Response to Amendment
This is in response to the amendments filed on 3/16/2026. Claims 1, 9, and 16 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are currently pending and have been considered below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on 3/16/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On pages 7 and 8 of Remarks, Applicant contends that “Because Paddon focuses on stability and reproducibility of a single static key, it fails to teach or suggest the Applicant’s requirement for generating different hashed biometric keys across sequential time intervals. In fact, incorporating a time-varying hash selection into Paddon’s system would frustrate its stated purpose of key consistency”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
In response to Applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986). In this instance, the examiner never relied upon solely Paddon to disclose the claimed recitations directed to generated different hashed biometric keys across sequential time intervals, as contended by Applicant. Instead, the examiner relied upon citations to Hu for these limitations, which are addressed further below. Thus, any further arguments regarding Paddon in view of this particular limitation are considered moot.
Applicant’s further arguments regarding “… incorporating a time-varying hash selection into Paddon’s system would frustrate its stated purpose of key consistency” is also found unpersuasive because the examiner relied upon a combination of references for providing this teaching. Specifically, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Hu was relied upon for the contended limitation in combination with Paddon’s (and Shi’s) system for generation biometric keys. The examiner further stated motivation that would have been generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art (see pg. 9 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 12/17/2025). Further, strengthening a resultant hash of a biometric key would not frustrate Paddon, as the security benefits provided by enhancing the security of the resultant hash would outweigh any additional implementation factors.
Thus, because Paddon was not utilized to disclose the generation of different hashed biometric keys across sequential time intervals, and the combination to Hu was instead relied upon to disclose, and incorporate, a time-varying hash selection into Paddon’s system, the examiner finds Applicant’s arguments as unpersuasive and thus the rejection is sustained as below.
Further, on page 8 of Remarks, Applicant contends that “Shi’s disclosure of holistic “texture information” does not meet the specific structural limitations of the present invention … it does not describe the specific logic of dividing that data into discrete, identifiable strings/substrings that can be individually processed or combined into a unified character string”, and further concludes that “Shi lacks any teaching of this modular substring architecture, and the Examiner has not provided a sufficient explanation as to how a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would arrive at this specific data structure using Shi’s texture-mapping techniques”. The examiner respectfully disagrees.
First, regarding Applicant’s argument directed to “Shi’s disclosure of holistic “texture information” does not meet the specific structural limitations of the present invention … it does not describe the specific logic of dividing that data into discrete, identifiable strings/substrings that can be individually processed or combined into a unified character string” (referring to claims 7 and 14), the examiner notes that this specific limitation was rejected under citations to Fukada, not Shi (see pages 14-15 of the Non-Final Rejection mailed 12/17/2025). Thus, these arguments are found moot as they do not address the current rejection mappings in view of Fukuda.
Second, regarding Applicant’s further arguments regarding “Shi lacks any teaching of this modular substring architecture, and the Examiner has not provided a sufficient explanation as to how a person having ordinary skill in the art (PHOSITA) would arrive at this specific data structure using Shi’s texture-mapping techniques”, the examiner again contends that Shi was not relied upon for said “modular substring architecture”. Instead, Shi was relied upon to disclose an alphanumeric character string used to represent biometric features (see page 6 of the Non-Final Rejection), to which Applicant does not appear to challenge by this response.
Additionally, regarding Applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, the examiner found that one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to incorporate the teachings of Fukuda into the combination of Paddon, Shi, and Hu, in order to create varied substrings from a biometric, where each substring accurately represents a biometric vector of the biometric. The examiner concluded that incorporating Fukuda would allow the system of Paddon, Shi, and Hu to represent elements of biometric features of a biometric scan in a more accurate manner by utilizing substrings without needing to reduce the resultant lengths of the substrings.
Thus, because the examiner finds Applicant’s arguments as unpersuasive, the rejection(s) under Paddon, Shi, and Hu and Paddon, Shi, Hu, and Fukuda are sustained as below.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,052,354. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims 1-20 overlap in scope with, and thus are anticipated by, respective claims 1-4, 6-11, and 13-20 of the ‘354 patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-8 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 15 recites the limitation "hash[ing] the same biometric key" (emphasis added). There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 6, 9, 13, 15, 19, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Paddon” (US 2017/0005794) in view of “Shi” (US 2017/0177847) in further view of “Hu” (US 2018/0248689).
