Sheets with Different Sizes or Directions" check box is not turned on, the binding direction is selected from "Bind Long Side (Left)", "Bind Long Side (Right)", "Bind Short Side (Up)", and "Bind Short Side (Down)" in a "Binding Direction" pull-down list box.
Nagai (US 20080088865 A1) discloses information processing device comprising a memory unit that stores a combination of set values (referred to as "preset data") relating to a plurality of printing setting items, and information of printing setting items (referred to as "temporary setting items") for which set values can be specified temporarily for the preset data among the plurality of printing setting items in a state where the combination and the information are associated with each other. See Fig. 11.
Akiyama (US 20150227327 A1) discloses a storage unit that stores therein correspondence information indicating a correspondence relation between a plurality of different print settings and achievement expected values of the achievement objective expected when the respective print settings are applied to printing, an extracting unit that extracts one or more print settings, in each of which the achievement expected value meets the target value, based on the correspondence information, and a display unit that displays setting information indicating the one or more print settings extracted by the extracting unit. See Fig. 23 and 25.
Miyajima et al (US 20200097224 A1) disclose a printing system includes an image formation apparatus, an information processing apparatus, and a terminal apparatus. The terminal apparatus includes a reception unit configured to receive conditions of capabilities required for an image formation apparatus to be registered on a virtual printer, and a first transmission unit configured to transmit the conditions received by the reception unit to the information processing apparatus. The image formation apparatus includes a second transmission unit configured to transmit, to the information processing apparatus, capability information indicating a capability of the image formation apparatus. The information processing apparatus includes a registration unit configured to register the image formation apparatus on the virtual printer in a case where the capability indicated in the capability information transmitted by the second transmission unit satisfies the conditions transmitted by the first transmission unit. IPP message data indicates the capability information about the MFP 111, including settings for color, finishings (staple, punch), sides-supported (one-sided, two-sided-long-edge, two-sided-short-edge indicating that long-side binding and short-side binding are available in two-sided printing).
Kanai (US 20200110564 A1) discloses a printing apparatus of the present invention comprises a memory device that stores a set of instructions; and at least one processor that executes the set of instructions to: notify an information processing apparatus of information indicating a combination of print settings that conflict with each other, receive print settings set in the information processing apparatus while avoiding the combination indicated by the information, determine whether the received print settings include settings that conflict with each other, based on information which is different from the notified information and indicates another combination of print settings that conflict with each other, and notify the information processing apparatus of a result of the determination.
/Scott A Rogers/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2683
07 February 2026