DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-15 as filed on 07/12/2024 are pending and herewith considered as indicated below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-3, 6 and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regards to Claim 2, “the screed system” in line 2 lacks antecedent basis the screed system is intended to recite “the self-climbing screed system” as introduced in claim 1.
In regards to Claim 3, “the screed system” in line 2 lacks antecedent basis the screed system is intended to recite “ the self-climbing screed system” as introduced in claim 1.
In regards to Claim 6, “the screed system” in line 2 lacks antecedent basis the screed system is intended to recite “ the self-climbing screed system” as introduced in claim 1.
In regards to Claim 6, “the boom” in line 2 lacks antecedent basis the boom is intended to recite “ the screed boom” as introduced in claim 1.
In regards to Claim 8, “the holes” in line 2 lacks antecedent basis the holes is intended to recite “spaced holes” as introduced in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-9, 11-13 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang Chen (CN 114704096 A) (Herein Chen) in view of Elder et al. (US 20210047849) (Herein Elder) and Sacken et al. (US 20190092288 A1) (Herein Sacken).
In regards to Claim 1, Chen discloses a self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] for use with a self-climbing boom system (500) [Fig 1] that includes a mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments] that has a tower (200) [Fig 1] and a rail [Unnumbered, Fig 3, see examiners comments] that is connected to an outer surface [Fig 4] of the tower (200) [Fig 1], extends along a length of the tower (200) [Fig 1], and has spaced holes (202) [Fig 3]. However, fails to disclose comprises a screed , the screed comprising: a turntable configured to be positioned around the mast, the turntable being mountable to and dismountable from the mast; a screed boom having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end being connected to the turntable; and a screed head connected to the distal end of the screed boom.
Furthermore, Elder discloses a screed (1) [Fig 1], the screed (1) [Fig 1] comprising: a screed boom (2) [Fig 1] having a proximal end (4) [Fig 1] and a distal end (3c) [Fig 1], and a screed head (6) connected to the distal end (3c) [Fig 1] of the screed boom (2) [Fig 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen to include a screed, the screed comprising: a screed boom having a proximal end and a distal end, and a screed head connected to the distal end of the screed boom as disclosed by Edler. When modified, the screed allows mountable/dismountable concrete pours for large projects and for ease of travel in between job sites.
Furthermore, Sacken discloses the screed (1, Edler) [Fig 1] comprising: a turntable (3) [Fig 2] configured to be positioned [When modified in shape] around the mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments, Chen] , the turntable (3) [Fig 2] being mountable to and dismountable [Fig 4, Showing mounting/dismounting, Chen] from the mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments, Chen]; a screed boom (2, Edler) [Fig 1] having a proximal end (4, Edler) [Fig 1] and a distal end (3c, Edler) [Fig 1], the proximal end (4, Edler) [Fig 1] being connected to the turntable (3) [Fig 2];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen and include the screed comprising: a turntable configured to be positioned around the mast, the turntable being mountable to and dismountable from the mast; a screed boom having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end being connected to the turntable as disclosed by Sacken. When modified, the turntable as disclosed would be modified to be open and attached at a certain point around the mast/tower, furthermore, attaching the screed boom to the turn table allowing for a 360 rotation for ease of pouring concrete. As well as integrating and modifying the already attached latches to be flush with the frame of the turntable allowing mounting/dismounting. Doing so allowing for an easy of concrete pour regarding large projects in a 360-degree rotation range and further allowing ease of transportation between separate job sites. In general, it has been held that a mere change in shape of a component is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149.
In regards to Claim 2, Chen discloses the self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] of claim 1, wherein the screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] is configured to be used with a tower (200) [Fig 1] . However, Chen fails to disclose a tower that is octagonal.
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system of Chen to have a tower that is octagonal in shape in order to provide sufficient stability to the self-climbing screed system. In general, it has been held that a mere change in shape of a component is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149.