Regarding Claim 1:
Paddon teaches:
A method, comprising:
generating, by a processor based at least in part on a … string representing a plurality of biological characteristics of a user, a biometric key (Fig. 3 details generating a biometric key (306) via a bit string (element 312) that represents a plurality of biological characteristics of a user (elements 302, 304, 306 & 308 acquired at element 206);
…
Paddon does not disclose:
… a character string representing a plurality of biological characteristics of a user … ;
determining a hash function and a hash value based on a first predetermined time interval of a plurality of predetermined time intervals;
hashing the biometric key using the hash function and the hash value to generate a hashed biometric key;
selecting, based on a second predetermined time interval of the plurality of predetermined time intervals, a different hash function and a different hash value; and
hashing the same biometric key based on the different hash value and the different hash function to generate a different hashed biometric key for use in a subsequent authentication event.
Shi teaches:
… a character string representing a plurality of biological characteristics of a user (¶0020, “Determining 72 a sequence of values from the detected biometric features…”; ¶0024, “… the feature value may include a number, a letter …”; i.e., create a string of character values that represent biometric features of a user) …
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Paddon’s system for generating biometric keys by enhancing Paddon’s representation of biometric information to use alphanumeric formatting, as taught by Shi, in order to more uniquely represent various individual’s biometrics.
The motivation is to reduce potential false-positive matches in a biometric system by utilizing an alphanumeric string to represent biometrics of an individual, rather than a bitstring, which leads to more unique biometric strings.
Paddon in view of Shi does not disclose:
determining a hash function and a hash value based on a first predetermined time interval of a plurality of predetermined time intervals;
hashing the biometric key using the hash function and the hash value to generate a hashed biometric key;
selecting, based on a second predetermined time interval of the plurality of predetermined time intervals, a different hash function and a different hash value; and
hashing the same biometric key based on the different hash value and the different hash function to generate a different hashed biometric key for use in a subsequent authentication event.
Hu teaches:
determining a hash function (Figure 2, element 221) and a hash value (Figure 2, element 223) based on a first predetermined time interval of a plurality of predetermined time intervals (¶0025, “… the derivation parameter engine 113 may determine the selected hash function 221 according to a particular selection scheme … may determine or specify a particular derivation parameter such as the selected hash function 221 through a specific selection mechanism (e.g., round-robin or weighted round-robin) … The selection mechanism applied by the derivation parameter engine 113 to specify a particular derivation parameter may be configurable or set on a parameter-specific basis”; i.e., determine when derivation parameters (the hash function and character set 223) are selected based on intervals defined by a round-robin scheme. The examiner interprets each “round” of the round-robin scheme to teach a predetermined time interval corresponding to a respective hash function, for example SHA256 / alphanumeric (Time Interval 1) -> SHA1 / Unicode (Time Interval 2) -> SHAKE128 / ASCII Printable (Time Interval 3) -> SHA256 / alphanumeric (Time Interval 4) -> SHA1 / Unicode (Time Interval 5) -> etc., as shown in paragraph 23 in view of “Derivation Parameter Engine 113” of Figure 2);
hashing the biometric key using the hash function and the hash value to generate a hashed biometric key (¶0030, “… the derivation parameter engine 113 may specify derivation parameters 220 for generating an application password 202 by determining a selected hash function 221 … selected character set 223, or combinations thereof”; ¶0032, “The generation engine 114 may generate the application password 202 from the user input string 201, key 210, and derivation parameters 220. In particular, the generation engine 114 may apply the selected hash function 221 to the user input string 201 and the key 210 to obtain a hash value … may concatenate or otherwise combine the user input string 201 and key 210 to obtain a combined data string and apply the selected hash function 221 to the combined data string”; i.e., apply a selected hash function 221 and character set 223, via a generative engine 114, in order to hash a user input string combined with a key. The examiner interprets the combined user input string and key as being a “biometric key” by virtue of the user input string being a voiceprint (see paragraph 19). The examiner further notes that the “application password 202” is being interpreted as the claimed “hashed biometric key” as the application password is derived via at least a hash function, a biometric input, and a key in accordance with Figure 2);
selecting, based on a second predetermined time interval of the plurality of predetermined time intervals, a different hash function and a different hash value (¶0036, “Then, the generation engine 114 may generate a different application password 202 from the different key 210, different derivation parameters 220, or both. The generation engine 114 may repeatedly generate application passwords with different keys 210 and/or different derivation parameters 220 until the generated application password 202 meets the character-specific password constraint or other password requirements”; i.e., repeatedly iterate through the round-robin scheme, where each “round” constitutes as a predetermined time interval, in order to select a new hash function 221 and character set 223 for deriving a new application password meeting specific password requirements); and
hashing the same biometric key based on the different hash value and the different hash function to generate a different hashed biometric key (¶0036, “The generation engine 114 may repeatedly generate application passwords with different keys 210 and/or different derivation parameters 220 until the generated application password 202 meets the character-specific password constraint or other password requirements”) for use in a subsequent authentication event (¶0013, “With one or a small set of user input strings (that may be easily remembered by the user), the features described herein may generate different secure passwords for different applications, which provide password security while improving user experience”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Paddon in view of Shi’s system for generating biometric keys by enhancing Paddon in view of Shi’s biometric key to be hashed via a hash function and hash value selected based on a predetermined interval, such as round-robin, as taught by Hu, in order to enhance the security of the biometric key prior to being utilized and/or stored.
