DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicants’ election without traverse of SEQ ID NO: 1, all D-amino acids, not being covalently linked to a functional domain or support or coated on the surface of a medical device, not being covalently linked to a functional domain in the reply filed on 8/21/26 is acknowledged.
Claims 8-13 and 16-17 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claims 1-5 and 8-17 are pending.
Claims 1-5 and 14-15 read on the elected species and are under consideration.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Fig. 2-4, 7-9 and 18b are blurry and illegible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Arnold et al. (Journal of Bacteriology, published online 4/9/2018, volume 200, Issue 13).
With respect to claims 1-5, Arnold et al. teach the antimicrobial peptide of NCR247 (Abstract, last para. of p. 2, , p. 3, Fig. 1-8). Arnold et al. teach NCR247 has the amino acid sequence of RNGCIVDPRCPYQQCRRPLYCRRR, which is identical to instantly claimed SEQ ID NO: 1. With respect to the limitation “wherein all the amino acid residues are D amino acids”, Arnold et al. teach isolation and purification of an all D-enantiomer NCR27, made up of only D-amino acids (p. 7, 1st para.). Therefore, Arnold et al. anticipates the limitations of claims 1-5.
With respect to claim 15, Arnold et al. teach the NCR247 in water, NaCl, or buffer (Fig. 7, 1st para. of p. 10, p. 14 materials and methods, Fig. 6, Fig. 8).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Arnold et al. as applied to claims 1-5 and 15 above, and further in view of Oh et al. (International Journal of Antimicrobial Agents; 52 (2018) 96-99).
Arnold et al. does not teach the NCR247 peptide is in a formulation with an anti-oxidant. However, the teachings of Oh et al. cure this deficiency.
Oh et al. teach a synergistic effect of octyl gallate (OG) in combination with an antimicrobial peptide (Abstract). Oh et al. teach that that the antioxidant enabled bacitracin at low concentration to inhibit MRSA biofilm formation and the combined treatment suppressed biofilm formation more effectively than treatment of each agent alone (Abstract).
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention would be motivated to include an antioxidant in the formulation of the antimicrobial peptide, NCR247 because Oh et al. teach that an oxidant can act synergistically with an antimicrobial peptide and enhance its activity. There is a reasonable expectation of success given that Oh et al. experientially demonstrates the synergistic effect of adding an antioxidant.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/TARA L MARTINEZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1654