DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/12/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 12, 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kotani et al. (US 2023/0285615 A1) in view of NAKAGAWA ( JP H0595888 A; given by the applicant in the IDS).
Regarding claim 1, Kotani discloses an endoscope holder ([see in Fig. 1]-in fig.1, element 30-endoscope holder), comprising: a holder body([see in Fig. 1]-in fig.1, element 30-endoscope holder which shows a body in the drawing); a hanger pivotably attached to the holder body to move between a first angle position and a second angle position([see in Fig. 1]- hangers 30 are attached to an upper end of the column 23 on the right side via a hanger stand 31. The hanger stands 31 is composed of an L-shaped stand member 31a and a linear stand member 31b. One end portion of the stand member 31a is rotatably attached to the column 23. The hangers 30 are fixed to the stand member 31b); and a slide member supported on the holder body, the slide member configured to move slidably between a first position and a second position, wherein, at the first position([see in Fig. 5 and 8]- The insertion portion holding portion 66 is disposed in the vicinity of the hangers 30. Specifically, the insertion portion holding portion 66 is disposed to match the position (a position represented by solid lines in FIG. 8) of the soft portion 12a hanging down in a case where the operation portion 12b is held by the hanger 30), the slide member restricts pivoting of the hanger from the first angle position to the second angle position and, at the second position, the slide member permits pivoting of the hanger from the first angle position to the second angle position([see in Fig. 5 and 8]- The insertion portion holding portion 66 is disposed in the vicinity of the hangers 30. Specifically, the insertion portion holding portion 66 is disposed to match the position (a position represented by solid lines in FIG. 8;) of the soft portion 12a hanging down in a case where the operation portion 12b is held by the hanger 30; [see also para 0055-0056]), and wherein, when the hanger is at the first angle position, the hanger is configured to support an endoscope by hanging the endoscope on the hanger ([see in fig. 1,5 and 8]- the insertion portion holding portion 66 is disposed to match the position (the position of the soft portions 12a that is represented by the solid lines in FIG. 8) of the soft portion 12a hanging down in a case where the operation portion 12b is held by the hanger 30; the endoscope 12 will be supported by hanger 30)
However, Kotani does not exclusively disclose when the hanger is at the second angle position, the hanger is configured to not support the endoscope by hanging.
In an analogous art, NAKAGAWA discloses when the hanger is at the second angle position, the hanger is configured to not support the endoscope by hanging ([see in Fig. 2, 4 and 6]-the endoscope 11, and the hanger portion 24, it is obvious that when the hanger in an angle position the endoscope will no longer able be supported or will not be able to hang). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of NAKAGAWA to the modified system of Kotani a cart for loading electronic medical equipment equipped with a scope hanger for holding an endoscope to prevent from various bacteria or cause damages to the endoscope [NAKAGAWA; para 0002 ].
Regarding claim 2, Kotani discloses wherein, when the slide member is at the second position, the biasing member pivots the hanger toward the second angle position([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 22-23]-see the slide member 122a and a pivot hanger).
Regarding claim 3, Kotani discloses wherein, when the slide member is at the second position, gravity pivots the hanger toward the second angle position([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 22-23]- see the slide member 122a, there is a two end position as shown in the figures).
Regarding claim 4, Kotani discloses wherein a portion of the hanger is shaped to prevent the endoscope from disengaging from the hanger by gravity when the hanger is at the first angle position([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 22-23]- there will be a gravity when the endoscope 12 is being placed into hanger 30).
Regarding claim 5, Kotani discloses wherein the portion of the hanger has a concave shape([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 22-23]-one portion of the hanger 30 is concave shape).
Regarding claim 6, Kotani discloses further comprising a button configured to slide integrally with the slide member, wherein, when the button is in a pressed position, the slide member moves slidably between the first position to the second position to permit pivoting of the hanger from the first angle position to the second angle position([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 22-23]-see in fig. 1 and operation portion 12b).
Regarding claim 7, Kotani discloses wherein, when the slide member is at the first position and the hanger is located at the first angle position, a surface of the endoscope holder prevents removal of the endoscope hung on the hanger([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 22-23]- the endoscope 12 after being used, the operation portion 12b can be held by the hanger 30 attached to the column 24 on the left side which will prevent removal of the endoscope hung on the hanger).