The motivation is to utilize hashing techniques that are not only dependent on authentication factors of an individual, but are resistant to the generation of weak hashes. Potentially utilizing multiple unique hash functions and hash values ensures that a strong hash is generated, reducing the likelihood an attacker may mount successful attacks (e.g., rainbow tables) against generated hashes.
Regarding Claim 5:
The method of claim 1, Paddon in view of Shi in further view of Hu further comprising storing the biometric key (Paddon, Fig. 2 details element 216 (used to generate biometric keys) is located in storage medium element 208).
Regarding Claim 6:
The method of claim 1, wherein Paddon in view of Shi in further view of Hu further teaches the character string is generated based on the plurality of biological characteristics (Shi, ¶0021, “For example, the collected texture information may include fingerprint information of different fingers of the user”).
The motivation to reject claim 6 by applying Shi to Paddon is the same motivation applied to the rejection of claim 1 above.
Regarding Claims 9 and 13:
Computer-readable storage medium claims 9 and 13 correspond to respective method claims 1 and 6, and contain no further limitations. Therefore claims 9 and 13 are rejected by applying the same rationale used to reject claims 1 and 6 above, respectively.
Regarding Claims 15, 19, and 20:
Computing apparatus claims 15, 19, and 20 correspond to respective method claims 1, 5, and 6, and contain no further limitations. Therefore claims 15, 19, and 20 are rejected by applying the same rationale used to reject claims 1, 5, and 6 above, respectively.
Claim(s) 2-4, 10-12, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Paddon” (US 2017/0005794) in view of “Shi” (US 2017/0177847) in view of “Hu” (US 2018/0248689) in further view of “Kaufman” (US 5666415).
Regarding Claim 2:
Paddon in view of Shi in further view of Hu teaches:
The method of claim 1, …
Paddon in view of Shi in further view of Hu does not disclose:
… wherein a salt value is associated with the first time interval, the method further comprising: selecting a different salt value based on the second time interval.
Kaufman teaches:
… wherein a salt value is associated with the first time interval (Col. 7, lines 32-34, “As the nonce changes each time access is requested …”; i.e., the examiner interprets “each time access is requested” as being an “triggering event”, which is defined as being a predetermined time interval at paragraph 39 of Applicant’s Specification), the method further comprising: selecting a different salt value based on the second time interval (Col. 7, lines 32-34, “As the nonce changes each time access is requested …”; i.e., select a different salt value upon a receiving a subsequent access request).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Paddon in view of Shi in further view of Hu’s system for generating biometric keys by enhancing Paddon in view of Shi in further view of Hu’s method of hashing a biometric key to utilize a salt value, as taught by Kaufman, in order to enhance the security of the biometric key.
The motivation is to utilize a salt with a hash function to improve the security of a resultant hash, such as a hashed biometric key, such that the hashed biometric key is more robust against brute force attacks.
Regarding Claim 3:
The method of claim 2, Paddon in view of Shi in view of Hu in further view of Kaufman further comprising: applying the different salt value to the hashed biometric key to generate a salted and hashed biometric key (Kaufman, Col. 7, lines 30-42, “… and concatenates the current nonce, R, to the value”; i.e., salt the hashed password with currently generated a nonce value based on the time of the request received).
The motivation to apply Kaufman to the combination of Paddon, Shi, and Hu for the rejection of claim 3 is the same rationale applied in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding Claim 4:
The method of claim 2, wherein Paddon in view of Shi in view of Hu in further view of Kaufman further teaches salt is applied to the hashed biometric key to generate a salted and hashed biometric key (Kaufman, Col. 7, lines 30-42, “… and concatenates the current nonce, R, to the value”; i.e., salt the hashed password with currently generated a nonce value based on the time of the request received).