In regards to Claim 3, Chen discloses the self-climbing screen system of claim 1 [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment], wherein the screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] is configured to be used with a self-climbing boom system (500) [Fig 1 that is a tower (200) [Fig 1] crane boom system (500) [Fig 1] or a placing boom system [Fig. 1].
In regards to Claim 4, Chen as modified discloses the self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] of claim 1, Sacken discloses further comprising outriggers (6, 6a) [Fig 2] that are attached [Fig 2, Showing attached] to the turntable (3) [Fig 2] and configured to rest on a floor of a building (12) [Fig 3] [Element shown to be used to rest on the ground] .
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen to further include outriggers that are attached to the turntable and configured to rest on a floor of a building. When modified the outriggers provide support against tilting from the unlimited rotation provided by the turntable.
In regards to Claim 5, Chen as modified discloses the self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] of claim 4, Sacken discloses wherein the outriggers (6, 6a) [Fig 2] are retractable and extendable [See Sacken, Abstract, Lines 5-6].
In regards to Claim 6, Chen discloses the self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] of claim 1, wherein the screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] is configured to be used with a self-climbing boom system (500) [Fig 1] having the boom (500) [Fig 1] connected to a top of the mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments].
In regards to Claim 7, Chen as modified discloses the self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] of claim 1, Sacken discloses wherein the turntable (3) [Fig 2] is dismountable [Fig 3, showing connecting for mounting/dismounting] from the mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments] to detach the screed (1, Edler) [Fig 1] from the self-climbing boom system (500) [Fig 1].
In regards to Claim 8, Chen as modified discloses the self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] of claim 1, Sacken discloses wherein the turntable (3) [Fig 2] includes tension links (303, Chen) [Fig 1] and pins (304, Chen) [Fig 1] that engage and disengage [Fig 4, showing engaging/disengaging, Chen] from the holes (202, Chen) of the rail [Unnumbered, Fig 3, see examiners comments, Chen] to mount the turntable (3) [Fig 2] to and dismount the turntable (3) [Fig 2] from the mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments, Chen].
In regards to Claim 9, Chen as modified discloses the self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] of claim 1, Edler discloses wherein the screed boom (2) [Fig 1] comprises: a first articulated boom section (3) ; a telescopic boom section (3a) connected to the first articulated boom section (3); and a second articulated boom section (3b).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen to further include the screed boom comprises: a first articulated boom section ; a telescopic boom section connected to the first articulated boom section; and a second articulated boom section. Allowing for ease of use and reliability for concrete pouring [See Edler; Paragraph 0005].
In regards to Claim 11, Chen discloses the self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] of claim 1 and the turntable (3, Sacken) [Fig 2]. However, fails to disclose wherein the turntable is shaped to be radially spaced from an outer surface of the mast, forming a gap between an inner surface of the turntable and an outer surface of the mast.
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turntable of Sacken to have enlarged interior space in shape in order to be radially spaced from an outer surface of the mast, forming a gap between an inner surface of the turntable and an outer surface of the mast. When modified, the gap between the inner surface of the turntable and outer surface of the mast allows for ease of installation . In general, it has been held that a mere change in shape of a component is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149.
In regards to Claim 12, Chen discloses a self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] for use with a self-climbing boom system (500) [Fig 1] that includes a mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments] that has a tower (200) [Fig 1] and a rail [Unnumbered, Fig 3, see examiners comments] that is connected to an outer surface [Fig 4] of the tower (200) [Fig 1], extends along a length of the tower (200) [Fig 1], and has spaced holes (202) [Fig 3], tension links (303) [Fig 1] and pins (304) [Fig 1] that are configured to engage and disengage from the tension links (303) [Fig 1] and the holes (202) [Fig 3] of the rail [Unnumbered, Fig 3, see examiners comments]. However, Chen fails to disclose comprises a screed, the screed comprising: a turntable configured to be positioned around the mast, the turntable including tension links and pins that are configured to engage and disengage from the tension links and the holes of the rail; a screed boom having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end being connected to the turntable; and a screed head connected to the distal end of the screed boom.