Regarding claim 8, Kotani discloses further comprising a second biasing member that biases the slide member from the second position toward the first position([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 22-23]- see the slide member 122a, there is a two end position as shown in the figures).
Regarding claim 12, Kotani discloses wherein: the holder body includes a housing have an opening, when the slide member slides from the first position to the second position, the hanger enters the housing through the opening, and when the slide member is at the second position, an entirety of the hanger is located in the housing ([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 21-23]- As shown in FIG. 21, the hangers 122 integrally provided with the endoscope sterilization devices 121 are attached to an endoscope cart 123 and each include a notch or a groove (in the case of an example shown in FIG. 23, a notch 122A is provided) as with the hangers 30 provided on the endoscope cart 20 in the first embodiment, and the endoscope 12 can be hung thereon with the operation portion 12b of the endoscope 12 being held at the notch or the groove. The hangers 122 are attached to the upper end of the column 23 on the right side via the hanger stand 31).
Regarding claim 15, Kotani discloses wherein the holder body is configured to be attached to an endoscope system cart([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 21-23]- two endoscope sterilization devices 121 and two hangers 122 are provided for one endoscope cart 123).
Regarding claim 16, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth in claim 1. Hence; all limitations for claim 16 have been met in claim 1. Kotani discloses a casing including a plate([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 21-23]- see the opposite the hanger 30 placed at the first angle); a hanger pivotably attached to the casing to move between a first angle position and a second angle position([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 21-23]-the hanger 30 and where an angle knob 12e of the operation portion 12b is operated, the bendable portion 12c is ben); NAKAGAWA discloses wherein, when the hanger is at the second angle position, the hanger is further from the plate than when the hanger is at the first angle position([see in Fig. 2, 4 and 6]-the endoscope 11, and the hanger portion 24). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to provide the technique of NAKAGAWA to the modified system of Kotani a cart for loading electronic medical equipment equipped with a scope hanger for holding an endoscope to prevent from various bacteria or cause damages to the endoscope [NAKAGAWA; para 0002].
Regarding claim 17, Kotani discloses a button exposed from the casing when the sliding member is at the first position ([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 22-23]-see in fig. 1, element 12e and 12); a concave portion located in the casing([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 22-23]-fig. 1, 12b is a concave portion ); and a slide body located between the button and the concave portion([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 22-23]-specially in fig. 1 and 21 shows a slide body located near element 12e).
Regarding claim 18, Kotani discloses further comprising a support frame connected to the hanger, wherein the support frame is located in the casing ([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 22-23]-a support frame 31a and 31b).
Regarding claim 19, Kotani discloses further comprising a support frame connected to the hanger, wherein the support frame is located in the casing ([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 22-23]-a support frame 31a and 31b).
Regarding claim 20, Kotani discloses wherein when the hanger is at the first angle position, the support frame is abutted to the slide body ([see in Fig. 1, 5, 8, 22-23]- the endoscope sterilization device 18 and the endoscope cart 20 constitute an endoscope sterilization system in the scope of the claims. The endoscope cart 20 includes a frame pedestal portion 21, four casters 22, columns 23 and 24, a top plate 26, shelf plates 27 and 28, a stand 29, and two hangers 30).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-11, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 9, The endoscope holder according to claim 1, further comprising a support frame configured to pivot integrally with the hanger, wherein the support frame extends in a direction different from the hanger as viewed from a pivot axis of the hanger, wherein the support frame is restricted from pivoting by contacting the slide member when the slide member is at the first position, and wherein the support frame is permitted to pivot without contacting the slide member when the slide member is at the second position.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art are made of record and not relied upon but considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
1. Yahagi et al., US 2023/0000323 A1, discloses an endoscope holder capable of turning or swinging an endoscope inserted into a body with the endoscope fixed at a predetermined insertion position.
2. Awadu; Satoshi, US 11,382,495 B2, discloses endoscope hanger which frees a doctor's hands without causing pain to a patient.
3. Sonoda et al., US 2023/0310098 A1, discloses a surgery assistance device having a function of holding an endoscope.
4. Kotani et al., US. US 2023/0285614 A1, discloses an endoscope cart and an instrument for an endoscope.
5. Baker et al., US 2023/0277350 A1, disclose a method and system for deploying and anchoring an intraluminal device in a manner that applies stress to the cardiac portion of the stomach.
Conclusion
/MD N HAQUE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2487