The motivation to apply Kaufman to the combination of Paddon, Shi, and Hu for the rejection of claim 4 is the same rationale applied in the rejection of claim 2 above.
Regarding Claims 10-12:
Computer-readable storage medium claims 10-12 correspond to respective method claims 2-4, and contain no further limitations. Therefore claims 10-12 are rejected by applying the same rationale used to reject claims 2-4 above, respectively.
Regarding Claims 16-18:
Computer-readable storage medium claims 16-18 correspond to respective method claims 2-4, and contain no further limitations. Therefore claims 16-18 are rejected by applying the same rationale used to reject claims 2-4 above, respectively.
Claim(s) 7 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Paddon” (US 2017/0005794) in view of “Shi” (US 2017/0177847) in view of “Hu” (US 2018/0248689) in further view of “Fukuda” (US 2019/0384904).
Regarding Claim 7:
Paddon in view of Shi in further view of Hu teaches:
The method of claim 6, … wherein the character string comprises a plurality of alphanumeric characters (Shi, ¶0024, “… the feature value may include a number, a letter …”; i.e., create a string of character values that represent biometric features of a user)…
The motivation to reject claim 6 by applying Shi to Paddon is the same motivation applied in the rejection of claim 1.
Paddon in view of Shi in further view of Hu does not disclose:
… wherein the … string comprises … a plurality of substrings, wherein a respective length of each substring is one of two or more different substring lengths.
Fukuda teaches:
… wherein the … string (Fig. 10, “Combined Bit String”) comprises … a plurality of substrings (Fig. 10 details that Bit substrings 1, 2, 3, 4, … n are used to generate the “Combined Bit String”), wherein a respective length of each substring is one of two or more different substring lengths (Fig. 6, steps S603-S608 & S610 detail, for each feature vector of a biometric, obtaining the number of elements v[i] and creating a bit string of a length corresponding to the number of those elements. Thus, the created bit strings are variable from each other based on the elements of their corresponding feature vectors).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Paddon in view of Shi in further view of Hu’s system for generating biometric keys by enhancing Paddon in view of Shi in further view of Hu’s generation of a character string that includes substrings to incorporate substrings that vary in length based on the elements of their corresponding biometric features, as taught by Fukuda, in order to create varied strings that more accurately portray a biometric scan.
The motivation is to enable Paddon in view of Shi in further view of Hu’s system to create a biometric key from a string that comprises varied-length substrings, each substring corresponding to a number of elements for a corresponding biometric feature vector. Enabling the create of a string from varied substrings allows the system to represent elements of biometric features in a more accurate manner, by including as many (or all) of the elements as scanned without artificially shrinking, or reducing, the substring length.
Regarding Claim 14:
Computer-readable storage medium claim 14 corresponds to method claim 7, and contains no further limitations. Therefore claim 14 is rejected by applying the same rationale used to reject claim 7 above.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Paddon” (US 2017/0005794) in view of “Shi” (US 2017/0177847) in view of “Hu” (US 2018/0248689) in view of “Fukuda” (US 2019/0384904) in further view of “Arad” (US 2018/0373885).
Regarding Claim 8:
Paddon in view of Shi in view of Hu in further view of Fukuda teaches:
The method of claim 7, …
Paddon in view of Shi in view of Hu in further view of Fukuda does not disclose:
… wherein the character string is character delimited and space delimited.
Arad teaches:
… wherein the character string is character delimited and space delimited (¶0053, “… the authentication token may be a string of randomly generated characters that are designed to be difficult to guess … The term “token” is not limited to a single sequence of characters delimited by white space…”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to modify Paddon in view of Shi in view of Hu in further view of Fukuda’s system for generating biometric keys by enhancing Paddon in view of Shi in view of Hu in further view of Fukuda’s character string to be character delimited and space delimited, as taught by Arad, in order to create a character string that is difficult to guess.
The motivation is to delimit a character string by characters and spaces by utilizing white space and random characters to result in the characters string being difficult to guess by an unaffiliated entity (Arad, ¶0053, “… the authentication token may be a string of randomly generated characters that are designed to be difficult to guess…”) which enhances the security of the system by strengthening authentication of a user associated with the character string.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/DANIEL B POTRATZ/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2491