Furthermore, Elder discloses a screed (1) [Fig 1], the screed (1) [Fig 1] comprising a screed boom (2) [Fig 1] having a proximal end (4) [Fig 1] and a distal end (3c) [Fig 1], and a screed head (6) connected to the distal end (3c) [Fig 1] of the screed boom (2) [Fig 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen to include a screed, the screed comprising: a screed boom having a proximal end and a distal end, and a screed head connected to the distal end of the screed boom as disclosed by Edler. When modified, the screed allows mountable/dismountable concrete pours for large projects and for ease of travel in between job sites.
Furthermore, Sacken discloses the screed (1) [Fig 1] comprising: a turntable (3) [Fig 2] configured to be positioned around the mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments, Chen], the turntable (3) [Fig 2] including tension links (303, Chen) [Fig 1] and pins (304, Chen) [Fig 1] that are configured to engage and disengage from the tension links (303, Chen) [Fig 1] and the holes (202, Chen) [Fig 3] of the rail [Unnumbered, Fig 3, see examiners comments, Chen]; the proximal end (4, Edler) [Fig 1] being connected to the turntable (3) [Fig 2];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen and include the screed comprising: a turntable configured to be positioned around the mast, the turntable being mountable to and dismountable from the mast; a screed boom having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end being connected to the turntable as disclosed by Sacken. When modified, the turntable as disclosed would be modified to be open and attached at a certain point around the mast/tower, furthermore, attaching the screed boom to the turn table allowing for a 360 rotation for ease of pouring concrete. As well as integrating and modifying the already attached latches to be flush with the frame of the turntable allowing mounting/dismounting. Doing so allowing for an easy of concrete pour regarding large projects in a 360-degree rotation range and further allowing ease of transportation between separate job sites. In general, it has been held that a mere change in shape of a component is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149.
In regards to Claim 13, Chen discloses a self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] for use with a self-climbing boom system (500) [Fig 1] that includes a mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments] that has a tower (200) [Fig 1] and a rail [Unnumbered, Fig 3, see examiners comments] that is connected to an outer surface [Fig 4] of the tower (200) [Fig 1], extends along a length of the tower (200) [Fig 1], and has spaced holes (202) [Fig 3]. However, fails to disclose a screed, the screed comprising: a turntable configured to be positioned around the mast ; a screed boom having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end being connected to the turntable, and the screed boom comprising: a first articulated boom section ; a telescopic boom section connected to the first articulated boom section; and a second articulated boom section connected to the telescopic boom section such that the telescopic boom section is between the first articulated boom section and the second articulated boom section; and a screed head connected to the distal end of the screed boom.
Furthermore, Sacken discloses a turntable (3) [Fig 2] configured to be positioned around the mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments, Chen];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen and include the a turntable configured to be positioned around the mast, allowing for different configurations of assembly and disassembly, furthermore, allowing for ease of use regarding concrete pours.
Furthermore, Edler discloses comprises a screed (1) [Fig 1], a screed boom (2) [Fig 1] having a proximal end (4) [Fig 1] and a distal end (3c) [Fig 1], the proximal end (4) [Fig 1] being connected to the turntable (3, Sacken) [Fig 2], and the screed boom (2) [Fig 1] comprising: a first articulated boom section (3) ; a telescopic boom section (3a) connected to the first articulated boom section (3); and a second articulated boom section (3b) connected to the telescopic boom section (3a) such that the telescopic boom section (3b) is between the first articulated boom section (3) and the second articulated boom section (3b); and a screed head (6) connected to the distal end (3c) [Fig 1] of the screed boom (2) [Fig 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen to further include the screed boom comprises: a first articulated boom section ; a telescopic boom section connected to the first articulated boom section; and a second articulated boom section and further connecting the proximal end to the turntable as disclosed by Sacken. Allowing for ease of use and reliability for concrete pouring [See Edler; Paragraph 0005].
