DETAILED ACTION
This non-final office action is responsive to Applicants' application filed on 07/12/24. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination and are pending for the reasons indicated herein below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 9, 17, 20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Jin et al. (US 20230198408 A1)
Regarding claim 1. Jin teaches an apparatus [fig 1] comprising: a power converter [130], the power converter comprising direct current (DC) output terminals [see P1-Pn]; and a controller [120], wherein the controller is configured to: receive a first measured voltage [P12, ¶27] at the DC output terminals, determine the first measured voltage is equal to zero [see ¶27] set the power converter to output a first output voltage [i.e. first detected voltage, 12v], based on the first measured voltage being determined to equal zero [during 1st pre-charging stage ¶27-¶34], after setting the power converter to output the first output voltage [see 2, 12v], receive a second measured voltage at the DC output terminals [i.e. P12], determine the second measured voltage is equal to the first output voltage [going to 48v controller detects output is equal to 12v (i.e. first output voltage) to begin ramping to 48v],
send query communications [Components determining if they are in agreement with corresponding voltage values. See fig 4, 402] to additional devices connected to the DC output terminals,
based on the second measured voltage being determined to equal the first output voltage [function in 401], and after the additional devices have responded to the query communications [i.e. 402], set the power converter to output a second output voltage [i.e. set the output to 48v].
Regarding claim 2. Jin teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the query communications are power line communications on the DC output terminals [interpreted as setting second output voltage through conductive means].
Regarding claim 4. Jin teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the controller is configured to determine the second measured voltage is equal to the first output voltage for a predetermined time [detecting output is equal to 12v to commence second output to 48v], and based on the second measured voltage being determined to equal the first output voltage for the predetermined time, set the power converter to output the second output voltage [¶27].
Regarding claim 9. Jin teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the power converter further comprises input terminals configured to connect to a power source [i.e. 3], and wherein the power converter comprises converter circuitry [see 30].
Regarding claim 17. Jin teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the DC output terminals are connected to a DC bus and the additional devices are connected to the DC bus [input bus capacitor to 130 acts as a DC bus].
Regarding method claim 20, note that under MPEP 2112.02, the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device "inherently performs the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed Cir. 1986). Therefore the previous rejections based on the apparatus will not be repeated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 20230198408 A1) in view of Denning et al. (US 20230101752 A1)
Regarding claim 3. Jin teaches the apparatus of claim 1, except for wherein the query communications are wireless communications.
Denning teaches except for wherein the query communications are wireless communications [¶111]. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the features of Denning in order to provide a means that incorporates wireless communication to facilitate remote operation and real-time monitoring, such a configuration enhances operational convenience, safety, and flexibility enabling adjustments from a distance.
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jin et al. (US 20230198408 A1)
Regarding claim 7. Jin teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the first output voltage is below 50 volts DC [i.e. 12v], except for the second output voltage is between 50 volts DC and 1500 volts DC. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify a specific threshold value which would better align the circuit towards design requirements, since it has been held that discovering an optimum value of a result effective variable involves only routine skill in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-6,8,10-16 and 18-19 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims, and if the claim objections stated above were overcome.
Examiner Note
The examiner cites particular columns and lines numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Conclusion
/BRYAN R PEREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2838