DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ arguments filed April 23, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Firstly, applicant argues the developing cartridge 27 taught by Kamimura is detachable and thus teaches away from “the first side wall is in contract with the developing unit, thereby fixing the developing unit to the first side wall.” This argument is not persuasive since the claim language uses the language “fixing the developing unit to the first side wall,” which Kamimura does when the unit is attached. Applicant is arguing as if the language said, “permanently fixing the developing unit to the first side wall,” [emphasis added]. As such Kamimura’s teaching of installing the developing cartridge anticipates fixing the developing unit.
Secondly applicant argues Hashimoto neither discloses nor suggests that the first positioning plate 28 supports the development cartridge. This argument is persuasive. The argument has been clarified to show that process unit 3 includes the developing apparatus 10 (¶0031) and is attached (fixed) to the side wall 28as shown in FIG. 7.
Lastly, applicant argues Kamimura fails to teach the side wall being made of metal since Kamimura also teaches an inner wall made of resin and the teaching of the inner wall does not apply to the side wall. This argument is not persuasive since. The teaching of Kamimura was to show that it is known to make the side walls of either material, Kamimura teaches “[0129] Each of the pair of side plates 103 may be formed of a material with a higher rigidity than the resin material that forms each of the drum subunits 28, front beam 101, and rear beam 102. The material of the metal with the higher rigidity may be, for example, metal or glass fiber reinforced resin, and/or preferably, a steel plate.” Thus Kamimura is being used to teach modifying the side wall taught by Hashimoto, as thus the argument is not persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. US 2016/0291527 A1 (Hashimoto) and Kamimura US 2007/0147889 A1 (Kamimura).
Regarding claim 2, Hashimoto teaches a drum unit comprising:
a first photosensitive drum (11) rotatable about a first axis extending in a first direction (FIG. 2);
a second photosensitive drum (11) rotatable about a second axis extending in the first direction;
a developing unit comprising:
a magnetic roller (13) rotatable about a third axis extending in the first direction, the magnetic roller facing a surface of the first photosensitive drum (¶0035-¶0036);
a developer container (10) configured to accommodate carrier; and
a first side wall (plate 28) positioned at one end of the first photosensitive drum in the first direction, the first side wall supporting the developing unit and both of the first photosensitive drum (via hole 40) and the second photosensitive drum (via hole 40), (FIG. 2-4);
wherein the first side wall (28) is in contact with the developing unit (via the process unit 3), thereby fixing the developing unit to the first side wall (¶0149).
Hashimoto differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the first side wall being made of metal. However, it is well known for frame plates to be made of metal or resin. Kamimura teaches the first side wall being made of metal (¶0129). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the plate 28 taught by Hashimoto out of metal as taught Kamimura since Kamimura teaches that it is known to make the material out of metal or resin (¶0129).
Regarding claim 3, Hashimoto and Kamimura teach the drum unit according to claim 2. Furthermore, Hashimoto teaches a second side wall (29) positioned at the another end of the first photosensitive drum in the first direction (FIG. 9), the second side wall (29) supporting both of the first photosensitive drum and the second photosensitive drum.
Hashimoto differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the second side wall being made of metal. However, it is well known for frame plates to be made of metal or resin. Kamimura teaches the first side wall being made of metal (¶0129). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the plate 29 taught by Hashimoto out of metal as taught Kamimura since Kamimura teaches that it is known to make the material out of metal or resin (¶0129).
Regarding claim 4, Hashimoto and Kamimura teach the drum unit according to claim 2. Furthermore, Hashimoto teaches a first resin wall (34) being positioned at the one end of the first photosensitive drum;
a second resin wall (35) being positioned at another end of the first photosensitive drum, and
wherein the first side wall (28) and the first photosensitive drum are positioned between the first resin wall and the second resin wall in the first direction (FIG. 2).
Hashimoto differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: the first resin wall being made of resin and the second resin wall being made of resin. However, it is well known for frame plates to be made of metal or resin. Kamimura teaches the first side plate and second side plate being made of metal (¶0129). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to make the plates 34 AND 35 taught by Hashimoto out of metal as taught Kamimura since Kamimura teaches that it is known to make the material out of metal or resin (¶0129).
Regarding claim 5, Hashimoto and Kamimura teach the drum unit according to claim 3. Furthermore, Hashimoto teaches the first side wall further supports the developing unit (FIG. 2).
Regarding claim 6 Hashimoto and Kamimura teach the drum unit according to claim 4. Furthermore, Hashimoto teaches a second developing unit comprising:
a second magnetic roller (13) rotatable about a fourth axis extending in the first direction, the second magnetic roller facing a surface of the second photosensitive drum (¶0035-¶0036); and
a second developer container (10) configured to accommodate carrier, wherein the first side wall further supports the second developing unit (fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Hashimoto and Kamimura teach the drum unit according to claim 2. Furthermore, Hashimoto teaches the developer container has an inlet allowing toner to be replenished (¶0035-¶0037).