In regards to Claim 15, Chen discloses a self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] for use with a self-climbing boom system (500) [Fig 1] that includes a mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments] that has a tower (200) [Fig 1] and a rail [Unnumbered, Fig 3, see examiners comments] that is connected to an outer surface [Fig 4] of the tower (200) [Fig 1], extends along a length of the tower (200) [Fig 1], and has spaced holes (202) [Fig 3]. However, fails to disclose a screed, the screed comprising: a turntable configured to be positioned around the mast; a screed boom having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end being connected to the turntable ; and a screed head connected to the distal end of the screed boom; wherein the turntable is shaped to be radially spaced from an outer surface of the mast, forming a gap between an inner surface of the turntable and an outer surface of the mast.
Furthermore, Edler discloses a screed (1) [Fig 1], the screed (1) [Fig 1] comprising: a screed boom (2) [Fig 1] having a proximal end (4) [Fig 1] and a distal end (3c) [Fig 1].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen to include a screed, the screed comprising: a screed boom having a proximal end and a distal end, and a screed head connected to the distal end of the screed boom as disclosed by Edler. When modified, the screed allows mountable/dismountable concrete pours for large projects and for ease of travel in between job sites.
Furthermore, Sacken discloses a turntable (3) [Fig 2] configured to be positioned around the mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments, Chen]; the proximal end (4, Edler) [Fig 1] being connected to the turntable (3) [Fig 2].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen to further include a turntable configured to be positioned around the mast; the proximal end being connected to the turntable. When modified, it allows for rotation of the proximal end of the screed for use during operations.
However, it would have been obvious as a matter of choice to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the turntable of Sacken to have enlarged interior space in shape in order to be radially spaced from an outer surface of the mast, forming a gap between an inner surface of the turntable and an outer surface of the mast. When modified, the gap between the inner surface of the turntable and outer surface of the mast allows for ease of installation . In general, it has been held that a mere change in shape of a component is within the level of ordinary skill in the art absent persuasive evidence that a particular configuration of the claimed shape is significant. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang Chen (CN 114704096 A) (Herein Chen) in view of Elder et al. (US 20210047849) (Herein Elder) and Sacken et al. (US 20190092288 A1) (Herein Sacken) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of SHI Jing-zhao (CN 110565487 A) (Herein SHI).
In regards to Claim 10, Chen discloses the self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] of claim 1, the screed (1, Edler) [Fig 1]; and a pin (304) [Fig 1] configured to fit within holes [Unnumbered, Fig 4, see examiners comments] the tension links (303) [Fig 1] and engage with holes (202) [Fig 3] of the rails [Unnumbered, Fig 3, see examiners comments]. However, fails to disclose the screed further comprising: a counterweight connected to the turntable opposite the screed boom; and wherein the turntable further comprises: a frame , the screed boom and the counterweight being connected to the frame tension links connected to the frame; a roller bearing connected to the frame such that the screed boom can rotate 360 degrees;
Furthermore, Sacken discloses wherein the turntable (3) [Fig 2] further comprises: a frame (5) [Fig 2] , the screed boom (2, Edler) [Fig 1] being connected to the frame (5) [Fig 2]; tension links (303, Chen) [Fig 1, Chen] connected to the frame (5) [Fig 2]; a roller bearing [Unnumbered, Not Shown] [see background/summary; paragraph 3] connected to the frame (5) [Fig 2] such that the screed boom (2,Edler) [Fig 1, Edler] can rotate 360 degrees [see background/summary; paragraph 3; “in particular when the turntable of the boom allows an unlimited pivot angle”]; and a pin (304) [Fig 1, Chen] configured to fit within holes (202, Chen).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen to further include a roller bearing connected to the frame of the turntable such that the screed boom can rotate 360 degrees. Allowing for ease of concrete pouring and ease of operations.
Furthermore, Shi discloses a counterweight (5) [Fig 1] connected to the turntable (3, Sacken) [Fig 2] opposite the screed boom (2) [Fig 1]; and wherein the turntable (3, Sacken) [Fig 2] further comprises: a frame (5, Sacken) [Fig 2] , the screed boom (2, Edler) [Fig 1] and the counterweight (5) [Fig 1] being connected to the frame (5, Sacken) [Fig 2];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen to further include a counterweight connected to the turntable (as disclosed by Sacken) opposite the screed boom (as disclosed by Edler). Allowing for a differential balance in weight to stabilize the turntable during operations.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jiang Chen (CN 114704096 A) (Herein Chen) in view of Elder et al. (US 20210047849) (Herein Elder) and Sacken et al. (US 20190092288 A1) (Herein Sacken) and SHI Jing-zhao (CN 110565487 A) (Herein SHI).
In regards to Claim 14, Chen discloses a self-climbing screed system [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comment] for use with a self-climbing boom system (500) [Fig 1] that includes a mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments] that has a tower (200) [Fig 1] and a rail [Unnumbered, Fig 3, see examiners comments] that is connected to an outer surface [Fig 4] of the tower (200) [Fig 1], extends along a length of the tower (200) [Fig 1], and has spaced holes (202) [Fig 3]. However, fails to disclose comprises a screed, the screed comprising: a turntable configured to be positioned around the mast, the turntable comprising: a frame having tension links ; a roller bearing connected to the frame; and a pin configured to fit within holes of the tension links and engage with a hole of the rail; a screed boom having a proximal end and a distal end, the proximal end being connected to the frame of the turntable; a screed head connected to the distal end of the screed boom; and a counterweight connected to the turntable opposite the screed boom; wherein the screed boom can rotate 360 degrees around the mast.
Furthermore, Sacken discloses a turntable (3) [Fig 2] configured to be positioned around the mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments], the turntable (3) [Fig 2] comprising: a frame (5) [Fig 2] having tension links (303, Chen) [Fig 1] ; a roller bearing [Unnumbered, Not Shown] [see background/summary; paragraph 3] connected to the frame (5) [Fig 2]; and a pin (304, Chen) [Fig 1] configured to fit within holes [Unnumbered, Fig 4, see examiners comments] of the tension links (303, Chen) [Fig 1] and engage with a hole (202, Chen) of the rail [Unnumbered, Fig 3, see examiners comments, Chen];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen to further include a roller bearing connected to the frame of the turntable such that the screed boom can rotate 360 degrees. Allowing for ease of concrete pouring and ease of operations.
Furthermore, Edler discloses a screed boom (2) [Fig 1] having a proximal end (4) [Fig 1] and a distal end (3c) [Fig 1], the proximal end (4) [Fig 1] being connected to the frame (5, Sacken) [Fig 2] of the turntable (3, Sacken) [Fig 2]; a screed head (6) connected to the distal end (3c) [Fig 1] of the screed boom (2) [Fig 1]; wherein the screed boom (2) [Fig 1] can rotate 360 [see background/summary; paragraph 3; “in particular when the turntable of the boom allows an unlimited pivot angle”, Sacken] degrees around the mast [Unnumbered, Fig 1, see examiners comments, Chen].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen to include a screed, the screed comprising: a screed boom having a proximal end and a distal end, and a screed head connected to the distal end of the screed boom and connected to the frame as disclosed by Edler. When modified, the screed allows mountable/dismountable concrete pours for large projects and for ease of travel in between job sites.
Furthermore, SHI discloses a counterweight (5) [Fig 1] connected to the turntable (3, Sacken) [Fig 2] opposite the screed boom (2, Edler) [Fig 1];
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the self-climbing screed system as disclosed by Chen to further include a counterweight connected to the turntable (as disclosed by Sacken) opposite the screed boom (as disclosed by Edler). Allowing for a differential balance in weight to stabilize the turntable during operations.
Examiners Comments
Chen, Figure 1
Chen, Figure 4
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. See PTO 892.
/Z.K.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3635
/KYLE J. WALRAED-SULLIVAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3635