Regarding claims 15 and 16, Hashimoto and Kamimura teach the drum unit according to claim 5. Hashimoto differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: how the developer unit fits into the sidewall configuration. Kamimura teaches the first side wall (29) is formed with a first hole (106) allowing one end portion in the first direction of the developing unit to be inserted into the first hole (¶0119), so that the one end portion is supported by the first side wall. Kamimura also teaches a cylindrical member (51), wherein the second side wall (29) is formed with a second hole (106); and wherein the cylindrical member is inserted into the second hole, the cylindrical member has an opening in which another end portion in the first direction of the developing unit is inserted (¶0119). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the arrangement for supporting the developing member with the sidewalls strategy taught by Kamimura with the device taught by Hashimoto since Hasimoto is silent with regards to how the developing unit fits in the image forming apparatus, leaving it to one of ordinary skill to pursue the known options within his or her grasp of which the configuration taught by Kamimura.
Regarding claim 17, Hashimoto and Kamimura teach the drum unit according to claim 2. Furthermore, Hashimoto teaches the drum unit further comprises: a charger (12) configured to charge the first photosensitive drum.
Regarding claim 18, Hashimoto and Kamimura teach the drum unit according to claim 17. Furthermore, Hashimoto teaches the charger is a scorotron charger (¶0032).
Regarding claim 19, Hashimoto and Kamimura teach the drum unit according to claim 2. Furthermore, Hashimoto teaches the drum unit further comprises: a sheet guide configured to guide a sheet toward the first photosensitive drum (0157).
Regarding claim 20, Hashimoto and Kamimura teach the drum unit according to claim 2. Furthermore, Hashimoto teaches the drum unit further comprises: a cleaning roller (30) configured to perform cleaning on the first photosensitive drum (¶0077).
Claims 8-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto et al. US 2016/0291527 A1 (Hashimoto), Kamimura US 2007/0147889 A1 (Kamimura) and Matsushima et al. US 10,048,619 B1 (Matsushima).
Regarding claims 8 and 9, Hashimoto and Kamimura teach the drum unit according to claim 7. Hoshimoto and Kamimura differs from the instant claimed invention by not explicitly disclosing: a first auger and second auger. However, this is a well-known configuration. Matsushima teaches a first auger (68) positioned in the developer container and rotatable about a fourth axis extending in the first direction (FIG. 3), the first auger being configured to circulate the toner and the carrier in the developer container (FIG. 3); and
a second auger (66) positioned in the developer container and rotatable about a fifth axis extending in the first direction, the second auger being configured to convey the toner and the carrier to the magnetic roller (FIG. 3),
wherein the inlet is positioned opposite to the magnetic roller (60) with respect to the first auger and the second auger (C8 L15-25). Furthermore, Matsushima teaches the inlet is positioned above the first auger and the second auger (FIG. 3); and wherein the third axis is positioned below the first auger and the second auger (FIG. 3). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the development apparatus taught by Hoshimoto and Kamimura to use the configuration taught by Matsushima since the configuration taught Matsushima offer the advantage of preventing streaks and auger marks from appearing in the image (Matsushima C1 L37-44).
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Hashimoto, Kamimura and Matsushima (HKM) teach the drum unit according to claim 9. Furthermore, Kamimura teaches a layer thickness regulation member (53&54) configured to regulate a thickness of a toner layer formed on the magnetic roller, the layer thickness regulation member being out of contact with the magnetic roller (¶0081-¶0082). In the combination of adding the doctor blade taught by Kamimura to the modified device taught by HKM the result would be the layer thickness regulation member is positioned below the first auger and the second auger. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the doctor blade taught by Kamimura since doctor blades are well-known in the art at doing so would yield the predictable result of an even layer of developer being deposited on the developing roller.
Regarding claims 12-14, HKM teach teaches the drum unit according to claim 8. Furthermore, Matsushima teaches the first auger (68) is configured to convey the toner replenished from the inlet to the second auger (66, C4 L37-44);
wherein the second auger (66) is configured to supply the toner conveyed by the first auger to the magnetic roller (60, C4 L37-44); and
wherein the magnetic roller (60) is configured to supply the toner supplied from the second auger to the first photosensitive drum (FIG. 3). Furthermore, Matshushima teaches the first auger (69) is positioned closer to the inlet than the second auger (66) is to the inlet (FIG. 3). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the development apparatus taught by Hoshimoto and Kamimura to use the configuration taught by Matsushima since the configuration taught Matsushima offer the advantage of preventing streaks and auger marks from appearing in the image (Matsushima C1 L37-44).
Conclusion
/Jessica L Eley/Examiner, Art Unit 2852